Home / Admissions / US Applications / How to Apply to Life Sciences and Medicine at William & Mary: No Major Chosen at Entry and Declaration by the End of Sophomore Year, Biology, Neuroscience, Health Sciences and Public Health in Arts & Sciences, No Undergraduate Nursing, and What U.S., International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants Need

How to Apply to Life Sciences and Medicine at William & Mary: No Major Chosen at Entry and Declaration by the End of Sophomore Year, Biology, Neuroscience, Health Sciences and Public Health in Arts & Sciences, No Undergraduate Nursing, and What U.S., International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants Need

2026-10-25 · Application guides

William & Mary’s life-science and health majors are in the College of Arts & Sciences: a BS in Biology, a BS in Neuroscience, a BS in Human Health & Physiology and Public Health (BS or BA). You do not choose a major when you apply; the site says you declare by the end of the second year. There is no undergraduate nursing degree on the pages we read. ED I is 1 November, ED II and Regular Decision 5 January, and testing is optional. The 2026-27 estimated cost is $48,638 for Virginia residents and $75,652 for out-of-state students; the site says it generally has no scholarships or loan funds for undergraduate international students. This guide covers U.S., international (including Chinese) and transfer applicants.

William & Mary (W&M) is a public university in Williamsburg, Virginia. Its life-science and health majors are mainly in the College of Arts & Sciences. The United States has no pre-med undergraduate major, and W&M’s Pre-Med Advising Program says premedical students may choose any major. Below are the key points for fall 2027 entry, split into U.S. applicants, international applicants and applicants from China, then transfers.

1. Which related majors exist

  • Biology: the Department of Biology offers a BS in Biology. The department says courses and research span molecular genetics to global biodiversity, with an emphasis on hands-on research, independent projects and internships. The Biology major is 37 credits (the footnote on the pre-med path page). There are also an honors program and a biology minor.
  • Neuroscience: the Neuroscience Program offers a BS in Neuroscience, an interdisciplinary study of the nervous system; students are expected to perform at a high level in biology, chemistry, mathematics and psychological sciences.
  • Health Sciences: the department lists two programs: a BS in Human Health & Physiology, focused on anatomy, physiology, exercise physiology, biomechanics and health assessment, for careers in healthcare and research or graduate study in fields such as physical therapy, occupational therapy and nursing; and Public Health, available as a BS (scientific and quantitative: epidemiology, data analysis, environmental health) or a BA (community and social perspectives). There is also a Public Health minor with six tracks, from fundamentals to global health and health equity.
  • Biochemistry: on the pages we read, biochemistry appears as a minor (at least 18 credits: 12 core and 6 elective); whether a biochemistry major exists is not stated on the pages we read.
  • Nursing: the W&M undergraduate pages we read list no undergraduate nursing degree; the health sciences page names nursing only as a field graduates go into. If you want an undergraduate BSN, the pages we read offer no matching option, so ask admissions directly.
  • Biomedical engineering: we did not read a W&M undergraduate page on it; not stated on the pages we read.
  • Whether any of these are designated STEM: the pages say only that 45% of students major in STEM, with no per-major designation.

2. How admission works: no major at entry, declare by the end of sophomore year

  • Applying: apply through the Common App. The page for international applicants says that, unlike many foreign universities, W&M students do not pick a major until the end of their second year, and the interest area you mark on the form is not a factor in admission. The undergraduate programs page says you begin without a declared major and “by your third year” choose one; the two statements differ slightly (end of second year vs third year), so check the latest.
  • Declaring Biology: review the curriculum and the Biology Major Worksheet; any biology faculty member can advise; sign up on the biology sheet and email your chosen advisor to meet; before the meeting, fill in the major/minor declaration forms from the Registrar’s website with a tentative course list. The department says students who declared in spring 2025 or earlier may graduate under the old or new requirements; new students follow the current course catalog.
  • Declaring Neuroscience: the program says students usually declare in the second semester of sophomore year or after completing 39 credits, ideally before registering for junior-year classes; contact a neuroscience advisor or the coordinator.
  • Entry conditions (GPA, grades in required courses, quotas): not stated on the biology or neuroscience pages we read; ask the departments.
  • Switching in from another major: no separate rules on the pages we read.
  • Honors: biology has an honors program (BIOL 495/496); we did not expand on its criteria.

