How to Apply to Engineering at Curtin University: The Four-Year Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) Starts with a Shared Engineering Foundation Year and Roughly Ten Majors from Year Two, with Admissions and Prerequisites for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants
The Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) in the Curtin Faculty of Science and Engineering is a four-year degree whose first year is the shared Engineering Foundation Year, after which you choose a major such as chemical, civil and construction, electrical and electronic, mechanical, software systems or mining. Mining and mineral process students move to the Kalgoorlie campus for years three and four. Domestic applicants need a Guaranteed ATAR of 80 plus Mathematics Methods and one of Chemistry, Physics or Engineering Studies; international applicants need an equivalent of ATAR 80 and IELTS 6.0 in every band. International first-year tuition for 2027 is AUD 47,652, and Semester 1 2027 applications close on 28 January 2027. Based on Curtin’s official information, this guide covers accreditation, prerequisites, work experience, costs, scholarships and credit.
Curtin University’s main campus is in Perth, Western Australia. Undergraduate engineering is taught by the Faculty of Science and Engineering, and the degree is the four-year Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (course code BH-ENGR). Computer science has its own guide on this site, so here we only note that the Software Systems Engineering major belongs to this degree. Based on Curtin’s official information, here is what you need to know for 2027 entry, divided into domestic applicants, international applicants, Chinese applicants and transfer and credit.
1. Degree and majors
- Key facts: four years full time at the Perth (Bentley) campus, with Semester 1 and Semester 2 intakes (the course page gives no months, only a note about the “July intake”); the CRICOS code for international students is 072467B.
- The first year is the Engineering Foundation Year (EFY): all engineering students study together, learning the fundamental concepts and skills common to all areas of engineering, working on simulated projects in computing, electrical and mechanics laboratories and in a dedicated first-year studio. It lets you sample the range of engineering fields before choosing a major from the second year.
- Majors: the course page lists Chemical Engineering, Civil and Construction Engineering, Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Energy Engineering, Industrial and Systems Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Mechatronic Engineering, Mineral Process Engineering, Mining Engineering and Software Systems Engineering. The undergraduate engineering overview page lists one more (Environmental Engineering) and names the mineral processing major “Metallurgical Engineering”. The two lists do not fully match, so check the course page when you apply.
- Specialisations and minors: Curtin says you can pair a major with specialisations or a minor, each made up of four units (100 credits), for example Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning, Cybersecurity, Geotechnical Engineering, Structural Engineering or Robot Automation.
- Campuses: Curtin states that for Mining Engineering and Mineral Process Engineering, the first and second years are at Perth Bentley and the third and fourth years are at the Kalgoorlie campus (WA School of Mines); the Mineral Process major page instead says you may complete the second year at either Perth or Kalgoorlie, which differs from the course page.
- Accreditation: Curtin states that the Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) is accredited by Engineers Australia (EA) and recognised internationally under the Washington Accord. The course page says new majors may first receive provisional accreditation, and lists Energy Engineering, Industrial and Systems Engineering and Software Systems Engineering as recently established courses seeking provisional accreditation. The Energy Engineering page says it was provisionally accredited by EA in 2026, the Industrial and Systems Engineering page says it has provisional accreditation, and the Environmental Engineering page says it is seeking provisional accreditation. These statements are not consistent, so ask Curtin.
- Double degrees: Curtin says double degrees are available across business and law, health sciences, humanities, and science and engineering, and quotes a student in Commerce (Accounting) and Engineering (Chemical Engineering). The specific combinations are on a search page we did not read.
- Pathway to the master’s: not stated on the course page; ask Curtin.
2. How admission works: Foundation Year first, major second
- Curtin states that the first year is the Engineering Foundation Year for everyone and that you choose a major from the second year. Its application tips say that when applying for, say, the Bachelor of Engineering (Civil and Construction Engineering major), you should search for “Engineering” rather than “Civil”; whether you must name a major at the time of application is not stated, so ask Curtin.
- Curtin does not state a GPA threshold, quota or guarantee for entering each major. Mining and Mineral Process move to Kalgoorlie in years three and four; whether other majors have limits is not stated on the course page, so ask Curtin.
