How to Apply to Engineering at the University of Leeds: Three-Year BEng and Four-Year MEng Courses Across Four Schools, Direct Entry by UCAS Code, A-Level Offers from AAB to A*AA, and Entry Routes and Prerequisites for UK Applicants, International Applicants (Including China) and Second-Year Entrants
At the University of Leeds, engineering degrees sit in four schools of the Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences (mechanical, civil, chemical and process, and electronic and electrical), each with a three-year BEng and a four-year MEng, applied for directly by UCAS code; the mechanical and civil schools state a common first year. Typical 2027 A-Level offers: A*AA for mechanical, automotive, aerospace and medical engineering, AAA for chemical engineering, AAB (BEng) or AAA (MEng) for civil and for electronic and electrical engineering, with Maths required. The Gaokao is accepted at 75% to 85% depending on the programme. English requires IELTS 6.0 with 5.5 in each component. International fees are £33,700 a year and UK fees £10,050. The UCAS equal consideration deadline is 13 January 2027.
The University of Leeds is in the north of England. Its engineering degrees are taught in four schools of the Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences: Mechanical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Chemical and Process Engineering, and Electronic and Electrical Engineering. Computer science is taught by the Faculty’s School of Computer Science and has its own article on this site, so it is not covered here. This guide follows Leeds’s official information for September 2027 entry and is written for UK applicants (A-Level, Scottish Highers and Advanced Highers, BTEC and others), international applicants (with a separate section for applicants from China) and applicants seeking entry to the second year.
1. Engineering degrees and how you are admitted
- Degree types: every subject has a three-year BEng and a four-year MEng, BEng (an integrated master’s with its own UCAS code). The Mechanical, Automotive, Aerospace and Electronic and Electrical Engineering course pages say BEng students can transfer to the four-year MEng at the end of the second year; the grade conditions are not published on those pages.
- School of Mechanical Engineering: Mechanical Engineering (BEng H305 / MEng H300), Automotive Engineering (H335 / H330), Aeronautical and Aerospace Engineering (H415 / H410), Medical Engineering (HHH1 / HHH6); the School also teaches Product Design BSc and contributes to Mechatronics and Robotics Engineering.
- School of Civil Engineering: Civil Engineering (H203 / H204), Civil and Environmental Engineering (H296 / H291), Civil and Structural Engineering (H205 / H200), Architectural Engineering (HK26 / HK21); the School also offers Architecture, which this guide does not cover.
- School of Chemical and Process Engineering: Chemical Engineering (H805 / H800), Materials Science and Engineering (J510 / J511).
- School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering: Electronic and Electrical Engineering (H605 / H600), Electronics and Computer Engineering (H6B7 / H6B8), Mechatronics and Robotics Engineering (HH41 / HH36); the School also offers Music, Multimedia and Electronics BSc, which is not covered here.
- Direct entry to a subject: you choose a specific course code on UCAS; the pages do not list an undecided-engineering entry route.
- Common first year: the Mechanical Engineering pages say its courses share a common first year, so you can switch course until the end of the first year, and switch between Mechanical, Medical and Automotive Engineering until the end of the second year. Civil Engineering says all its degrees share a first year of six compulsory modules, with the option to switch at the end of that year. The Chemical and Process Engineering and Electronic and Electrical Engineering undergraduate pages do not mention a common first year. Leeds does not publish grade thresholds or place limits for switching; ask the school’s admissions email.
- Accreditation (from the course pages): Mechanical Engineering BEng is accredited by IMechE on behalf of the Engineering Council and partially meets the academic requirement for Chartered Engineer (CEng), while the MEng, BEng fully meets it; Civil Engineering BEng fully meets IEng and partially meets CEng, and the MEng is accredited by the Joint Board of Moderators (JBM); Chemical Engineering is accredited by IChemE, with the MEng fully meeting CEng; Electronic and Electrical Engineering is accredited by the IET (BEng partially, MEng fully meeting CEng); Materials Science and Engineering is accredited by IOM3; the Electronics and Computer Engineering page has no accreditation entry.
- Placement year and year abroad: the engineering course pages offer an optional paid industrial placement year or a year abroad, each adding 12 months; placements sourced by the university are paid, and the Mechanical Engineering page mentions 100+ UK and overseas organisations. Tuition fees are reduced in those years.
- Computer science: it belongs to the same Faculty and has its own article here.
2. Prerequisites and typical offers (2027 entry)
Mathematics is required for every engineering course. Typical offers from the course pages are below, with BEng and MEng separated where they differ.
