How to Apply to Engineering at SUTD: The EPD and ESD Bachelor of Engineering Degrees, a Common Three-Term Freshmore Year, Gaokao 650 Guideline, and Requirements for Singapore Citizens and PRs, International Students (Including Chinese Applicants) and Transfer Students
The Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD) offers engineering as the Bachelor of Engineering in Engineering Product Development (EPD) and Engineering Systems and Design (ESD), alongside Computer Science and Design (CSD). Applicants name one major of interest, everyone takes three common Freshmore terms, and major courses start in Term 4. SUTD generally prefers students strong in Mathematics and the Sciences (Physics or Chemistry), and Gaokao scores above 650 are preferred. 2027 dates are not yet published; for 2026 entry the window was 2 January to 2 March. For 2026 entry, international students pay SGD 31,600 a year with a Tuition Grant and SGD 62,076 without. This guide covers the degrees, entry routes, fees and a checklist, based on SUTD’s official pages.
The Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD) says it currently offers five undergraduate programmes, three of which lead to a Bachelor of Engineering: Engineering Product Development (EPD), Engineering Systems and Design (ESD) and Computer Science and Design (CSD). The other two, Architecture and Sustainable Design and Design and Artificial Intelligence, are Bachelor of Science degrees. We have a separate guide to CSD, so it is not covered here. SUTD lists each programme as 8 terms. This guide, based on SUTD’s official pages, covers Singapore citizens and permanent residents, international students (including applicants from China) and transfer students.
1. What the engineering degrees cover
- EPD: SUTD describes it as designing and building intelligent products that work in the real world, combining engineering, design and hands-on projects. Core courses include Circuits & Electronics, Structures & Materials, Computational and Data-Driven Engineering, Systems & Control and Engineering Design Innovation, plus one core elective (Fluid Mechanics, or Electromagnetics & Applications). The tracks listed are Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Healthcare Engineering Design, Mechanical Engineering, Robotics, a Self-Directed Programme and Beyond Industry 4.0.
- ESD: SUTD describes it as designing, analysing, managing and optimising large-scale complex systems. The ESD core is 84 credits (Terms 4 to 6, including Optimisation, Data and Business Analytics, Probability and Statistics, Manufacturing and Service Operations, The Analytics Edge, Heuristics and Systems Theory, and Simulation Modelling and Analysis), electives are 72 credits (at least 24 from ESD courses), HASS is 60 credits and the capstone is 24 credits. Four optional tracks, each made of three electives: Aviation Systems, Business Analytics and Operations Research, Financial Services, and Supply Chain & Logistics.
- Capstone: SUTD says ESD capstones are usually done by teams drawn from different pillars on real industry or research projects. EPD’s study plan also shows a capstone in Terms 7 and 8.
- Internships: the study plans show vacation / internship / exchange slots after Term 5 and vacation / internship / summer programme slots after Term 6. How long an internship lasts and whether it is compulsory is not stated on the curriculum pages; ask SUTD.
- Accreditation: SUTD states that the Engineering Accreditation Board of the Institution of Engineers, Singapore re-accredited EPD, ESD and CSD with full accreditation, the maximum five-year tenure, for 2022 to 2026, after full accreditation for 2017 to 2021. The ESD page says the Washington Accord graduate attributes are used. Accreditation beyond 2026 is not published.
2. How admission works: a common first year, then the major
- All students take the same three Freshmore terms in science, mathematics, technology, humanities, social sciences and design. From the 2026 cohort, AI is woven into all three terms. Major courses start in Term 4 (for EPD and ESD, the major core begins in Term 4).
- Name a major of interest: SUTD’s application guide says you indicate your interest in one of the majors. How students are allocated to a major after Freshmore, whether places or grades are capped, and the conditions for changing major are not stated on the curriculum or admissions pages; ask Admissions.
- Engineering needs the (E) maths: Terms 2 and 3 have an (E) version of maths with more emphasis on engineering and technology, and an (S) version for economics and social sciences. SUTD says the (E) version is required for the BEng degrees (CSD, EPD, ESD). It also advises BEng students to pick Term 3 electives from Physics Principles and Applications 2, Introduction to Healthcare Technology, Designing Sustainable Energy Solutions and Introduction to Discrete Mathematics; ESD recommends Discrete Mathematics and Physics Principles and Applications 2.
- Grade-free start: all Term 1 subjects are pass/no record, and up to four more subjects in Terms 2 and 3 can be grade-free.
- Prerequisites: the first year includes Calculus (Term 1), Linear Algebra & Multivariable Calculus (Term 2), Physics Principles and Applications 1 (Term 2), Probability and Statistics (Term 3) and Introduction to Programming. For admission SUTD only says students strong in Mathematics and the Sciences (Physics or Chemistry) are generally preferred; it does not list specific subjects or scores, and does not say whether AP/IB credit exempts first-year courses.
