Home / Admissions / UK Applications / How to Apply to Economics at the University of Hull

How to Apply to Economics at the University of Hull: BSc Economics Is Not Accepting Applications for 2027, So Look at BA Business Economics (L120) in the Same Business School, With Entry Requirements for Home, International (Including Chinese) and Year 2 Transfer Applicants

2026-10-29 · Application guides

The University of Hull’s course page states that BSc Economics is not accepting applications for 2027 entry and points to BA Business Economics (UCAS code L120) in Hull University Business School. Business Economics has a typical offer of 96–112 UCAS points, with no specific A-level subjects stated on the course page, and can include a placement year or a year abroad. Applications go through UCAS (institution code H72). International tuition is £19,305 for 2027/28, with academic IELTS 6.0 (5.5 in each skill); the foundation year for international applicants is run by ONCAMPUS Hull. The China page lists a Gaokao minimum of 67% and other entries, set out below.

Economics at the University of Hull is taught by Hull University Business School on its campus in Hull. This guide sets out the key points for 2027 entry based on the University’s website, for UK applicants, international applicants (including students at high schools in China) and students wanting to join Year 2.

1. The courses and how you are admitted

  • BSc Economics: the course page states plainly that the course is not accepting applications for 2027 and suggests Business Economics instead. Check the course page for any change before you apply.
  • BA Business Economics (UCAS code L120): for students who want to combine economics with a focus on how business managers make decisions. The website says students on BSc Economics and BA Business Economics take the same modules in the first year, so you can explore both before the second year; the course page highlights “explore first, specialise in Year 2”. The course page also lists versions with a placement year or a year abroad.
  • Placement and year abroad: in the course video the Business Economics lead says you can take a year-long work placement between the second and third years, or a trimester-long internship in the first half of the final year; the course page also lists a year abroad at a partner university. Named placement employers and whether a placement is guaranteed are not given on the pages used for this guide.
  • Teaching approach: the website says the course applies economic tools to real-world problems, with relatively little concentration on exams and more written assignments, group work, presentations and computer-based assessments. Modules on the course page include An Introduction to Economics, Developing Self and Others, Accounting and Finance, Economy, Society and Public Policy, World Economy, Quantitative Methods for Economics, Microeconomics: Learning Through Games and Simulations, Macroeconomics: Managing the Economy and Responsible Business in Society; the BSc Economics page also lists Computing Skills and Data Analysis for Economics, and a forecasting module using Bloomberg, DataStream and FRED.
  • Accreditation: the course pages show the Business School as AACSB-accredited.
  • Admissions tests: the course pages do not mention an economics or mathematics admissions test or an interview; only the foundation year mentions an essay and/or interview. Other business routes (such as business management and accounting) are not covered here.

2. Prerequisites and grades

  • BA Business Economics: typical offer 96–112 UCAS points; contextual offer 96 points; at least 80 points from A levels, BTEC or equivalents; the IB Diploma at 28 points; an Access to HE Diploma with 96–112 UCAS tariff points.
  • Subjects: the course page does not state specific A-level subjects (it does not name Mathematics or Economics). It says applicants with qualifications in subjects other than those key to the degree will usually need a minimum of 80 points. Whether GCSE Mathematics is required is not stated on the pages used for this guide; ask admissions.
  • The website says it looks at your whole application, not just grades.
  • UK applicants: the Hull accepted-qualifications list includes A levels, AS levels, BTEC, Scottish Highers and Advanced Highers, the Welsh Baccalaureate, Cambridge Pre-U and the Extended Project (course pages also list Access to HE diplomas); use the UCAS tariff calculator linked on the page to convert qualifications to points. The pages used for this guide do not give separate requirements or fees for England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland.

How and when to apply

  • UK applicants: most full-time undergraduate courses are applied for through UCAS. The University of Hull’s UCAS institution code is H72 (Hull York Medical School is H75). A UCAS application has six sections: personal details, choices, education, employment, personal statement and reference. The UCAS deadline for 2027 entry is not given on the pages used for this guide; check on the UCAS website.
  • International applicants: there are two routes. You can apply directly to the University through one of its approved agents in your country (the list is on the country page), and track the application in the MyHull student portal; or you can apply through UCAS. Hull says that if you want to apply to more than one university you need to use UCAS, and some schools, advisers and agents are registered UCAS centres that can submit on your behalf.
  • Offers: a conditional offer must be met before the place is confirmed; an unconditional offer means you have already met all requirements. UCAS applicants accept or reject in their UCAS account; agent applicants accept in MyHull.

3. Preparing, and funding

  • Contextual offer: Hull states its contextual offer is 96 UCAS points, lower than the standard requirement. Examples of qualifying circumstances include living in an area of low progression to higher education or high relative deprivation, time in local authority care, being the first in your family to attend university, current or past eligibility for free school meals, and caring responsibilities. In most cases it is applied automatically from your UCAS application. Whether it applies to international applicants is not stated on the pages used for this guide; ask the admissions team.
  • Scholarships: the economics course pages do not list a subject-specific scholarship; check the undergraduate scholarships page on the Hull website for awards open to international students.

