How to Apply to Life Sciences and Medicine at the University of Hull: BSc and Four-Year MSci in Biology, Biochemistry, Marine Biology and Zoology, IBMS-Accredited Biomedical Science, MBBS Through HYMS, and Entry Requirements for Home, International (Including Chinese) and Year 2 Transfer Applicants
Hull’s course pages list Biology (C100), Biochemistry (C700), Marine Biology (C160) and Zoology (C300) as BSc and four-year MSci degrees, and Biomedical Science as a BSc accredited by the Institute of Biomedical Science; you apply through UCAS (institution code H72). The typical BSc offer is 96–112 UCAS points and the MSci offer 104–120, with A-level Biology (Biochemistry also needs Chemistry or Applied Science). Medicine (MBBS) is admitted through Hull York Medical School (UCAS code H75), whose requirements were not on the pages used for this guide. International tuition is £21,520 for 2027/28, with academic IELTS 6.0 (5.5 in each skill).
Life sciences at the University of Hull are taught on its campus in Hull. This guide sets out the key points for 2027 entry based on the University’s website, for UK applicants, international applicants (including students at high schools in China) and students wanting to join Year 2.
1. The courses and how you are admitted
- Biology (C100): BSc and four-year MSci; the website describes tackling challenges from genetic engineering to climate change, with practical skills in the lab and in the field, field trips in the UK and overseas, and a highlight about training as a PADI-certified diver (conditions are in the course page footnote).
- Biochemistry (C700): BSc and MSci, taught by biochemists, chemists and biologists; the course page mentions a Mass Spectrometry Laboratory and a bacterial genome sequencing module.
- Marine Biology (C160): BSc and MSci, accredited by the Institution of Environmental Sciences (IES) as a first step towards Chartered Environmentalist or Chartered Scientist; the page mentions optional, subsidised scuba dive training.
- Zoology (C300): BSc and MSci, with laboratory and field-based teaching, and highlights of PADI diver training and field trips in the UK and overseas.
- Biomedical Science: BSc, accredited by the Institute of Biomedical Science (IBMS); the website says it meets the Health and Care Professions Council standards for biomedical scientists and is the first step to becoming a registered biomedical scientist. The course page highlights a course designed with the NHS, practising biomedical scientists teaching, and a microscopy suite. The UCAS code was not shown on the course page.
- Degree versions: the course page data shows BSc, BSc with a placement year or year abroad, MSci (the website describes integrated masters degrees as four-year programmes with a masters-level final year), and MSci with a placement year or year abroad for Biology, Biochemistry, Marine Biology and Zoology, together with a BSc with a foundation year for each; Biomedical Science is listed as a BSc and a BSc with a foundation year, with “placement year available” highlighted.
- Placement and year abroad: the School of Environmental and Life Sciences placement year is 9–12 months between the second and final years, described as a paid placement with a company, public sector organisation, non-governmental organisation or charity; the year abroad is a year at an approved non-UK university, taught in English. Whether placements are guaranteed is not stated on the pages used for this guide.
- Admissions tests: these course pages do not mention an admissions test or an interview; only the foundation year mentions an essay and/or interview.
- Medicine (MBBS): the course list shows Medicine (MBBS) and Medicine with a Gateway Year (MBBS). Hull’s application and qualifications pages say applicants for Hull York Medical School (HYMS, UCAS institution code H75) should refer to the HYMS website. Entry requirements, the policy for international applicants and places for medicine are not given on the pages used for this guide; check the HYMS website.
- Other health and related degrees: the course list also includes nursing (adult, child, learning disability, mental health), midwifery, diagnostic radiography, occupational therapy, operating department practice, paramedic science, physiotherapy, sport and exercise science, forensic science and psychology; these are not covered here, so check the course pages. Biomedical engineering is an engineering degree (BEng/MEng) and is only mentioned here.
2. Prerequisites and grades
- In common: for each course at least 80 points must come from A levels, BTEC or equivalents; applicants taking the reformed A-level must also pass the practical element; the contextual offer is 96 UCAS points. The website says it looks at your whole application, not just grades.
- Biology: BSc 96–112 UCAS points, MSci 104–120; A-level Biology or Applied Science at grade C or above (or Merit in a relevant BTEC); the IB Diploma at 30 points including 5 in HL Biology; an Access to HE Diploma with 96–112 points (BSc) or 102–118 (MSci) including at least 18 credits at Merit in Biology.