3. Application basics and selection
- At least 12 years of general education, or a Year 12 national or international exam in the application year. SUTD reviews applications holistically: academics (focus on Mathematics and the Sciences, plus performance over the 2 to 3 years before the final exam), qualities and traits (growth mindset, collaboration, curiosity, drive, resilience, risk-taking) and a portfolio (co-curricular activities, accomplishments, leadership, teacher recommendations, personal insight questions). Selected candidates also have a conversation with faculty or a leader.
- Documents: NRIC (citizens and PRs) or passport page (international students), academic results, contact details, personal insight questions, up to two referees, and evidence of leadership, research, internships, entrepreneurship, community service and achievements from the last four years. Recommendation letters are optional.
- Application fee: not stated on the pages we read; ask Admissions. The pages we read show no engineering-specific supplement or separate test requirement; every category uses the same application form (SAT and AP scores are described as optional for local diploma applicants).
- University Entrance Examination (UEE): some categories (for example predicted results, US High School Diploma, other international qualifications) require shortlisted applicants to sit it. In 2026 it was on 5 April at 3.30pm: one hour, closed book, 25 multiple-choice questions in Mathematics/Logic and 15 in Physics, based on the GCE A-Level syllabus. It is free, by invitation only, and a shortlisted candidate who is absent is deemed to have failed.
- Timeline: apply; shortlisted applicants are notified by end April for a conversation; outcome emails by mid-May; accept by the deadline in the offer letter; then matriculation. Only one application is accepted per admissions exercise.
- Dates: SUTD currently shows “Applications for 2026 are closed. See you in 2027.” and has not published 2027 dates. For 2026 entry, Singapore-Cambridge A-Level ran from the release of results to 19 March 2026, and all other qualifications from 2 January to 2 March 2026.
4. Singapore citizens and permanent residents
- Singapore-Cambridge A-Level: good passes in three H2 content-based subjects, General Paper and a pass in Project Work; Science and Arts students are both accepted. H2 Mathematics plus a H2 Science (Physics or Chemistry) is recommended. SUTD says Physics is not compulsory, H1 or O-Level Mathematics and Science results may also be considered, and you may be encouraged to take bridging modules. From AY2026 the University Admissions Score uses three H2 content subjects and General Paper, with H1 Mother Tongue or a fourth subject counted if it helps; H2 Knowledge & Inquiry no longer replaces GP. You can still apply if you did not pass GP.
- Indicative grade profile (2025 offers): almost all had H2 Mathematics, about half with A or B; most had H2 Physics or Chemistry, with more than a third scoring A or B; almost all had A or B in O-Level Mathematics and Sciences. SUTD says this is a guide only.
- Local diplomas (Nanyang, Ngee Ann, Republic, Singapore and Temasek Polytechnics, BCA Academy, LASALLE, NAFA and ITE Work-Study Diplomas): Engineering, Computing, IT, AI, Architecture and Science diplomas are most relevant. There is no minimum CGPA; relevant subjects such as Engineering Mathematics and advanced modules count, as do O-Level Additional Mathematics and Physics or Chemistry. Final-semester applicants may apply with five semesters and upload the final transcript within three days; neither group has an advantage.
- Other local qualifications: the IB Diploma (Singapore) and NUS High School Diploma have their own pages, which this guide does not go through; see the Admission requirements page.
- Mother Tongue: citizens and PRs must meet the MTL requirement; you can apply without meeting it and fulfil it during your studies, and those who have been away from the Singapore system may apply for exemption through the university.
- Fees (2026 entry, per year, including GST): citizens SGD 13,500; permanent residents SGD 19,350. Citizens automatically receive a Tier A Tuition Grant with no bond; PRs may apply for Tier B, with three years of work in a Singapore entity after graduation. Needs-based bursaries, the SUTD Education Opportunity Grant and study loans are described on the Financial aid page.
- National Service: men enlisting between May and October may be able to matriculate two years later, subject to MINDEF approval, and pay the fees prevailing when they accepted the offer.
5. International students
- Qualifications accepted: A-Levels from the UK, Sri Lanka, Hong Kong and Brunei; Australian qualifications; India Standard 12; Indonesian, Malaysian (UEC, STPM), Myanmar, Philippine, Thai and Vietnamese qualifications; the IB Diploma; the US High School Diploma; the Chinese Gaokao; and Other International Qualifications.
- International A-Level: good passes in at least three A-Levels in the same sitting, from the same or different boards; subjects finished in different periods are not accepted. Applicants with predicted or AS results who are shortlisted sit the UEE and submit actual results within 3 days of release. O-Level or IGCSE transcripts are required.
- IB Diploma: authorise the IBO to release your transcript; May candidates with predicted results may be invited to the UEE for early admission consideration, and must submit actual results within 3 days of the July release.
- US High School Diploma: Grade 10 and 11 results and Grade 12 (or Semester 1) results; shortlisted applicants sit the UEE.
- Other International Qualifications: apply with high school results or national exam results; shortlisted applicants using latest-semester, predicted or preliminary results sit the UEE.
