How to apply to Illinois Institute of Technology for engineering: twelve undergraduate degrees in the Armour college, applying to a first and second choice major or to the undecided Discover+ program, with admission routes and prerequisites for U.S., international (including Chinese) and transfer students
Undergraduate engineering at Illinois Institute of Technology (Chicago) is offered by the Armour college. The 2026-2027 catalog lists twelve degrees, including biomedical, chemical, architectural, civil, electrical, computer, aerospace and mechanical engineering; nine of the college’s undergraduate degrees are ABET-accredited, though the page does not name them. Applicants name a first and second choice major, or apply to the undecided Discover+ program. For STEM programs the guidelines suggest an unweighted GPA of 3.3 or higher, four years of high school math including pre-calculus, and four years of science. There is no application fee on the admission pages, test scores are optional, and the dates are Early Decision 1 November, Early Action 15 November and Regular Decision 1 February. A Gaokao English score of 120 or higher waives the English test.
Engineering at Illinois Institute of Technology (Illinois Tech, in Chicago) is offered by the Armour college. The undergraduate catalog now names it the “Tech Futures College - Armour School of Engineering, Applied Science, and Health”, while the text on the same page still calls it Armour College of Engineering. Here is what you need to know, based on official Illinois Tech information, for U.S. students, international students and applicants from China, followed by transfer students. Computer science sits in the School of Computing and has its own guide here.
1. Engineering degrees
- Degrees in the catalog (2026-2027): B.S. in Biomedical Engineering; B.S. in Chemical Engineering; B.S. in Architectural Engineering, Civil Engineering and Engineering Management (Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering); B.S. in Computer and Cybersecurity Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering and a combined Electrical Engineering/Computer Engineering degree (Electrical and Computer Engineering); B.S. in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanical Engineering (Mechanical, Materials, and Aerospace Engineering); and a Bachelor of Industrial Technology and Management.
- ABET: the catalog says nine of the college’s undergraduate degrees are accredited by ABET’s Engineering Accreditation Commission. The page does not name them and we did not check them one by one; confirm on the program page. The catalog also says technology courses will not be accepted for transfer credit in any engineering program.
- Example, B.S. in Mechanical Engineering: required courses include Calculus I and II, multivariable calculus and differential equations, Physics I (mechanics) and II (electricity and magnetism), Principles of Chemistry I, programming for engineers, and 6 credits of interprofessional projects (IPRO). Other majors are on their own catalog pages.
- Co-op: the college and admission pages we read do not describe a co-op program; not published. The experiential learning page says the Elevate initiative guarantees hands-on experiences such as internships, research and study away, with mentorship and a personalized career plan; ask admissions for details.
2. How you are admitted: a named major, or Discover+ first
- Choosing a major when applying: the first-year page says you can list a first- and second-choice major, or apply to the Discover+ degree program (undecided). Admitted students receive one of four decisions: direct admission to the first or second choice major; university admission (admitted to the university but not that major, with the option to enroll in Discover+ and reapply to a preferred major in the second year, or to accept direct admission to a major offered in the decision email); an invitation to Ascend, a transfer pathway with a partner institution; or a request for more information.
- Discover+: the page says undeclared students spend their first two years on general education and core courses and declare a major at the end of the second year. The pages we read give no GPA threshold, required course grades, space limits or guarantee for moving from Discover+ into an engineering major. Not published; ask admissions.
- Each program has its own criteria: the guidelines page says each academic program has its own criteria and that STEM programs such as engineering, computing, science and math may differ from architecture, business and humanities. Admission considers high school performance and rigor, GPA, essays, choice of major and optional test scores.
- Internal transfer into the college: not stated on the pages we read.
3. Prerequisites
- Recommended coursework (STEM track, which the page says includes all programs in the School of Engineering, Applied Science, and Health except Industrial Technology and Management): four years of mathematics (pre-calculus or above “highly recommended”); four years of science (physics or AP Physics “highly recommended”); four years of English; three years of social science; no second language required. Recommended unweighted GPA is 3.3 or higher; recommended test ranges are ACT composite 25+, ACT math 25+, SAT composite 1200+, SAT math 600+ (tests are optional).