3. The pre-med route

  • Pre-Med Advising Program: the site says premedical students may choose any major, but medicine is science-based, and if you major outside the sciences you should take extra upper-division science, especially life sciences. To get a pre-med advisor, complete the pre-health interest form, join the Blackboard course and pass the introductory module assessment; a pre-health newsletter goes out every Monday.
  • Figures the site gives: 65%–85% of W&M students who apply to medical school with at least a B+ average typically gain admission to MD programs; over the past two years there were 187 matriculations at 30 medical schools, 100 of them at Virginia medical schools.
  • Early assurance programs: students can apply in the middle of the sophomore year to Eastern Virginia Medical School (EVMS) and the VCU School of Medicine, which the site calls highly competitive. Whether international students are eligible is not stated on the pages we read.
  • MCAT-related courses: biology, 2 courses with labs (BIOL 203/203L, 204/204L); chemistry, 5 courses with labs (CHEM 103/103L, CHEM 208/254, CHEM 206/206L, CHEM 209/253 or 207/253, CHEM 314 or BIOL 314); physics, 2 courses with labs (PHYS 101/102 or 107/108; chemistry and physics majors must use 101/102); psychology 1 (PSYC 202); sociology 1; math 1 (statistics optional); English 2 (COLL 150 counts as one). The advisors suggest finishing these by the end of junior year if you go straight to medical school, and taking the MCAT no later than June after junior year.
  • Medical-school prerequisites: many schools require two semesters each of introductory biology, general chemistry, organic chemistry and general physics (with labs) and one of biochemistry, plus English and math; the page warns that many schools do not accept grades below C and that prerequisites must be taken for a grade (no pass/fail or audit); for Virginia medical schools add BIOL 310, a semester of statistics and at least one of calculus.
  • Biology’s biomedical path: the recommended core is 22 credits (BIOL 203/203L and 204/204L at four credits each, BIOL 302 or 306, BIOL 310, BIOL 312 or 410, a 400-level lab and the BIOL 460 advanced seminar) plus 15 credits of biomedical electives such as biochemistry (BIOL 314), neurobiology (BIOL 345), genetic analysis, developmental biology, molecular genetics, immunology, animal physiology and virology; math is MATH 131 (Calculus I for the Life Sciences) or MATH 111 plus biostatistics (BIOL 327), and chemistry is CHEM 103/103L and 206/206L.
  • Whether pre-med advising has separate notes for international students, and the limits on international applicants to U.S. medical schools: not stated on the pages we read. This guide does not cover medical-school applications.
  • Combined BS/MD: the pages we read show no W&M-run direct-entry program; the early assurance programs above are with other schools, and the pages say no more.

4. High-school preparation and the first two years

  • The admission pages we read do not list required high-school math, biology, chemistry or physics. The college prep timeline advises the most challenging course load (advanced or honors) from 9th grade and college-preparatory classes such as AP, IB or dual enrollment in 11th grade.
  • First two years (biology): BIOL 203/203L (molecules, cells and development) and 204/204L (organisms, ecology and evolution), then BIOL 302/306, 310, 312/410 and so on; math and chemistry are MATH 131 or 111 and CHEM 103/103L and 206/206L. Full requirements are in the course catalog, which we did not open.
  • AP / IB biology: the biology department awards 8 credits for a score of 5 or higher on AP Biology or IB Biology, equivalent to BIOL 203/203L and 204/204L (lecture and lab); students who started before fall 2022 may ask to convert earlier credit to the current policy. The testing page says more generally that a 4 or 5 on an AP exam or a 5, 6 or 7 on a Higher Level IB exam typically earns credit or exemption, with the registrar as the contact; the two statements differ, so confirm with the biology department and the registrar. Credit for AP chemistry, calculus and physics is not itemized on the pages we read (the university has a separate pre-matriculation test table we did not read).
  • Whether math and chemistry placement is tiered: not stated on the pages we read.
  • Neuroscience: the site asks for strong performance in biology, chemistry, math and psychological sciences; we did not read the course sequence.

