Home / Admissions / Canada Applications / How to Apply to Engineering at the University of Saskatchewan: Eight Majors Share the RE-ENGINEERED First Year, Choose a Major at the End of Year One, Optional Co-op, with Requirements for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Students

How to Apply to Engineering at the University of Saskatchewan: Eight Majors Share the RE-ENGINEERED First Year, Choose a Major at the End of Year One, Optional Co-op, with Requirements for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Students

2026-10-24 · Application guides

The University of Saskatchewan’s College of Engineering offers the Bachelor of Science in Engineering (B.E.) in Saskatoon, and high school students can apply directly. Everyone takes the RE-ENGINEERED first year and chooses a major at its end among chemical, civil, computer, electrical, engineering physics, environmental, geological and mechanical engineering; USask states that all eight majors are accredited by Engineers Canada. The admission average uses one English, one math and three other approved subjects, and high school Calculus 30 is no longer an admission requirement. For Fall 2027 the application deadline is 15 February 2027 with early admission on 1 December 2026, and the application fee is CAD 120. 2026-2027 tuition estimates for Engineering are CAD 12,269 for Canadian students and CAD 59,383 for international students. High school applicants need a 70% five-subject average and at least 70% in Chemistry 30, Physics 30 and Pre-Calculus 30.

The University of Saskatchewan (USask) is in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. Engineering is offered by the College of Engineering, leading to the Bachelor of Science in Engineering (B.E.), a four-year full-time degree. Computer science sits in the College of Arts and Science and has its own article on this site; computer engineering is one of the engineering majors. Based on USask’s official information, here is what you need to know for September 2027 entry as a domestic student (Canadian citizen or permanent resident), an international student, an applicant from China or a transfer student.

Requirements for each province and country are displayed on USask’s admissions site only after you select yours on the program page, and the pages read do not include a China-specific version. Where this article says “not published,” check the “Admission requirements” box on the program page (choose “China”) or contact the Engineering Student Centre (engineering.studentcentre@usask.ca, 306-966-5274). The College-wide minimum average and prerequisites come from USask’s official 2027-28 admission requirements page.

1. Majors, accreditation and the RE-ENGINEERED first year

  • Eight majors: chemical, civil, computer, electrical, engineering physics, environmental, geological and mechanical engineering. Each program page says you can enter directly from high school.
  • Accreditation: the admissions page says all eight majors are accredited by Engineers Canada; the College site says the eight undergraduate programs are accredited by the Canadian Engineering Accreditation Board (CEAB).
  • RE-ENGINEERED first year: USask calls the redesigned first year the only program of its kind in Canada. It replaces high-stakes exams with more assignments and quizzes, adds daily tutorials, and replaces final exams with hands-on courses that explore the branches of engineering. Courses in both terms include Introduction to Engineering, Mechanics (Dynamics and Statics), Design, Engineering Mathematics, Electrical Circuits and Engineering Communication; additional courses include computer science, natural sciences, process engineering and hands-on discipline experiences, some of them electives.
  • Choosing a major: the University Catalogue says everyone admitted to Engineering completes a common, undeclared first year. You are introduced to all eight disciplines by the end of the first term, can pick five to explore in a December Discipline Experience Week, and select a major shortly after the Winter Term starts, moving into the matching bridging courses. The admissions page says “near the end of first year,” so the wording differs; follow the College’s notices. Year 1 totals 39 to 42 credit units depending on the major. A Flex Option stretches first-year courses over two years while you remain full-time.
  • Basis for choosing a major: the transfer page mentions an “average for placement into a major,” but GPA thresholds, whether places are limited and whether a first choice is guaranteed are not published; ask the Engineering Student Centre.
  • Admission by program? The College admits to Engineering as a whole and all new students take the common first year before choosing a major; whether the program chosen on the application affects placement is not published.
  • Certificates and options: certificates in Professional Communication (three streams) and Engineering Innovation and Entrepreneurship can be earned with the degree; chemical engineering has Bioprocessing, Mineral Processing and Petroleum options; geological engineering has a Mining option; mechanical engineering has a Mining option with a mandatory 12-month internship.
  • Calculus 30: the College page says Calculus 30 was removed as an admission requirement for the B.E. effective 2019-2020 (Pre-Calculus 30 is the required course). If you have taken it, it can still be used in the admission average.