- English: an IELTS, TOEFL (internet-based), SAT, PTE Academic, ACT or C1 Advanced score is compulsory where English is not the medium of instruction, taken within the two years before applying; the examples listed include Indonesian, Myanmar, Gaokao, UEC, STPM and Vietnamese qualifications. SUTD says there is no prescribed minimum.
- Documents: uploaded as PDF; anything not in English needs a certified English translation. Credential-verification bodies are not named on the pages we read; ask Admissions.
- Fees (2026 entry, per year, including GST): ASEAN international students with a Tuition Grant SGD 30,200; all other international students with a Tuition Grant SGD 31,600; without a Tuition Grant SGD 62,076. The compulsory miscellaneous fee for international students is SGD 232 per term. 2027 fees are not published.
- Tuition Grant: international students can only apply for Tier C; places are limited and merit-based; recipients must work for a Singapore entity for three years after graduation. You apply in the admission form and accept it with your offer; recipients register on the MOE website in early September and need two guarantors. Without a Tuition Grant you pay the non-subsidised fee.
- SUTD Trailblazers (International) Scholarship: open to PRs and international students; covers tuition after the Tuition Grant for up to four years with no bond, but you must take up the Tuition Grant; good academic standing and at least 20 hours of service are required. You apply with your admission application and selection is competitive. The pages we read do not say whether engineering has a separate scholarship or whether any award is automatic; see SUTD’s scholarships page.
6. Applicants from China (Gaokao)
- Is the Gaokao used? Yes, there is a dedicated PRC Gao Kao category. SUTD says scores above 650 are preferred, and scores around 600 and above are also welcome to apply. It does not say what maximum score or which province’s scale this refers to.
- Shortlisted applicants with more than 650 do not need to sit the UEE. Those applying with Senior Middle 3 Semester 1 results must sit the UEE if shortlisted, and submit actual Gaokao results within 3 days of release.
- Senior Middle 3 students not sitting the Gaokao apply under Other International Qualifications.
- Documents: passport page; Grade 10 or junior high equivalent results; Gaokao or Senior Middle 3 Semester 1 results; an English test score; optional recommendation letters; evidence of leadership, research, internships and achievements. Documents must be in English or have certified translations.
- English: one of the accepted English tests is compulsory, with no prescribed minimum. SUTD does not say whether the Gaokao English score can substitute.
- Interview, credential-verification bodies and Huikao records: SUTD only says shortlisted applicants have a conversation; it has no separate statement for Chinese applicants on the other points.
- 2027 dates are not published; the Gaokao category ran from 2 January to 2 March 2026 for 2026 entry.
7. Transfer students
- There is no separate transfer page. Every category asks current or former university students to submit university transcripts, and the application guide asks you to declare enrolment at another university, so transfer applicants use the same form with their high school qualification plus transcripts.
- Credit-transfer rules and conditions for moving into an engineering major are not stated on the pages we read; ask Admissions.
- The Tuition Grant page says that if you have already received a Tuition Grant at a local institution, the terms you can receive for the new course equal the normal course duration minus the terms already received.
Checklist
Singapore citizens and PRs:
- A-Level: three H2s, General Paper and a Project Work pass, with H2 Mathematics plus Physics or Chemistry recommended; diploma applicants should show Engineering Mathematics and related modules
- Name your major of interest (EPD, ESD and so on) and prepare the personal insight questions and achievements
- Watch for the 2027 window (2026: A-Level from results release to 19 March; diploma from 2 January to 2 March)
International students:
- Choose the category for your qualification; submit an English score if English is not the medium; add certified translations
- Prepare for the UEE (A-Level Mathematics and Physics) and the conversation
- Apply for the Tuition Grant (three-year work commitment) and the Trailblazers Scholarship in the same form
Applicants from China:
- Apply in the Gao Kao category; above 650 preferred, around 600 welcome; prepare for the UEE if using Semester 1 results
- Submit one accepted English test score
Transfer students:
- Apply with your high school qualification plus university transcripts; ask about credit transfer
Sources: Singapore University of Technology and Design, Majors; EPD curriculum; EPD educational objectives; EPD tracks; ESD curriculum; ESD tracks; ESD accreditation; University accreditation; Freshmore curriculum; Admissions overview; Application guide; International qualifications; PRC Gaokao criteria; PRC Gaokao timeline; Singapore-Cambridge A-Level criteria; Singapore-Cambridge A-Level timeline; A-Level indicative grade profile; Local Diploma criteria; Local Diploma timeline; International A-Level criteria; IB Diploma criteria; US High School Diploma criteria; Other international qualifications; University Entrance Examination; Tuition fees; Tuition Grant; Financial aid; SUTD Trailblazers (International) Scholarship. SUTD currently says that 2026 applications are closed and to see applicants in 2027. 2027 dates and fees have not been announced; dates and fees shown are for 2026 entry. Check SUTD for the latest details.