How to Apply to Life Sciences and Pre-Health Study at the University at Buffalo: Biological Sciences in Arts and Sciences, Biomedical Sciences and Neuroscience in the Medical School, Separate Nursing and Public Health Schools, and Nursing Applied for After Two Years of Prerequisites, With Admission Routes and Prerequisites for U.S., International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Students
Life-science and health majors at UB sit in several schools: Biological Sciences (BA/BS) in the College of Arts and Sciences; Biomedical Sciences, Neuroscience, Biochemistry and others in the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences; Nursing and Public Health in their own schools. You name an intended major on the UB application. Traditional BS in Nursing is a two-year prerequisite phase plus two years of nursing courses, applied for separately by 15 January, with an overall GPA of 3.3 required. UB is test-optional, and out-of-state tuition is $29,070.
The University at Buffalo (UB), part of the SUNY system, is in Buffalo, New York. Its life-science and health undergraduate majors are spread across several schools: Biological Sciences (BA/BS) in the College of Arts and Sciences; Biomedical Sciences, Neuroscience, Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Medical Laboratory Science, Nuclear Medicine Technology and Pharmacology and Toxicology in the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences; Nursing in the School of Nursing; and Public Health, Exercise Science and Nutrition Science in the School of Public Health and Health Professions. This guide follows UB’s website for fall 2027 entry, with separate sections for U.S. applicants, international applicants and applicants from China. Many UB date pages print no year, so check that each date applies to fall 2027. This guide did not read UB’s online course catalog (catalogs.buffalo.edu), so course sequences are covered only where other pages list them.
1. Relevant undergraduate majors
- Biological Sciences (College of Arts and Sciences): offered as a BA and a BS. The department says the BA is flexible and suits double majors, minors or study abroad; the BS has more credits and deeper study, either broad-based or focused on cell and molecular biology, ecology and evolutionary biology, neurobiology or a health-focused pathway. Combined options include a BA/MS (five years instead of six), a BA with an EdM in Biology Adolescence Education, and a seven-year BS/PharmD; the bioinformatics and computational biology BS has a biological sciences concentration. The department has an honors program that students apply to in the junior year.
- Biomedical Sciences (BS): in the Jacobs School. UB says courses are drawn from across the university, the core courses are also common prerequisites for medical school and similar programs, and electives include forensic science, developmental psychology and health issues in underserved communities. There is also a BS/PharmD.
- Neuroscience (BS, with a BS/MS): also in the Jacobs School.
- The Jacobs undergraduate page also lists Biochemistry, Bioinformatics and Computational Biology (Biomedical Informatics), Biotechnology, Medical Laboratory Science, Nuclear Medicine Technology, and Pharmacology and Toxicology.
- Nursing: the School of Nursing offers a Traditional BS, an Accelerated BS (for people who already hold a bachelor’s degree) and an RN to BS.
- Public Health (BS): in the School of Public Health and Health Professions, with BS/MPH, BS/Epidemiology MS and BS/Community Health and Health Behavior MS options. The same school’s undergraduate page also lists Exercise Science BS and Nutrition Science BS.
- Pharmacy: UB says accepted first-year pharmacy students are admitted directly to the PharmD Early Assurance Program “2+4=6” option. To keep the seat they must earn minimum grades and GPA each semester, pass an interview and meet the program’s requirements; UB says there are “no additional high school GPA or SAT/ACT requirements”.
- Biomedical engineering and other engineering majors are in the School of Engineering and are not covered here. UB’s program list also includes occupational therapy, pharmaceutical sciences, speech and hearing science and others, which this guide does not go into.
- Whether these majors are STEM-designated: not stated on the pages we read. Ask the admissions office.
2. Admission: name an intended major on the application; the bar to enter a major varies
- How to apply: UB says to indicate your intended major on the application form; on the Common Application you are encouraged to pick a second-choice major. UB says the admission review process is the same for most majors, including exploratory students; nursing and some others have their own rules (below).
