How to Apply to Chemistry at Imperial College London: BSc and MSci Degrees with Industry Year and Research Abroad, Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Physics Pathways, No Admissions Test but an Academic Interview, and Entry Requirements for Home, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants
Imperial’s Department of Chemistry offers Chemistry BSc (F100), Chemistry with Management BSc (F1NF), Chemistry MSci (F103, F105, F104, F101) and MSci pathways in Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Physics, all accredited by the Royal Society of Chemistry. The A-Level minimum is AAA including Chemistry and Mathematics, with a typical offer of A*AA; the IB minimum is 38 points. The department does not use an admissions test but interviews shortlisted applicants; the UCAS deadline is 13 January 2027. The international fee is £47,800 a year. The Gaokao does not appear in the qualifications list on the course pages, which accept the UCL UPCSE foundation certificate.
Imperial College London’s chemistry degrees are run by the Department of Chemistry, taught mainly at the South Kensington campus with use of the Molecular Sciences Research Hub at White City. Below is what the 2027-entry course pages say, for UK applicants, international applicants, applicants from China and transfers. The drop-down menus for UK and international qualifications only show their requirement once you click through, so this article covers what is readable in the static text.
1. The chemistry degrees and how you are admitted
- Chemistry BSc: three years, UCAS code F100. The page describes inorganic, organic, physical, analytical, synthetic and computational chemistry in the first two years with an extensive laboratory programme; in year 3 you choose advanced topics such as advanced synthesis, materials chemistry, soft condensed matter and molecular reaction dynamics, and carry out a short independent research project. The page says the degree partially satisfies the academic requirements for Chartered Chemist (CChem) registration.
- Chemistry with Management BSc: four years, F1NF. The structure follows the BSc for the first three years; the final year is spent with the Imperial Business School on business, finance and management modules and group project work.
- Chemistry MSci: the course page lists four versions—four-year Chemistry F103; five-year Chemistry with a Year in Industry F105; four-year Chemistry with Research Abroad F104; and five-year Chemistry with Research Abroad and a Year in Industry F101. The MSci final year includes a six-month independent research project in one of the department’s research groups (in the Research Abroad versions the final-year project is done at a partner university, with all grades counting towards the Imperial degree). The page says the MSci fully satisfies the academic requirements for Chartered Chemist (CChem).
- Chemistry with Medicinal Chemistry MSci: four years F124; five years with a Year in Industry F125. It adds drug-development modules to the chemistry core and ends with a research project in a medicinal chemistry-related field.
- Chemistry with Molecular Physics MSci: four years F1F3; five years with a Year in Industry F1FH. It sits at the boundary of chemistry, mathematics and physics, with a final-year research project at the chemistry-physics interface.
- BSc or MSci: the website says the MSci covers more in-depth chemistry, suits students considering research careers or a PhD, and has a more substantial final-year individual project.
- You apply to a specific degree; the institution code is I50. The website adds that years one and two of the chemistry degrees share the same core content plus optional modules matching your degree, so you can transfer between chemistry degrees later if you have taken the appropriate options, and it says you should apply to only one degree within the Department of Chemistry; placements in industry or abroad may require a certain academic standard, and transferring may affect an international student’s visa. The Molecular Physics page also says applicants who do not apply for that degree can apply to another chemistry programme and may transfer to Molecular Physics later by taking relevant optional modules.
- Competition: the course pages give 8:1 applications per place for 2025 (the same figure on each chemistry page).
- Engineering degrees such as Materials Science and Engineering or Chemical Engineering, and Biochemistry (run by the Department of Life Sciences), are not covered here; check their course pages.
2. What the courses contain
- Year 1: core modules are i-Engage, Language of Chemistry, Structure and Bonding (atomic structure to molecular orbitals), Introduction to Spectroscopy, Reactivity at Carbon Centres, The Reaction Toolkit (thermodynamics and kinetics), Chemistry of the Elements (hydrogen to uranium) and Practical Chemistry 1. The Chemistry BSc adds one optional (ancillary) module: Mathematics and Physics 1, Medicinal Chemistry 1, or a language through Imperial Horizons (ten languages). The Medicinal Chemistry degree makes Medicinal Chemistry 1 the ancillary module and Molecular Physics makes it Mathematics and Physics 1.
