Home / Admissions / US Applications / How to apply to art and design at Wayne State University: a nine-concentration BFA in Art and a BFA in Design (fashion, graphic, industrial and interior design) with general university admission, no entry portfolio and a shared Core Studio foundation, plus timelines for students from China, Canada and transfers

How to apply to art and design at Wayne State University: a nine-concentration BFA in Art and a BFA in Design (fashion, graphic, industrial and interior design) with general university admission, no entry portfolio and a shared Core Studio foundation, plus timelines for students from China, Canada and transfers

2026-10-20 · Application guides

Wayne State University in Detroit offers, through its Department of Art, Art History, and Design, a BFA in Art (ceramics, drawing, digital arts, fibers, metalsmithing, painting, photography, printmaking, sculpture), a BA in Art, a BFA in Design (fashion, graphic, industrial and interior design) and a BA/BS in Design and Merchandising. The bulletin says these degrees use general university admission, and the pages read do not ask for an entry portfolio. International fall deadline: August 1, fee USD 25. Canadian citizens and permanent residents need a cumulative average of at least 68%. Out-of-state tuition in the college from fall 2026 is USD 16,738.27 a semester for lower-division students.

Wayne State University is in Detroit, Michigan. Its art and design degrees are offered by the James Pearson Duffy Department of Art, Art History, and Design in the College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts (CFPCA). This guide summarizes what the university’s website says for students at high schools in China, students at Canadian high schools (including BC and Vancouver), and transfer students.

1. Degrees

  • BFA in Art: concentrations in ceramics, drawing, digital arts, fibers, metalsmithing, painting, photography, printmaking and sculpture. The bulletin requires 120 credits, 57 major credits and 18 advanced credits (3000-level and above) in the concentration, with at least C- in each major course.
  • BA in Art: 120 credits including at least 48 credits in art.
  • BFA in Design: concentrations in fashion design, graphic design, industrial design and interior design. A 24-credit core (Drawing I; Surface, Space and Time Studio; two art history surveys; Design Process; a 3000-level art or design history course) plus 45 design credits in the concentration (18 advanced) and a senior seminar.
  • BA/BS in Design and Merchandising: apparel design and fashion merchandising; the BS adds 15 credits of natural science.
  • Honors versions: honors curricula exist for the Art BA/BFA, the Design BFA and the Art History BA. Minors include Animation and Interactivity, Illustration and Graphic Design, among others.
  • Core Studio: Surface (2D composition, color and basic digital techniques), Space (3D, installation, digital fabrication and wood shop) and Time (sound, video, performance and other time-based media), the shared foundation for art and design.

2. Is a portfolio required?

  • Entry: the bulletin says admission to the BFA in Art, the BA in Art, the BFA in Design and the BS in Design and Merchandising is satisfied by general undergraduate admission; the department and college pages read do not ask for an entry portfolio.
  • After entry: the pages read do not say whether choosing a concentration or entering the BFA needs a portfolio or a GPA threshold; ask the department’s academic advisor.

3. Dates and materials (international)

  • Deadlines (no entry year shown): fall (September–December) August 1, winter (January–April) December 1, spring/summer (May–August) April 1.
  • Materials: online application and a USD 25 fee; original transcripts with certified English translations; course descriptions; a signed financial statement and bank letter from the last six months; proof of citizenship.
  • Testing: SAT or ACT, or a test-free route with an essay and activity list; recommendations optional.
  • After admission: a USD 50 enrollment deposit, non-refundable for first-year students after May 1.

4. English (international)

  • Minimums: TOEFL 79 (4.5 on the new test from January 21, 2026), no MyBest scores; IELTS 6.5; MET 64; Duolingo 110; scores valid for two years.
  • Exemptions: native English speakers or students whose secondary and post-secondary education was entirely in English-speaking countries such as the US or Canada. The exempt country list says Canada (except Nunavut and Quebec), while the FAQ on the same page lists only Canada; both are recorded.

5. Students at high schools in China

  • Gaokao and art exams: not addressed; ask admissions at OneStop@wayne.edu.
  • Review: the international page describes a holistic review of grades, course rigor, English and test or test-free materials.
  • English requirements in section 4 also apply.

6. Students at Canadian high schools (including BC and Vancouver)

  • Canadian applicants (citizens or permanent residents): a cumulative average of at least 68%; those at 62% to 67.5% can send SAT 990 or ACT 21, or an essay and activity list.
  • Scholarships: the Canadian page says to complete materials by April 1 for merit scholarship review.
  • BC course requirements: not listed separately.

7. Transfer students

  • University requirements: international transfers need a 2.5 cumulative GPA and English proficiency; Canadian transfers need a 2.5 GPA and at least 24 transferable credits, or are reviewed as first-year applicants.
  • Art credit: BFA concentration courses must be taken in the department with C- or better. How studio courses transfer is not stated in the pages read; talk to the department’s advisor first.

8. Costs and scholarships

  • Tuition (from fall 2026, CFPCA out-of-state, flat rate for 12–18 credits): lower division USD 16,738.27 a semester, upper division USD 20,119.24, plus registration and other fees. Art course fees are not published.
  • Other estimated costs (2026-2027, fall and winter of the first year): books USD 1,370, housing and meals USD 12,268, transportation USD 1,846, personal USD 2,538.
  • University scholarships: all first-year students are reviewed automatically for merit awards, and international first-year students can receive the Warrior, Gold and Green scholarships. The international checklist says to complete materials by December 1, while the freshman scholarship page gives April 1, 2027 as the final deadline; both are recorded. F-1 students cannot receive US federal aid.
  • College scholarships: apply through ScholarshipUniverse. For example, the Richard J. Bilaitis Award for Creative Excellence is open to students in art and art history, dance, music or theatre and needs a CFPCA faculty nomination and an unofficial transcript. International eligibility is not stated.

Checklist

Students at high schools in China:

  • Fall entry: complete materials by August 1, or by December 1 for scholarship review; fee USD 25
  • IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 4.5 on the new test or Duolingo 110; original transcripts with certified translations and financial documents
  • No entry portfolio; ask the department about requirements for choosing a concentration

Students at Canadian high schools (including BC and Vancouver):

  • A cumulative average of at least 68%; complete materials by April 1 for scholarship review

Transfer students:

  • A 2.5 cumulative GPA or higher; confirm with the art advisor how studio courses transfer

Sources: Wayne State University, Department of Art, Art History, and Design; BFA in Art; BFA in Design; Core Studio; Bulletin: Art BFA; Bulletin: Art BA; Bulletin: Design BFA; Bulletin: Design and Merchandising BS; CFPCA scholarships; International deadlines; English proficiency; Canadian applicants; Tuition fee charts; International scholarships; Freshman scholarships. Tuition is effective fall 2026. Check Wayne State’s website for the latest.

Related articles