How to Apply to Engineering at the University of Western Australia: The Four-Year Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) with Nine Majors and 450 Hours of Work Experience, ATAR 80 and Mathematics Prerequisites, for Australian Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Students
UWA’s engineering undergraduate degree is the four-year Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (BH011). Applicants apply to this one degree and choose from nine degree-specific majors, with February and July starts and a 450-hour work-integrated learning requirement. The minimum is ATAR 80, with scaled scores of at least 50 in Mathematics Methods and in one of Chemistry, Physics or Mathematics Specialist. The 2027 international annual fee is AUD 56,200, English is IELTS 6.5 with 6.0 in each band, and a Gaokao score of about 525 to 528 out of 750 (70%) converts to ATAR 80. The guide also flags that UWA’s Gaokao table lists no equivalent for Mathematics Methods, and what the website does not publish.
The University of Western Australia (UWA) is in Perth, Western Australia. Its engineering undergraduate degree is the Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (course code BH011, abbreviated BE(Hons)), delivered on campus in Perth. Here is what you need to know for 2027 entry, based on UWA’s official information, for Australian domestic students, international students (including students at high schools in China) and transfer students. The Handbook we read is the 2026 edition.
1. The degree and its majors
- The degree: BE(Hons) is a four-year full-time integrated honours degree of 192 credit points (24 undergraduate units plus 8 honours units), with February and July intakes and CRICOS code 106081B. The Handbook says it is built around the Engineers Australia Stage 1 Competencies for Professional Engineers.
- Nine degree-specific majors: Automation and Robotics, Biomedical, Chemical, Civil, Electrical and Electronic, Environmental, Mechanical, Mining and Software Engineering. The Handbook says the degree comprises 168 to 180 points of engineering foundation and major units plus 12 to 24 points of free electives, and encourages using electives to broaden beyond engineering.
- Foundation units: the Handbook lists Engineering Practice 1 to 3 (0-point workshop and project units, including week-long practical units), Introduction to Engineering (GENG1010), Multivariable Calculus (MATH1011), Mathematical Theory and Methods (MATH1012) and the 0-point Professional Engineering Portfolio (GENG5010).
- Engineers Australia accreditation: the Handbook says all majors are provisionally accredited by Engineers Australia (EA); the Software Engineering major is also accredited by the Australian Computer Society (ACS) against ACS and Seoul Accord graduate standards.
- Double degree: the website lists a combined Engineering (Honours) and Science degree (code CB004, CRICOS 106083M, TISC code UB004), five years full-time (5.5 years with a Chemical Engineering major), minimum ATAR 80 and the same prerequisites. Science majors include computer science, cybersecurity, data science, environmental science, mathematics and statistics, and physics. The international fee list also shows Engineering (Honours) combined with Arts, Commerce, Modern Languages and Philosophy (Honours). Computer science has its own guide on this site, so it is not covered here.
- Bachelor of Science route: applicants who do not meet the engineering requirements may apply to the Bachelor of Science and then apply to transfer into engineering, subject to the course transfer rules (below).
2. How admission works: apply to one engineering degree, then choose a major within it
- What you apply for: you apply for the Bachelor of Engineering (Honours), BH011. The course page lists nine degree-specific majors and the Handbook course rules require a degree-specific major. Whether you must choose a major when applying, and when you choose it, is not stated on the pages we read; ask UWA Admissions.
- No undeclared first year: the pages we read have no separate “first-year engineering (undeclared)” entry; the Handbook advises completing the foundation units listed in the course structure as early as possible.
- Staying in the degree: the course rules say you must maintain a weighted average mark (WAM) of at least 50 in engineering foundation and major units to make satisfactory progress. A student who has completed 144 points including four Level 3 engineering units but lacks a WAM of 50 must exit with a Bachelor of Science (Engineering Science).
- Internal transfer into engineering: the course rules let a UWA undergraduate apply if they have not started their final semester, apply within the transfer windows, are not blocked by quotas on the major or unit, have completed at least 24 points with a WAM of at least 50, and meet the maths and science requirement (at least 50% in ATAR Mathematics Methods, and in one of ATAR Mathematics Specialist, Physics or Chemistry, or the matching bridging units). The transfer window dates and whether a place is guaranteed are not published.
3. Prerequisites
- Minimum ATAR 80 (or an equivalent UWA recognises), or an assured pathway offer, or a place in a relevant UWA access program.
