Home / Admissions / US Applications / How to Apply to Engineering at Binghamton University: Watson College Students Start in a Common First-Year Engineering Program and Then Choose Biomedical, Electrical, Computer, Mechanical or Industrial and Systems Engineering, for Domestic and International (Including Chinese) Applicants and Transfer Students

How to Apply to Engineering at Binghamton University: Watson College Students Start in a Common First-Year Engineering Program and Then Choose Biomedical, Electrical, Computer, Mechanical or Industrial and Systems Engineering, for Domestic and International (Including Chinese) Applicants and Transfer Students

2026-10-24 · Application guides

Binghamton University’s engineering undergraduate programs are offered by the Thomas J. Watson College of Engineering and Applied Science. First-year students take a common first-year engineering program run by the Engineering Design Division, then choose biomedical, electrical, computer, mechanical or industrial and systems engineering; the website gives two different times for declaring. The application fee is $50, with Early Action on November 1 and Regular Decision on January 15 (March 15 on the international page); testing is optional. 2026-2027 tuition is $7,070 for New York residents and $29,840 for out-of-state and international students. Watson accepts transfers for fall only. This guide covers admission, prerequisites, costs and transfer.

Binghamton University is a State University of New York campus. Undergraduate engineering is offered by the Thomas J. Watson College of Engineering and Applied Science (Watson College). Computer science sits in Watson’s School of Computing and has its own guide on this site, so it is not covered here. Based on Binghamton’s official information, this guide is organised for U.S. domestic applicants, international applicants, applicants from China and transfer students.

1. Engineering majors and accreditation

  • Engineering majors: after the first-year program students declare biomedical, electrical, computer, mechanical, or industrial and systems engineering. Departments are Biomedical Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Systems Science and Industrial Engineering, plus the Engineering Design Division, which runs the first year.
  • ABET accreditation (About Watson page): the Bachelor of Science programs in engineering are accredited by ABET’s Engineering Accreditation Commission and are licensure-qualifying; students within 20 credits of graduation, or graduates, are automatically eligible to sit for the NCEES Fundamentals of Engineering exam. The page does not list programs one by one; ask the departments.
  • Credits and degree plans by major: official requirements are in the university’s Academic Guide, a third-party catalog we did not access, and the Watson pages we read do not state total credits. Watson Advising publishes 2026–27 suggested course tracks for each major on its Major Requirements page.
  • General education: the World Language requirement is waived for Watson engineering students; engineering students complete one Composition (C) plus one Oral Communication (O) course, or one J course.
  • 4+1 master’s: students can take up to three graduate courses in the senior year and finish the master’s degree in a fifth year.
  • Internships: Watson has a summer internship page; a paid co-op program is not described on the pages we read. Ask Watson’s career connection office.

2. Admission: a common first year, then a major

  • Common first year: Watson’s pages say first-year students explore engineering through the Engineering Design Division’s First-Year Engineering Program. The first-year curriculum is common mathematics and natural sciences plus EDD 111–112, which introduce biomedical, computer, electrical, mechanical, and industrial and systems engineering. The website does not say applicants are admitted directly to a specific engineering major.
  • When you choose a major: the website gives two different answers. The Watson undergraduate page says you declare at the end of your first year; the first-year program page says at the end of the fall semester. Ask Watson Advising (wtsnadv@binghamton.edu).
  • Conditions for entering a major: GPA thresholds, required course grades, whether places are limited and whether your first choice is guaranteed are not stated on the pages we read. Ask Watson Advising.
  • Moving into Watson from another school at Binghamton: Watson Advising offers appointments for intra-university transfer; the criteria are not published on the pages we read.

3. Prerequisites

  • High school courses: the first-year application page asks for a high school transcript and one teacher or counselor recommendation. It does not list high school math, physics or chemistry requirements for engineering. Ask Admissions (admit@binghamton.edu).
  • Math background: the university’s general education math requirement assumes high school algebra, geometry and trigonometry, and can be met with an 85 on the Regents MATH III exam (or an 85 in fourth-year high school math), an IB standard-level 4–7, or AP calculus 5 or higher. This is a general education rule, not an engineering prerequisite.
  • AP, IB and A-level: Watson Advising links equivalency tables for AP, IB, A-level and CLEP; check them for which engineering courses are covered. We did not verify each item.

4. Deadlines, materials and testing (first-year)

  • Early Action: apply by November 1, other materials by December 1, decisions by January 15. Regular Decision: January 15, decisions by April 1; later applications are reviewed on a space-available basis.
  • Application fee: $50, non-refundable. The website advertises free-application weeks, with two sets of dates: the admissions home page says October 24 to November 6 and the application page says October 19 to November 2. Check again before you apply.
  • How to apply: Common App, SUNY Application or Coalition Application. SUNY’s Top 10% Promise only guarantees admission to at least one participating school, not to Binghamton.
  • Materials: high school transcript; one teacher or counselor recommendation; optional SAT/ACT. Interviews are not required; a 60–90 second video is optional. Any Watson-specific essay is not published.
  • Testing: test-optional; you must state on your application whether you want SAT/ACT scores included in review.

