How to Apply to Engineering at the University of Warwick: A Common General Engineering First Year, Specialising from Year 2, BEng Typically AAA and MEng A*AA with Maths and Physics, and Entry Routes and Prerequisites for UK Applicants, International Applicants (Including China) and Transfer Students
At the University of Warwick, every School of Engineering student follows a general engineering first year, then from year 2 specialises in one of eight disciplines (mechanical, civil, electrical and electronic, automotive, biomedical systems, manufacturing and mechanical, systems engineering, engineering business management) or stays on the General Engineering pathway; Computer Systems Engineering is a joint degree with Computer Science and has no common first year. The three-year BEng typically asks for A-Level AAA and the four-year MEng A*AA, both including Maths and Physics; IB is 36 for the BEng and 38 for the MEng. Engineering does not use TMUA and Warwick does not typically interview. English requires IELTS 6.0 with 5.5 in each component. The UCAS deadline is 18:00 on 13 January 2027.
The University of Warwick is in Coventry, England, and its engineering degrees are taught by the School of Engineering. Computer Science is taught by the Department of Computer Science and has its own article on this site, so it is not covered here; Computer Systems Engineering, a joint degree with that department, is described separately below. This guide follows Warwick’s official information for September 2027 entry (start date 27 September 2027) and is written for UK applicants (A-Level, Scottish Advanced Highers, BTEC and others), international applicants (with a separate section for applicants from China) and applicants seeking entry to a later year.
1. Engineering degrees and how you are admitted
- Degree types: most subjects have a three-year BEng and a four-year MEng, with different UCAS codes. Warwick says students can switch between the three-year BEng and the four-year MEng if academic requirements and regulations are met.
- Subjects and codes (BEng / MEng): Automotive Engineering H330 / H335; Biomedical Systems Engineering H161 / H163; Civil Engineering H200 / H202; Electrical and Electronic Engineering H605 / H606; Engineering (General) H100 / H102; Manufacturing and Mechanical Engineering HH73 / HH37; Mechanical Engineering H300 / H302; Systems Engineering HH35 / HH31; Engineering Business Management is BEng only, HN12; Computer Systems Engineering (joint with Computer Science) G406 / G408.
- A common first year, then specialisation: all School of Engineering students follow a general engineering programme in the first year, with core modules including Dynamics and Thermodynamics, Electrical and Electronic Circuits, Engineering Design, Engineering Mathematics, Engineering Business Management and Professional Skills, Materials for Engineering, Engineering Structures, and Systems Modelling, Simulation and Computation. From the second year you can specialise in one of eight engineering disciplines or stay on the General Engineering pathway. So you choose a specific course code on UCAS and the real split happens in year 2. Warwick does not publish a grade threshold for specialising or say whether your chosen discipline is guaranteed; ask the School’s undergraduate admissions.
- Computer Systems Engineering is the exception: it is taught jointly with the Department of Computer Science and does not share the common first year; you study computer systems design from the start. It is accredited by BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT.
- Accreditation (as stated): Automotive, Manufacturing and Mechanical, Mechanical, Systems and General Engineering are accredited by the IET, IMechE and the Institute of Measurement and Control (InstMC); Biomedical Systems and Electrical and Electronic Engineering by the IET and InstMC; Civil Engineering by the Joint Board of Moderators (ICE, IStructE, IHE, CIHT, PWI). The course pages do not say how the BEng and MEng differ in accreditation level (for example, whether each fully meets Chartered Engineer requirements); see the School’s accreditation page.
- Placement, research or study-abroad year: you may take a year in industry, research or study abroad between years 2 and 3 (for the MEng also between years 3 and 4), subject to availability; it adds a year and appears in the degree title. The course pages do not state the fee for that year.
- MEng year 4: advanced material and a large multidisciplinary group project.
- Computer science: it belongs to the Department of Computer Science and has its own article here.
2. Prerequisites and typical offers (2027 entry)
- A-Level: BEng typical offer AAA including Mathematics and Physics; MEng A*AA including Mathematics and Physics. Applicants with a strong overall profile who study only one of Physics and Mathematics may be considered, subject to the competitiveness of the cohort. Engineering Business Management BEng is also AAA including Mathematics and Physics.
