How to Apply to Life Sciences at Royal Holloway, University of London: Direct Entry by UCAS Code to Biology, Biochemistry, Biomedical Sciences, Genetics and Zoology BSc, A-level ABB–BBB With Biology Required, Royal Society of Biology Accredited, With Requirements for UK, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants
The Department of Biological Sciences at Royal Holloway teaches Biology (C100), Biochemistry (C700), Biomedical Sciences (B990), Medical Biochemistry, Genetics, Zoology and Ecology and Wildlife Conservation BSc degrees on the Egham campus, applied for directly by UCAS code (institution code R72), each with Year in Industry and Integrated Foundation Year versions. For 2027 the A-level range is ABB–BBB with A-level Biology and a pass in the practical element; the pages read list no standard interview. International tuition is £27,900 a year. For the gaokao the course pages show 73%; the International Undergraduate Scholarship is £3,000 a year and automatic. No medicine, nursing or pharmacy degree appears in the department’s course list. UK, international (including Chinese) and second-year transfer routes are covered.
The life science undergraduate degrees at Royal Holloway, University of London (Royal Holloway) are concentrated in the Department of Biological Sciences, with Egham as the campus on the course pages; Royal Holloway’s English language page lists Biological Sciences under the School of Life Sciences and the Environment. The department says all its undergraduate degrees are accredited by the Royal Society of Biology. The department’s course list used for this guide contains no medicine (MBBS/MD), nursing or pharmacy degree; the English language page also has undergraduate entries for Health Studies and Psychology, whose course pages were not read. This article follows Royal Holloway’s application, entry requirements, international and China pages, fee and scholarship pages and the biological sciences department and course pages for September 2027 entry, for UK applicants, international applicants, applicants studying in China and students hoping to enter the second year.
1. Life science degrees and variants
All of these are BSc degrees on the Egham campus, 3 years full time, and each also has a four-year “Year in Industry” version and a four-year “Integrated Foundation Year” version. UCAS codes are given in that order:
- Biology: C100; with a Year in Industry C102; with Integrated Foundation Year C10F.
- Biochemistry: C700; C702; C70F.
- Biomedical Sciences: B990; B991; B99F.
- Medical Biochemistry: C741; C742; C74F.
- Genetics: C400; C401; C40F.
- Zoology: C300; C302; C30F.
- Ecology and Wildlife Conservation: C150; C151; the Integrated Foundation Year version is shown as C15F in the department’s course list, while the link named “Ecology and Conservation with Integrated Foundation Year” on the same page is marked C151, so check UCAS.
You apply for a specific course code; most year 1 modules are shared and the degrees diverge from year 2. Year in Industry: year 3 is a full-year placement; Royal Holloway says you take responsibility for sourcing a placement, with support from the School and College; the placement year is charged at 20% of that year’s tuition fee; placements can be in the research laboratories of industrial or research employers or with environmental organisations or consultancies; year 4 includes an individual research project (a report of about 8,000 words and an oral presentation). Integrated Foundation Year: aimed at non-standard entrants, including mature returners with science qualifications below the standard for degree entry; international students must meet the English language requirements (see below). Royal Holloway also has an Optional Placement Year: apply through UCAS for the standard version and apply in the autumn term of your second year; it is charged at 20% of the usual fee, can be spent studying abroad, working or volunteering, and is described as not competitive, though you must secure an approved placement or exchange.
2. Prerequisites and entry requirements for 2027
- A-level: the course pages for Biology, Biochemistry, Biomedical Sciences, Medical Biochemistry, Genetics, Zoology and Ecology and Wildlife Conservation (and their Year in Industry versions) all say ABB–BBB and require A-level Biology plus a pass in the practical element of all science A-levels taken, and GCSE English Language and Mathematics at grade 4 (C). On chemistry, only the Biochemistry page mentions “A-level Biology” and none of these pages adds a separate chemistry requirement; the Biomedical Sciences, Genetics and Medical Biochemistry pages say the A-levels must include Biology.
