Home / Admissions / US Applications / How to Apply to Life Sciences and Pre-Health Study at Florida International University: Biological Sciences in Arts, Sciences and Education, Nursing Through the Pre-Nursing Pathway, Test Scores Required, and the Path for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants

How to Apply to Life Sciences and Pre-Health Study at Florida International University: Biological Sciences in Arts, Sciences and Education, Nursing Through the Pre-Nursing Pathway, Test Scores Required, and the Path for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants

2026-10-25 · Application guides

FIU’s Biological Sciences (BA, BS), Marine Biology and Biochemistry are in the College of Arts, Sciences and Education; the nursing BSN is in the Nicole Wertheim College of Nursing and Health Sciences, where freshmen start in a Pre-Nursing major or pathway. Apply through the Common App: Early Action 2 November 2026, all first-year 16 December, final 2 March 2027; SAT/ACT/CLT required; fee $30.

Florida International University (FIU) is in Miami, Florida. Its life-science and health majors sit in two colleges: the Department of Biological Sciences in the College of Arts, Sciences & Education (CASE) offers Biological Sciences (BA, BS) and Marine Biology (BS), the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry offers Biochemistry, and the Nicole Wertheim College of Nursing & Health Sciences offers the nursing BSN and more. There is no pre-med major in the United States, and FIU’s pre-health office says “pre-medicine” is not a major (section 3). This guide summarises FIU’s published information for fall 2027 entry for U.S. applicants, international applicants and applicants from China, followed by transfer students.

1. Relevant undergraduate majors

  • Department of Biological Sciences (CASE):
    • BA in Biological Sciences (in person, also fully online) with tracks in Allied Health Profession, Bioentrepreneur, Biology Education, Environmental Policy, Health Policy, Pre-Law and Science Communication;
    • BS in Biological Sciences: FIU says students who complete the requirements also satisfy the course requirements for medical, dental, optometry and veterinary schools (some professional schools have extra requirements); at least 120 credits, at least 45 of them upper division (3000/4000 level). Tracks: the department’s undergraduate programs page lists Biology Education, Forensic Biomolecular Biology, Pre-Health Curricula, Quantifying Biology in the Classroom and Honors, while the BS page lists Biology Education, Biotechnology and Forensic Biomolecular Biology. The two lists disagree, and the BS page also shows “Degree Type: Bachelor of Arts”; check the latest;
    • BS in Marine Biology (with an Honors track for Honors College students) and minors in Biology and Marine Biology.
  • Chemistry and Biochemistry: the degree list includes Biochemistry (BS), Chemistry: Biochemistry (BA) and Chemistry (BS, BA); not covered further here.
  • Nursing and Health Sciences: undergraduate nursing (BSN) has several routes: the FTIC Pre-Nursing pathway, Traditional BSN (upper division), Accelerated BSN (for those with another degree), online RN-to-BSN, and Foreign Educated Physician to BSN/MSN. The college has other majors such as Health Services Administration, not covered here.
  • Second major: the pre-health FAQ says students can add a second major in Natural and Applied Sciences: Medical Science Track to complete required coursework.
  • Honors College early assurance: the scholarships page says Honors College students have access to Early Assurance Programs for the Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine and the FIU College of Law. The pages we read do not give the terms or say whether international students qualify; ask the Honors College.
  • STEM designation: not stated on the pages we read; ask admissions or the college.