- Year 2: core modules are i-Engage 2, Electronic States and Bonding, Analysis of Molecules, Materials and Mixtures, Solids, Liquids and Interfaces, Chemistry of Molecular Systems, Macromolecules and Materials, Control and Selectivity in Molecular Synthesis and Practical Chemistry 2; the ancillary module follows year 1 (Mathematics and Physics 2, Medicinal Chemistry 2, Imperial Horizons, and for the BSc a Business School BPES module). The page says Mathematics and Physics 1 and Medicinal Chemistry 1 are prerequisites for the year-2 versions.
- Year 3: the Chemistry BSc takes Advanced Chemistry Topics 1 and 2 (topics include advanced synthesis, materials chemistry, soft condensed matter, molecular reaction dynamics, chemical biology, environmental and green chemistry, process chemistry and strategies in drug discovery), Practical Chemistry 3 and I-Explore (a university-wide elective). The Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Physics degrees have their own versions of the advanced topics and practical module.
- Final year: the Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Physics degrees complete a research project over two terms plus two optional modules; for the MSci project see section 1.
- Placements and research abroad: the industry year is normally 12 months, and the MSci pages describe it as paid experience; past partners named on the pages include GlaxoSmithKline, Merck, Johnson Matthey, Schlumberger, Syngenta, AstraZeneca, Pfizer, Vertex and BenevolentAI (and, for Molecular Physics, AstraZeneca, Merck and the Diamond Light Source). Research Abroad is an agreed programme at an approved university in France, Germany, Spain or Switzerland (non-English-speaking) or Australia, Canada, Singapore, the Netherlands or the USA (majority English-speaking). Placements in non-English-speaking locations usually require the relevant language through Imperial Horizons; there is no extra language requirement for English-speaking locations.
- Accreditation: the Chemistry BSc, MSci and the specialist versions are accredited by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC); the website says the current accreditation agreement has been extended through 2027. The Chemistry BSc page also says graduates receive the Associateship of the Royal College of Science (ARCS).
3. Entry requirements (2027 entry)
- Chemistry BSc and MSci: A-Level minimum AAA including A in Chemistry and A in Mathematics and an A in a third subject (Biology, Physics and Further Mathematics preferred); typical offer A*AA for applicants studying three A-Levels. IB minimum 38 points with 6 in Chemistry HL, 6 in Mathematics HL and 6 in a third HL subject (Biology, Economics or Physics preferred); typical 39–40 points. Both Mathematics syllabuses (Analysis and Approaches, Applications and Interpretation) are accepted at higher level with no preference.
- Chemistry with Management: the same, with Biology, Economics, Physics and Further Mathematics preferred as the third A-Level subject (Biology, Economics or Physics for the IB). Typical A*AA; IB 39–40.
- Chemistry with Medicinal Chemistry: A-Level AAA including A in Chemistry, A in Mathematics and an A in a third subject (Biology, Physics and Further Mathematics preferred); IB 38 with 6 in each of Chemistry, Mathematics and a third subject at higher level; typical A*AA / IB 39–40.
- Chemistry with Molecular Physics: A-Level AAA including A in Chemistry, A in Mathematics and A in Physics; IB 38 with 6 in Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics at higher level; typical A*AA / IB 39–40.
- For all chemistry degrees, General Studies and Critical Thinking are not accepted, and if you receive an offer you must pass the Science Practical Endorsement in science subjects in it (this applies only to students in England, Wales and Northern Ireland).
- Contextual offers: the course page says Imperial’s contextual admissions route for UK applicants may entitle you to additional consideration, and that Widening Participation students who are successful at interview will be made an adjusted offer of AAA at A-Level. Applicants with health or learning-adjustment declarations or extenuating circumstances may also receive an adjusted AAA offer after a successful interview.