- Biological Sciences: the department says high school seniors and transfers first apply to UB and select Biological Sciences as the intended major (or minor); students already at UB use the College of Arts and Sciences major/minor change request form. The department page gives no GPA bar for switching in. Contact the department (Director of Undergraduate Studies Ryan D. Wynne, ryanwynn@buffalo.edu).
- Jacobs School undergraduate majors: the Jacobs page says that when you apply to UB and choose one of its programs as your major, your information goes automatically to the Jacobs undergraduate admissions office; “all programs are competitive; application does not guarantee acceptance”. It lists these conditions:
- Biomedical Sciences: minimum UB GPA 2.8 and major GPA 3.0;
- Neuroscience: minimum 2.5 university GPA and 2.5 in major courses;
- Biochemistry: 25 students per year, minimum major GPA 3.0;
- Pharmacology and Toxicology: about 40 per year, minimum GPA 2.5;
- Biotechnology: 16 to 20 per year, minimum 2.0 overall and 2.5 in prerequisite courses;
- Medical Laboratory Science: 20 to 25 per year, deadline 8 January, notification mid-January, minimum GPA 2.0;
- Nuclear Medicine Technology: 12 per year, deadline 8 January, notification mid-January, minimum 2.0 overall and 2.5 in prerequisite science and mathematics, department interview in early March;
- Bioinformatics and Computational Biology (Biomedical Informatics): minimum 2.0 overall and 3.0 prerequisite major GPA.
- Nursing: the Traditional BS in Nursing is an upper-division program: two years of prerequisites plus two years of nursing courses. UB says high school students first apply to UB as an intended nursing major and typically apply to the nursing program in the spring of the sophomore year; “admission to UB as an intended nursing major does not guarantee admission as an approved major to the School of Nursing”. The school also encourages intended majors to develop alternate plans, such as other UB majors or nursing programs at other institutions.
- Guaranteed nursing routes: Honors College nursing students admitted as freshmen to both the Honors College and nursing are guaranteed admission to the upper division if they stay in good standing with the Honors College, meet the School of Nursing minimums and hold a UB cumulative GPA of 3.5 when applying; Daniel Acker Scholars also have a guaranteed route, subject to prerequisite, overall and prerequisite GPA requirements and the nursing supplemental application by 15 January.
- Pharmacy: see above, direct entry to the PharmD Early Assurance option.
- Public Health, Exercise Science, Nutrition Science: the school’s undergraduate pages we read give no GPA bar or seat limit; not published there. The school’s undergraduate advising office is at sphhp-oasa@buffalo.edu, 716-829-5000.
- For most majors, the pages we read do not say whether you choose BA or BS on the application; ask the department.
3. Pre-med: what the pre-health office says
- UB’s Prehealth office says applying to medical school usually requires five things: a bachelor’s degree in any major, excellent grades, an MCAT score, letters of recommendation, and sustained health-related shadowing, volunteering and research. Its page states that recently admitted students had overall and science GPAs of 3.7 for allopathic (MD) schools and 3.5 to 3.6 for osteopathic (DO) schools, and average MCAT scores of about 510 and 505.
- Recommended courses: chemistry 8 to 10 credits (CHE 101-102 with labs 113-114, or 105-106, or 107-108 with labs 127-128); organic chemistry 10 credits; biology 9 credits (BIO 200 and 201 with lab 211); physics 10 credits; English/writing 6 credits; strongly recommended biochemistry, human physiology, psychology, medical sociology and statistics; calculus recommended. Courses must be taken for a grade, and online prerequisites are “strongly discouraged” because many professional schools will not accept them. Each school has its own AP policy; AP credit should usually be followed by upper-level work in the discipline, except in math.
- Early assurance: Prehealth says UB undergraduates can seek nomination for the Jacobs School’s Early Opportunity Program in Medicine (EOPIM): application in the sophomore year, overall and science GPA of 3.500 at the time of application, nomination by UB required; it is designed to expand the pool of economically and educationally disadvantaged students, with a preference for candidates committed to improving health disparities in underserved communities. The page states that “UB’s medical school does not accept international applicants”.
