How to Apply to Engineering at the University of Birmingham: A Shared First Year for Civil, Mechanical and Electronic Engineering, AAB With A-level Maths for BEng and AAA for MEng, with Entry Routes and Prerequisites for UK, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Students
Birmingham’s School of Engineering, part of the College of Engineering and Physical Sciences, offers BEng and MEng degrees in civil, mechanical, electronic and electrical, aerospace and mechatronic and robotic engineering. You can apply directly to a named degree, or to general Engineering BEng (H236) or MEng (H632) and choose a specialism before Year 2. Civil, Mechanical and Electronic, Electrical and Systems Engineering share their first year. BEng needs A-level AAB including Mathematics or IB 32 points; MEng needs AAA. Gaokao applicants need 80% overall and 80% in Mathematics. International fees for 2027/28 are £33,300 a year on most course pages (£31,680 on the Aerospace BEng page), fixed at the first-year rate. The UCAS deadline is 13 January 2027 at 18:00 GMT. Transfer entry into Year 2 is not described on the pages read. This guide covers degrees, entry, English, fees and a checklist.
Engineering at the University of Birmingham is taught by the School of Engineering, part of the College of Engineering and Physical Sciences, on the Edgbaston campus. Here is what you need to know for September 2027 entry, based on Birmingham’s official information, for UK applicants, international applicants (including those from China) and students who want to join Year 2. Computer Science has its own guide; the only point made here is that Computer Engineering, listed under Electronic, Electrical and Systems Engineering, is a BSc (UCAS HH64).
1. Engineering courses and degree types
- General Engineering: Engineering BEng (H236, 3/4 years) and Engineering MEng (H632, 4/5 years), described as designed for you to specialise later.
- Civil Engineering: BEng H200 (3 years), MEng H201 (4 years); MEng with Industrial Experience (H202), with Industrial Year (H204) and with International Study (H203).
- Mechanical Engineering: BEng H300, MEng H301; Automotive BEng H302 / MEng H330; with Industrial Year BEng H304 / MEng H303; with a Year Abroad MEng H305.
- Electronic and Electrical Engineering: BEng H600, MEng H605; with Industrial Year BEng H606 / MEng H607.
- Mechatronic and Robotic Engineering: BEng H6H3, MEng HH63, with industrial-year versions (H64I, H65I).
- Aerospace Engineering: BEng H400, MEng H402.
- BEng and MEng: BEng is three years, MEng four. The Mechanical Engineering pages say the MEng fully meets, and the BEng partly meets, the academic requirement for Chartered Engineer (CEng), and that BEng graduates need an approved format of further learning. The Civil Engineering BEng page says it fully meets the academic requirement for Incorporated Engineer (IEng) and partly meets CEng; the Civil MEng fully meets CEng.
- Accreditation (per course page): Civil Engineering by the Joint Board of Moderators (JBM) on behalf of the Engineering Council; Mechanical Engineering by the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE); Electronic and Electrical Engineering and Mechatronic and Robotic Engineering by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET); Aerospace Engineering by the Royal Aeronautical Society and the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3). The general Engineering page says all engineering programmes are accredited and sends you to each specialism page.
- Chemical Engineering, Metallurgy and Materials and other engineering-related courses are not on these subject lists; check Birmingham’s course finder.
2. How admission works: a named degree, or general Engineering and choose later
- Named degree: choose the civil, mechanical, electronic and electrical or other UCAS code. Birmingham says Year 1 is shared across Civil, Mechanical, and Electronic, Electrical and Systems Engineering: eight modules and 120 credits, including Engineering Mathematics, Mechanics, Fluid Mechanics and Energy Transfer, Engineering Materials, computing and an Integrated Design Project. From Year 2 each degree has its own modules.
- General Engineering (H236 / H632): the same shared first year, and you choose a specialism before Year 2 and transfer to that programme. The pages read do not state grade thresholds, capacity limits or a guarantee for moving into a particular specialism; ask the admissions team.
- Whether Aerospace and Mechatronic and Robotic Engineering use the same shared first year is not stated on the pages read; check before applying.
- MEng safety net: if you miss the MEng offer but meet the BEng grades and Birmingham is your firm choice, a BEng place is guaranteed, with a possible transfer back to the MEng depending on academic performance.
- Industrial year: several degrees have an industrial-year version. The tuition page says international students pay 50% of the agreed fee for a whole year on placement or studying abroad; Home students pay 20% for an industrial placement year and 15% for a year abroad.
