How to Apply to Engineering at the University of Bath: Mechanical, Aerospace, Chemical, Civil and Electronic and Electrical Engineering as a 3-Year BEng or 4-Year MEng With an Optional Placement Year, and Entry Requirements for Home, International (Including Chinese) and Year 2 Transfer Applicants
Bath’s Faculty of Engineering & Design offers undergraduate engineering in four areas: mechanical (including aerospace, integrated design, manufacturing and management, and automotive), chemical, civil and structural and architectural, and electronic and electrical (including computer systems and space science). Each has a three-year BEng and a four-year MEng, with optional professional placement versions, and you apply to a specific course through UCAS. Typical A-level offers are A*A*A with A* in Mathematics and A in Physics for mechanical courses, A*AA for chemical and civil, and AAA or A*AB for electronic and electrical. The IB offer for mechanical courses is 36 points with 7, 7, 6 at Higher Level. Bath lists a Gaokao requirement of 80% overall plus 80% in the key subjects. For 2027/28 the Overseas tuition fee is £32,950 and the Home fee is £10,050 (subject to parliamentary approval). Some MEng courses fall under ATAS. This guide is based on Bath’s official information.
Engineering at the University of Bath is taught in the Faculty of Engineering & Design, covering mechanical, chemical, civil and electronic and electrical engineering, on the Claverton Down campus. Here is what you need to know for September 2027 entry, based on Bath’s official information, for UK applicants, international applicants (including students at high schools in China) and students who want to join Year 2. Computer Science has its own guide on this site and is not covered here.
1. The courses and how you are admitted
- Mechanical engineering area: Aerospace Engineering (BEng T100), Integrated Design Engineering (T110), Mechanical Engineering (T120), Mechanical Engineering with Manufacturing and Management (T130) and Mechanical with Automotive Engineering (T140). MEng examples: Mechanical Engineering T122, Aerospace T102, Integrated Design T112.
- Chemical engineering area: Chemical Engineering (BEng P100, MEng P102); Chemical Engineering with Environmental Engineering is MEng only (P110).
- Civil engineering area: Civil Engineering (BEng S100, MEng S102) and Structural and Architectural Engineering (BEng S110).
- Electronic and electrical area: Computer Systems Engineering (BEng Q110), Electrical and Electronic Engineering (BEng Q120, MEng Q122) and Electronic Engineering with Space Science and Technology (BEng Q130).
- Length: BEng three years; BEng with professional placement four years; MEng four years; MEng with professional placement five years. Each course, level and placement version has its own UCAS code; check the course page. Only the codes read on the course pages are listed above.
- How you are admitted: you apply through UCAS directly to a specific course; the course pages do not describe a general first-year engineering entry followed by allocation. Once enrolled, Bath says in mechanical engineering you can move between the five mechanical courses and from MEng to BEng up to the end of Year 2, and decide about a placement by then. In civil engineering you can move between Civil Engineering and Structural and Architectural Engineering, and decide on placement, up to the end of Year 2. The four electronic and electrical courses share their first two years and allow switching between BEng and MEng and the placement decision to the end of Year 2. For chemical engineering Bath does not state switching rules; ask admissions@bath.ac.uk.
- Grades needed to switch: the course pages do not give any grade requirement for switching or moving to an MEng. Not published; ask the department after enrolling.
- Placement year: for mechanical engineering Bath says over half of students take a placement, that placements cannot be guaranteed, and that a specialist team helps; you can earn a salary.
2. Accreditation (BEng versus MEng)
- UK accreditation relates to registration as a Chartered Engineer (CEng). Bath states that Mechanical Engineering BEng is accredited by IMechE as partially meeting the educational requirement and the MEng as fully meeting it; both are currently being reaccredited and the outcome is awaited. Aerospace is accredited by the Royal Aeronautical Society: BEng in part, MEng in full.
- Integrated Design Engineering is accredited by the IET (BEng partially, MEng fully); Mechanical Engineering with Manufacturing and Management BEng is accredited by the IET as partially meeting the requirement.
- Civil and Structural and Architectural Engineering are accredited by the Joint Board of Moderators (JBM): BEng fully meets the IEng requirement and partially meets CEng; MEng fully meets CEng.
- Electrical and Electronic Engineering and Computer Systems Engineering are accredited by the IET: BEng partially, MEng fully meets the Chartered Engineer requirement.
- For chemical engineering, Bath says it is working with IChemE towards reaccreditation of its degrees; the subject page says the MEng degrees fulfil the educational requirements to become a Chartered Engineer.
- Bath also advises checking how your home country recognises UK qualifications if you plan to practise outside the UK.
