How to apply to the University of Toledo for engineering: direct admission to the major in the College of Engineering, three paid co-op semesters, and admission routes and prerequisites for U.S., international (including Chinese) and transfer students
The University of Toledo College of Engineering offers 14 engineering bachelor’s degrees, including bioengineering, chemical, civil, electrical, mechanical and environmental engineering in engineering science, plus engineering technology programs. The college says students are admitted directly with no pre-engineering classes. Engineering science needs a 3.0 GPA, a math score (ACT 22, SAT Math 540 or ALEKS 76) and four years of high school math; engineering science students complete three paid co-op semesters. International freshmen apply by 1 July 2027 for fall; IELTS 6.0 or higher is accepted, and the International Rocket Award is $8,000 a year.
At the University of Toledo (UToledo), undergraduate engineering is offered by the College of Engineering. Here is what you need to know, based on official UToledo information, for U.S. students, international students and applicants from China, followed by transfer students. It applies to fall 2027 entry.
1. Engineering majors and ABET accreditation
- Size: the college’s prospective-student page says it offers 14 engineering bachelor’s degrees.
- Engineering science: bioengineering, chemical, civil, environmental, electrical and mechanical engineering (mechanical offers aerospace and mechatronics concentrations), plus computer science and computer science and engineering. Computer science is covered in a separate guide.
- Engineering technology: computer science and engineering technology, construction engineering technology, electrical engineering technology and mechanical engineering technology; the same list also includes information technology and cyber security. The page says five engineering technology degrees but lists six items, so check the official program list. The college says engineering technology is more hands-on and algebra-based, while engineering science is more calculus-based.
- ABET: the accreditation page lists the engineering science programs under the Engineering Accreditation Commission (computer science and engineering is also accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission), the four engineering technology programs under the Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission, and information technology under the Computing Accreditation Commission.
2. Admission route: direct admission to the major
- The college’s page says “Direct admittance. No pre-engineering classes”: you apply to a major and start engineering and design classes in the first year.
- Requirements (from the international freshman page):
- Engineering science: a minimum 3.0 high school GPA; a math score of ACT Math 22, SAT Math 540 or ALEKS 76; four years of high school math (emphasis on trigonometry or pre-calculus), plus chemistry for bioengineering, chemical and environmental engineering; high school physics is strongly recommended.
- Engineering technology: a minimum 2.5 GPA; ACT 20, SAT Math 520 or ALEKS 61.
- Students without an ACT or SAT score can take UToledo’s ALEKS placement test for $20.
- If you do not meet the requirements: the page says students with a 2.0+ GPA who do not meet the bachelor’s requirements can be admitted to two-year associate programs. A student story on the college site mentions a program called GEARSET that lets students who were not directly admitted prepare and enter the College of Engineering a semester later; the criteria are not on the pages we read, so ask the college (EnUgStudies@utoledo.edu, 419-530-8045).
- U.S. applicants: the U.S. applicant pages we read do not list a separate engineering GPA or score table. The figures above come from the international page, and whether they are identical for U.S. students is not published on those pages. The program pages link to the course catalog (catalog.utoledo.edu), which has bot protection and was not accessed; check it directly.
- Internal transfer into the College of Engineering: not stated on the pages we read; ask the college’s undergraduate studies office.
3. Prerequisites and placement
- High school courses: see above (four years of math, chemistry for some majors, physics recommended).
- Placement testing: all new engineering students take the ALEKS chemistry and math placement tests, including students who took AP or college courses in their senior year, with these exceptions:
- No chemistry test if you have college credit equivalent to CHEM 1090 or 1230; an AP Chemistry score of 4+; or your major is construction engineering technology, computer science and engineering technology, information technology, computer science or cyber security.
- No math test if you have college credit equivalent to MATH 1320 and 1330, or to MATH 1340 or 1850; an AP Calculus AB or BC score of 3+; or you are an information technology major with ACT Math 22 or SAT Math 550.
- UToledo does not receive official AP scores until mid-July, after the Rocket Launch orientation, so take the placement tests first and adjust your schedule afterward; official AP scores must be sent to receive credit. Which required courses AP credit replaces is not stated on the pages we read.