- Maths and science subjects: a scaled score of at least 50 in ATAR Mathematics Methods and at least 50 in one of ATAR Chemistry, ATAR Physics or ATAR Mathematics Specialist. The course page recommends all three. The Handbook says students without all four recommended subjects will need extra first-year units; up to 12 points of free electives can bridge missing subjects (not including Mathematics Methods), and up to 24 extra points can be taken to bridge up to two subjects or meet broadening requirements.
- Foundation unit prerequisites: MATH1011 and MATH1012 require Mathematics Specialist ATAR, the bridging unit MATH1722 (Mathematics Foundations: Specialist) or equivalent.
- Math placement test: not mentioned on the pages we read.
- AP / IB credit: the website converts IB and SAT/ACT scores into ATAR equivalents for admission; it does not say they exempt engineering core courses. Not published; ask Admissions.
- 2026 ATAR data: in the “ATARs by course” table on the entry standards page (marked 2026), BE(Hons) shows a lowest ATAR of 71.30, median 95.20 and highest 99.90, and a Selection Rank (ATAR plus adjustment factors) of 80.00 lowest, 95.55 median and 99.95 highest. This is past data from the page, not a 2027 requirement.
4. Australian domestic students
- How to apply: all current Year 12 school leavers apply through TISC, including early offers. Western Australian WACE or IB students can apply for an Early Offer based on a predicted ATAR (set by TISC from Year 11 results) or IB score, but still have to complete WACE with four ATAR subjects.
- ATAR and adjustments: for Australian Year 12 applicants the university-level page says an ATAR of 75 or above is needed; engineering requires 80. UWA equity pathways can adjust the ATAR (the result is called a Selection Rank): Broadway, First in Family (ATAR 70 or above), UWay or the Educational Access Scheme, and others. The page does not say which apply to engineering, so this is not published.
- Closing dates: for domestic and onshore applicants, 19 February 2027 for Semester 1 and 16 July 2027 for Semester 2; the page says dates may change without notice and some courses differ.
- Fees and support: Commonwealth-supported student contributions are charged by unit based on area of study and are indexed annually. The course page points to the fee calculator and does not give a 2027 amount. The scholarships page lists types such as academic achievement, financial need, educational disadvantage, leadership, artistic or sporting achievement, and rural or remote background; the pages we read do not name an engineering-specific domestic scholarship.
- Priority or guaranteed places for local residents: not stated for engineering on the pages we read.
5. International students
- How to apply: directly through UWA Apply or via a UWA international agent. Both direct and agent applications pay a non-refundable AUD 150 application fee, and the application is not processed until it is paid. International Year 12 students also use UWA Apply rather than TISC.
- Documents: academic results, English results, a passport copy and anything else your course requires; scans should be clear and in colour. No supplementary essay or reference requirement is listed for engineering, so this is not published.
- 2027 closing dates (“All other countries”, those not on the list below): 11 January 2027 for Semester 1 and 7 June 2027 for Semester 2. A separate country list (including India, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal, Vietnam and Nigeria, and not including China) has earlier dates: 28 December 2026 for Semester 1 and 24 May 2027 for Semester 2. The page says dates may change without notice and some courses differ.
- English: the Mechanical Engineering major page states IELTS overall 6.5 with no band below 6.0. UWA’s English page gives the same IELTS minimum, and PTE Academic overall 64 with no band below 60, valid for two years. Its “higher standard” requirements list law, education, dental and similar schools, not engineering. The page also lists qualifications and exemptions, which are not itemised here.
- Qualification recognition: the website lists recognised school qualifications by country and compares overseas results through an equivalent ATAR.
- Proof of funds: the international applicants page points to fees and cost of living but does not state a proof-of-funds amount; this is not published on the pages we read.
6. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: UWA says it welcomes applicants who have completed the Gaokao, converted to an ATAR. On a 750-point total (Shanghai: 660, calculated against each province’s maximum): 488–491 (65%) is about ATAR 70; 525–528 (70%) is about ATAR 80; 544–547 (72.5%) is about ATAR 85; 570–577 (76%) is about ATAR 90; 615–629 (82%) is about ATAR 94; 675–689 (90%) is about ATAR 98. Engineering requires ATAR 80, so about 525 or above on a 750 scale.
- How Gaokao subjects map to WA subjects: the table says Gaokao Mathematics at 65% or higher corresponds to Mathematics Specialist, Chemistry at 65% or higher to Chemistry, Physics at 65% or higher to Physics, and the science comprehensive subject at 65% or higher to Chemistry or Physics. But the table lists “No equivalent” for Mathematics Methods, and for English. Engineering’s mathematics prerequisite is Mathematics Methods, so the website does not say how Gaokao applicants satisfy it; the site does not address this, so ask UWA Admissions.