2. How the admission average is calculated

  • Formula: for high school applicants, five marks: one English, one math and three other approved subjects (at most two natural sciences, at most two social sciences or humanities, at most one fine or performing art). Marks from international schools are converted to Canadian grading.
  • Which marks are used: September to 1 February, Grade 11 marks; 2 February to 30 June, marks through Grade 12 Term 1; after 30 June, Grade 12 marks only. Conditional offers based on earlier marks are re-checked against final Grade 12 marks.
  • Saskatchewan subjects: English can be English Language Arts 30, A30, B30 or French immersion equivalents; math can be Foundations of Mathematics 30, Pre-Calculus 30, Calculus 30 or the former Mathematics A30, B30 or C30; natural sciences (at most two) include Biology 30, Chemistry 30, Computer Science 30, Earth Science 30, Physics 30 or extra math. Other provinces are on the page.
  • Minimum average and required subjects (official 2027-28 admission requirements, high school applicants): Grade 12 standing; a five-subject high school average of at least 70%; at least 70% in each of Chemistry 30, Physics 30 and Pre-Calculus 30; and English proficiency. Selection is by academic average (100% weighting), and enrolment numbers are set by the College with Admissions, so meeting the minimum does not guarantee admission. How other provinces’ and countries’ courses map to these three is shown on the program page for your region; not published here. From August there are also mandatory online RE-ENGINEERED Jumpstarts quizzes reviewing math, physics, chemistry and English.

3. Domestic students (Canadian citizens and permanent residents)

  • How to apply: create an admissions account at apply.usask.ca and apply online; the portal is not covered here. You can list a first and second choice program.
  • Transcripts: Saskatchewan students have the Ministry of Education share transcripts directly through MyCreds. Differences for other provinces are shown on the program page after you select your province; not published on the static pages.
  • In-province vs out-of-province: the pages read do not state differences in tuition or admission by province. Not published.
  • Tuition (2026-2027 estimate): Engineering CAD 12,269 for Canadian students (full course load, September to April), student fees CAD 1,331.66 and books about CAD 1,500 (USask suggests budgeting CAD 1,500 to 2,500), for about CAD 15,100.66 in total.
  • Entrance scholarships: see section 8.

4. International students

  • Applying and fee: apply at apply.usask.ca; most programs charge a non-refundable CAD 120 application fee.
  • Grade conversion: international high school marks are converted to Canadian grading before the average is calculated. IB Diploma students are considered on a 45-point scale; some programs set a minimum score and others rank competitively; individual IB scores are converted to percentages for averages and awards. The IB minimum for Engineering is not published.
  • English: proof may be waived if you completed at least three years of full-time English-medium secondary study including Grades 10–12 and Grade 12 English Language Arts 30 or equivalent; or 2.5 years with 70% in English; or 2 years with 80%; or one year of full-time degree study at a recognized English-medium institution. Otherwise: IELTS Academic 6.5 (6.0 per band); TOEFL iBT new scale 4.5 (4.0 per skill), with older 0–120 scores of 86 (19 per component) from before 21 January 2026 still accepted for up to two years; Duolingo 120 (100 in each area, effective 1 January 2026); PTE Academic 63 (59 per skill); CAEL 70 (60 per skill); Cambridge C1 Advanced 176. Scores must come from one sitting and be valid for two years. AP English 4, IB English A HL 5 and GCSE/IGCSE English B can also qualify.
  • Study permits: the international page notes the Government of Canada’s rule that most new international students need a provincial attestation letter (PAL); see USask’s immigration pages.
  • Credential evaluation and proof of funds: not stated on the pages read; not published.
  • International scholarships: see section 8.
  • Tuition: CAD 59,383 for Engineering in 2026-2027 (same full-course-load basis), plus student fees of CAD 1,331.66 and about CAD 1,500 for books, about CAD 62,214.66 in total.

5. Applicants from China

  • Country-specific requirements: the program page’s selector includes “China,” but what it shows (how Chinese courses map to the prerequisites, whether the Gaokao is considered, which documents are needed) is displayed dynamically and is not on the pages read. Not published. The College-wide standard above applies: a 70% average and 70% in Chemistry 30, Physics 30 and Pre-Calculus 30 or their equivalents.
  • Grade conversion: international school marks are converted to Canadian grading; whether Gaokao scores are used is not published here. Choose “China” on the program page to see it.
  • Interview and verification agency: not mentioned on the pages read; not published.
  • IB students: see section 4.
  • English: see section 4.

6. Dates and fees

  • Fall 2027 (identical on every engineering program page): application deadline 15 February 2027, documents due 1 March 2027; early admission 1 December 2026, with documents also due 1 December.
  • Application fee: CAD 120, non-refundable.
  • Other dates: to be considered for entrance scholarships you must apply and have documents in by 1 December (see section 8).
  • Documents: transcripts (used to calculate the average and check prerequisites) and other items listed in your application status page. A College-specific essay, reference letters or test requirements are not mentioned on the pages read; not published.

7. Co-op and internships

  • Engineering Co-op Internship Program: optional, with paid work terms of 4 to 20 months; taking part may extend your degree by at least one year. The Co-op and Career Centre reports that 66% of undergraduates join, 125 employers posted jobs, 79% of placements were in Saskatchewan and the average monthly salary was CAD 4,950.
  • International students: the pages read do not mention work permits or international eligibility for co-op. Not published; ask the College’s co-op office.
  • Mining: the mechanical engineering Mining option includes a mandatory 12-month internship.