- For students starting in July, the course page warns that the course duration may exceed three years because of unit prerequisites (as worded, alongside the four-year duration), so confirm the actual length with Curtin.
3. Prerequisites
- International applicants: essential subjects are Mathematics including calculus, plus at least one of Physics, Chemistry or Engineering Studies; there are no desirable subjects.
- Domestic applicants (Western Australia, WACE): Mathematics Methods ATAR plus one of Chemistry ATAR, Physics ATAR or Engineering Studies ATAR; Mathematics Specialist ATAR is desirable.
- Curtin adds that the Mathematics Methods prerequisite can be met with MATH1014 Foundations of Calculus or a higher unit, and the chemistry and physics prerequisites with CHEM1003 or PHYS1006 (this wording appears under the course-switching criteria).
- Math placement tests and AP/IB credit for core engineering subjects are not described on the course pages.
4. Domestic applicants
- How to apply: Year 12 students and recent school leavers apply through TISC in Western Australia; those who finished school earlier, are transferring from another university or applying on work experience apply directly to Curtin.
- Guaranteed ATAR: 80 (Curtin says that if you achieve the guaranteed ATAR/selection rank and meet all other requirements, a place is guaranteed). The course page does not give the latest offer range, only a link to an ATAR/selection rank profile.
- Adjustment factors: Curtin says equity ATAR adjustment factors recognise circumstances such as where you live, the school you attended or your background, can raise your selection rank above your ATAR, and are applied automatically through TISC. The size of the adjustments is not stated on the course page.
- Other routes: the STAT is not accepted as an entry pathway to this course (it can show English proficiency). Current Curtin students can switch courses with an ATAR of 80, or by completing 200 credit points of the Indigenous Pre-Science and Engineering Enabling Course, or at least 100 credit points with at least 75 in the previous semester in the Bachelor of Multidisciplinary Science or other Curtin undergraduate courses, while meeting the maths and chemistry/physics prerequisites and being in good academic standing.
- Fees: Australian undergraduates are automatically awarded a Commonwealth supported place. The course page shows an indicative 2026 Commonwealth-supported first-year fee of AUD 8,400; a 2027 figure is not published there. HECS-HELP can defer payment.
5. International applicants
- Academic level: an accepted qualification equivalent to ATAR 80. Equivalent scores on the course page include A-Level or STPM best three subjects 8; HKDSE 18; IB Diploma 30; Canadian provincial high school diploma 70%; India CBSE/ISC 70% (India HSC 71%); WAUFP 59; Sri Lanka GCE A level 8.
- How to apply: through a registered Curtin agent, or directly online where your country’s requirements allow. You can list up to five preferences per application, and only your first preference is assessed unless you do not meet its requirements. To study on a student visa you must choose the study mode “Full-time – Internal”. Submit certified academic documents, with official translations by a recognised service if they are not in English.
- English: for this course, IELTS Academic overall 6.0 with no band below 6.0; or a scaled score of at least 50 in WACE ATAR English, English Literature or EALD. Curtin also accepts other tests such as PTE, TOEFL, Cambridge CAE and OET (stated on the application page); the equivalence tables are on the accepted English qualifications page. If you do not meet the English level, you can agree to be considered for a Curtin English pathway and receive a packaged offer.
- Application fee: not stated on the course or application pages; ask Curtin International Admissions.
- 2027 tuition (indicative, from the course page): AUD 47,652 for the first year (based on 200 credits) and AUD 190,608 for the full course. For 2026 the figures are AUD 43,320 and AUD 173,280. Fees are reviewed annually and may rise, and they exclude administrative fees and textbooks; Curtin has a separate page on Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC).
- International scholarships (for self-funded, non-sponsored international students studying at a Western Australian campus; the course page lists them for engineering):
- John Curtin Global Excellence Scholarship: 40% off tuition for up to four years; requires a Course-Weighted Average of 95% or equivalent in your most recent eligible course of study, as determined by Curtin;
- Global Merit Scholarship: 20% off tuition for up to four years; requires Distinction status with the required Course-Weighted Average;
- Global Future Leaders Scholarship: a one-off AUD 10,000 tuition credit; requires at least 1.5 years (300 credits) at the WA campus and Credit-level results;
- Completing a Curtin English pathway course earns a one-off credit of up to AUD 7,496 towards tuition;
- These are assessed automatically with your application, and eligible students receive a supplementary letter. The criteria refer to results in your “most recent eligible course of study”; how they apply to high school graduates is not stated, so ask Curtin.
6. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: Curtin’s list of recognised overseas qualifications (a PDF that applies to degrees requiring ATAR 70) says the Gaokao total in the required subjects must reach 67% of the maximum, that is 503/750, 402/600, 322/480, 543/810 or 603/900. Engineering requires ATAR 80, higher than the ATAR 70 that list covers. The engineering Gaokao score would be in the course page’s “select country” lookup, whose content is loaded by the page’s scripts and is not in the static page, so we did not read it. Curtin’s static pages do not publish an engineering Gaokao score; check the lookup on the course page or ask Curtin International Admissions.
- A-Levels and the IB: the engineering course page gives A-Level best three subjects 8 and an IB Diploma score of 30.
- Chinese transcripts, school-leaving exam materials, interviews, certification bodies: the pages we read do not describe them. Submit certified academic documents with translations by a recognised service.
- English: China does not appear in the English-speaking exemption lists we read, so you need an English test result or a Curtin English pathway.
- Pathways: Curtin’s site lists Curtin College among its entry pathways, and Curtin English can be packaged with a degree. We did not read Curtin College’s own website, so check the details there.
7. Work experience and internships
- Engagement with Professional Practice (EPP): Curtin states that graduates must complete at least 450 hours or equivalent of EPP, which can be met by appropriate work experience, co-curricular and curricular experiences. You must record them in a formal logbook and submit evidence-based reflective reports.
- Curtin also says that in your final year you could work on an industry research project with a partner, and the course emphasises industry advisory panels and guest lectures. A separate work-integrated learning page describes industry placement opportunities.
- Whether placements are paid or guaranteed is not stated on the course page.
8. Transfer and credit
- Credit for recognised learning (CRL, also called advanced standing, RPL or credit transfer): Curtin states you can receive credit for completed units at Curtin or another recognised university, TAFE/VET diplomas and advanced diplomas, professional certifications, and relevant work or life experience. You must first submit your course application; applicants with formal study are assessed for CRL with the application, while those with work or life experience submit a CRL application after receiving an offer. You can opt out of CRL when applying. For units in your upcoming study period, apply by Friday of week 1. Curtin provides a CRL search tool showing past decisions.
- Transferring from another university: the course page does not give an engineering-specific GPA or calculus/physics/chemistry sequence requirement for transfers. Submit transcripts and unit outlines for credit assessment; whether transfer applicants have separate prerequisites is not stated on the course page, so ask Curtin.
- Switching within Curtin: see the criteria in the domestic section above.
9. Timeline for 2027 entry
- International application deadlines (Curtin Perth, as shown on the course page): Semester 1 2027 28 January 2027; Semester 2 2027 1 July 2027. Curtin notes that deadlines vary by course and are affected by visa processing times.
- Domestic applicants apply through TISC, whose deadlines differ from Curtin’s; check TISC’s own website.
Checklist
Domestic applicants:
- Mathematics Methods ATAR plus Chemistry, Physics or Engineering Studies ATAR; Guaranteed ATAR 80
- Year 12 students apply through TISC
International applicants (including China):
- A qualification equivalent to ATAR 80 (A-Level best three 8, IB 30; ask Curtin for the Gaokao score), with calculus maths plus Physics, Chemistry or Engineering Studies
- IELTS 6.0 with no band below 6.0
- Apply by 28 January 2027 for Semester 1, or by 1 July 2027 for Semester 2
Transfer students:
- Submit transcripts and unit outlines for credit; confirm prerequisites with Curtin
Sources: Curtin University, Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) BH-ENGR; Undergraduate engineering; Engineering Foundation Year; Mining Engineering major; Double degrees; Overseas qualifications; Overseas qualifications recognised by Curtin (PDF); English language requirements; Accepted English qualifications; Applying as an international student; Credit for recognised learning; International scholarships; John Curtin Global Excellence Scholarship; Global Merit Scholarship; Global Future Leaders Scholarship. Information is for 2027 entry. Check Curtin for the latest details.