Foundation year

  • A foundation year is an extra year at the start of the degree for applicants whose qualifications and experience do not allow direct entry; you then progress to the full degree. The course pages give a typical foundation offer of 48 UCAS points from A levels, BTEC or equivalents. The foundation-year page says entry usually ranges from 64 to 72 UCAS Tariff points in the main cycle and may be lower in Clearing, and the application-guide FAQ says you typically need 80 UCAS points. The three figures differ and the website does not explain why; rely on the course page for your course and confirm with admissions.
  • Foundation applicants are expected to show experience of a related subject and aptitude for academic work, which the website says may be judged by an essay and/or interview. For international applicants the foundation year is managed by the partner ONCAMPUS Hull; the course page directs you to the ONCAMPUS website to apply.

International applicants: English, deposit and visa

  • English: the course pages below all state academic IELTS 6.0 overall with no less than 5.5 in each skill. If you need a student visa or English is not your first language you must provide evidence; if you do not yet meet the standard you may receive an offer conditional on completing a pre-sessional English course. The English language requirements page on the Hull website lists other accepted tests.
  • Deposit and payment: international students usually pay a non-refundable tuition fee deposit (deducted from the total fee) before a Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies (CAS) is issued for the visa application; sponsored applicants, those with a full-fee scholarship, and Hull undergraduate graduates are exempt. Undergraduate fees are paid in two instalments, one at enrolment and one in the fourth month, through Flywire; cash is not accepted. A sponsor must be an official body recognised by UK Visas and Immigration; sponsorship from family members is not accepted.
  • Visa and ATAS: once you have the CAS you apply for a student visa, paying the application fee and the healthcare surcharge. Some science or technology programmes may require an Academic Technology Approval Scheme (ATAS) certificate; your offer letter will say whether it applies.

Applicants from China

  • Entry to Year 1: the Hull China country page says that for the first year of an undergraduate bachelor’s degree it “generally accepts” the following: the National College Entrance Examination (Gaokao) with a minimum grade of 67%; the General Graduation Examination (Huikao) with a minimum of 77%; the Senior High School Diploma with an average of 80% over three years; a Specialist College Diploma (Zhongzhuan) with 80%; a Vocational Secondary School Diploma (Zhixiao) with 80%; Year 1 of a Dazhuan (including Gaozhi and Gaozhuan) diploma with 75%; Year 1 of a bachelor’s degree with 70%; or an International Baccalaureate Diploma of 28 to 30. It also accepts students who completed a US high school curriculum, and says it sometimes requires subject-specific grades, which will be stated in your offer letter.
  • Foundation: Business, Law, Computer Science and Engineering foundation courses are run by the partner ONCAMPUS Hull; see the ONCAMPUS website for their entry requirements. For other foundation courses the country page lists completion of Senior Secondary School Year 2 with a 70% average, or Year 3 with a 60% average. Check the China page on the Hull website for which tier applies to you.
  • Entry to Year 2 or the final year: applicants who have completed equivalent prior study are considered case by case.
  • Not stated: the scale on which the 67% Gaokao figure is calculated, whether it varies by province or track, and course-specific Gaokao requirements are not given on the pages used for this guide; where a course has subject-specific grades they appear in the offer. Ask the admissions team (global@hull.ac.uk).
  • Scholarship: the country page mentions the Fairer Future Global Scholarship, a 50% tuition fee scholarship for the full undergraduate course for 10 successful applicants. Eligibility and deadlines are not given on the pages used for this guide; check the scholarships page on the Hull website.

Transfers and direct entry to Year 2

  • Hull’s transfer page says that if you have completed your first year elsewhere and your previous study aligns with one of its degrees, you may be able to transfer directly into Year 2; if you are early in your first year you may still be able to join Year 1 through Clearing; transfers part-way through the year are possible but you should consider the effect on studies, accommodation and finances.
  • Credit transfer: the University considers requests to transfer higher education credit gained at another university as part of the course you apply to, where the previous degree matches closely enough. How much credit is given is not stated on the pages used for this guide.
  • There is no specific deadline for transfer applications; the University recommends transferring early in Year 1 or after completing Year 1 and before Year 2 starts. Acceptance varies by course, so contact the admissions team (study@hull.ac.uk) first. Specific transfer entry requirements are not given on the pages used for this guide.

Fees

  • International students: the course page gives a standard fee of £19,305 per year (the page data is labelled 2027/28), the same £19,305 with a foundation year, £2,896 for a year abroad and £3,861 for a year in industry. The website notes fees may rise each year, capped at the Retail Price Index, and that tuition fees for 2028 entry have not been confirmed, so use 2027/28 as a guide.
  • UK students: the page text gives a standard fee of £9,790 per year, while the page data also carries £10,050 labelled 2027; the foundation year is £5,760, a year abroad £1,465 and a year in industry £1,955 (page text). The website does not explain the differences, so rely on what the course page currently shows.
  • Additional costs: the course page lists possible costs for books, placements, student visas, a laptop, printing, professional-body membership and graduation; amounts are not given on the pages used for this guide.

This guide follows the University of Hull website for 2027 entry; check the status of BSc Economics, the UCAS deadline, current fees and the China page entries before applying.

Related articles