8. Tuition and scholarships

  • Tuition: see sections 3 and 4. USask says tuition is the sum of the classes you register in, so the actual amount depends on your course load.
  • USask Entrance Scholarships (automatic): 600 awards a year worth CAD 5,000 each, distributed among direct-entry colleges including Engineering by admission average, for current high school students or graduates with fewer than 18 transferable credit units. Apply and have transcripts and documents in by 1 December; offers go out from late April.
  • Best and Brightest Entrance Scholarships: up to CAD 40,000 (CAD 10,000 a year for four years); apply for admission by 1 December and submit the scholarship application in PAWS by 15 December; offers January to late February.
  • Competitive Entrance Awards: apply for admission by 15 February and submit award applications and documents by 1 March; based on academic achievement and/or financial need.
  • International-specific awards: University of Saskatchewan International Excellence Award, CAD 10,000 (one award; apply for admission by 15 February; considered automatically on academic achievement); IB Excellence Award, CAD 20,000 (one award, IB Diploma students, automatic). With a 1 May admission deadline: international student from Saskatchewan awards (4 at CAD 15,000), from Manitoba (CAD 10,000) and from British Columbia (CAD 10,000), considered automatically for students applying from high schools in those provinces. USask says most awards are open to international applicants.
  • Engineering scholarships: the College site says 1 in 3 engineering students receive scholarships covering just over a third of annual tuition; a list of specific awards is not on the pages read.
  • Indigenous students: the program has seats designated for Indigenous applicants (no quota; membership/citizenship verification required). The catalogue says the ISAP-STEM pathway (60% program average plus Physics 30, Chemistry 30, Pre-Calc 30), the Arts and Science access route and the Northlands PRES route admit no new students in 2027-28.

9. Transfer students

  • Who counts as a transfer student: applicants with 18 or more transferable credit units are assessed on their university marks and cannot be considered on high school marks; those with fewer than 18 are still assessed on high school marks. For direct-entry colleges such as Engineering, the average includes marks for all courses transferable to USask.
  • Admission requirement for transfer (2027-28): applicants with 18 or more transferable credit units need an average of at least 60% on transferable courses and 70% in each of Chemistry 30, Physics 30 and Pre-Calculus 30; selection is by academic average and enrolment is set by the College. All new engineering students take the same core courses, so transfer applicants must meet these prerequisites.
  • Transfer credit rules (College page): USask first assesses automatically, then the College reviews; email engr.transfercredit@usask.ca with course outlines. Courses need 60% (C-) or better; up to half the courses can transfer and at least 50% of the degree must be completed at USask; credit is not guaranteed; coursework counts only within six years of entering a major. Engineering science and design courses must have been taught by Canadian-licensed engineers (no exceptions for design).
  • International students: because of CEAB rules, engineering science and design courses must have been completed in a Washington Accord signatory country or one with a mutual recognition agreement, and the College says international students may not gain advanced standing for such previously completed credits.
  • Transfer credit: USask provides a lookup of courses already assessed from institutions across Canadian provinces and countries including China and the United States. One published agreement (signed 2024): graduates of Saskatchewan Polytechnic’s Mining Engineering Technology diploma (graduating 2022-23 or later, completed entirely at Sask Polytech) with a GPA of at least 70% can receive up to 57 credit units toward the B.E. in Geological Engineering; the required GPA may be higher if admission is competitive.
  • Deadline for transfers: the program pages give 15 February (documents 1 March); a separate transfer date is not stated, so check with admissions.
  • IB credit: up to 30 credit units (one year); most HL subjects with 5+ earn 6 units and some SL subjects with 5+ earn 3; the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge with a B or higher also earn credit. How these apply to engineering requirements is not published.

Checklist

Domestic students (Canadian high schools):

  • A 70% five-subject average and 70% in Chemistry 30, Physics 30 and Pre-Calculus 30 (or your province’s equivalents)
  • Apply by 1 December 2026 for early admission and USask Entrance Scholarships, or by 15 February 2027 with documents by 1 March
  • Take RE-ENGINEERED in first year and choose one of the eight majors at year’s end

International students (including China):

  • CAD 120 application fee; 2026-2027 Engineering tuition about CAD 59,383
  • IELTS 6.5 (6.0 per band), TOEFL 4.5 (new scale) or Duolingo 120 (100 per area); Chinese applicants’ own requirements and Gaokao use are on the program page under “China”
  • Apply by 15 February for the International Excellence Award; ask the school about co-op work permits

Transfer students:

  • With 18 or more transferable credit units you need a 60% average on transferable courses plus 70% in Chemistry 30, Physics 30 and Pre-Calculus 30
  • Check the course lookup; apply by 15 February

Sources: University of Saskatchewan admissions site, College of Engineering: degree, majors, co-op; Mechanical Engineering page (tuition, deadlines); Engineering Access Program; Calculating your admission average; Requirements and deadlines; How to apply; International students; English language proficiency; International Baccalaureate; Transfer credit; Scholarships; Tuition and costs; 2027-28 official admission requirements; College transfer credit; College degrees and discipline choice. Information is for September 2027 entry; tuition is the 2026-2027 estimate. Check USask for the latest details.

Related articles