- Catalog minimum: at least 16 high school units, with four years of English, four years of mathematics and three years of science including a lab (two of biology, chemistry or physics). The catalog also recommends four years of math including pre-calculus for engineering applicants, so they can start college calculus right away. Inconsistent: the guidelines page says four years of science for the STEM track, the catalog three. We give both.
- Math placement: the catalog says new first-year and transfer students without credit for MATH 151 (Calculus I) take an online math placement assessment; AP or transfer credit for MATH 151 overrides it. Chemical engineering students without AP or transfer credit for CHEM 122 and CHEM 123 may take a proficiency assessment to waive them, with no credit.
- AP / IB / A-level credit: AP credit varies by score (the equivalency table is at iit.edu/ugaa, which we did not read); IB higher-level exams with a 4 or better earn up to 10 semester hours each and standard-level exams earn none; A-levels earn up to 10 credit hours each and AS-levels up to 5. See the tables for which engineering courses are covered.
4. How and when to apply (first-years)
- Application: the Common App or the Illinois Tech application. Inconsistent: the first-year and international pages say there is no application fee, while the catalog says applicants must submit a non-refundable application fee. We give both; follow what the application system shows when you submit.
- Materials: an official high school transcript (sent through the school’s electronic transcript service); essays (the site says some essay questions are optional and skipping them does not hurt); recommendation letters optional, up to three, suggested when applying for a special full-tuition scholarship or when a recommender can add insight; test scores optional and superscored if sent. The site does not mention an extra essay for engineering.
- Dates (fall entry; the page gives no entry year and still contains 2026 notes, so confirm for fall 2027): Early Decision (binding) 1 November, decision in December, deposit 15 March; Early Action (non-binding) 15 November, decision in January, deposit 1 May; Regular Decision 1 February (1 June for international students living in the U.S.), decision 15 March, deposit 1 May. Spring entry regular deadline is 15 October, extended to 5 November. Confirming by 15 March earns early deposit benefits.
- Early Decision is binding: if admitted you must withdraw other applications; the site suggests Early Action if cost matters to your decision.
5. U.S. students: costs and scholarships
- Cost: Illinois Tech is private and lists one new-student rate, with no in-state and out-of-state distinction and no extra engineering tuition on the page. 2026-2027, new undergraduates: tuition $53,198, fees $1,850, housing and food $18,548.
- Scholarships: the site says scholarships range from $10,000 to full tuition, and all applicants are considered when they apply, with no test scores or recommendation letters required; all applicants, whichever deadline, are considered for the Heald and International Tuition Scholarships. Some scholarships need a particular application round, supplemental materials or an on-campus interview.
- Need-based aid: file the FAFSA with Title IV code 001691. The site says 98 percent of undergraduates receive some form of aid.
- Illinois residents: the pages we read do not mention a resident preference, guaranteed admission or in-state tuition. Not published.
- Direct admission programs: Illinois Tech partners with Chicago Public Schools, the Common App and Niche Direct to offer direct admission based on self-reported GPA, conditional on the official transcript; for STEM majors this includes four years of math including pre-calculus with a B or higher and B or higher in science, math and technology courses.
6. International students
- Materials: the application; official or certified secondary transcripts or mark sheets and all board examination scores (showing the last three full years of grades as of the application date); non-English documents with a certified English translation; English test scores; a passport copy (after admission and deposit); recommendations are generally optional, but international Early Decision and Early Action applicants must submit at least one and up to three. SAT/ACT are optional, and you may be asked to take a math placement exam.
- English scores: the English requirements page: TOEFL iBT 4.5 or above (legacy score 80 or above), IELTS 6.5 or above, Duolingo 115 or above; scores are valid for two years and TOEFL MyBest is not accepted. Inconsistent: the catalog says TOEFL iBT 80 or above with at least 20 in each band and IELTS 6.5 with at least 6.0 in each band, and does not list Duolingo.
- Waivers: SAT Evidence-Based Reading 550; ACT English 25; AP English 4 or 5; IB English A Literature or Language and Literature 5, 6 or 7; GCE/GCSE/IGCSE English grade A or BB; India Standard XII English 60%+; Chinese Gaokao English 120 or above; set levels at ESL providers; or a degree from a listed country, including the United States, Canada (except Quebec), the United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, Nigeria and Ghana. Applicants below the minimum may be offered conditional admission (English courses alongside classes, or an intensive English program first).