2. Admission: admitted to the university first; nursing has a pre-nursing route

  • Admission pathways: FIU says first-year students are admitted through “pathways” tied to start terms, and if one pathway fills you may be offered the next: Fall Direct (most selective), Early Fall Direct (starts in summer, with required courses), Golden Scholars (a summer bridge for selected students, with a supplemental application for first-generation or Pell-eligible students), START (for students who chose a STEM, business or engineering major but are not calculus-ready, with course and program milestones) and Spring Direct (January start, the most flexible).
  • Biological sciences majors: the first-year page does not say whether you must pick a major on the application, and states no separate GPA threshold or cap for Biological Sciences; not published there. FIU only says that some programs such as architecture and nursing have higher minimum admission requirements and may require extra information or exams; search degrees for specifics.
  • Nursing (FTIC Pre-Nursing page): FIU’s BSN is a limited-access, highly competitive program; students usually apply for full admission after prerequisite courses, an entrance exam and other requirements. On the Common App you select Nursing as your first-choice major and also choose an approved alternate major: Health Services Administration, Liberal Studies – Health & Human Concern, Rehabilitation & Recreational Therapy, Psychology, Social Work or Exploratory/NURHS. There are two outcomes: A, direct admit as a “Pre-Nursing” major (a limited number), who progress into the BSN automatically if they meet the thresholds, with no NursingCAS application; or B, alternate major plus Pre-Nursing Pathway, who apply for the BSN through NursingCAS after the prerequisites, with admission competitive and not guaranteed. FIU stresses that you can only be assigned to Pre-Nursing at the time of admission to FIU, cannot switch in later from another major, and that Pre-Nursing designation is considered only for fall entry.
  • Pre-nursing milestones: cumulative GPA 3.25 or higher (checked at 30, 45 and 60 credits); TEAS submitted by 1 December of the second fall, minimum 70 total and 62 science; C or higher in each prerequisite: College Algebra MAC 1105 (required for the Pre-Nursing major, highly suggested for the pathway), Statistics STA 2122, Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs, Microbiology with lab, Chemistry CHM 1033 with lab; at least one prerequisite science course each semester from the first fall; and C or higher in Introduction to Psychology, Developmental Psychology and Nutrition. Automatic progression for direct Pre-Nursing majors needs a cumulative GPA of 3.7, science GPA 3.6, TEAS 88 total and 80 science, 100 documented patient-facing healthcare hours, and MAC 1105.
  • Traditional BSN (upper division): five semesters, 66 credits, about 100 students enrolled annually, on the Modesto A. Maidique Campus, with admission in both fall and spring. Prerequisites must come from a regionally accredited U.S. institution; science prerequisites must be within 10 years and none may be in progress at application review; up to two non-science prerequisites may be in progress.
  • Entering Biological Sciences and similar majors: not published in what we read; contact CASE advising (caseadvising@fiu.edu).

3. Pre-med: what the pre-health office says

  • FIU’s Pre-Health Advising office (CASE, serving students for 30+ years) says “Pre-Medicine”, “Pre-Dental” and so on are not majors, only the interest in applying to a graduate program after the bachelor’s; you must declare a major (or add a second major) and then designate your pre-professional intent in MyFIU to book an advisor. It supports medical, dental, optometry, pharmacy, physician assistant, podiatry and veterinary applicants; it does not assist with nursing, athletic training, occupational therapy, physical therapy or speech-language pathology, which go through the Nicole Wertheim College (305-348-7703).
  • Which major: commonly chosen majors it lists are Biological Sciences, Natural and Applied Sciences, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Biomedical Engineering, Psychology or Liberal Studies; almost any major is acceptable, but check each professional school’s prerequisites.
  • Coursework: each career page has a Prerequisite Guide; students must verify each school’s requirements. The office says most graduate programs expect a minimum 3.0 GPA; some professional schools accept AP/IB credit and some do not, so ask them; the same goes for online coursework.
  • Letters: the office offers a Committee Letter, Advisor Letter or Letter Packet; students should consult it at least once a semester, ideally from the first semester.
  • Whether there is separate guidance for international students is not stated: the FAQ only points to “Pre-Health Resources”, which we did not read. Medical-school admission statistics are not published there.

4. High school preparation

  • High school courses (Admission Standards, minimum for first-year students): 4 credits of English; 4 of mathematics (Algebra I or higher); 3 of natural science (two with substantial lab work); 3 of social science; 2 of a second language; 2 of additional academic electives. Taking more than the minimum can improve your chances.
  • Specific chemistry, physics or biology requirements: the Biological Sciences pages set none beyond this; not published.
  • Calculus and math placement: FIU has the START pathway for students who chose STEM, business or engineering majors but are not calculus-ready; home-educated and GED applicants in STEM or business take the ALEKS placement during orientation.
  • AP, IB and other credit: the first-year page says AP scores must be 3 or higher and must be sent separately by the testing agency; scores received after the application deadline are not considered; the same applies to CLEP and IB. The charts mapping scores to biology and chemistry courses are on transfer.fiu.edu and were not read here. The pre-health office adds that professional schools may not accept AP/IB credit.