- Other UK qualifications: the drop-down lists Access to HE, Applied Generals, BTEC, Cambridge Pre-U, Scottish Advanced Highers, T Levels and the Welsh Baccalaureate. In the static text five of the seven read “not accepted for entry to this programme”; Pre-U is D3 in Chemistry, D3 in Mathematics and D3 in a third subject (Physics, Biology or Economics preferred), and Advanced Highers is AAA including A in Chemistry, A in Mathematics and an A in a third subject. Check the course page for the rest.
4. Admissions tests and interviews
- The Department of Chemistry does not use an admissions test: the course page says the department does not use a test as part of its selection process; selectors look at predicted and achieved grades together with your personal statement and references to judge fit with the subject and department. (The ESAT is required by the Department of Life Sciences courses, not by chemistry.)
- Interview: if your application suggests you are likely to meet the requirements you are shortlisted for an academic interview. Interviews run in the morning and afternoon (UK time) to suit different time zones, and each applicant is interviewed individually. The page describes a discussion with experienced academics (one academic in one passage and two academics or researchers in another passage of the same page) about your motivation for studying chemistry and your potential; it may start from your personal statement and move to topics you may not know, to see how you reason, and the website says there are no trick questions. Before interviews the department provides an online talk from the admissions tutor and Q&A sessions.
- Decisions: the website says offer decisions are made only after all interviews are complete; it aims to email all applicants by early March and the decision should show in UCAS Hub by the end of March.
5. UK applicants
- Qualifications: mainly A-Levels (section 3) or the IB; Pre-U and Advanced Highers have requirements in the static text.
- Home fee: £10,050 a year for 2027 entry. Imperial charges Home fees in line with the Government’s fee cap, so the course page says to expect rises; figures for 2028 onwards are not yet published.
- Home fees for non-standard years: the MSci page lists £1,505 for a year abroad (research abroad) and £2,010 for a year in industry; Imperial’s rule is 15% of the standard fee for an overseas study year and 20% for a work placement year outside the Faculty of Engineering.
- Funding: Home students can apply for a government Tuition Fee Loan (covering the whole fee, repaid only once you are working and earning above a threshold) and a means-tested Maintenance Loan. The Imperial Bursary is for Home undergraduates with household income below £70,000, worth up to £5,000 a year, non-repayable and available each year while income stays below that line. The course page says that from January 2027 students living in England access these loans through the Lifelong Learning Entitlement; student finance in Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland is not affected by that change.
- The course page does not separate England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland for Home fees or funding; check Imperial’s fees pages and your student finance body.
6. International applicants
- Qualifications: Imperial publishes a country-by-country table of qualifications judged equivalent to three A-Levels. Examples in the chemistry course page include the IB at 38 with 6 in Chemistry and Mathematics HL; an Australian ATAR of 97 with set subject grades; the German Abitur at 1.5 overall with 14/13 in Chemistry and Mathematics at Leistungskurs level; other countries have their own entries, so follow the course page. The page notes that Imperial does not accept school-leaving qualifications from all countries, so check that yours is in the table before applying.
- AP: either five APs at 5,5,5,4,4 including 5 in Chemistry, 5 in Calculus BC and a 5 in one of Biology, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics or Physics C (Mechanics or Electricity and Magnetism); or three APs at 5,5,4 (5 in Chemistry, 5 in Calculus BC and 4 in a third subject); plus an acceptable school-leaving qualification such as a US High School Diploma, plus SAT 1460 or ACT 31.
- English: the course page asks for Imperial’s Higher level. IELTS Academic 7.0 overall with at least 6.5 in each element (single-skill retakes are not accepted); Duolingo 125 with at least 115 in each integrated subscore; PTE Academic 69 with at least 62 in each element; LanguageCert Academic SELT 75 with at least 70 in each element. Scores must be within two years of the course start. You do not need the score when applying; it becomes an offer condition. The English language page lists other accepted tests, including TOEFL.
- ATAS certificate: the Chemistry BSc, MSci, Medicinal Chemistry and Management pages say it is not required; the Molecular Physics page says that unless you are from an exempt nationality (Switzerland, Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, the USA and EEA members) you need an ATAS certificate for your visa, using CAH code CAH07-01-01 (Physics).
- Scholarships for international students: the course page lists the Imperial Inspires Scholarships for Overseas students, worth £15,000 for each year of the course. Whether awards are automatic, and how many there are, is not stated on the pages used for this guide; check the scholarship page.
