How to Apply to Biology at Imperial College London: Biological Sciences, Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Ecology and Environmental Biology and Microbiology in the Department of Life Sciences, ESAT Required, and Entry Requirements for Home, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants
Imperial’s Department of Life Sciences offers Biological Sciences (C100/C103), Biochemistry (C700/C703), Biotechnology (J700/J703), Ecology and Environmental Biology (C180) and Microbiology (C500). Most require AAA at A-Level, with Biology for the biological sciences group and Chemistry for biochemistry and biotechnology, and the ESAT (Mathematics 1, Chemistry, Biology) is compulsory. The UCAS deadline is 13 January 2027 and the international fee is £47,800 a year. The Gaokao is not on the accepted-qualifications table.
At Imperial College London, the biology-related science degrees are in the Department of Life Sciences (South Kensington), which runs Biological Sciences, Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Ecology and Environmental Biology and Microbiology. Below is what the 2027-entry course pages say, for UK applicants, international applicants, applicants from China and direct entry into second year. The drop-down menus for UK and international qualifications only show their requirement once you click through, so this article covers what is readable in the static text. A note on chemistry: the Department of Chemistry’s chemistry degrees have their own entry requirements and are outside this guide; check the chemistry course pages.
1. Courses and how you are admitted
- Department of Life Sciences, Biological Sciences: BSc, three years, C100; MSci, four years, C103 (the page says it was introduced for 2026 entry). Variants: Research Abroad, Year in Industry/Research, Language for Science (French, German or Spanish; codes C1R1, C1R2, C1R4) and with Management (three-year and four-year versions listed). The Research Abroad, Year in Industry/Research and Management pages say “apply to C100” and you move onto them after entry.
- Biochemistry: BSc C700, MSci C703; Language for Science codes C7R1, C7R2, C7R4; placement and Management versions say “apply to C700”. Biotechnology: BSc J700, MSci J703; Language for Science codes J7R1, J7R2, J7R4; placement and Management versions say “apply to J700”.
- Ecology and Environmental Biology: BSc C180 (three years). Microbiology: BSc C500 (three years). The pages say the BSc and MSci entry requirements are the same and that you should apply for either the BSc or the MSci, not both.
- You apply to a specific course; the institution code is I50.
- Competition (applications per place, 2025, course pages): Biological Sciences, Ecology and Environmental Biology and Microbiology 9:1; Biochemistry and Biotechnology 10:1.
- The course list also includes the School of Medicine’s Medical Biosciences, Medical Science and Innovation and MBBS/BSc Medicine, as well as Molecular Bioengineering, Biomedical Engineering and Biomedical Technology Ventures; their requirements (Medicine needs the UCAT and multiple mini interviews) differ and are outside this guide, so check their course pages.
2. What the courses contain
- Biological Sciences year 1 core: Biological Chemistry and Microbiology, Evolution and Diversity, Cell Biology and Genetics, Ecology and Evolution, and Core Skills for Life Scientists (mathematics, communication, statistics and bioinformatics, with Python and R). Year 2 core includes Applied Molecular Biology, Genetics, Bioinformatics, Statistics and Programming, a Tutored Dissertation and an I-Explore module, plus one optional module from each of three groups; areas include ecology, molecular biology, cell and developmental biology, microbiology and immunology. Year 3 has a substantial research project. The page also describes a dedicated Life Science Skills programme in quantitative skills, programming, statistics and scientific writing and presentation.
- Placement year: the Biological Sciences year in industry or research is an integrated 12-month placement in industry or a research organisation (for example medical research, conservation biology, marine biology or the pharmaceutical industry), in the UK or overseas. Language for Science versions are four years with a year at an approved university in France, Germany or Spain, and the page mentions translation theory and practice.
- Biochemistry and Biotechnology pages say the MSci final year focuses on research skills and practice with no didactic lectures, and that year 3 offers specialisms such as immunology and infection, systems biology, cancer, metabolic engineering, structural biology and drug design, and neuroscience.
3. Entry requirements (2027 entry)
- Biological Sciences, Ecology and Environmental Biology, Microbiology (including MSci, Management and placement versions): A-Level minimum AAA including A in Biology, A in Chemistry, Mathematics or Physics, and A in a third subject; typical AAA. IB minimum 38 points with 6 in Biology HL and 6 in Chemistry, Mathematics or Physics HL; typical 39. Both Mathematics syllabuses are accepted with no preference.
- Biochemistry and Biotechnology (including MSci, Management and placement versions): A-Level AAA including A in Chemistry, A in Biology, Mathematics or Physics, and A in a third subject; IB 38 points with 6 in Chemistry HL and 6 in Biology, Mathematics or Physics HL; typical 39.
- Language for Science versions also need the chosen language: AS grade B or A-Level grade C (or equivalent); IB grade 5 HL or grade 6 SL. Research Abroad versions need GCSE grade B/6 in the language, or a pass at IB standard level (Biological Sciences page).