5. Rounds, deadlines and materials

  • Platform and fee: first-year applicants apply through the Common App (do not also submit FIU’s own application); $30 fee, or an SAT/ACT fee waiver. Applications open 1 August.
  • Deadlines (first-year page, Early Fall and Fall 2027): Early Action complete application with documents 2 November 2026, notification 10 December; All first-year applicants complete by 16 December 2026, notification 21 January 2027; final 2 March 2027, last decisions 2 April; deposit 1 May 2027 (the international “last steps” page says the deposit is $200 and non-refundable).
  • Materials: official transcripts from every high school and college attended (applications are not reviewed until complete), and SAT, ACT or CLT scores (required of all first-year applicants, in-state, out-of-state and international). SAT code 5206, ACT code 0776. From the 2025–26 application the ACT science section is no longer required and the composite counts only English, math and reading. Everyone submits residency documentation, which determines in-state or out-of-state tuition.
  • Admitted ranges (Fall 2026 admits, lower 50% / middle / upper 50%): Fall Direct SAT 1250/1320/1380, ACT 27/30/32, FIU-weighted GPA 4.10/4.4/4.70; Early Fall Direct SAT 1110/1150/1200, ACT 22/24/25, GPA 3.90/4.2/4.40. FIU describes its first-year acceptance rate as around 50%.

6. U.S. applicants

  • In-state vs. out-of-state tuition: FIU’s cost page lists per-credit undergraduate tuition of $205.57 for Florida residents and $660.19 for out-of-state students. The international cost page’s similar table shows $618.87 out-of-state per credit and a 30-credit fall-and-spring matriculation total of $6,565.88 in-state and $18,964.75 out-of-state (including athletic, health, parking and ID fees). The two pages disagree on the out-of-state figure, and neither prints an academic year; check OneStop for the current numbers. Any program surcharge (for example nursing) is not stated on the pages we read.
  • Scholarships: the scholarships page (fall 2026 entry) says all admitted first-year students are considered automatically; the complete-application date is 2 November 2026 for Florida high schools and 16 December 2026 for out-of-state or overseas high schools. Gold and Blue scholarships are spread over four years: $1,000–$12,000 for Florida residents (2 November) and $4,000–$24,000 for non-Florida residents (16 December); there are also out-of-state tuition waivers, National Merit Finalist awards and Bright Futures. FIU’s Golden Promise covers tuition and fees for first-time-in-college Florida students with a zero expected family contribution; file the FAFSA (opens 1 October, early award priority 1 December).
  • In-state preference: the first-year page states no in-state preference in the review; not published. The Florida 2+2 partnership guarantees admission to AA graduates of Florida public colleges (except specialized programs); see section 9.
  • Research and clinical experience: the pages we read say little beyond the nursing college’s STAR Center simulation facility; numbers of research or clinical placements are not published.

7. International applicants

  • Applying: through the Common App, $30 fee; SAT, ACT or CLT required. Transcripts must come directly from the school or counselor (Faster, Naviance, Parchment, eScrip-Safe, or email from a verified school administrator); non-English transcripts need an official translation; for international credentials a certified copy from the issuing office may be submitted.
  • English: the international freshman page says directly admitted international first-time-in-college students are not required to submit TOEFL or IELTS, but must meet Florida Board of Governors college-readiness requirements, largely set by SAT/ACT reading and English sub-scores and an appropriate GPA. The international FAQ separately mentions TOEFL or IELTS “if necessary” in the athletics answer. The wording differs; check the latest.
  • Global First Year (G1Y): for international students who want extra academic, cultural and language support, with dedicated advisors, tutoring, priority housing, and credit-bearing courses that count toward majors.
  • I-20 and funds: the international “last steps” page says you must submit supporting financial documents to get your I-20; amounts and format are not stated on that page. All F-1/J-1 students must have qualifying health insurance.
  • Timeline: the same as first-year applicants (section 5); the deposit deadline for freshmen is 1 May.
  • Cost: the international cost page lists the out-of-state per-credit rate (see section 6 for the discrepancy). A full cost-of-attendance estimate including housing, food and insurance is not on that page; FIU has a cost-estimate tool.
  • Scholarships: the international page says international students may qualify for scholarships based on merit, talent or cultural background, listed on Academic Works; the automatic first-year merit awards are open to U.S. citizens, permanent residents and international students who will hold an F-1 (or other eligible) visa. Note: that page still prints 2024–25 dates (1 November and 3 December 2024); use the 2026 dates on the scholarships page (section 6).
  • Restricted programs: whether international students may enter the BSN or take clinical placements is not stated on the pages we read; ask the nursing college (305-348-7703).