3. Prerequisites: A-level, IB and Mathematics
- A-level: BEng in General Engineering, Civil, Mechanical, Electronic and Electrical, and Mechatronic and Robotic Engineering is AAB including A-level Mathematics; MEng is AAA including A-level Mathematics. Three A-levels; General Studies and Critical Thinking are not accepted, though a good performance may be considered if you narrowly miss your offer. The Mechanical page adds that Further Mathematics and Physics are not required but are advantageous.
- Aerospace Engineering: the BEng page asks for AAB including Mathematics and one of Physics, Chemistry, Further Mathematics or Computer Science.
- IB: BEng needs 6, 6, 5 at Higher Level including Mathematics, with 32 points; MEng needs 6, 6, 6 including Mathematics, with 32 points; Aerospace BEng needs Mathematics plus Computer Science, Physics or Chemistry at HL.
- BTEC: the Extended Diploma is considered with D*D*D* including Distinction in mathematics and further mathematics units, plus a pass in the Mathematics Aptitude test; the Diploma (D*D*) must be combined with A-level Mathematics (B for BEng, A for MEng); the Subsidiary Diploma (D*) with two A-levels.
- Mathematics Aptitude test: the pages say that if you have an alternative to A-level Mathematics, the Admissions Tutor may assess your mathematics through this test. No interview or national admissions test is mentioned.
- One-grade-lower alternative offers (if Birmingham is your firm choice): EPQ at B, grade 8 music performance, county-level sport, or STEP at grade 2; the course page notes the STEP reduction as “including Mathematics”. The general offers page, however, says reductions are not combined and that a subject with a specific grade requirement is not reduced, so the two statements differ; ask the admissions team whether the Mathematics grade can be reduced.
- Contextual offer: eligible applicants automatically receive an offer one grade lower, with no separate application: ABB for BEng (including Mathematics or Further Mathematics) and AAB for MEng. Birmingham says there are three criteria; the page text read lists two, free school meals in the last six years and time in local authority care, so check the third on the website.
- Pathways to Birmingham: completers typically receive an offer two grades below the standard offer: BBB for BEng and ABB for MEng.
- Foundation: the Engineering and Physical Sciences Foundation Year (HFJ0) is for UK students, asks for BBB, and does not consider students taking Mathematics; it runs for 4/5 years in total, with automatic progression to a three-year BEng and progression to a four-year MEng depending on performance. International students use the Birmingham International Academy.
4. UK applicants
- Qualifications: three A-levels, the IB Diploma, SQA Highers and Advanced Highers (many programmes accept Highers without Advanced Highers), the Irish Leaving Certificate at Higher Level, the Advanced Skills Baccalaureate Wales (with two A-levels) and others. The exact grades for Scottish, Welsh and Northern Irish qualifications for each engineering degree were not on the pages read; use the qualification selector on the course page.
- Fees: £10,050 a year for UK students in 2027/28, with later years adjusted if Parliament agrees an increase. Tuition fee and maintenance loans are available from the Student Loans Company.
- GCSE: the general requirement is GCSE English and Mathematics at grade 4 or above, and some courses ask for more.
- Other: if you live in the West Midlands and are first in your family to attend university, see Access to Birmingham (A2B: £1,500 a year and an alternative offer).
5. International applicants
- Qualifications: A-level, IB, or an equivalent from your country; the grade equivalents appear after you choose your country on the course page (loaded dynamically, so check the website).
- English (in the international entry-requirements grouping table, Civil, Mechanical, Electronic and Electrical, Aerospace and Computer Engineering are in Group A; the general Engineering course page shows the same IELTS requirement): IELTS 6.0 with at least 5.5 in each band; TOEFL before January 2026, 80 overall (Reading 19, Listening 19, Speaking 21, Writing 19), and from January 2026, 4.5 overall with at least 4 in each skill; PTE 64 (59 in each skill); Cambridge C1 Advanced 169 (162 in each component); Language Cert ESOL B2 with 25 in each skill; Trinity ISE II Distinction in all skills. Offer holders short of the English requirement can take a Presessional English course (classes of up to 18) instead of resitting.
- Fees: most engineering course pages (general Engineering, Civil, Mechanical, Electronic and Electrical, Mechatronic and Robotic; BEng and MEng) show £33,300 a year for international students in 2027/28; the Aerospace Engineering BEng page shows £31,680. Birmingham says the first-year fee stays the same for the whole degree.
- Scholarships: the international scholarships page says “more than £7.5 million”, while the China page says “more than £10.5 million”; the two pages differ, so use the scholarship database. No engineering-specific international scholarship was seen; see the international scholarships page.