3. Entry requirements: A-levels and subjects
| Area | Typical A-level offer | Contextual offer |
|---|---|---|
| Mechanical engineering area (five courses) | A*A*A including A* in Mathematics and A in Physics | AAA or A*AB including A in Mathematics and A in Physics |
| Chemical Engineering | A*AA including Chemistry and Mathematics | AAB including A in Chemistry and A in Mathematics |
| Civil and Structural and Architectural Engineering | A*AA including Mathematics | AAB including A in Mathematics |
| Electronic and electrical area (Computer Systems, Electrical and Electronic, Space Science) | AAA or A*AB including A in Mathematics and A in a second science or technology subject | ABB including A in Mathematics and B in another science or technology subject |
- Alternative offers: applicants taking more than three A-levels who are not eligible for a contextual offer can receive a lower alternative offer if they also have an A in an EPQ or IEPQ, an A in AS Further Mathematics (if not taking the A-level) or a B in a fourth A-level (where the four include Further Mathematics). For mechanical courses the alternative is A*AA or A*A*B (with A* in Mathematics and A in Physics); for chemical engineering AAA or A*AB. You receive each offer you qualify for and need to meet only one.
- Contextual offers: Bath says they are automatic; if you qualify you receive the contextual offer instead of the typical and alternative offers.
- GCSE: English Language or Literature at 4/C; your wider GCSE profile is a significant factor. For mechanical engineering, contextual applicants may be considered with mostly 6/B.
- Other UK qualifications: the Advanced Skills Baccalaureate Wales can replace one A-level; BTEC National Extended Diploma (RQF) for mechanical courses requires D*DD plus A* in A-level Mathematics studied alongside; T Levels are not accepted for Mechanical Engineering; Scottish applicants need AA in two Advanced Highers including Mathematics and Physics for mechanical courses, with AAAAA at Higher preferred; Access to HE Diplomas have specific requirements and suitable applicants are invited to interview. Bath does not differentiate A-level offers between England, Wales and Northern Ireland.
- Maths tests and interviews: the course pages do not require a separate maths test. Interviews are used for qualifications that are harder to assess on paper, such as Access diplomas, and only very exceptionally for others.
4. IB and other international curricula
- IB Diploma: mechanical area 36 points with 7, 7, 6 at Higher Level including 6 in Physics and 7 in either HL Mathematics course; in exceptional cases with SL Physics the typical offer is 36 points with HL 7, 6, 6 plus 7 in SL Physics. Chemical Engineering 36 points with HL 7, 6, 6 including Chemistry and HL Mathematics. Civil 36 points with HL 7, 6, 6 including HL Mathematics. Electronic and electrical 36 points with HL 6, 6, 6 or 7, 6, 5 including 6 in HL Mathematics and 6 in another science or technology subject. Higher Level Mathematics is required across engineering.
- Contextual IB: HL 6, 6, 6 or 7, 6, 5 for mechanical courses; HL 6, 5, 5 for electronic and electrical.
- US curriculum (AP): mechanical courses require 5, 5, 5 in three AP tests including Calculus BC and Physics 1 (or two of Physics 2, Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism and Physics C: Mechanics); Chemical Engineering requires Calculus BC and Chemistry.
5. International applicants
- How to apply: the same as for UK applicants, through UCAS, institution code B16. Bath says international applicants must also prove their English level and can get help from Bath’s representatives in their country.
- English (Category C): IELTS 6.5 overall with at least 6.0 in every component; TOEFL iBT taken after 21 January 2026 4.5 overall and 4.0 in each component, earlier tests 90 with 21 in each; PTE Academic 62 with no element below 59 (PTE Academic Online is not accepted); Duolingo 120 overall with Speaking, Writing and Reading 110 and Listening 105. Applicants meeting the GCSE English requirement need no test. A summer pre-sessional English course is available.
- Grades: course pages list requirements for many countries (Gaokao, German Abitur, Malaysian STPM and others) in a selector by origin of qualification; use only what your course page lists.
- Funds and credential evaluation: not on the course pages. Not published; check the UKVI student visa pages and Bath’s international student pages.
- ATAS: Bath says the MEng courses in the mechanical area and in chemical engineering are covered by the Academic Technology Approval Scheme. Unless you are a UK citizen or a citizen of an exempt country you need an ATAS certificate to join; the exempt list on the page is EU/EEA member states, Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland and the USA. BEng students in the mechanical area also need ATAS if they later move to the MEng. The civil and electronic and electrical MEng course pages do not mention ATAS; not published, so check the UK government ATAS pages.
6. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: the Chinese qualifications section lists 80% overall, with 80% in Mathematics for Science and 80% in Physics for mechanical courses; 80% in Mathematics for Science and Chemistry for Chemical Engineering; 80% in Mathematics for Science for civil; and 80% in Mathematics for Science plus a second science or technology subject for electronic and electrical.
- AST: the same section lists the Aptitude Scholastic Test: 230, 210, 210 in three subjects including 210 in Mathematics and 210 in Physics for mechanical courses; 210, 210, 210 or 230, 210, 190 for electronic and electrical. Bath lists the Gaokao and AST separately and does not say whether both are needed, so ask admissions@bath.ac.uk before applying.
- International school students: apply with A-levels or the IB as above; US-curriculum students use the AP requirement.
- International Foundation Year: Bath’s International Study Centre on campus offers one, and the course page says progression to your chosen degree is guaranteed if you reach the required grades. Which foundation pathway leads to each engineering course is not stated on the course pages; check the International Study Centre pages.
- Any country-specific advice for Chinese applicants beyond the course pages (interviews, recognised agencies and so on) is not published; email the admissions team.
7. Joining Year 2 (direct entry)
- The course pages do not describe a route into Year 2; not published. Contact admissions@bath.ac.uk if you already have university study. Bath’s application guide says applicants who already hold a degree-level qualification may apply, but this can affect funding and visas.
8. Fees and scholarships
- 2027/28 fees: Home £10,050, subject to parliamentary approval. Overseas £32,950 (Band 3: all science, engineering, health and psychology courses); Bath advises budgeting for increases of up to 8% each year.
- Placement year fee: Overseas £9,155 for all Faculty of Engineering & Design courses; the Home placement fee is “to be confirmed by UK government”.
- Course pages: they say fee information is not yet available; the figures above are from Bath’s 2027 fee page.
- Bath International Excellence Scholarship: up to 300 awards for 2027 entry, £8,000 a year for up to three years (£24,000), as a tuition discount. You must be a new first-year applicant with Overseas fee status holding an offer for September 2027, and choose Bath as your firm choice. No discount applies in a placement year. You apply through the Application Tracker after receiving an offer; applications open in late 2026, Round 1 closes 14 February 2027 and Round 2 closes 31 March 2027. Applications are not first come, first served.
- Industry scholarships: the electronic and electrical page says Bath’s partnerships with the UK Electronics Skills Foundation and the IET Power Academy give access to scholarships with companies such as ARM, National Grid and Rolls Royce. Whether international students are eligible is not published.
- Extra costs: a laptop and drawing equipment; at least £100 for printing and binding plus textbooks.
9. UCAS application and timeline
- Institution code B16; course codes above and on each course page.
- 13 January 2027: the Home application deadline on the course page. The Overseas deadline field is blank; check the UCAS website.
- When you hear: Bath says many decisions wait until after the January equal consideration deadline; a small number of offers go out between October and January and most in February and March.
- Selection: Bath says its engineering courses are highly selective and meeting the typical offer does not guarantee a place. It looks at previous results such as GCSEs, predicted or achieved grades, subjects studied and the personal statement, using only the UCAS personal statement, which should be relevant to the engineering course if you apply to several subjects.
- The application fee, reference and personal statement format are not on the course pages; check the UCAS website.
Checklist
UK applicants:
- Mechanical A*A*A (A* Maths, A Physics), chemical and civil A*AA, electronic and electrical AAA; check whether you qualify for an automatic contextual offer
- GCSE English at 4/C and a strong GCSE profile
- Submit to UCAS by 13 January 2027, institution code B16
International applicants (including China):
- A-levels or IB with Higher Level Mathematics; Gaokao 80% overall and in the key subjects, and confirm how the AST is used
- IELTS 6.5 (6.0 in each component); a personal statement focused on your engineering course
- Check ATAS if you plan to take an MEng that is covered by it
- Apply for the Bath International Excellence Scholarship after receiving an offer (14 February or 31 March 2027)
Students who want to join Year 2:
- No route is published; contact admissions before applying
Sources: University of Bath, Mechanical engineering courses; Chemical engineering; Civil engineering; Electronic and electrical engineering; Mechanical Engineering BEng; Mechanical Engineering MEng; Mechanical Engineering BEng with professional placement; Chemical Engineering BEng; Civil Engineering BEng; Electrical and Electronic Engineering BEng; 2027 undergraduate tuition fees; International Excellence Scholarship; Applying for an undergraduate course; UCAS 2027 entry dates and deadlines. Information is for September 2027 entry. Check Bath and UCAS for the latest details, and each course page for its own requirements.