- Integrated Foundation Year: on the Biology (C10F) page, A-level CCC–CCD with Biology A-level and GCSE English and Maths at grade 4 (C); the page says the course suits non-standard entrants, including mature returners with science qualifications below the standard for degree entry; T-Levels are accepted. Check the other foundation-year course pages for their own requirements.
- Other qualifications: the course pages put the IB, BTEC, Welsh Baccalaureate, Scottish Highers and Advanced Highers, Irish Leaving Certificate, Access to HE and T-Level requirements in drop-down menus that did not appear in the static pages used for this guide; check “Entry requirements” on the course page.
- Admissions tests and interviews: Royal Holloway says none of its undergraduate courses currently require an interview or a portfolio as standard; the biological sciences course pages do not mention an admissions test.
- Year 1 core: the courses share Becoming a Bioscientist, Cell Biology and the Origin of Life, Genetics, Introductory Animal Physiology and Academic Integrity (Genetics differs slightly). Biology adds Green Planet: Plants and Our Future; Biochemistry, Biomedical Sciences and Medical Biochemistry add Chemistry of Life, Fundamental Biochemistry and Protein Biochemistry and Enzymology; Zoology adds Ecology and Conservation and Vertebrate Evolution and Diversity; Ecology and Wildlife Conservation adds Ecology and Conservation and Green Planet.
- Years 2 and 3: for example, Biology has Biological Data Analysis and Interpretation, Evolution and Professional Skills and Employability in year 2, and the Individual Research Project and Climate Change – Plants and the Environment in year 3; Biomedical Sciences has Human Physiology in Health and Disease, Molecular Biology, Immunology, Neuronal and Cellular Signalling and Pharmacology and Toxicology in year 2, and Molecular Basis of Inherited Disease in year 3; Biochemistry has Bioenergetics and Metabolism, Protein Structure and Function, Molecular Biology and Physical Biochemistry for Life Scientists in year 2; Medical Biochemistry has Nutrition and Medical Biochemistry, Cell and Molecular Neuroscience and Clinical Diagnosis of Disease in year 3. See each course page for the others; modules change each year.
- Teaching: taking Biology as the example, each year is 120 credits with most modules worth 15 credits and a 30-credit individual research project in year 3; year 1 is formative and years 2 and 3 count one third and two thirds of the final classification; class sizes range from 6 to 180; years 1 and 2 include laboratory or field practicals in every module; in year 3 you choose a laboratory, field or computer-based individual research project assessed by written report, supervisor assessment and an oral presentation.
- Accreditation: the course pages say the courses are accredited by the Royal Society of Biology.
3. UK applicants
- Accepted qualifications: A-levels (three subjects), BTEC/CTEC/WJEC, Scottish Advanced Highers (at least three passes), IB, Access to HE, the Welsh Baccalaureate, T-Levels and others; GCSE requirements are at least five passes (A*–C or 9–4) including Maths and English. The course pages do not separate England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland, and the exact Scottish grades are on the UCAS course page. T-Level equivalences: Distinction (A* on the core and distinction in the occupational specialism) is AAA*, Distinction is AAA, Merit is BBB, Pass (C or above on the core) is CCC and Pass (D or E on the core) is DDD; where a course sets A-level subject requirements, T-Level applicants are likely to be asked to offer that A-level alongside (this passage comes from the foundation-year course page, so check the T-Level conversion on other course pages).
- Fees: the Home fee for 2027/28 is £10,050 a year (see section 8).
- Contextual offers and widening access: see section 7.
4. International applicants (including Chinese applicants): English, qualifications and funding
- Route: also through UCAS, institution code R72. Check the UCAS website for the application fee and personal statement format.
- Qualifications: Royal Holloway accepts a wide range of international qualifications; each course page has an “International & EU requirements” drop-down by country. If in doubt, use the Admissions Office enquiry form (+44 (0)1784 414944). For countries where the course page says the secondary school diploma is not enough for direct entry, it points to the International Foundation Year or an equivalent foundation programme.