- Prehealth advises students who are pre-dental, pre-medical, pre-optometry, pre-PA, pre-podiatry, pre-vet and post-bac; other offices advise on public health, pharmacy, nursing and exercise science.
- The UB pages we read do not describe a BS/MD direct-entry program. They do describe the PharmD 2+4=6 option and BS/PharmD pathways from biological sciences and biomedical sciences.
4. High school preparation
- UB’s general suggestions (“not required for admission, but suggested as adequate preparation”): four years of English with a substantial writing component, four years of social studies, three years of college-preparatory science, three years of a second language, and at least three years of college-preparatory mathematics. Students who have not completed such a program may still qualify but may need extra courses after entering.
- Nursing: the nursing pages we read give no separate high school course requirement. The 11 prerequisites are taken in college (below).
- Credit: UB says AP scores of 3 or higher earn elective credit, sometimes counting toward the major or UB Curriculum; an IB diploma with a score of 30 earns up to 30 credits, and with 29 or below, or without the diploma, Higher Level exams with 5 or higher are guaranteed credit; GCE A and AS exams with E or better earn elective credit. Which exam credit replaces required biology or chemistry courses is not stated on the pages we read; UB points to its credit lookup tools.
- The 11 prerequisites for the Traditional BS in Nursing (C+ / 2.33 or higher, completed or in progress in the spring of the application year): Introduction to Psychology, Introduction to Sociology, Human Growth and Development, Human Nutrition, Human Anatomy (with lab), Human Physiology, Applied Physiology, Microbiology (with lab), Pharmacology, Chemistry and Statistics. Students who already hold a bachelor’s degree are excused from psychology and sociology. Recommended UB equivalents include PSY 101, SOC 101 or 211, NSG 250, NTR 108, PAS 301 or 313, PGY 300, PGY 412, MIC 301, PMY 302, CHE 121 (or CHE 101, or CHE 101 plus 113), and NSG 295 or STA 119.
- First- and second-year required course sequence for biological sciences and biomedical sciences: not listed on the pages we read; check UB’s undergraduate catalog. The pre-med course suggestions are in section 3.
5. Rounds, deadlines and materials (the pages we read print no year; check fall 2027)
- Application platforms and fee: ApplySUNY, the Common Application or Coalition for College (one only); non-refundable $50 fee, with several fee-waiver routes.
- First-year, fall entry: application opens 1 August; Early Action (non-binding) 1 November, which UB says brings a priority response and priority merit-scholarship consideration; Honors College priority consideration 15 December; regular decision completion deadline 1 February, with applications accepted after that until capacity is reached; enrollment deposit 1 May (or 10 days after acceptance, whichever is later). Spring entry is also offered.
- Essay and recommendations: UB strongly recommends at least one letter of recommendation (from a counselor, teacher, community member or employer) and accepts up to three; the international page says review considers marks, test scores, essay and recommendations. The pages we read do not give an essay length.
- Testing: UB does not require SAT or ACT scores for admission or scholarships; you may submit them, and if you choose not to have them considered they are not used. The international page says most admitted applicants who submit a score have SAT 1170 or higher or ACT 25 or higher.
- Nursing’s separate application: the Traditional BS upper-division application opens in early December, is due 15 January, with decisions in March and the program starting in the fall. You apply to UB first ($50), then through the School of Nursing’s application system (the page says $60 for outside applicants and $55 for current UB students), with a video response, written essay and resume. Criteria: all 11 prerequisites complete or in progress in the spring, at least 2.33 in each, a prerequisite GPA of at least 3.0, and an overall GPA of at least 3.3. The review weighs the video, essay, resume, prerequisite courses and the cumulative and prerequisite science GPAs. Applicants dismissed from other nursing programs are not eligible; those who attended a nursing program but were not dismissed must submit a good-standing verification form.
- Accelerated BS (for bachelor’s degree holders): the nursing school lists 1 October (priority) and 1 November (final), decisions in December, start in mid-May; RN to BS is rolling.
- Medical Laboratory Science and Nuclear Medicine Technology: 8 January deadlines, as above.
