Home / Admissions / UK Applications / How to Apply to Physics at the University of Hull

How to Apply to Physics at the University of Hull: Physics, Physics with Astrophysics and Theoretical Physics, Each With a BSc and a Four-Year MPhys, IOP-Accredited, Requiring A-Level Mathematics and Physics, and Entry Requirements for Home, International (Including Chinese) and Year 2 Transfer Applicants

2026-10-29 · Application guides

Hull offers Physics, Physics with Astrophysics and Theoretical Physics; each course page shows a BSc (Hons) and an MPhys (a four-year integrated masters) plus a BSc with a foundation year, and you apply to the course through UCAS (institution code H72). The typical BSc offer is 96–112 UCAS points and the MPhys offer 104–120, with A-level Mathematics and Physics at grade C or above (IB 28 for the BSc and 30 for the MPhys, with 5 in HL Mathematics and Physics). A foundation-year offer is 48 points and the contextual offer is 96. International tuition is £21,520 for 2027/28, with academic IELTS 6.0 (5.5 in each skill). The China page lists a Gaokao minimum of 67% and other entries, set out below.

Physics at the University of Hull is taught on its campus in Hull; the course pages do not name the school. This guide sets out the key points for 2027 entry based on the University’s website, for UK applicants, international applicants (including students at high schools in China) and students wanting to join Year 2.

1. The courses and how you are admitted

  • Three courses: Physics; Physics with Astrophysics; and Theoretical Physics. Each course page shows a BSc (Hons) and an MPhys, plus a BSc with a foundation year. The UCAS codes shown on the pages are F300 (Physics), F3F5 (Physics with Astrophysics) and F340 (Theoretical Physics); the pages do not say which degree version each code covers, so check in the application link on the course page.
  • MPhys: the website describes integrated masters degrees as four-year programmes including a postgraduate year, with masters-level advanced modules and often a significant research project, suited to research careers or a PhD. The Theoretical Physics course page video says it is offered as a three-year BSc and a four-year MPhys. Transfer between most physics courses, including the MPhys and BSc, is possible up to the end of the second year.
  • Accreditation: the course pages show Institute of Physics (IOP) accreditation, and the website says the degree meets the educational requirements towards Chartered Physicist.
  • What you study: modules on the Physics course page include Discovery Skills, Mathematics for Physicists, Classical and Quantum Physics, Electromagnetism and Differential Equations, Experimental and Computational Methods for Physics (with Python), Astronomy and Optics, Properties of Matter and Concepts in Quantum Mechanics, Experimental Investigations, and Waves and Vector Calculus; the MPhys has an MPhys Project. The laboratory is central, with experiment design and data analysis, and there is a global challenge module in interdisciplinary teams. You study 120 credits a year, mostly in 20-credit modules, and modules may change.
  • Astrophysics: on the Physics with Astrophysics page, Astronomy and Optics is compulsory and there is a module on fluid dynamics in astrophysics. Theoretical Physics: the programme director says in the course page video that it is about two-thirds physics and one-third mathematics, with significantly less lab content than the other courses though still some labs, and final-year projects range from quantum technologies and theory of condensed matter to theoretical astrophysics.
  • Admissions tests: the course pages do not mention a physics or mathematics admissions test or an interview; only the foundation year mentions an essay and/or interview. Confirm with admissions.
  • Research and facilities: the course page mentions access to the Viper supercomputer and a teaching laboratory; research areas named include condensed matter theory, laser physics, cosmology, quantum theory, nanophysics, magnetism and astrophysics.