- IB: BEng 36 points including 6 in HL Mathematics and 6 in HL Physics; MEng 38 points with 6,6,6 in three HL subjects including Mathematics and Physics. Applicants taking one of Mathematics and Physics at SL may be considered if their overall profile is strong.
- Scottish Advanced Highers: BEng AA in Mathematics and Physics plus AAB in three further Highers; MEng AA plus AAA in three further Highers.
- Welsh Baccalaureate (BEng page): AAB in three A-Levels including Mathematics and Physics plus grade C in the Advanced Skills Baccalaureate Wales.
- BTEC: relevant BTEC plus A-Level combinations are welcomed, for example BTEC alongside A-Level Mathematics, Further Mathematics and Physics, assessed case by case.
- Access to HE: considered case by case; typically 45 Level 3 credits with Distinction in 33 and Merit in 12, and subject credits or an A-Level may also be required.
- Computer Systems Engineering (G406 / G408): A-Level AAA including an A in Mathematics; IB 36 points with 6 in HL Mathematics (Analysis and Approaches only); Scottish Advanced Highers AA in two including Mathematics plus AAB in three Highers. TMUA is not required.
- GCSE: the course pages say grade 4 (C) or equivalent in English Language and in either Mathematics or a science, while Warwick’s general entry requirements page says grade 4 (C) in both English Language and Mathematics. The two statements differ; confirm with admissions.
- Admissions tests and interviews: Warwick’s TMUA page lists Computer Science, Economics (optional) and Mathematics and Statistics (optional) as the subjects using TMUA; engineering degrees are not listed, and Computer Systems Engineering is named as not requiring it. The course pages say Warwick does not typically interview; offers are based on the UCAS application, including predicted and achieved grades, the personal statement and the school reference.
- Contextual offers: the Mechanical Engineering BEng page gives a typical contextual offer of AAB including Mathematics and Physics, or IB 34 with 5,5 in HL Mathematics and Physics (one of them may be SL). Warwick notes that the contextual eligibility information relates to 2026 entry and may change for 2027.
- AP: not mentioned on the engineering course pages; ask undergraduate admissions.
3. UK applicants
- Prerequisites: Mathematics and Physics are required at A-Level / IB for the engineering degrees (Computer Systems Engineering asks only for Mathematics).
- Fees: UK students pay the government cap of £10,050 for 2027-28 (£9,790 for 2026-27), which may rise with inflation in later years. Eligible English residents can apply for tuition fee and maintenance loans.
- Funding: the Warwick Bursary gives qualifying Home students from lower-income families up to £2,500, with no application. The engineering page says there are no School scholarships for undergraduate courses in advance of enrolment; the Women in Engineering Scholars Programme is open only to students already in the first year of a School of Engineering degree at Warwick.
- England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland: the course pages give requirements by qualification type (A-Level, Advanced Highers, Welsh Baccalaureate) and do not set separate rules by nation.
4. International applicants
- English: the engineering course pages place the degrees in Band A. Warwick’s English requirements page (currently the 2026 entry version) lists IELTS Academic Band A as 6.0 overall with at least 5.5 in each component, taken in one sitting with no one-skill retakes; tests such as IELTS must be taken within two years and one month before the course starts. Applicants who need a visa may be asked for a secure English test. Those who fall short may be eligible for the undergraduate Pre-sessional English course. The standard for 2027 entry has not been published; check Warwick.
- Foundation: the Warwick International Foundation Programme (IFP) is a one-year programme on the Warwick campus; its STEM course includes a Science and Engineering route, and finishing it gives a guaranteed conditional offer for a relevant degree (for selected courses). Which engineering degrees are covered and at what grades are on the IFP course pages.
- Fees: Warwick publishes the 2026-27 overseas fees: Band 1 £27,870 a year (classroom-based courses) and Band 2 £35,530 a year (laboratory-based courses and others, with exceptions). Overseas fees for 2027-28 have not been set; check before you apply. The engineering course pages do not say which band applies, so confirm with admissions.
- Scholarships: the School of Engineering page names the Warwick Undergraduate Global Excellence Scholarship for gifted international learners; the amount, conditions and whether it is automatic are on Warwick’s scholarship search tool and are not stated on the pages we read. The course pages also say no School scholarships can be applied for before enrolment.
- Proof of funds and credential verification: not stated on the pages we read; see Warwick’s international application and visa pages.