6. U.S. applicants
- Cost (UB’s yearly estimates): NYS resident tuition $7,070, fees $3,966, on-campus housing and dining $18,606, related expenses $6,888, total $36,530; out-of-state tuition $29,070, total $58,530. UB says to qualify for in-state tuition you must show a permanent and principal home in New York State for at least 12 months before the semester, and that simply living in New York to attend college does not establish residency.
- Program charges: the upper-division Traditional BS in Nursing has per-course skills and assessment lab fees, for example NSG 313 $235, NSG 317 $195, NSG 412 $130 and NSG 416 $120. The nursing page lists tuition of about $6,000 per semester at the resident rate, excluding fees. Charges for other majors: not stated on the pages we read.
- Scholarships: high-achieving domestic out-of-state first-years are automatically considered for the Provost Scholarship (renewable for four years if requirements are met, applied to direct costs); high-achieving New York students are considered for the Pride of New York Scholarship (non-tuition costs only); the Presidential Scholarship needs a separate application through the Honors College; the nursing school page says the School of Nursing awards more than $180,000 in scholarships to admitted/approved undergraduate nursing students.
- In-state preference in admission: not stated on the pages we read.
7. International applicants
- Review: UB says international first-year review considers marks, test scores, essay and recommendations; it uses a 4.0 scale and expects the equivalent of a 3.0 (a B, or 83 on a 100-point scale); admissions counselors convert grading scales from different countries. Any document not in English must come with an English translation.
- English minimums: required if your native language is not English and any part of your high school studies was in a non-English-speaking country. Minimums: TOEFL iBT 70 (the page reads “70 or 4”, which appears to be the new scale); IELTS Academic 6.0; Duolingo 105; PTE Academic 50; ACT English and reading 18; SAT ERW 500; IB English A grade 5; AP English Language 4 or a B in the class. Scores must be under two years old; you may self-report for first review, and official scores must come from the testing agency. Exemption: you must be a citizen of Australia, the Bahamas, Canada, Guam, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria, Singapore or the United Kingdom, a native English speaker, and educated entirely in English; China is not on the list.
- International students in nursing or clinical placements: the pages we read do not say whether there are limits; not published there. Contact the School of Nursing admissions contact (Kyle Cortley, kylecort@buffalo.edu).
- Medical school: Prehealth says the Jacobs School of Medicine does not currently enroll international applicants, not even from Canada; 41 of 162 U.S. MD programs and 24 of 72 DO campuses accept them; only 105 international applicants matriculated into an MD program in the 2025 application year; international students are not eligible for federal funding or educational loans and often must show proof of tuition funds for 1 to 4 years. UB’s School of Dental Medicine does enroll international students.
- Proof of funds: F-1/J-1 applicants must show funds for the first year before UB issues an I-20 or DS-2019: about $61,030 for a fall or spring start (tuition $29,070, fees $4,166, student health insurance $2,300, housing and dining $18,606, related expenses $6,888). Accepted: bank statements or letters dated within six months, scholarship letters, fully sanctioned loan letters, government or company sponsorship letters. Not accepted: employment letters, credit card statements, insurance policies, tax returns, trust funds, mutual funds, stock statements, valuations of jewelry, gold or property, and cryptocurrency. The cost page shows the international total ($29,070 tuition, $6,466 fees, $18,606 housing and dining, $6,888 related, $61,030) as 2026-27 estimates, while the financial-details page footnote says 2025-26; check UB for the latest.
- International scholarships: the Flagship Scholarship goes to incoming international first-years; all admitted international students are automatically considered; amounts vary and renew for up to four years. The Presidential Scholarship needs a separate Honors College application. International transfers are eligible for transfer scholarships. On a student visa, on-campus work is limited to 20 hours a week in session and 40 during breaks; off-campus work is not permitted without special government permission.
8. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: the UB pages we read do not say whether the Gaokao is considered or what Huikao materials are required; not published there. Contact admissions (ub-admissions@buffalo.edu, 716-645-6900).
- Transcripts and translation: UB says international first-year applicants submit secondary-school transcripts, with documents depending on country or curriculum. That list appears only after you pick a country on UB’s page, and the version we read did not show China’s list. Check it on UB’s international first-year page. All documents not in English need an English translation.