- For all courses, General Studies and Critical Thinking are not accepted, and if you receive an offer you must pass the Science Practical Endorsement in any science subject in it. The Life Sciences pages also state: “We do not accept Access courses, Foundation years or OU courses” (alongside the UCL UPCSE mentioned in section 7). Unsuccessful applicants cannot be reconsidered in the same cycle but may reapply the following year, and resit students are considered in open competition.
- Other UK qualifications: the drop-down lists Access to HE, Applied Generals, BTEC, Cambridge Pre-U, Scottish Advanced Highers, T Levels and the Welsh Baccalaureate. In the static text five of the seven read “not accepted for entry to this programme”; on the Biological Sciences page Pre-U is D3 in Biology, D3 in Chemistry, Mathematics or Physics, and D3 in a third subject, and Advanced Highers is AAA including A in Biology and two As from Chemistry, Mathematics, Mechanics or Physics. Check the course page for the rest.
4. Admissions tests and interviews
- Life Sciences courses (Biological Sciences, Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Ecology, Microbiology, including MSci) require the ESAT (Engineering and Science Admissions Test), three modules: Mathematics 1, Chemistry and Biology. It is computer-based multiple choice, 27 questions and 40 minutes per module. Dates for 2027 entry: window 1 ran 12–16 October 2026 (closed; booking closed 28 September at 18:00); window 2 is 4–8 January 2027, with booking opening 28 October 2026 at 15:00 and closing 21 December at 18:00 (UK time). In mainland China, Hong Kong and Macau you can only test on set dates: 12–13 October in window 1 and 6 January 2027 in window 2. Register with UAT-UK, then choose ESAT, a date, your modules and a Pearson centre and pay. Test fees and preparation are on the UAT-UK site; the course pages print no fee.
- Interviews: the Life Sciences course pages say the department generally does not hold interviews.
5. UK applicants
- Qualifications: mainly A-Levels (section 3) or the IB; Pre-U and Advanced Highers have requirements in the static text.
- Contextual offers: the course page says Imperial’s contextual admissions route for UK applicants may entitle you to additional consideration; see the contextual admissions page for who is eligible.
- Home fee: £10,050 a year for 2027 entry. Imperial charges Home fees in line with the Government’s fee cap, so the course page says to expect rises; figures for 2028 onwards are not yet published.
- Home fees for non-standard years: the Biological Sciences page lists £1,505 for a year abroad or research abroad and £2,010 for a year in industry or research; Imperial’s rule is 15% of the standard fee for an overseas study year and 20% for a work placement year outside engineering.
- Funding: Home students can apply for a government Tuition Fee Loan (covering the whole fee, repaid only once you are working and earning above a threshold) and a means-tested Maintenance Loan. The Imperial Bursary is for Home undergraduates with household income below £70,000, worth up to £5,000 a year, non-repayable and available each year while income stays below that line. The course page says that from January 2027 students living in England access these loans through the Lifelong Learning Entitlement; student finance in Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland is not affected by that change.
- The course page does not separate England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland for Home fees or funding; check Imperial’s fees pages and your student finance body.
6. International applicants
- Qualifications: Imperial publishes a country-by-country table of qualifications judged equivalent to three A-Levels. Examples: Canadian school diplomas at 85% overall across Grade 12 subjects with 85% in at least five of them; HKDSE grades 5 to 5* in relevant subjects; Indian CBSE/ISC at 90% overall across five subjects and 90% in relevant subjects; Singapore A-Level with three H2 subjects at grade A; IB 38–42 with 6–7 in relevant HL subjects. The page adds that Imperial does not accept school-leaving qualifications from all countries, so check that yours is in the table before applying. Where a course asks for more than the table’s minimum, follow the course page.
- AP: the Biological Sciences page asks for five APs at 5,5,5,4,4 including 5 in Biology and 5 in one of Chemistry, Calculus (AB or BC) or Physics (1, 2 or C); or three APs at 5,5,4 under the same subject conditions, plus an acceptable school-leaving qualification, plus SAT 1460 or ACT 31. Biochemistry swaps the required 5 in Biology for 5 in Chemistry.
- English: the course page asks for Imperial’s Higher level. IELTS Academic 7.0 overall with at least 6.5 in each element (single-skill retakes are not accepted); TOEFL iBT 100 with at least 22 in each section (5.0 in each on the new 1–6 scale from 21 January 2026); Duolingo 125 with at least 115 in each integrated subscore; PTE Academic 69 with at least 62 in each element; LanguageCert Academic SELT 75 with at least 70 in each element. Scores must be within two years of the course start. You do not need the score when applying; it becomes an offer condition. The English language page lists other accepted tests.
- ATAS certificate: the Life Sciences course pages say it is not required.
- Scholarships for international students: the course page lists the Imperial Inspires Scholarships for Overseas students, worth £15,000 for each year of the course. Whether awards are automatic, and how many there are, is not stated on the pages used for this guide; check the scholarship page.
7. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: China’s school-leaving qualification and the Gaokao are not on Imperial’s accepted qualifications table, and the table’s note says Imperial does not accept school-leaving qualifications from all countries. Students in the Chinese system usually need A-Levels, the IB or APs, or one of the foundation programmes the course pages list (below).
- Accepted foundation (some courses only): Imperial has no foundation programme of its own. The Life Sciences BSc pages accept UCL’s UPCSE: Biological Sciences, Ecology and Environmental Biology and Microbiology need 80% overall, 80% in Biology and 80% in Chemistry, Mathematics or Physics; Biochemistry and Biotechnology need 80% overall, 80% in Chemistry and 80% in Biology, Mathematics or Physics. Warwick’s IFP is not listed on those pages.
- Contradictions and oddities on the pages: (1) The Life Sciences pages’ “Important information” says they do not accept Access courses, Foundation years or OU courses, yet the same pages accept UPCSE; both statements are there, so ask admissions whether UPCSE applies. (2) The Biological Sciences, Biochemistry and Biotechnology MSci pages show the foundation requirements of the “Department of Aeronautics” (80% overall and 80% in Mathematics and Physics, Warwick IFP Engineering pathway), which looks out of place; rely on what admissions tells you.
- A-Level or IB at an international school: apply directly with the subjects and grades above.
- Transcripts, certification and country guidance: the course pages give no China-specific guidance on transcripts or verification, so this is not published on the pages used for this guide; contact Imperial’s undergraduate admissions team.
- ESAT: for Life Sciences courses in mainland China you can only test on 12–13 October or 6 January 2027 (section 4).
8. Direct entry into second year and changing course
- Direct entry into second year from another university: the Biological Sciences, Biochemistry and Biotechnology pages say Imperial sometimes accepts transfers from other institutions into the second year. You provide a transcript of your first-year grades and details of your pre-university qualifications and grades. Offers depend on places available (if any), the relevance of first-year modules and your grades; if direct entry is not possible you may be offered first-year entry instead. No transfers into the third year are accepted. The Ecology and Environmental Biology and Microbiology pages carry the same text.
- Changing course after entry: transfer between Biological Sciences degrees is usually possible until the end of the second year; transfer onto Language for Science must be completed at the very start of year 1; onto Year in Industry/Research at the start of year 2 so a placement can be arranged; onto the Management year it needs Business School approval and a 2:1 standard in the first two years; transfer from Biological Sciences to Biochemistry or Biotechnology is not possible. Changing course may affect an international student’s visa.
- Years abroad: places are limited and not guaranteed; the Biological Sciences page says marks of 60% or above are normally needed for France and Germany and 70% or above for the USA; the partner list is illustrative and may change.
9. Timeline (October 2027 entry)
- 12–16 October 2026: ESAT window 1 (closed; 12–13 October in mainland China, Hong Kong and Macau).
- 28 October 2026 at 15:00 (UK time): ESAT window 2 booking opens; 21 December at 18:00 booking closes.
- 4–8 January 2027: ESAT window 2 (6 January in mainland China, Hong Kong and Macau).
- 13 January 2027 at 18:00 (UK time): UCAS deadline for the other courses, institution code I50; whether late applications are possible is not stated on the pages used for this guide, so check the UCAS website.
- October 2027: courses start.
10. Fees
- International (Overseas) fee: for 2027 entry the Life Sciences course pages list £47,800 a year. The Biological Sciences page says a year abroad is charged at 15% of that year’s fee and a year in industry at 20%.
- Home students pay £10,050 a year (section 5).
- Imperial has an extra-costs page by department listing items such as field trips, books and protective clothing.
Checklist
UK applicants:
- Check A-Level or IB subjects and grades for your course (Biology for the biological sciences group, Chemistry for biochemistry and biotechnology)
- Book the ESAT (Mathematics 1, Chemistry, Biology; window 2 by 21 December at 18:00) and apply through UCAS by 13 January at 18:00
- Look at contextual admissions and the Imperial Bursary
International applicants:
- Check your qualification is in the accepted table; follow the course page for subjects and grades
- English at the Higher level: IELTS 7.0 (6.5 each) or equivalent
- Book the ESAT; the course pages say ATAS is not required
Applicants from China:
- The Gaokao is not on the table: use A-Levels, the IB or APs; Life Sciences BSc pages list UCL UPCSE, but alongside a statement that foundation years are not accepted, so confirm with admissions
- In China the ESAT is only on 12–13 October or 6 January
Direct entry into second year:
- Biological Sciences, Biochemistry and Biotechnology sometimes accept second-year transfers with a first-year transcript; no third-year entry
Sources: Imperial College London, Biological Sciences BSc; Biological Sciences MSci; Biochemistry BSc; Biotechnology BSc; Ecology and Environmental Biology; Microbiology; Accepted qualifications; English language requirements. Information is for 2027 entry. Check Imperial for the latest details.