- A-level / IB / US qualifications: A-level and IB requirements are on the course page; the IB scores are in a drop-down that did not appear in the static page used for this guide, so check the course page. The course pages also give conversions for US qualifications (combinations of AP, ACT and SAT); follow the course page.
- English language: applicants who are not nationals of the majority English-speaking countries listed by the UK Home Office must show English ability. Royal Holloway lists these nationalities as exempt: Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, the British overseas territories, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Ireland, Jamaica, Malta, New Zealand, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, the UK and the USA. Accepted tests include IELTS (including IELTS Indicator), Pearson, Cambridge, TOEFL iBT (including Home Edition), OnCampus Test of English, Duolingo, LanguageCert, Kaplan and the Oxford tests. Undergraduate scores depend on the subject: for biological sciences: IELTS 6.5 with no sub-score below 5.5; Pearson Test of English 67 with no sub-score below 59; Trinity ISE III; TOEFL iBT 88 (Reading 18, Listening 17, Speaking 20, Writing 17); Duolingo 120 with no sub-score below 100. Certificates must be issued no more than two years before the course starts. If your results are slightly below the requirement you may be offered a pre-sessional English course instead of retaking the test.
- SELT: Royal Holloway says IELTS must be a SELT if a sub-score is below 5.5 and you apply for a pre-sessional course with a linked CAS; TOEFL iBT cannot be used as a SELT.
- Deposit and visa: international undergraduates who need a Student visa must pay a tuition fee deposit of £3,000 or £10,000* before a CAS can be issued (the asterisk after £10,000 is not explained on the page used for this guide, so check the “Student fees and deposits” page for who pays which). The deposit is usually non-refundable except in certain circumstances (see the refunds policy); a CAS can only be issued in the six months before the course starts. Applicants who applied through an agent and live outside the UK, EU, EEA, Switzerland, USA, Canada, Australia and New Zealand pay the deposit through Study Group; the link is in the offer letter. The exact proof-of-funds amount is not given on the pages used for this guide; check Royal Holloway’s visa and immigration page and the UK government visa pages.
5. Applicants from China
- Royal Holloway’s China page: it says the first Chinese student was admitted in 1887 and gives its official WeChat account (伦敦大学皇家霍洛威学院), Weibo (@皇家霍洛威Royal_Holloway) and Red Note (伦敦大学皇家霍洛威). The international team offers 30-minute one-to-one counselling sessions on Teams (they do not affect admission) and guided campus tours. The page lists the agents Royal Holloway works with in China; check it before you apply.
- Gaokao for direct entry to Year 1: the China page says the gaokao is accepted for direct entry, with these equivalences: AAA needs at least 75%; AAB 75%; ABB 73%; BBB 70%; BBC 67%; BCC 65%; CCC 63%, and “additional requirements may apply depending on the programme”.
- On the course pages for this subject: the country drop-downs on the Biology, Biology with a Year in Industry, Biochemistry, Biomedical Sciences, Medical Biochemistry, Genetics, Zoology and Ecology and Wildlife Conservation course pages give a gaokao requirement of 73% (shown as a single percentage with no separate subject score); the Integrated Foundation Year pages do not list the gaokao separately. For applicants who do not meet the requirement, the course pages say the partner foundation provider may help. Which gaokao subject corresponds to A-level Biology is not stated; ask the Admissions Office.
- After one year at a Chinese university: the China page says successful completion of one year at a recognised university in China with an overall average of 60% or above.
- International Foundation Year and International Year One: the Royal Holloway International Study Centre (run by Study Group) offers an International Foundation Year (Arts and Social Sciences, Management and Economics, or Sciences) and an International Year One (Business and Management, Computer Science, Economics or Electronic Engineering) that leads directly to the second year of the chosen degree. The International Foundation Year in Sciences is the matching pathway; the International Year One routes (Business and Management, Computer Science, Economics, Electronic Engineering) do not include biology, so there is no International Year One route into the biological sciences degrees. The progression grades are on the International Study Centre website, which was not read for this guide. Royal Holloway also recognises foundation programmes from the University of London (IFP), INTO, On Campus, NCUK, CATS Colleges and David Game College; for the University of London IFP, Distinction (70%) is shown against AAA, Merit (65%) against AAB or ABB and Merit (60%) against BBB or BBC, and there are subject-specific rows for Biology, Economics and Psychology (for example Merit 60% in Maths) on the entry requirements page. The Study Centre also has a Chinese-language website that was not read for this guide.