5. Rounds and materials (fall 2027 entry)

  • Common App opens: 1 August.
  • Early Decision I (binding): 1 November; decisions posted in early December; deposit by 5 January; financial aid priority 15 November, latest 12 December for FAFSA and CSS Profile.
  • Early Decision II (binding): 5 January; decision early February; deposit by 15 February; aid priority 15 January, latest 1 March.
  • Regular Decision: 5 January; decision by 1 April; deposit 1 May; aid priority 1 February, latest 1 March.
  • Materials: Common App, school-uploaded high-school transcript, essay, recommendations and optional items. The site strongly encourages submitting up to two of the Common App’s optional essays. All high-school applicants (including admitted or deferred ED students) must submit mid-year grades, generally in time if they arrive by early to mid-February. The fee is $75, with waivers. Every application is read at least twice, including by your regional counselor.
  • Testing: SAT/ACT is optional; 40% of the Class of 2029 applied test-optional; multiple sittings are superscored; if both SAT and ACT are submitted the more favorable result is used; school codes SAT 5115, ACT 4344. All applicants are considered for merit programs whether or not they submit scores.
  • Interview: no routine interview is described on the pages we read; non-native English speakers may add an optional third-party InitialView or Vericant interview.

6. U.S. applicants

  • Costs (2026-27): in-state (Virginia residents) tuition $19,734, fees $7,501, housing $10,512, food $7,134, direct costs $44,881; with books and supplies $900, transportation $785 ($1,035 off campus), personal $2,000 and loan fees $72, the estimate is about $48,638. Out-of-state: tuition $46,177, fees $8,072, direct costs $71,895, about $75,652. The site says exact costs vary by status, housing and food choices and course of study, and some courses may carry fees. No surcharge for biology, neuroscience or health sciences is stated on the pages we read.
  • Aid: in 2024-25, 77% of first-year in-state students and 60% of out-of-state students received some aid; all in-state, Pell-eligible students automatically receive scholarship assistance covering at least tuition and fees. Apply with the FAFSA and the CSS Profile.
  • In-state preference: the pages we read do not say whether Virginia residents get an admission preference; the transfer checklist notes that Virginia residents seeking in-state tuition must complete the in-state tuition questions on the Common App.
  • Research: the overview says 85% of undergraduates take part in faculty-mentored research; the biology pages have undergraduate research, internship and honors pages whose details we did not itemize.

7. International applicants

  • Entry term and form: international first-year students are accepted for fall only. Apply on the Common App following the special instructions, and submit the Secondary School Report with official records of courses and grades from all secondary schools and universities attended, including ninth grade through the complete senior year, sent directly by your school. Non-English records need official literal (not interpretive) translations; a translation service may be used, and W&M mentions its International Education Evaluation service as a resource.
  • Recommendation: optional; one teacher evaluation and letter, no more than two.
  • English: TOEFL, Duolingo or IELTS are strongly recommended for non-native speakers. No minimum score is stated on the pages we read; the TOEFL code is 5115.
  • Essay: the site stresses that the personal statement must be your own work so the committee can judge your English.
  • Funding: the site says W&M generally has no scholarships or loan funds for undergraduate international students, so you must be prepared to finance your education fully; the estimated total cost is on the tuition page. Which column (in-state or out-of-state) applies to international students is not stated on the pages we read; ask admissions. Whether proof of funds must be submitted with the application: not stated on the pages we read.
  • International students and nursing / clinical placements: W&M has no undergraduate nursing degree; whether international students face limits in clinical or placement-type programs is not stated on the pages we read.
  • Transfer credit: students who completed a 13-year secondary program or studied at a university outside the U.S. must submit translated syllabi for each thirteenth-year or university course with the application; after admission and intent to enroll they may have to send credentials to World Education Services by 1 June (fall) or 15 January (spring). External evaluations are accepted but do not guarantee credit.
  • The Office of International Students, Scholars & Programs supports visas and orientation; the university has more than 890 international students, scholars and family members from over 65 countries.

8. Applicants from China

  • Gaokao: the pages we read do not mention China or the Gaokao and do not explain how scores are used; not stated, so email admissions.
  • Transcripts and school-leaving exam materials: follow the Secondary School Report rules above: records sent directly by the school, covering all years from ninth grade, with official literal translations for non-English documents. Whether the Huikao is needed: not stated on the pages we read.
  • 13-year programs: the transfer-credit rule refers to 13-year secondary programs; whether it applies to Chinese students is not stated on the pages we read, so do not assume.
  • English: TOEFL, Duolingo or IELTS strongly recommended; no minimum and no China-specific guidance on the pages we read.
  • Scholarships for international students: the site says generally none.