- High school certificate: the recognised Chinese school qualification is the Senior Secondary School Graduation Certificate. Provincial exam records, interviews and certifying bodies are not specifically described on the pages we read. UWA has a Chinese-language site, universityofwesternaustralia.cn, which we did not read.
- English: there is no Gaokao English equivalent in the table, so English is shown by a test such as IELTS or PTE.
- Pathways: the international pathways page lists the UWA Foundation Program (delivered by UWA College, designed for international students), the WA Universities Foundation Program (a guaranteed UWA place on reaching the required score), the NCUK International Foundation Year, other Group of Eight foundation programs, and a list of recognised international foundation courses that includes two Beijing Foreign Studies University programs and an East China University of Political Science and Law program.
7. Fees and scholarships
- International tuition: the 2027 international undergraduate fee list shows the Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (BH011) at AUD 56,200 for the annual fee for a 2027 start year, 48 points a year; the Engineering (Honours) and Science double degree is AUD 56,400, and combined degrees with Arts, Commerce, Modern Languages and Philosophy (Honours) are 53,600, 56,100, 53,600 and 58,200. Fees are indexed annually. The pages we read list no engineering surcharge; students also pay the Student Services and Amenities Fee.
- Global Excellence Scholarship: open to students from all countries; undergraduates (including combined degrees) are assessed automatically with no separate application, once final transcripts are in. An ATAR (or equivalent) of at least 85 earns 10% off tuition and at least 90 earns 20%, for the normal full-time duration of the course. It covers 2027 to 2029 intakes, even if you defer, cannot be held with another UWA tuition reduction or academic scholarship, and has continuation criteria.
- Conversion for Chinese applicants: by the website’s table, ATAR 85 is about 544–547 on the Gaokao and ATAR 90 about 570–577; the site notes that international and overseas qualifications achieved at a certain level make you eligible, other qualifications are considered individually, and UWA makes the assessment.
- The international scholarships page lists other awards such as the International Student Award; they are not covered here.
8. Work experience
- The course page says BE(Hons) includes a 450-hour work-integrated learning practical; the Handbook’s Professional Engineering Portfolio (GENG5010) says 450 hours (12 weeks) and requires 144 points completed with a WAM of at least 50.
- From first year there are week-long practical units, where the page says you develop skills in 3D printing, welding and soldering.
- Whether UWA arranges or guarantees placements is not stated on the pages we read.
9. Transfer and credit
- Applying on university results: for study in Australia, at least one full-time semester or equivalent at AQF level 7 or higher with a GPA of 4.0 (on a 7 scale) or above; for overseas study, the equivalent of one semester at AQF level 7 with a GPA comparable to an Australian 4.0, plus separate evidence of English. The calculus, physics and chemistry sequence required for engineering is not listed.
- Vocational study: an AQF level 5 qualification or above.
- Credit: UWA may grant credit for equivalent study. The international pathways page says UWA has pre-approved credit arrangements with polytechnics and other institutions in architecture, business, engineering, computer science and life and physical sciences. You can ask for credit in the application and for more after enrolling. Which courses count for which engineering core units is not published.
- Deferral: offers can be deferred for up to 12 months (course rules).
Checklist
Australian domestic students:
- ATAR 80 or above, with Mathematics Methods and one other science or higher-maths subject each at least 50 scaled
- School leavers apply through TISC; the 2027 Semester 1 domestic closing date is 19 February (the page says dates may change)
International students:
- Apply through UWA Apply or an agent and pay AUD 150; Semester 1 2027 closes 11 January for “All other countries”
- IELTS 6.5 (6.0 each band); prepare transcripts, English results and a passport
Applicants from China:
- About 525 or more on a 750 scale converts to ATAR 80; scale to your province’s maximum
- The table lists no equivalent for Mathematics Methods or English; ask Admissions how to meet the maths prerequisite and prepare an English test
- If you fall short, look at the UWA Foundation Program, WAUFP or recognised foundation courses
Transfer students:
- Internal: 24 or more points, WAM of at least 50, maths and science requirement met, apply in the transfer window
- External: apply on university results and request credit; the engineering course sequence is not published
Sources: The University of Western Australia, Engineering study area; Bachelor of Engineering (Honours); Combined Engineering (Honours) and Science; Mechanical Engineering major; Handbook: BH011 (2026 edition); International applicants; Undergraduate applicants; Entry standards; International and overseas qualifications; International Baccalaureate; English language requirements; International student pathways; International student fees; 2027 international undergraduate fee list; Global Excellence Scholarship. Information is for 2027 entry (the Handbook shown is the 2026 edition). Check UWA for the latest details.