- Biochemistry: BSc 96–112, MSci 104–120; an A level or BTEC in Biology and in Chemistry or Applied Science at grade C / Merit or above; the IB Diploma at 28 points including 5 in HL Chemistry and Biology (BSc) or 30 points including 6 in HL Chemistry and Biology (MSci); an Access to HE Diploma with 96–112 (BSc) or 102–118 (MSci) including at least 18 credits at Merit in Chemistry/Physical Science and 18 in Biology. For applicants in subjects other than those key to the degree, the website says it will usually require at least 72 points.
- Biomedical Science: BSc 96–112; A-level Biology or Applied Science at grade C or above (or Merit in a relevant BTEC); the IB Diploma at 28 points including 5 in HL Biology; an Access to HE Diploma with 96–112 points including at least 18 credits at Merit in Biology.
- Marine Biology and Zoology: BSc 96–112 (IB 28 including 5 in HL Biology; Access to HE 96–112) and MSci 104–120 (IB 30 including 5 in HL Biology; Access to HE 102–118); A-level Biology or Applied Science at grade C or above (or Merit in a relevant BTEC).
- Inconsistency on the website: the Biology course page gives IB 30 in its BSc column, while the Zoology and Marine Biology pages give IB 28 for the BSc; the website does not explain this, so confirm with admissions.
- UK applicants: the Hull accepted-qualifications list includes A levels, AS levels, BTEC, Scottish Highers and Advanced Highers, the Welsh Baccalaureate, Cambridge Pre-U and the Extended Project (course pages also list Access to HE diplomas); use the UCAS tariff calculator linked on the page to convert qualifications to points. The pages used for this guide do not give separate requirements or fees for England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland.
How and when to apply
- UK applicants: most full-time undergraduate courses are applied for through UCAS. The University of Hull’s UCAS institution code is H72 (Hull York Medical School is H75). A UCAS application has six sections: personal details, choices, education, employment, personal statement and reference. The UCAS deadline for 2027 entry is not given on the pages used for this guide; check on the UCAS website.
- International applicants: there are two routes. You can apply directly to the University through one of its approved agents in your country (the list is on the country page), and track the application in the MyHull student portal; or you can apply through UCAS. Hull says that if you want to apply to more than one university you need to use UCAS, and some schools, advisers and agents are registered UCAS centres that can submit on your behalf.
- Offers: a conditional offer must be met before the place is confirmed; an unconditional offer means you have already met all requirements. UCAS applicants accept or reject in their UCAS account; agent applicants accept in MyHull.
3. Preparing, and funding
- Contextual offer: Hull states its contextual offer is 96 UCAS points, lower than the standard requirement. Examples of qualifying circumstances include living in an area of low progression to higher education or high relative deprivation, time in local authority care, being the first in your family to attend university, current or past eligibility for free school meals, and caring responsibilities. In most cases it is applied automatically from your UCAS application. Whether it applies to international applicants is not stated on the pages used for this guide; ask the admissions team.
- Scholarships: the life sciences course pages do not list a subject-specific scholarship; check the undergraduate scholarships page on the Hull website for awards open to international students.
Foundation year
- A foundation year is an extra year at the start of the degree for applicants whose qualifications and experience do not allow direct entry; you then progress to the full degree. The course pages give a typical foundation offer of 48 UCAS points from A levels, BTEC or equivalents. The foundation-year page says entry usually ranges from 64 to 72 UCAS Tariff points in the main cycle and may be lower in Clearing, and the application-guide FAQ says you typically need 80 UCAS points. The three figures differ and the website does not explain why; rely on the course page for your course and confirm with admissions.
- Foundation applicants are expected to show experience of a related subject and aptitude for academic work, which the website says may be judged by an essay and/or interview. Whether the foundation year for international applicants on these courses is run by the University itself is not stated; the website only says that its Business, Law, Computer Science and Engineering foundation courses are run by ONCAMPUS Hull, so confirm with admissions.
International applicants: English, deposit and visa
- English: the course pages below all state academic IELTS 6.0 overall with no less than 5.5 in each skill. If you need a student visa or English is not your first language you must provide evidence; if you do not yet meet the standard you may receive an offer conditional on completing a pre-sessional English course. The English language requirements page on the Hull website lists other accepted tests.