- AP, Huikao, transcripts and certificates: how to submit Chinese transcripts, Huikao results and the graduation certificate is not given on the pages used for this guide; ask the Admissions Office (enquiry form with your UCAS number and full name; +44 (0)1784 414944). Whether these gaokao percentages are calculated against each province’s full mark is not stated.
- China team: the China page names Elle Zhang, International Student Recruitment Manager (East Asia & UKI), and offers appointment booking.
6. Route and timeline for September 2027 entry
- Route: full-time undergraduate applications go through UCAS, institution code R72, with up to five choices; use the UCAS course code on each course page.
- 1 September 2026: UCAS opens for applications.
- 13 January 2027: UCAS Equal Consideration deadline. The “When to apply” text on Royal Holloway’s page says “2026 entry” but gives dates from September 2026 to January 2027, so it appears to describe the 2027 entry cycle; check UCAS.
- International applicants: Royal Holloway advises applying by 13 January because of demand for popular courses, and says applications will still be considered until 30 June 2027 if places remain.
- 25 February 2027: UCAS Extra opens; 12 May: deadline for universities to tell UCAS their decision; the deadline to reply to offers is 5 May, 2 June or 21 July 2027 depending on when you receive the final decision; 30 June: deadline for applications submitted after the Equal Consideration deadline; 1 July: UCAS Extra deadline; 2 July: Clearing starts; 12 August: A-level results; 23 September: deadline for any new UCAS application. Accommodation applications open in early 2027.
- Age: most students are 18 or over; applicants who will be under 18 at the start of the course should read the admissions policy.
- The “What happens next” page, the personal statement guide and deferred entry arrangements were not read in detail; for deferred entry the tuition fee is the fee for the year of entry (tuition fees page).
7. How Royal Holloway assesses applications
- What is considered: completed qualifications and grades, predicted grades for qualifications not yet completed, the personal statement and motivation, and the reference. Royal Holloway says it also makes offers to applicants predicted below the advertised grade range if, on the whole application, it believes they can be successful.
- How requirements are written: A-level applicants must pass three subjects; the grades on course pages are minimum ranges and your own offer may be higher. BTECs, CTECs and WJECs (Extended Certificates, National Diplomas, Extended Diplomas) are accepted at the equivalent of the A-level requirement; both the IB Diploma and IBCP are accepted; Scottish Advanced Highers applicants are expected to achieve at least three passes, with grades varying by department (see the UCAS course listing); UK applicants are expected to have at least five GCSEs at A*–C or 9–4 including Maths and English. Other accepted qualifications include Access to HE, the European Baccalaureate, the Welsh Baccalaureate, Edexcel National Diploma, T-Levels, CACHE and International A-levels.
- Interviews and portfolios: Royal Holloway says none of its undergraduate courses currently require an interview as part of a standard application, and none requires a portfolio as standard.
- Offers: most applicants receive a conditional offer, usually conditional on final grades, and meeting the conditions guarantees the place; some receive unconditional offers. If English is not your first language and you have no recognised test, an English condition is likely.
- If unsuccessful: Royal Holloway cannot make every applicant an offer because of specific entry requirements or oversubscription; for feedback email applicants@royalholloway.ac.uk; you can consider another course through UCAS Extra.
- Contextual offers: the Widening Access page mentions contextual offers and financial support for students from under-represented groups, but the pages used for this guide do not give the eligibility criteria or size of any grade reduction, or say whether international applicants qualify; ask wa@royalholloway.ac.uk or the Admissions Office.