- Funding evidence and credential verification: not described on the entry-requirements page read, and credential verification is not published there either; contact the admissions team.
6. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: Birmingham accepts the Gaokao for direct entry, requiring 80% overall and, where A-level Mathematics is required (as it is for engineering), 80% in Gaokao Mathematics. For most provinces (750 total, 150 for maths) that is 600 and 120; for Shanghai (660 total) it is 528; for Hainan with the 150-mark Huikao (900 total) it is 720; Yunnan’s extra 22 points are not counted. The provincial table is labelled for Gaokao results in 2025 or earlier; for later years check the page.
- Senior high school: alternatively the graduation certificate with an 85% average in Years 11 and 12, including 85% in subjects required at A-level (here, Mathematics).
- AST: the Aptitude Scholastic Test is accepted for undergraduate entry (some clinical courses excepted): 250 for A*, 210 for A, 170 for B, together with the Chinese High School Certificate at an overall 70% or above and the English requirement.
- Which offer: whether an 80% Gaokao corresponds to the BEng (AAB) or the MEng (AAA) is not stated; contact the China team (china@contacts.bham.ac.uk).
- Foundation: if you do not meet the Gaokao requirement, Birmingham offers a one-year or four-year integrated foundation programme on its campus with progression to its undergraduate courses. English requirement (international foundation table): one-year, IELTS 5.5 with 5.0 in each band; four-year integrated, IELTS 5.5 with 5.5 in each band.
- International school students: apply with A-level or IB as in section 3.
- Interview: none is mentioned.
- Agents: the China page lists partner agents; you can also apply through UCAS yourself.
- Scholarship: the High Fliers Undergraduate Scholarships for China award £5,000 towards first-year tuition. The page I read is for September 2026 entry, expects A-level AAA, IB 666 or Gaokao 80% with an 85% average in Years 11 and 12, and shows “Closed”. Whether a 2027 round is open is not published; check the scholarship page.
7. Transfer into Year 2 (direct entry)
- The engineering course pages, the undergraduate application pages and the entry-requirements pages read do not describe transfer into Year 2 from another university, credit recognition or a deadline.
- Ask the admissions team (“Speak to our admissions team” on each course page).
- Moving between specialisms inside Birmingham: Civil, Mechanical and Electronic, Electrical and Systems Engineering share Year 1, with the choice made before Year 2 (section 2).
8. Cost summary
- UK students: £10,050 (2027/28).
- International students: £33,300 on most engineering pages (£31,680 on the Aerospace BEng page), fixed at the first-year rate for the whole degree.
- Placement or study-abroad year: 50% for international students; 20% (placement) or 15% (abroad) for UK students.
- Fees cover tuition, examination, graduation and membership of the Guild of Students.
9. UCAS application and timeline
- All undergraduate courses are applied for through UCAS, in the same way for international and UK applicants. I did not use the UCAS website; check application dates, the personal statement format and the application fee with UCAS.
- Deadline: the course pages give 13 January 2027, 18:00 GMT for September 2027 entry.
- UCAS codes are listed in section 1.
Checklist
UK applicants:
- A-level AAB (BEng) or AAA (MEng), Mathematics required; or IB 32 points (HL 6, 6, 5 or 6, 6, 6 including Mathematics)
- Apply through UCAS by 13 January 2027 with the right code (H236, H200, H300, H600 and so on)
International applicants (including those from China):
- Gaokao 80% overall and 80% in Mathematics; or a school average of 85% with 85% in Mathematics; or A-level, IB or AST
- IELTS 6.0 (5.5 in each band) or TOEFL 4.5 on the new scale
- Budget £33,300 a year (£31,680 on the Aerospace BEng page); the foundation route is open if you fall short
Students wanting Year 2 entry:
- No conditions are published; contact the admissions team first
Sources: University of Birmingham, Engineering courses; Engineering BEng; Engineering MEng; Civil Engineering courses; Civil Engineering BEng; Mechanical Engineering courses; Mechanical Engineering BEng; Mechanical Engineering MEng; Electronic, Electrical and Systems Engineering courses; Electronic and Electrical Engineering BEng; Aerospace Engineering BEng; Engineering and Physical Sciences Foundation Year; Gaokao entry requirements; Information for students from China; International entry requirements; How we make offers; Tuition fees; International scholarships; High Fliers Scholarships for China. Information is for September 2027 entry and the 2027/28 academic year. Check Birmingham for the latest details.