5. U.S. domestic applicants

  • 2026-2027 estimates (cost page, July 2026): New York residents pay $7,070 tuition, $3,497 fees and $20,179 for housing and meals, about $30,746 in total; non-residents pay $29,840 tuition for about $53,516. The page lists no engineering differential.
  • Scholarships: all applicants are considered. President’s, Provost’s and Dean’s Scholarships are awarded at admission with no separate application. Each year 20 incoming first-year students receive $10,000 a year Achievement Scholarships and 5 receive up to the in-state cost of attendance (about $30,000); these are also automatic. The scholarship page was last updated in August 2024, so check current figures.
  • For New York residents: the Excelsior Scholarship (managed by HESC) and the NYS STEM Incentive Program, which gives a full SUNY tuition scholarship to the top 10 percent of each New York high school who pursue a STEM degree.
  • Priority or guaranteed admission for state residents: not stated on the pages we read.

6. International applicants

  • Deadlines: international first-year Early Action November 1 (decision by January 15) and Regular Decision March 15 (decision by April 1). The domestic first-year page gives January 15 for Regular Decision; the two differ, so plan for the earlier date and confirm with international admissions.
  • Application fee: $50; international students are not eligible for fee waivers.
  • Transcripts: official transcripts for each of the most recent three years of schooling, listing all courses and grades, with English translations if needed, sent directly by a school officer (through the application, from a school email to international@binghamton.edu, or by mail).
  • English: all non-native speakers must submit at least one score, even from English-medium schools and even if test-optional. Accepted: TOEFL (old and new scales around January 21, 2026), IELTS, Duolingo, PTE, Cambridge B2/C1/C2, SAT, IB higher level, O-level English and ACT; scores must be under two years old. Mid-50% ranges: TOEFL 80–95 (4.0–5.0 on the new scale), IELTS 6.5–7.0, Duolingo 110–120, SAT EBRW 530–640, ACT English 21–27, PTE 53–65. Students with four years at an English-medium school may request a waiver by email.
  • Proof of funds: F-1 or J-1 applicants submit an International Student Financial Statement with sponsor signatures and official bank statements covering the first year before an I-20 or DS-2019 is issued.
  • Costs: 2026-2027 international estimates are $29,840 tuition, $6,485 fees (excluding the SEVIS fee) and $20,179 housing and meals, about $56,504 in total.
  • Scholarships: all applicants are considered; whether international students can receive the named Achievement Scholarships is not stated.

7. Applicants from China

  • Gaokao: neither the international application page nor the admissions Chinese-language site says whether or how the Gaokao is used. Ask international admissions (international@binghamton.edu).
  • Documents: transcripts for the last three years, with English translations of Chinese documents. The admissions office runs a Chinese-language site (binghamtonsuny.com) and lists a WeChat contact (“Binghamton University”). No designated credential evaluator is named for first-year applicants.
  • Interviews: not mentioned on the international first-year page; the domestic first-year page says interviews are not required.
  • International curricula: A-level and IB equivalencies are on Watson Advising’s page; no engineering A-level or IB admission scores are published.

8. Transfer students

  • Fall only: all Watson programs accept fall applications only; the fall priority deadline is March 1, with later applications reviewed if space is available.
  • GPA: the domestic transfer page says previous successful engineering applicants had a GPA of 3.0 or higher; the international transfer page prefers 3.2 or higher for mechanical and electrical engineering and 3.0 or higher for other engineering majors.
  • Prerequisites: these vary by major but commonly include calculus I and II, differential equations, two semesters of calculus-based physics, chemistry I and II, two courses in English composition or technical writing, two humanities or social science courses and an introductory programming course. For junior-level admission Watson lists calculus I and II, differential equations and one other math course, two semesters of calculus-based physics, one college chemistry and one other science or math course, two writing courses, two humanities or social science courses, a first electrical circuits course and an introductory programming course. Major notes: electrical or computer engineering adds probability and statistics, data structures and algorithms, microprocessors and digital logic; industrial and systems engineering adds chemistry II, probability and statistics, engineering statics and microeconomics; mechanical engineering adds chemistry II, calculus III, mechanics (statics and dynamics) and strength of materials.
  • Credit: transfer courses must be taken for a letter grade of C- or better; Watson has articulation agreements with several community colleges.
  • Materials: official transcripts from every college attended; a final high school transcript if you have fewer than 24 college credits; $50 fee.
  • International transfer: the international transfer page requires WES or ECE evaluation only for the nursing college, not for engineering; non-English transcripts need English translations; English can be shown with two U.S. college English courses at B or better or a test score.

Checklist

U.S. domestic applicants:

  • Apply by November 1 (Early Action) or January 15 (Regular), $50 fee (free during the free-application weeks)
  • High school transcript and one recommendation; testing optional; expect a common first-year engineering program

International applicants (including China):

  • Apply by November 1 or the Regular deadline (March 15 on the international page, January 15 on the domestic page; plan for the earlier)
  • Three years of transcripts with English translation; one English test score; F-1 financial statement and bank statements; ask how the Gaokao is used

Transfer students:

  • Watson accepts fall transfers only: apply by March 1; complete calculus I and II, differential equations, calculus-based physics and chemistry with a GPA of 3.0 or higher

Sources: Binghamton University, Watson College undergraduate; About Watson and accreditation; First-year engineering program; First-year courses; Watson general education and exam credit; Watson transfer students; Watson advising; Watson transfer and exam equivalencies; First-year applicants; International first-year applicants; International transfer applicants; Transfer applicants; Transfer instructions and deadlines; Cost; Scholarships; Admissions Chinese-language site: first-year. Deadlines and costs are for fall 2027 entry (costs are 2026-2027 estimates). Check Binghamton University for the latest details.

Related articles