2. Prerequisites and grades

  • BSc: typical offer 96–112 UCAS points, with at least 80 points from A levels, BTEC or equivalents; A-level Mathematics and Physics at grade C or above, and applicants taking the reformed A-level must also pass the practical element; the IB Diploma at 28 points including 5 in Higher Level Mathematics and Physics; an Access to HE Diploma with 96–112 UCAS tariff points including at least 18 credits at Merit in Mathematics and 18 at Merit in Physics.
  • MPhys: typical offer 104–120 UCAS points with the same A-level subject requirements (Mathematics and Physics at C or above, practical passed); the IB Diploma at 30 points including 5 in HL Mathematics and Physics; an Access to HE Diploma with 102–118 UCAS tariff points including at least 18 credits at Merit in each of Mathematics and Physics; the BTEC L3 Extended Diploma is marked as suitable for the foundation year only.
  • The three physics course pages give the same figures. The contextual offer is 96 UCAS points.
  • For applicants whose qualifications are in subjects other than those key to the degree, the website says it will usually require a minimum of 72 points. The website says it looks at your whole application, not just grades.
  • UK applicants: the Hull accepted-qualifications list includes A levels, AS levels, BTEC, Scottish Highers and Advanced Highers, the Welsh Baccalaureate, Cambridge Pre-U and the Extended Project (course pages also list Access to HE diplomas); use the UCAS tariff calculator linked on the page to convert qualifications to points. The pages used for this guide do not give separate requirements or fees for England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland.

How and when to apply

  • UK applicants: most full-time undergraduate courses are applied for through UCAS. The University of Hull’s UCAS institution code is H72 (Hull York Medical School is H75). A UCAS application has six sections: personal details, choices, education, employment, personal statement and reference. The UCAS deadline for 2027 entry is not given on the pages used for this guide; check on the UCAS website.
  • International applicants: there are two routes. You can apply directly to the University through one of its approved agents in your country (the list is on the country page), and track the application in the MyHull student portal; or you can apply through UCAS. Hull says that if you want to apply to more than one university you need to use UCAS, and some schools, advisers and agents are registered UCAS centres that can submit on your behalf.
  • Offers: a conditional offer must be met before the place is confirmed; an unconditional offer means you have already met all requirements. UCAS applicants accept or reject in their UCAS account; agent applicants accept in MyHull.

3. Preparing, and funding

  • Contextual offer: Hull states its contextual offer is 96 UCAS points, lower than the standard requirement. Examples of qualifying circumstances include living in an area of low progression to higher education or high relative deprivation, time in local authority care, being the first in your family to attend university, current or past eligibility for free school meals, and caring responsibilities. In most cases it is applied automatically from your UCAS application. Whether it applies to international applicants is not stated on the pages used for this guide; ask the admissions team.
  • Scholarships: the physics course pages do not list a subject-specific scholarship; check the undergraduate scholarships page on the Hull website for awards open to international students.

Foundation year

  • A foundation year is an extra year at the start of the degree for applicants whose qualifications and experience do not allow direct entry; you then progress to the full degree. The course pages give a typical foundation offer of 48 UCAS points from A levels, BTEC or equivalents. The foundation-year page says entry usually ranges from 64 to 72 UCAS Tariff points in the main cycle and may be lower in Clearing, and the application-guide FAQ says you typically need 80 UCAS points. The three figures differ and the website does not explain why; rely on the course page for your course and confirm with admissions.
  • Foundation applicants are expected to show experience of a related subject and aptitude for academic work, which the website says may be judged by an essay and/or interview. The foundation-year BSc pages list Foundation Mathematics and Introduction to Physics 1 and 2 modules (mechanics, properties of matter, electricity and magnetism, then oscillations, waves, and quantum and nuclear physics) preparing you for a physics or mathematics degree.

International applicants: English, deposit and visa

  • English: the course pages below all state academic IELTS 6.0 overall with no less than 5.5 in each skill. If you need a student visa or English is not your first language you must provide evidence; if you do not yet meet the standard you may receive an offer conditional on completing a pre-sessional English course. The English language requirements page on the Hull website lists other accepted tests.
  • Deposit and payment: international students usually pay a non-refundable tuition fee deposit (deducted from the total fee) before a Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies (CAS) is issued for the visa application; sponsored applicants, those with a full-fee scholarship, and Hull undergraduate graduates are exempt. Undergraduate fees are paid in two instalments, one at enrolment and one in the fourth month, through Flywire; cash is not accepted. A sponsor must be an official body recognised by UK Visas and Immigration; sponsorship from family members is not accepted.
  • Visa and ATAS: once you have the CAS you apply for a student visa, paying the application fee and the healthcare surcharge. Some science or technology programmes may require an Academic Technology Approval Scheme (ATAS) certificate; your offer letter will say whether it applies.