7. Applicants from China
- Gaokao and Chinese high school certificates: the chemistry course pages do not mention the Chinese high school certificate or the Gaokao and give no China-specific guidance; China does not appear in the accepted-qualifications list shown on the course page, whose note says Imperial does not accept school-leaving qualifications from all countries. This is not published on the pages used for this guide; contact the Department of Chemistry admissions team (ch.admissions@imperial.ac.uk). Students at international schools apply directly with A-Levels, the IB or APs at the subjects and grades above.
- Accepted foundation programme: Imperial has no foundation programme of its own. The chemistry course pages accept UCL’s UPCSE (Undergraduate Preparatory Certificate for Science and Engineering): the Department of Chemistry minimum is 80% overall, 80% in Chemistry and 80% in Mathematics (plus 80% in Physics for Molecular Physics). UPCSE has four modules over the year: two compulsory (Research and Academic Skills: Science and Society; Academic English) and two electives from Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics. Courses that include a year abroad also need an appropriate modern foreign language at CEFR A2+. Other foundation programmes such as the Warwick IFP are not listed on these pages.
- Interview time zones: interviews run in the morning and afternoon UK time to suit different time zones (section 4). No ESAT is needed for chemistry.
- Transcripts and verification: not published on the pages used for this guide; ask the admissions team.
8. Transfers and changing course
- Direct entry into second year from another university: the chemistry course pages do not say whether second-year transfers are accepted or on what terms. This is not published on the pages used for this guide; contact the Department of Chemistry admissions team (ch.admissions@imperial.ac.uk).
- Changing between chemistry degrees after entry: see section 1 — the first two years share the same core content, and later transfer is possible if you have taken the appropriate options; the Molecular Physics degree can be entered from another chemistry degree by taking relevant options.
- Industry year and research abroad: taking part may depend on academic standard; research abroad in a non-English-speaking country needs that language. For versions with Research Abroad the page recommends a suitable modern foreign language background (for example GCSE grade 6, or CEFR A2+ or equivalent); there is no extra language requirement for majority English-speaking locations.
9. Timeline (October 2027 entry)
- Wednesday 13 January 2027 at 18:00 (UK time): UCAS deadline, institution code I50; whether late applications are possible is not stated on the pages used for this guide, so check the UCAS website.
- After the deadline: applications are assessed, applicants likely to meet the requirements are interviewed, and the aim is to email decisions by early March and update UCAS Hub by the end of March.
- October 2027: courses start.
10. Fees
- International (Overseas) fee: £47,800 a year for 2027 entry on each chemistry page. The MSci page states a research abroad year is charged at 100% of that year’s fee and an industry year at 20%; the Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Physics pages state an industry year at 20%.
- Home students pay £10,050 a year (section 5).
- Imperial has an extra-costs page by department listing items such as field trips, books and protective clothing.
Checklist
UK applicants:
- A-Level Chemistry A and Mathematics A plus a third A (Physics for Molecular Physics); IB 38 with 6 in Chemistry and Mathematics HL
- Apply to one chemistry degree through UCAS by 13 January at 18:00; there is no admissions test, so prepare for an academic interview
- Look at contextual admissions and the Imperial Bursary
International applicants:
- Check your qualification is in the accepted table; follow the course page for subjects and grades
- English at the Higher level: IELTS 7.0 (6.5 each) or equivalent
- ATAS is needed for Molecular Physics (unless an exempt nationality), not for the other chemistry degrees
Applicants from China:
- The chemistry pages carry no Gaokao guidance: use A-Levels, the IB or APs, or the UCL UPCSE the pages list (80% overall, in Chemistry and in Mathematics); confirm with admissions
Transfers:
- Second-year entry is not covered on the chemistry course pages; contact the department
Sources: Imperial College London, Chemistry BSc; Chemistry MSci; Chemistry with Medicinal Chemistry MSci; Chemistry with Molecular Physics MSci; Chemistry with Management BSc; Chemistry subject page; Accepted qualifications; English language requirements. Information is for 2027 entry. Check Imperial for the latest details.