5. Applicants from China
- Senior high school graduates: Warwick requires a foundation programme first, such as the Warwick International Foundation Programme (IFP). It also welcomes students from other institutions’ foundation programmes; use live chat to check suitability.
- CEIS route: for applicants through the China Excellence Identification Scheme, courses without essential subjects typically need 80% overall in the Gaokao and 210 in each of AST English, Maths and Physics; courses with Maths as an essential subject need 80% overall with 210 in AST English and 230 in each of AST Maths and Physics; courses with a high Maths requirement need 85% overall with 210 in AST English and 230 in each of AST Maths and Physics. Which tier engineering falls under is not stated; confirm with Warwick.
- One year of a bachelor’s degree plus Gaokao: applicants who have completed the first year of a Chinese bachelor’s degree with excellent grades and a Tier 1 Gaokao score may be considered for year 1, only from universities on Warwick’s list. In the table, the A-Level AAA row asks for 85% in the Gaokao and a pass in the first year with 83% or higher (depending on the university); the A*AA row asks for 85% in the Gaokao and 85% or higher in the first year (depending on the university); subject requirements are 85% in the specific Gaokao subjects. The BEng typical offer is AAA and the MEng A*AA.
- Maple Leaf World Schools Program (MLWSP): AAA corresponds to an average of 85% across five non-overlapping Grade 12 academic courses (excluding Personal and Global Leadership 12 and similar), and A*AA to 87%. The table does not state subject-level requirements for Mathematics and Physics at these tiers; confirm with Warwick.
- International-school students: apply with A-Level or IB as in section 2; TMUA is not required.
- Interviews, accreditation bodies and graduation exam (huikao) materials: not stated on the China page.
6. Entry to a later year and internal transfer
- Entry to year 2 or later: Warwick has a page on exemption from part of a degree, which says exemption from part of a full-time undergraduate degree is considered only in very exceptional circumstances; write to the Undergraduate Admissions Team with your reasons, if possible before applying through UCAS. Whether engineering degrees accept year-2 entrants, and with what grades and courses, is not published.
- Students who have studied at university: Warwick’s pages do not describe a dedicated transfer route; ask undergraduate admissions first.
- Internal changes: School of Engineering students can move from the general pathway into one of the eight disciplines from year 2, or switch between BEng and MEng, if academic requirements and regulations are met; the specific conditions are not published.
7. Documents and timeline (September 2027 entry)
- Route: UCAS; applications for 2027 entry opened on 1 September 2026.
- Deadline: to guarantee consideration you must complete your application, including the academic reference, by 18:00 on 13 January 2027. A small number of courses may consider later applications but this is not guaranteed and equal consideration will not apply. Check the UCAS website.
- Decision: if you apply by 13 January 2027, Warwick will decide no later than 12 May 2027.
- Verification: qualifications and results other than those released in August must be verified by 18 July 2027; for results released in August, confirmation that you met the conditions is due by 1 September 2027.
- Personal statement and references: offers take into account the personal statement and school reference; any engineering supplement is not published. The application fee and personal statement format are set by UCAS; please check the UCAS website, as we did not visit it.
- Deferred entry: Warwick welcomes applications for deferred (gap year) entry.
Checklist
UK applicants:
- Choose a course code: BEng three years (AAA with Maths and Physics) or MEng four years (A*AA)
- Fee £10,050; no TMUA and no usual interview
- Apply through UCAS by 18:00 on 13 January 2027
International applicants:
- A-Level / IB as in section 2; IELTS 6.0 (5.5 in each component, 2026 entry standard)
- 2027-28 overseas fees are not yet published; check before applying
Applicants from China:
- High school graduates: take the IFP or another recognised foundation programme
- For CEIS or the first-year-plus-Gaokao route, confirm the engineering requirements with Warwick
Entry to a later year:
- Exemption only in very exceptional circumstances; write to the Undergraduate Admissions Team first
Sources: University of Warwick, School of Engineering undergraduate degrees; Degree structure; Mechanical Engineering BEng; Mechanical Engineering MEng; Computer Systems Engineering BEng; Entry requirements; Key dates; English language requirements; Admissions tests (TMUA); Exemption from part of a degree; China entry requirements; Course costs; School of Engineering fees and scholarships; International Foundation Programme. Information is for September 2027 entry; English requirements and overseas fees are the currently published 2026 entry standards. Check the UCAS website for the application fee and portal, and check Warwick for the latest details.