4. How and when to apply (fall 2027)
- Application: the UToledo application; high school students may also use the Common App.
- Dates (undergraduate admission page): 1 August, the 2027 application opens; 1 October, FAFSA and donor scholarship applications open; 1 November, Presidential Scholarship deadline; 19 January is the priority date for merit and donor scholarship consideration; 1 February, FAFSA priority date; 1 March, orientation registration opens; 1 May, enrollment deposit priority deadline.
- The freshman application fee, essays and recommendations were not found on the pages we read. The scholarship page says merit scholarships need no separate application, essays or recommendation letters and do not consider ACT or SAT scores. The transfer application fee is $25.
5. U.S. students: costs and scholarships
- Tuition: the tuition figures are in an interactive chart that depends on residency and housing, which we could not read; check the tuition page for your situation. The page says out-of-state students pay a surcharge of about $9,360 a year; Michigan residents are treated as in-state from fall 2026; and the tuition guarantee keeps your first-year tuition, housing and meal plan rates the same for four years. The international cost table includes “College of Engineering fees (if applicable): $600”.
- Merit scholarships (automatic): high school seniors with at least a 3.0 GPA who apply by 19 January receive priority consideration for a renewable $1,250 to $8,000 a year, based on GPA only; later applications depend on funds. Out-of-state students with a 3.0+ GPA can also get the Rocket Nation Scholarship, $8,000 a year toward the out-of-state surcharge, in addition to merit aid.
- By application: the Presidential Scholarship ($28,000 a year for four years plus a one-time $3,000 research or experiential stipend; 1 November deadline) and the Levis Leadership Scholarship (40 students; $1,000 the first year, $750 a year for three more).
- College of Engineering scholarships: the college says most engineering students qualify for university merit scholarships and that it awards its own merit and need-based scholarships; amounts and how to apply are not published on the pages we read. Filing the FAFSA may qualify you for federal and state loans, grants and work-study.
6. Co-op (paid work experience)
- Engineering science students complete three semester-long paid co-ops, two of them with the same employer, alternating a semester of work and a semester on campus from the sophomore year, on track A or B (one starts in the spring of sophomore year, the other in the summer). The college says students graduate with a year of work experience.
- For engineering technology students co-ops are optional: they can follow the same three-co-op path for credit or do non-credit internships.
- The college lists an average 2025 co-op wage of $22.64 an hour (program medians range from $17.74 to $26.12).
- International students: co-op is a required class, so they are eligible to work; the co-op director explains the steps.
7. International students
- How to apply: students still finishing their last year of secondary school may use the Common App or the UToledo application; those who took a gap year or are transferring must use the UToledo application and select “International Application”. Transcripts, proof of English and (for engineering) a math score are all required.
- Deadlines: fall 2027 freshman applications by 1 July 2027; transfer students already in the U.S. by 1 August 2027; classes begin 23 August 2027. The page says these are suggested dates based on visa wait times; later applications may still be reviewed or may be moved to the next term.
- English: TOEFL iBT 71 (taken before 21 January 2026) or 4 (new scale, after that date); IELTS 6.0; PTE 48; Duolingo 105; Cambridge English 170; MET 52; iTEP 3.7; or SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 510 / ACT English 21. Scores must be less than two years old. Other routes: 3 A-Level or 3 IB Higher Level subjects; a U.S. high school or an international school where English is the only language of instruction, with graduation less than two years ago (case by case); applicants who qualify but need English are admitted to the American Language Institute. A separate list of English-exempt countries includes Canada, the UK, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore and Ireland; China is not on it.
- Transcripts: official transcripts for each secondary school (usually the last 3 to 4 years, with year-end grades and in-progress classes) and official exam certificates; non-English documents need an official translation, and translations by students are not accepted; every school attended must be listed. Documents are not returned.
- Credential evaluation and financial proof: the pages we read do not describe credential evaluation or financial documents, so this is not published there; contact international admissions (international@utoledo.edu, +1 419-530-1201).