- English: China is not on the list of countries exempt from an English test; see the minimums above.
- UB gives no separate note for Chinese applicants to health-related majors on the pages we read.
9. Transfer
- Who counts: UB says you are a transfer student if you completed at least 12 credit hours of college-level work after graduating from high school. UB accepts all college-level credit from regionally accredited two- and four-year institutions; check course matches in TAURUS.
- Domestic transfers (U.S. applicants): fall entry: application opens 1 August, priority scholarship consideration 15 March, application completion deadline 1 May, and applications are accepted until capacity is reached; spring entry: priority scholarship 1 November, recommended application date 1 December. Good academic standing is required and requirements vary by program. With more than 24 credits, UB reviews your college record; with fewer than 24, it also reviews your high school transcript.
- International transfers: UB expects the equivalent of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale; the international fall dates match first-year dates (opens 1 August, Early Action 1 November, regular deadline 1 February). The page’s headings read “Spring 2027” and “Fall 2026”, so check that the fall dates apply to 2027. Send electronic transcripts and English translations from every college attended; with fewer than 24 credits, secondary transcripts are also reviewed.
- Transferring into these majors: UB says students with 60 or more transfer credits and minimum grades in prerequisite courses may be admitted to College of Arts and Sciences majors (which include biological sciences), except arts programs that need a portfolio or audition. Biomedical Sciences, Nursing, Pharmacy, and Public Health and Health Professions are competitive and selective. The specific GPA and chemistry, biology and calculus sequences for transferring in are not stated on the transfer pages we read; ask each department.
- Transferring into nursing: transfer and second-degree students may finish remaining prerequisites at UB as intended nursing majors or apply directly to the upper division if they meet all requirements. Anatomy and Physiology I and II must be completed at the same institution; each prerequisite needs C+ (2.33) in every component (lecture, lab, recitation), averages are not accepted, a letter grade is required and pass grades are not accepted; courses missing from TAURUS can be sent for syllabus review. Some UB prerequisites are not offered every semester, so nursing recommends planning well in advance.
Checklist
U.S. applicants:
- Early Action 1 November (non-binding) or regular deadline 1 February; SAT/ACT optional; name your intended major on the application
- For nursing: apply to UB as an intended nursing major, finish the 11 prerequisites, then apply to nursing by 15 January (overall GPA 3.3, prerequisite GPA 3.0)
- For pre-med: any major works; follow the Prehealth course list, and avoid online prerequisites
International applicants (including China):
- English minimums: TOEFL 70, IELTS 6.0, Duolingo 105; translate documents not in English; first-year proof of funds about $61,030
- UB’s medical school does not enroll international applicants; limits for international students in nursing placements: not published; Gaokao use: not published
Transfer students:
- 12 or more credits makes you a transfer; domestic completion deadline 1 May; international transfers follow the international dates; Arts and Sciences needs 60 credits plus prerequisite grades; nursing A&P I and II must be from the same school
Sources: University at Buffalo, Undergraduate programs list; Biological Sciences; Biological Sciences undergraduate overview; BA in Biological Sciences; BS in Biological Sciences; BS/PharmD; Biological Sciences: how to apply; Biomedical Sciences; Neuroscience; Jacobs School undergraduate programs; Jacobs School: how to apply; Nursing; Nursing undergraduate admissions; Traditional BS in Nursing admissions; Nursing prerequisites; Traditional BS in Nursing; Nursing: transfer credit; Nursing tuition and aid; Public Health; SPHHP undergraduate programs; Public Health BS; Prehealth: getting started; Prehealth: pre-medical; Prehealth: international applicants; EOPIM; First-year applicants; Special requirements for certain majors; Dates and deadlines; International first-year applicants; English proficiency; Standardized tests; Credit for exams; Transfer applicants; International transfer applicants; Tuition and estimated costs; International financial details; Scholarships. Most pages print no year; check that dates apply to fall 2027 entry. Costs are the estimates UB currently publishes; check UB’s website for the latest.