Applicants from China

  • Entry to Year 1: the Hull China country page says that for the first year of an undergraduate bachelor’s degree it “generally accepts” the following: the National College Entrance Examination (Gaokao) with a minimum grade of 67%; the General Graduation Examination (Huikao) with a minimum of 77%; the Senior High School Diploma with an average of 80% over three years; a Specialist College Diploma (Zhongzhuan) with 80%; a Vocational Secondary School Diploma (Zhixiao) with 80%; Year 1 of a Dazhuan (including Gaozhi and Gaozhuan) diploma with 75%; Year 1 of a bachelor’s degree with 70%; or an International Baccalaureate Diploma of 28 to 30. It also accepts students who completed a US high school curriculum, and says it sometimes requires subject-specific grades, which will be stated in your offer letter.
  • Foundation: Business, Law, Computer Science and Engineering foundation courses are run by the partner ONCAMPUS Hull; see the ONCAMPUS website for their entry requirements. For other foundation courses the country page lists completion of Senior Secondary School Year 2 with a 70% average, or Year 3 with a 60% average. Check the China page on the Hull website for which tier applies to you.
  • Entry to Year 2 or the final year: applicants who have completed equivalent prior study are considered case by case.
  • Not stated: the scale on which the 67% Gaokao figure is calculated, whether it varies by province or track, and course-specific Gaokao requirements are not given on the pages used for this guide; where a course has subject-specific grades they appear in the offer. Ask the admissions team (global@hull.ac.uk).
  • Scholarship: the country page mentions the Fairer Future Global Scholarship, a 50% tuition fee scholarship for the full undergraduate course for 10 successful applicants. Eligibility and deadlines are not given on the pages used for this guide; check the scholarships page on the Hull website.

Transfers and direct entry to Year 2

  • Hull’s transfer page says that if you have completed your first year elsewhere and your previous study aligns with one of its degrees, you may be able to transfer directly into Year 2; if you are early in your first year you may still be able to join Year 1 through Clearing; transfers part-way through the year are possible but you should consider the effect on studies, accommodation and finances.
  • Credit transfer: the University considers requests to transfer higher education credit gained at another university as part of the course you apply to, where the previous degree matches closely enough. How much credit is given is not stated on the pages used for this guide.
  • There is no specific deadline for transfer applications; the University recommends transferring early in Year 1 or after completing Year 1 and before Year 2 starts. Acceptance varies by course, so contact the admissions team (study@hull.ac.uk) first. Specific transfer entry requirements are not given on the pages used for this guide.

Fees

  • International students: the course page gives a standard fee of £21,520 per year (the page data is labelled 2027/28, lab-based), and the same £21,520 with a foundation year. The website notes fees may rise each year, capped at the Retail Price Index, and that tuition fees for 2028 entry have not been confirmed, so use 2027/28 as a guide. The page notes that spending a third year abroad makes a degree four years; separate lower fees for a year abroad or year in industry appear in the page data, but the physics course pages do not describe those options, so ask admissions whether they exist.
  • UK students: The page text says the standard fee for UK students is £9,790 per year, while the page data also carries a figure of £10,050 labelled 2027 for UK students; the website does not explain the difference, so rely on what the course page currently shows. The foundation year is at the same standard fee.
  • Additional costs: the course page lists possible costs for books, placements, student visas, a laptop, printing, professional-body membership and graduation; amounts are not given on the pages used for this guide.

This guide follows the University of Hull website for 2027 entry; check the UCAS deadline, current fees and the China page entries before applying.

Related articles