9. Costs, scholarships and placements

  • Costs are above: about $48,638 in-state and $75,652 out-of-state for 2026-27.
  • Labs and research: the overview says 85% of undergraduates join faculty-mentored research and 20% publish before graduating; for the biology internship and research pages we read only the headings. The pre-med page lists local volunteer sites such as hospitals, Eastern State Hospital and Olde Towne Medical Center.
  • Whether international students can take part: not stated on the pages we read.

10. Transfer

  • Scale: the site says W&M usually receives about 900 transfer applications for fall and 250 for spring, and enrolls about 200 in fall (the transfer FAQ says about 175) and about 70 in spring (the FAQ says about 75), not counting Spring Pathway students; it accepts about 50% of regular transfer applicants. The figures differ slightly between pages.
  • Deadlines: the Common App for transfer, 1 March for fall (opens 1 December) and 1 October for spring; Virginia Community College System (VCCS) and Richard Bland College students have guaranteed admission agreements.
  • GPA: there is no absolute requirement, but applicants with a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher and at least a year of college work tend to be most competitive; the committee reads each institution’s GPA, dates of attendance and grade trends, and counts both grades for repeated courses.
  • Chemistry/biology/calculus sequence to transfer into these majors: only general advice is given: competitive applicants typically have completed mathematics (quantitative reasoning, statistics or calculus) and natural sciences with labs such as biology, chemistry, geology or physics, plus social sciences, writing and other areas; the sample semesters include Calculus I and General Biology with lab. The specific sequence for Biology or Neuroscience is not stated on the pages we read.
  • Materials: the Common App for transfer, all college transcripts, a mid-term report for current students, a high-school transcript if you have fewer than 24 college credits (received by 28 March for fall or 28 October for spring), the $75 fee; a professor’s letter is optional. TOEFL, Duolingo or IELTS are strongly recommended for international and non-native speakers; international transfer students also complete special international forms.
  • Credit: the registrar evaluates credit only after admission; there is no limit on courses transferred, but at least 60 semester credits, including at least 15 in the major, must be earned at W&M. All transfer students are admitted undeclared and declare after enrolling and reaching junior status.
  • Aid: transfer students can receive need-based aid; the site says W&M generally meets up to 100% of demonstrated need for Virginia residents and up to $20,000 for out-of-state students, and transfer students are not eligible for merit scholarships. Aid for international transfer students is not stated on the transfer pages we read; the international page says generally no scholarships or loans for international undergraduates.
  • All fall and spring courses are offered in person only.

Checklist

U.S. applicants:

  • Apply through the Common App without choosing a major; ED I 1 November, ED II and RD 5 January; testing optional; send mid-year grades
  • Pre-med: any major works; follow the pre-med advisors’ course list in biology, chemistry and physics; AP or IB biology of 5 or higher can earn 8 credits

International applicants (including China):

  • Secondary School Report with official literal translations; TOEFL, Duolingo or IELTS strongly recommended; the site says there are generally no scholarships or loans for international undergraduates, so plan to fund the full cost
  • The pages we read do not say how the Gaokao is used or whether the Huikao is needed; ask admissions

Transfer students:

  • Fall 1 March, spring 1 October; a GPA of 3.5 or higher is most competitive; credit is evaluated only after admission and you enter undeclared

Sources: William & Mary, Undergraduate programs; Academics overview; Major in Biology; Biology pre-med path; Biology AP and IB; Neuroscience; Neuroscience: majoring; Health Sciences; Human Health and Physiology; Public Health; Pre-Med Advising Program; How to apply; Dates and deadlines; First-year checklist; High school transcript; Standardized testing; College prep timeline; International applicants; International application checklist; International expenses and aid; International transfer credit; 2026-27 tuition and fees; Transfer applicants; Transfer checklist; Recommended transfer courses; Transfer FAQs. Most pages print no year; dates in this guide are read as the cycle for fall 2027 entry, so check the year on the official pages. Costs are 2026-27 figures.

Related articles