- Costs (2026-27 estimate for international students, per year): tuition and general fees $12,900, out-of-state surcharge $9,360, miscellaneous and program fees $1,900 and College of Engineering fees (if applicable) $600, for $24,160 to $24,760; on-campus room and meal plan $14,850 (off-campus estimate $9,750) and medical insurance $2,600; total $36,510 to $42,210.
- Scholarships: the International Rocket Award is automatic at admission: $8,000 a year for a GPA of 3.0+, applied only to the out-of-state surcharge, not in-state tuition, general fees, housing or insurance. UToledo says more than 85% of international undergraduates receive scholarships or special tuition rates.
8. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: the website does not say whether or how the Gaokao score is used; it is not published. GPA is calculated from cumulative high school grades. Ask international admissions.
- English: the English requirements page does not list Gaokao English; use TOEFL, IELTS, Duolingo and the other listed tests, or SAT/ACT.
- Requirements by country: the country page lists Bangladesh, Brazil, British-pattern curricula, Canada and others but has no page for China, so it is not published; follow the general requirements and email international admissions if unsure.
- Math requirement: without an ACT or SAT score, take ALEKS ($20): 76 for engineering science, 61 for engineering technology.
- Sister Cities rate: new undergraduates whose permanent address at the time of application is in Qinhuangdao or Nanchong, Toledo’s sister cities, pay the Ohio resident tuition rate but are not eligible for the International Rocket Award.
- A-Level and IB: 3 A-Level or 3 IB Higher Level subjects satisfy the English requirement; how exam credit converts is not stated on the pages we read.
9. Transfer students
- International transfers into engineering: engineering science needs a 2.75 higher education GPA and a C or better in calculus equivalent to MATH 1850 and general chemistry equivalent to CHEM 1230; engineering technology needs a 2.25 GPA, plus a C or higher in calculus (MATH 1850 or 2450) for computer science and engineering technology and electrical engineering technology, or in trigonometry or pre-calculus (MATH 1330 or 1340) for construction and mechanical engineering technology. Students admitted to the university who do not meet the program requirements enter the Exploratory Studies program.
- Transfers within the U.S.: the transfer page tells you to check the university’s transfer requirements and your program’s catalog requirements; the engineering GPA and course thresholds are not on the pages we read (the catalog was not accessed). The application fee is $25; send official transcripts from every college attended to admprocessing@utoledo.edu. You can be admitted to the university but not to the college or program you applied to. The official credit evaluation comes after admission; an unofficial evaluation is available by appointment before you apply.
- English: international transfers who completed at least 24 semester credits at an accredited English-medium institution may qualify for a waiver; so may students who passed a course equivalent to English 1110 in the U.S.
- Transfer scholarships (automatic, by cumulative transfer GPA): 3.75+ Achievement Award $4,000; 3.40–3.74 $3,000; 3.00–3.39 $1,000; out-of-state awards of $8,000, $7,000 and $5,000 for the same tiers; 12+ hours at an accredited institution after high school are required.
Checklist
U.S. students:
- Apply by 19 January (priority for merit scholarships); FAFSA from 1 October; Presidential Scholarship by 1 November
- Engineering science: 3.0 GPA, a math score (ACT 22 / SAT Math 540 / ALEKS 76) and four years of math; take the ALEKS chemistry and math placement tests before orientation
International students (including applicants from China):
- Apply by 1 July 2027; English proof (IELTS 6.0, new-scale TOEFL 4, etc.); transcripts with official translations; math via SAT/ACT or ALEKS
- How the Gaokao is used is not published; confirm with international admissions
Transfer students:
- International transfers: engineering science 2.75 GPA with calculus and general chemistry at C or better; official transcripts from every college; 1 August (already in the U.S.)
Sources: The University of Toledo, Prospective engineering undergraduates; Engineering placement testing; Engineering accreditation; Engineering co-ops and careers; Mechanical Engineering program; Undergraduate admission dates; Undergraduate tuition and scholarships; International: how to apply; International freshman requirements; International transfer requirements; English requirements; English test exempt countries; Transcript requirements; Requirements by country; International tuition and scholarships; Transfer: how to apply; Transfer tuition and scholarships. Dates and costs are from pages for fall 2027 entry / 2026-27. Check the UToledo website for the latest.