- Mechanical, Automotive and Aerospace Engineering (BEng and MEng the same): A-Level A*AA including Mathematics and either Physics or Chemistry; IB 18 points at Higher Level including 6 in HL Mathematics and Physics or Chemistry; Scottish Advanced Highers AA including Mathematics and Physics or Chemistry, plus AAAAA at Higher.
- Medical Engineering (BEng and MEng the same): A*AA including Mathematics and one of Physics, Chemistry or Biology; IB 18 points at HL including 6 in HL Mathematics and one science.
- Chemical Engineering: A-Level AAA including Mathematics and either Physics or Chemistry (BEng and MEng the same); the IB pages say 16 points at HL (BEng) and 15 (MEng), including HL Mathematics (6 in Applications and Interpretation or 5 in Analysis and Approaches) and Physics or Chemistry. The MEng figure is lower than the BEng figure on the pages as published, so confirm it with the school before relying on it.
- Materials Science and Engineering: AAB including Mathematics and either Physics or Chemistry; IB 15 points at HL.
- Civil, Civil and Environmental, Civil and Structural, and Architectural Engineering: BEng AAB with an A in Mathematics, IB 16 points at HL; MEng AAA including Mathematics, IB 18 points at HL; the Mathematics requirement is 6 in Applications and Interpretation or 5 in Analysis and Approaches.
- Electronic and Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Computer Engineering, Mechatronics and Robotics Engineering: BEng AAB including Mathematics, IB 17 points at HL; MEng AAA including Mathematics, IB 18 points at HL; HL Mathematics 5 in Analysis and Approaches or 6 in Applications and Interpretation.
- English: GCSE English Language grade 4 (C) or an equivalent English qualification; where a science A-Level is taken, the practical element must be passed.
- EPQ: the Mechanical Engineering BEng page says applicants with an EPQ, IPQ or Welsh ASCC may be offered AAA including Mathematics and Physics or Chemistry plus an A in the project.
- Tests and interviews: the Faculty’s admissions guidance says interviews are not standard but may be used in some cases, and, also not standard, applicants may be asked to sit a Mathematics/Mechanics and/or Physics test. Invited applicants who do not attend are not considered further.
- AP: neither the course pages nor the Faculty guidance list AP requirements; ask the school’s admissions email.
3. UK applicants
- Other UK qualifications (Mechanical Engineering BEng page as an example): BTEC needs DDD in an engineering-related BTEC plus an A in A-Level Mathematics, and BTEC maths units are not accepted in place of A-Level Mathematics; Access to HE needs 60 credits with 45 at Level 3 at Distinction, including Mathematics, Calculus, Further Calculus and Physics or Chemistry; Irish Leaving Certificate Higher Level H1 H1 H2 H2 H2 H2 including Mathematics and Physics or Chemistry; T Levels are not accepted; Cambridge Pre-U D2 D3 D3. The pages do not set different requirements for England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland beyond listing the qualification types.
- Contextual offers (Access to Leeds): for applicants from low-income households, first-generation applicants, those whose studies were disrupted, or those from low-participation neighbourhoods, through the Access to Leeds scheme; the typical A-Level offer for Mechanical Engineering is AAB including Mathematics and Physics or Chemistry. See each course page for other subjects.
- Fees: UK students pay £10,050 in 2027/28; later years may rise with inflation or the government cap.
4. International applicants
- How to apply: international applicants apply through UCAS in the same way as UK applicants; Leeds recommends applying early to leave time for the visa.
- English: the engineering course pages ask for IELTS 6.0 overall with no less than 5.5 in each section, or an equivalent. Applicants who fall short can take the undergraduate pre-sessional English course.
- Grades and country qualifications: the course pages only say Leeds accepts a range of international qualifications and to contact the admissions team; see Leeds’s country pages for equivalences.
- Foundation: international students who do not meet the academic requirements can take the University of Leeds International Foundation Year on campus and then progress. Which engineering courses it leads to is not listed on the course pages; see the Foundation Year page.
- Fees: £33,700 a year for international students starting in 2027, fixed for the whole course (the same figure on each of the course pages checked above).
- Scholarships: see the international scholarships directory for awards, conditions and whether they are awarded automatically; Leeds also gives former Leeds students a 10% alumni tuition fee bursary. The pages we read do not mention an engineering-specific international scholarship.
- Proof of funds and credential verification: not stated on the pages we read; see Leeds’s visa and immigration pages.
5. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: Leeds accepts the Gaokao with the senior high school certificate. Its China page gives typical requirements of 75% to 85% in the Gaokao depending on the programme, plus an 80% overall average (80% in relevant subjects) in senior high Years 1 and 2 and the graduation certificate, and notes that some programmes also require A-Level Maths alongside the Gaokao. The figure for each engineering subject, and whether A-Level Maths is needed, are not published; contact the school: mechanical ugmech@leeds.ac.uk, civil ugcivil@leeds.ac.uk, chemical and process ugchemical@leeds.ac.uk, electronic and electrical ugelec@leeds.ac.uk.
- Maple Leaf (MLWSP): the Maple Leaf World School Program Diploma is accepted at 75% to 85% depending on the programme.
- Foundation: applicants who do not meet these requirements need a foundation programme such as the Leeds International Foundation Year, or Level 3 qualifications such as A-Levels or the IB.
- English: the China page lists the MLWSP English 12 module at 65% or above, IELTS 6.0 overall, or GCSE English C/4 or an equivalent.
- Interviews, accreditation bodies and graduation exam (huikao) materials: not stated on the China page.
- SWJTU-Leeds Joint School: opened in Chengdu in September 2016 and recruits around 375 high school students in China each year, who graduate with degrees from both Leeds and Southwest Jiaotong University. Its engineering degrees are Civil Engineering with Transport BEng, Electronic and Electrical Engineering BEng, Mechanical Engineering BEng and Materials Science and Engineering BEng (plus Computer Science BSc). Students mainly follow the Leeds syllabus in English alongside additional SWJTU courses; many stay in Chengdu for all four years, while some transfer to Leeds for two years (2+2) or the final year (3+1). The Leeds page does not describe how to apply; check the Joint School’s own website.
6. Entry to the second year and internal transfer
- Advanced entry to year 2: the Faculty’s 2027/28 admissions guidance says applications for second-year entry are considered, made through UCAS by the normal deadline; you must meet the first-year entry requirements on the course page, have met the learning outcomes of year 1, and have achieved a minimum 60% average in the first year of study. Because places are limited, the Faculty may also consider academic performance, personal statement and references. Entry directly to Level 3 is not generally permitted.
- Internal transfer: current Leeds students can be considered if places are available; contact the relevant school before the deadline and email your current programme, grades, other qualifications, reason for transfer and interest in the subject. You may be interviewed and may have to complete your current year to a specified level.
- Credit transfer: beyond the conditions above, how credits are recognised is not stated; ask the school’s admissions email.
7. Documents and timeline (September 2027 entry)
- Route: UCAS. The Faculty’s equal consideration deadline is 18:00 UK time on 13 January 2027; check the UCAS website. The course pages say applications after the deadline may still be considered.
- Personal statement and reference: the personal statement shows your interest and aptitude; where applications show similar achievement and predicted grades, the Faculty may use the personal statement and references to differentiate. The pages do not list a separate engineering supplement.
- Decisions: for applications by the January deadline, UCAS asks universities to decide by mid-May. Offer holders are invited to an offer holder event.
- Application fee: charged by UCAS; please check the UCAS website. We did not visit UCAS, and the Leeds pages do not state it.
- Deferred entry: the Faculty considers deferred entry and suggests explaining your reasons in the personal statement.
Checklist
UK applicants:
- Pick the course code: BEng three years, MEng four years; Mathematics required, and Physics or Chemistry for mechanical and chemical engineering
- Check section 2 for A-Level and Highers; UK fee £10,050
- Apply through UCAS by 13 January 2027
International applicants:
- A-Level and IB as in section 2; IELTS 6.0 (5.5 in each section)
- Fee £33,700 a year; check the scholarship directory
- Apply early to leave time for the visa
Applicants from China:
- Gaokao 75% to 85% depending on programme plus an 80% average in Years 1 and 2; email the school for the engineering figure and any A-Level Maths requirement
- If you fall short, consider the International Foundation Year or A-Level / IB; also look at the SWJTU-Leeds Joint School
Second-year entry:
- Apply through UCAS by the deadline with at least a 60% first-year average; places are limited
Sources: University of Leeds, Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences admissions 2027/28; School of Mechanical Engineering undergraduate degrees; School of Civil Engineering undergraduate degrees; School of Chemical and Process Engineering undergraduate degrees; School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering undergraduate degrees; Mechanical Engineering BEng; Mechanical Engineering MEng, BEng; Civil Engineering BEng; Chemical Engineering BEng; Electronic and Electrical Engineering BEng; Qualifications from China; SWJTU-Leeds Joint School; International scholarships and funding. Information is for September 2027 entry. Check the UCAS website for the application fee and the application portal, and check Leeds for the latest details.