- Proof of funds: a financial affidavit plus a bank letter or statement, collected only after admission and deposit, not for admission review; accepted sources include bank accounts, loan letters and government sponsorship, while salary letters, pay stubs, tax returns, insurance policies and real estate are not accepted.
- Scholarships: institutional scholarships of $40,000 to $100,000 over four years, reviewed automatically at application with no additional application, based on academic success, community involvement and other achievements; multiple institutional awards do not combine and the highest is awarded. Also the M. A. and Lila Self Leadership Academy Scholars (apply through Early Decision I or Early Action I; deadline 15 November) and the World Robot Olympiad Scholarship ($25,000 a year for up to four years).
- Costs: see the standard rate in section 5; international students must show they can cover education and living costs, and the minimum may fall with scholarships.
7. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: the international page asks for marks and “all board examination scores” but does not name the gaokao or say how scores are used. Not published; ask admission@illinoistech.edu.
- Gaokao English: the English requirements page says a Gaokao English score of 120 or above waives the TOEFL or IELTS.
- International curricula: IB English A 5+, AP English 4 or 5 and IGCSE English A or BB also waive the English test; AP, IB and A-levels can earn credit.
- Transcripts: non-English transcripts need the original plus a certified English translation; they can be submitted through the Common App by a school official or by email to admission@illinoistech.edu.
- Interview, credential evaluators, country page: we found no China-specific page or interview requirement.
8. Transfer students
- Requirements: the catalog says transfer applicants must be in good academic standing, and admission is based on cumulative GPA and individual grades in classes that apply to the chosen major; a cumulative GPA of 3.00 is recommended; students on probation or dismissed are not considered. The pages do not say an engineering applicant must finish a calculus, physics or chemistry sequence. Not published.
- Size: transfer students make up about 30 percent of each incoming class.
- Application and dates (no entry year stated): no application fee; fall entry (U.S.) priority deadlines 15 March and 15 June, regular deadline 15 July; international living abroad 1 June; spring entry 15 October, extended to 5 November. The page also says transcript evaluations take place after 1 August and after 1 November, and that transcripts are not evaluated if the completed application is not in by those dates (it does not say which term each date belongs to).
- Credit: courses from accredited institutions comparable in scope and level, with a C or higher (C- not accepted); up to 68 hours from a two-year college, no cap from a four-year college, but the final 45 semester hours must be completed at Illinois Tech; transfer grades do not enter the GPA. Courses designated by the Illinois Articulation Initiative are accepted, and Transferology shows how courses transfer.
- International transfers: transcripts from every institution, a course-by-course credential evaluation from a NACES member (for example ECE, WES or Educational Perspectives), course descriptions, and TOEFL or IELTS (waivable with more than 30 U.S. credits); with fewer than 30 credits, first-year application requirements also apply.
- Ascend: some applicants are invited to a transfer pathway with a partner institution; those who keep a 3.0 GPA and earn a B or higher in calculus-level math may qualify for guaranteed admission.
Checklist
U.S. students:
- Apply by 1 November (Early Decision, binding), 15 November (Early Action) or 1 February (Regular); no application fee per the admission pages (the catalog says otherwise)
- Four years of math including pre-calculus and three to four years of science; recommended STEM GPA 3.3; tests optional; list a first and second choice major or Discover+
International students (including applicants from China):
- Same dates; transcripts and board exam scores; TOEFL 4.5 (new scale), IELTS 6.5 or Duolingo 115; Gaokao English 120+ waives the test
- How gaokao scores are used is not published; ask admissions
Transfer students:
- Recommended cumulative GPA 3.00; official transcripts; fall priority 15 March / 15 June, regular 15 July
Sources: Illinois Institute of Technology, Catalog: Armour engineering; Catalog: B.S. in Mechanical Engineering; Catalog: undergraduate admission; First-year students; Recommended admission guidelines; Application dates and deadlines; International first-year students; English language proficiency; International transfer students; Transfer students and credit; Undergraduate costs; International undergraduate scholarships; Experiential learning. The dates page does not state the entry year and still contains 2026 notes; costs are 2026-2027. Check Illinois Tech for the latest details.