How to Apply to Mathematics at the University of Hull: IMA-Accredited BSc Mathematics, Typical Offer 96–112 UCAS Points With A-Level Mathematics at C or Above, and Entry Requirements for Home, International (Including Chinese) and Year 2 Transfer Applicants
The University of Hull’s BSc (Hons) Mathematics is accredited by the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications and is applied for through UCAS (institution code H72); the course page also lists a version with a foundation year. The typical offer is 96–112 UCAS points, with A-level Mathematics at grade C or above (IB 28 including 5 in Higher Level Mathematics), a foundation-year offer of 48 points, and a contextual offer of 96 points. International tuition is £18,945 for 2027/28 and academic IELTS 6.0 (5.5 in each skill) is required. The China country page lists a Gaokao minimum of 67%, Huikao 77% and other entries, set out below.
Mathematics at the University of Hull is taught on its campus in Hull. This guide sets out the key points for 2027 entry based on the University’s website, for UK applicants, international applicants (including students at high schools in China) and students wanting to join Year 2.
1. The course and how you are admitted
- Degree: the course page describes BSc (Hons) Mathematics and also lists a version with a foundation year (BSc Mathematics with a Foundation Year); the content covers pure and applied mathematics, probability, statistics and numerical programming. The course page does not list an MMath, or versions with a placement or year abroad; ask admissions if you need one.
- Accreditation: the course is accredited by the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications (IMA), the first step towards Chartered Mathematician status.
- You apply to the course directly through UCAS; the pages used for this guide do not describe choosing a specialism after entry. In the course: Year 1 includes calculus and linear algebra; in Years 2 and 3 you can choose optional modules (the director’s video gives Statistical Models, Mathematical Biology and Quantum Mechanics as examples); and in the final year you complete a BSc research project on a topic of your choice.
- Compulsory modules shown on the course page (the module list runs to three pages and the year of study is not shown, so only what is displayed is listed): Calculus; Linear Algebra; Introduction to Programming in Python; Probability and Statistics; Numbers, Sequences and Series; Modelling, Mechanics and Optimisation; Vector Calculus; Differential Equations; Advanced Mechanical Modelling. You study 120 credits a year, mostly in 20-credit modules.
- Admissions tests: the course page does not mention a mathematics admissions test (such as MAT or TMUA) or an interview; only the foundation year mentions an essay and/or interview. Confirm with admissions.
- Related: Hull also offers BSc Secondary Teaching Studies (Mathematics) (code X134 on the course page), a direct route into secondary school teaching; computing and economics are not covered here.
- After the BSc: the website says you could transfer onto its one-year taught mathematics MSc.
2. Prerequisites and grades
- Typical offer: 96–112 UCAS points; the contextual offer is 96 points; at least 80 points must come from A levels, BTEC or other equivalent qualifications.
- Subjects: A-level Mathematics at grade C or above; the IB Diploma at 28 points including 5 in Higher Level Mathematics; an Access to HE Diploma with 96–112 UCAS tariff points including at least 18 credits at Merit in Mathematics.
- For applicants whose qualifications are in subjects other than those key to the degree, the website says it will usually require a minimum of 72 points from A levels, BTEC or equivalents.
- The website says it looks at your whole application, not just grades, including achievements, work experience, and music and sport qualifications.
- UK applicants: the Hull accepted-qualifications list includes A levels, AS levels, BTEC, Scottish Highers and Advanced Highers, the Welsh Baccalaureate, Cambridge Pre-U and the Extended Project (course pages also list Access to HE diplomas); use the UCAS tariff calculator linked on the page to convert qualifications to points. The pages used for this guide do not give separate requirements or fees for England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland.
How and when to apply
- UK applicants: most full-time undergraduate courses are applied for through UCAS. The University of Hull’s UCAS institution code is H72 (Hull York Medical School is H75). A UCAS application has six sections: personal details, choices, education, employment, personal statement and reference. The UCAS deadline for 2027 entry is not given on the pages used for this guide; check on the UCAS website.
- International applicants: there are two routes. You can apply directly to the University through one of its approved agents in your country (the list is on the country page), and track the application in the MyHull student portal; or you can apply through UCAS. Hull says that if you want to apply to more than one university you need to use UCAS, and some schools, advisers and agents are registered UCAS centres that can submit on your behalf.
- Offers: a conditional offer must be met before the place is confirmed; an unconditional offer means you have already met all requirements. UCAS applicants accept or reject in their UCAS account; agent applicants accept in MyHull.
3. Preparing, and funding
- Contextual offer: Hull states its contextual offer is 96 UCAS points, lower than the standard requirement. Examples of qualifying circumstances include living in an area of low progression to higher education or high relative deprivation, time in local authority care, being the first in your family to attend university, current or past eligibility for free school meals, and caring responsibilities. In most cases it is applied automatically from your UCAS application. Whether it applies to international applicants is not stated on the pages used for this guide; ask the admissions team.
- Mathematics scholarship: the course page promotes the Gillian Stead Scholarship for students with good A-level results or equivalent, worth up to £6,300 over three years. A footnote states that 128 UCAS points including 48 points in Mathematics qualifies for the Gillian Stead Bursary of £2,100 for first-year students from the UK or the EU, with a further £2,100 in each year subject to results. Whether international (non-EU) students qualify is not stated; ask admissions.