- Deposit and payment: international students usually pay a non-refundable tuition fee deposit (deducted from the total fee) before a Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies (CAS) is issued for the visa application; sponsored applicants, those with a full-fee scholarship, and Hull undergraduate graduates are exempt. Undergraduate fees are paid in two instalments, one at enrolment and one in the fourth month, through Flywire; cash is not accepted. A sponsor must be an official body recognised by UK Visas and Immigration; sponsorship from family members is not accepted.
- Visa and ATAS: once you have the CAS you apply for a student visa, paying the application fee and the healthcare surcharge. Some science or technology programmes may require an Academic Technology Approval Scheme (ATAS) certificate; your offer letter will say whether it applies. Life sciences courses may involve laboratory work, field trips and health-service placements; whether international students face restrictions is not stated on the pages used for this guide.
Applicants from China
- Entry to Year 1: the Hull China country page says that for the first year of an undergraduate bachelor’s degree it “generally accepts” the following: the National College Entrance Examination (Gaokao) with a minimum grade of 67%; the General Graduation Examination (Huikao) with a minimum of 77%; the Senior High School Diploma with an average of 80% over three years; a Specialist College Diploma (Zhongzhuan) with 80%; a Vocational Secondary School Diploma (Zhixiao) with 80%; Year 1 of a Dazhuan (including Gaozhi and Gaozhuan) diploma with 75%; Year 1 of a bachelor’s degree with 70%; or an International Baccalaureate Diploma of 28 to 30. It also accepts students who completed a US high school curriculum, and says it sometimes requires subject-specific grades, which will be stated in your offer letter.
- Foundation: Business, Law, Computer Science and Engineering foundation courses are run by the partner ONCAMPUS Hull; see the ONCAMPUS website for their entry requirements. For other foundation courses the country page lists completion of Senior Secondary School Year 2 with a 70% average, or Year 3 with a 60% average. Check the China page on the Hull website for which tier applies to you.
- Entry to Year 2 or the final year: applicants who have completed equivalent prior study are considered case by case.
- Not stated: the scale on which the 67% Gaokao figure is calculated, whether it varies by province or track, and course-specific Gaokao requirements are not given on the pages used for this guide; where a course has subject-specific grades they appear in the offer. Ask the admissions team (global@hull.ac.uk).
- Scholarship: the country page mentions the Fairer Future Global Scholarship, a 50% tuition fee scholarship for the full undergraduate course for 10 successful applicants. Eligibility and deadlines are not given on the pages used for this guide; check the scholarships page on the Hull website.
Transfers and direct entry to Year 2
- Hull’s transfer page says that if you have completed your first year elsewhere and your previous study aligns with one of its degrees, you may be able to transfer directly into Year 2; if you are early in your first year you may still be able to join Year 1 through Clearing; transfers part-way through the year are possible but you should consider the effect on studies, accommodation and finances.
- Credit transfer: the University considers requests to transfer higher education credit gained at another university as part of the course you apply to, where the previous degree matches closely enough. How much credit is given is not stated on the pages used for this guide.
- There is no specific deadline for transfer applications; the University recommends transferring early in Year 1 or after completing Year 1 and before Year 2 starts. Acceptance varies by course, so contact the admissions team (study@hull.ac.uk) first. Specific transfer entry requirements are not given on the pages used for this guide.
Fees
- International students: the Biology, Biochemistry and Biomedical Science course pages give a standard fee of £21,520 per year (the page data is labelled 2027/28, lab-based), the same £21,520 with a foundation year, £3,228 for a year abroad and £4,304 for a year in industry. The website notes fees may rise each year, capped at the Retail Price Index, and that tuition fees for 2028 entry have not been confirmed, so use 2027/28 as a guide.
- UK students: The page text says the standard fee for UK students is £9,790 per year, while the page data also carries a figure of £10,050 labelled 2027 for UK students; the website does not explain the difference, so rely on what the course page currently shows. The Biomedical Science page also states £1,955 for a UK student’s year in industry; check the course page for placement-year and year-abroad fees on other courses.
- Additional costs: the course pages list possible costs for books, field trips, placements, student visas, a laptop, printing, professional-body membership and graduation; amounts are not given on the pages used for this guide.
This guide follows the University of Hull website for 2027 entry; check the UCAS deadline, current fees and the China page entries before applying.