8. Fees and scholarships
- International tuition (2027/28): the biological sciences course pages above (including the Year in Industry versions) all show an international fee of £27,900 a year, and the placement year is charged at 20% of that year’s tuition fee. The foundation year page also says international students starting the Integrated Foundation Year in 2026 receive a 10% discount on the Year 1 fee of their full degree; whether that continues for 2027 entry is not stated, so ask Royal Holloway. Royal Holloway reserves the right to raise fees every year; for international students starting in 2026/27 and 2027/28, annual increases are decided in its annual review, based on the UK Retail Price Index (RPI) and capped at 7.5%.
- Home fee: £10,050 for students starting in 2027/28; for UK students starting in 2026/27 and 2027/28 later increases follow UK Government policy, capped at 7.5% (some Foundation Year courses are excluded). A UK passport alone does not qualify you for the Home fee; you must also meet residency requirements. A provisional fee status is decided when you apply and can be checked on the Applicant Portal after an offer.
- Other essential costs: course pages say there are no single required costs above £50 per item (excluding accommodation, commuting, food, books and printing); the biological sciences pages also recommend buying a laptop.
- Instalments: Royal Holloway says international students starting in September 2026 can pay in two equal instalments; whether the same applies for 2027 is not stated on the pages used for this guide, so check the “Student fees and deposits” page.
- Royal Holloway International Undergraduate Scholarship 2027: a tuition fee reduction of £3,000 a year for each year of study, awarded automatically with no separate application. Eligibility: international fee status; BBB at A-level, or IB 30 overall or 5,5,5 at Higher Level, or other equivalent grades; and an offer for an undergraduate degree starting in September 2027. It cannot be held with any other Royal Holloway scholarship that gives a fee reduction or discount, any internal cash award, or any recognised partnership discount (including the progression discount for International Study Centre students). Contact rhps@rhul.ac.uk.
- Other scholarships: the scholarships page has a search by level of study, fee status and subject area, and departments have their own awards; some 2027 scholarships had not yet opened for applications. Some scholarships need an application and others are automatic; see each scholarship page for criteria and deadlines. The scholarships page has a “Biological Sciences” subject filter, so filter by undergraduate, international and Biological Sciences.
9. Transfer and second-year entry
- Royal Holloway says certain departments consider transfers into the second year of an undergraduate programme case by case, and that it is unable to accept transfers into the third year for any course.
- Conditions: meet the first-year entry requirements of the target programme and achieve grades equivalent to an upper second class honours in your first year at university. Second-year applications are also made through UCAS.
- Which specific courses take transfers, and which first-year modules you need, is not stated course by course on the pages used for this guide; ask the Admissions Office or the department. International applicants can also consider the International Year One (see above), which leads directly to the second year.
Checklist
UK applicants:
- A-level ABB–BBB with Biology and a practical pass; GCSE English and Maths 4; for Scottish and other qualifications check the course page and UCAS
- Apply through UCAS (R72) by 13 January 2027; Home fee £10,050 a year
International applicants (including China):
- A-level ABB–BBB including Biology; gaokao 73% per the course pages; or the Sciences International Foundation Year
- English: IELTS 6.5 (5.5 in each section) and equivalents; tuition £27,900 a year; International Undergraduate Scholarship £3,000 a year, automatic
Transfer applicants:
- Meet first-year entry requirements and an upper second equivalent; no third-year entry for any course; apply through UCAS
Sources: Royal Holloway, University of London, Biological Sciences subject page; Biological Sciences: studying here; BSc Biology; Biology with a Year in Industry; Biology with Integrated Foundation Year; Biochemistry; Biomedical Sciences; Medical Biochemistry; Genetics; Zoology; Ecology and Wildlife Conservation; How to apply; Entry requirements; Your offer; International students; China page; English language requirements; Undergraduate tuition fees; Student fees and deposits; Scholarships; International Undergraduate Scholarship; Integrated Foundation Year; Optional Placement Year. Information is for September 2027 entry (where a page prints no year, the current version of the page); check Royal Holloway for the latest details.