Foundation year
- A foundation year is an extra year at the start of the degree for applicants whose qualifications and experience do not allow direct entry; you then progress to the full degree. The course pages give a typical foundation offer of 48 UCAS points from A levels, BTEC or equivalents. The foundation-year page says entry usually ranges from 64 to 72 UCAS Tariff points in the main cycle and may be lower in Clearing, and the application-guide FAQ says you typically need 80 UCAS points. The three figures differ and the website does not explain why; rely on the course page for your course and confirm with admissions.
- Foundation applicants are expected to show experience of a related subject and aptitude for academic work, which the website says may be judged by an essay and/or interview. The foundation-year modules shown on the course page include Foundation Mathematics A and B, Introduction to Physics 1 and 2, and Preparing for Learning in Higher Education, designed to prepare you for a physics or mathematics degree.
International applicants: English, deposit and visa
- English: the course pages below all state academic IELTS 6.0 overall with no less than 5.5 in each skill. If you need a student visa or English is not your first language you must provide evidence; if you do not yet meet the standard you may receive an offer conditional on completing a pre-sessional English course. The English language requirements page on the Hull website lists other accepted tests.
- Deposit and payment: international students usually pay a non-refundable tuition fee deposit (deducted from the total fee) before a Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies (CAS) is issued for the visa application; sponsored applicants, those with a full-fee scholarship, and Hull undergraduate graduates are exempt. Undergraduate fees are paid in two instalments, one at enrolment and one in the fourth month, through Flywire; cash is not accepted. A sponsor must be an official body recognised by UK Visas and Immigration; sponsorship from family members is not accepted.
- Visa and ATAS: once you have the CAS you apply for a student visa, paying the application fee and the healthcare surcharge. Some science or technology programmes may require an Academic Technology Approval Scheme (ATAS) certificate; your offer letter will say whether it applies.
Applicants from China
- Entry to Year 1: the Hull China country page says that for the first year of an undergraduate bachelor’s degree it “generally accepts” the following: the National College Entrance Examination (Gaokao) with a minimum grade of 67%; the General Graduation Examination (Huikao) with a minimum of 77%; the Senior High School Diploma with an average of 80% over three years; a Specialist College Diploma (Zhongzhuan) with 80%; a Vocational Secondary School Diploma (Zhixiao) with 80%; Year 1 of a Dazhuan (including Gaozhi and Gaozhuan) diploma with 75%; Year 1 of a bachelor’s degree with 70%; or an International Baccalaureate Diploma of 28 to 30. It also accepts students who completed a US high school curriculum, and says it sometimes requires subject-specific grades, which will be stated in your offer letter.
- Foundation: Business, Law, Computer Science and Engineering foundation courses are run by the partner ONCAMPUS Hull; see the ONCAMPUS website for their entry requirements. For other foundation courses the country page lists completion of Senior Secondary School Year 2 with a 70% average, or Year 3 with a 60% average. Check the China page on the Hull website for which tier applies to you.
- Entry to Year 2 or the final year: applicants who have completed equivalent prior study are considered case by case.
- Not stated: the scale on which the 67% Gaokao figure is calculated, whether it varies by province or track, and course-specific Gaokao requirements are not given on the pages used for this guide; where a course has subject-specific grades they appear in the offer. Ask the admissions team (global@hull.ac.uk).
- Scholarship: the country page mentions the Fairer Future Global Scholarship, a 50% tuition fee scholarship for the full undergraduate course for 10 successful applicants. Eligibility and deadlines are not given on the pages used for this guide; check the scholarships page on the Hull website.
Transfers and direct entry to Year 2
- Hull’s transfer page says that if you have completed your first year elsewhere and your previous study aligns with one of its degrees, you may be able to transfer directly into Year 2; if you are early in your first year you may still be able to join Year 1 through Clearing; transfers part-way through the year are possible but you should consider the effect on studies, accommodation and finances.
- Credit transfer: the University considers requests to transfer higher education credit gained at another university as part of the course you apply to, where the previous degree matches closely enough. How much credit is given is not stated on the pages used for this guide.
- There is no specific deadline for transfer applications; the University recommends transferring early in Year 1 or after completing Year 1 and before Year 2 starts. Acceptance varies by course, so contact the admissions team (study@hull.ac.uk) first. Specific transfer entry requirements are not given on the pages used for this guide.
Fees
- International students: the course page gives a standard fee of £18,945 per year (the page data is labelled 2027/28, non-lab-based), and the same £18,945 if you take a foundation year. The website notes that fees may rise each year, capped at the Retail Price Index, and that tuition fees for 2028 entry have not been confirmed, so use 2027/28 as a guide.
- UK students: The page text says the standard fee for UK students is £9,790 per year, while the page data also carries a figure of £10,050 labelled 2027 for UK students; the website does not explain the difference, so rely on what the course page currently shows. Tuition fee loans and maintenance loans depend on your student finance body and household income; check the Hull funding pages.
- Additional costs: the course page lists possible costs for books, optional field trips, overseas study, student visas, a laptop, printing, professional-body membership and graduation; amounts are not given on the pages used for this guide.
This guide follows the University of Hull website for 2027 entry; check the UCAS deadline, current fees and the China page entries before applying.