8. Applicants from China

  • Gaokao: FIU does not explain how it uses the Gaokao on the pages we read. Contact admissions (admiss@fiu.edu).
  • Transcripts and translation: non-English documents need an official translation; the international freshman page we read does not require a third-party credential evaluation (transfer students do, section 9). How to submit exit-exam materials is not stated.
  • Testing and English: SAT/ACT/CLT are required; whether TOEFL or IELTS is also needed is described two ways (section 7).
  • Funds: supporting financial documents are needed for the I-20 (section 7); FIU gives no separate guidance for Chinese applicants on the pages we read.

9. Transfer

  • General conditions: $30 fee; official transcripts from every college attended (including dual-enrollment courses taken in high school); at least a 2.0 GPA at the last school, in good academic and conduct standing. AA graduates of Florida public colleges qualify under the 2+2 partnership (except specialized-admission programs), but those entering with an associate degree must also apply to their chosen college or program.
  • Credit tiers: 60+ transferable credits need no high school transcript or test scores; 30–59 need none if you have ENC 1101 (or equivalent) with C or better, college-level math with C or better and a 2.0 GPA; under 30 credits, or without college math and English, must send a high school transcript and SAT/ACT/CLT.
  • Domestic transfer deadlines (applications, 2027): spring 1 December (2027 term); summer A/C 8 March; summer B 26 April; fall 8 July (College of Business 23 June); fall deposit 27 July.
  • Transfer students educated at a non-U.S. institution: a NACES member course-by-course evaluation with GPA is required. The domestic transfer page lists their deadlines as spring 2027 1 October; summer A/C 2 March; fall 2027 16 May (documents 24 May, deposit 6 June, financial documents 3 July). The international transfer page’s own date table is still for 2026 terms, has no spring 2027 application date and contains one date printed as “December 7, 2027” (which does not fit the other dates); use the transfer page and check the latest. English for international transfers: TOEFL iBT 4.5 on the new scale (80 for tests before 21 January 2026), IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 110, or ENC 1101 with C or better, among others; at most 90 credits transfer (60 lower division, 30 upper division).
  • Transferring into nursing: the Traditional BSN is an upper-division program; transfers use the FIU transfer application and also apply through NursingCAS. Prerequisites: psychology/sociology, statistics, human growth and development, nutrition, plus Anatomy & Physiology I and II, Microbiology and Survey of Chemistry with labs, science courses within 10 years and from a regionally accredited U.S. institution. GPA or course requirements for transferring into Biological Sciences are not published in what we read.

Checklist

U.S. applicants:

  • Common App; Early Action 2 November, all first-year 16 December, final 2 March; SAT/ACT/CLT required
  • If you want nursing, choose it on the application together with an alternate major; submit residency documents; FAFSA opens 1 October

International applicants (including China):

  • SAT/ACT/CLT required; official transcripts, with official translation if not in English; check whether TOEFL or IELTS is needed
  • Financial documents for the I-20; confirm how the Gaokao is used with admissions; ask the nursing college about international students in the BSN

Transfer students:

  • Fall domestic deadline 8 July, 16 May for students with non-U.S. college work; 2.0 GPA; 60+ credits need no test scores; nursing needs prerequisites and NursingCAS

Sources: Florida International University, First-year applicants; Admission standards; First-year pathways; Transfer applicants; International freshmen; International FAQ; International cost and aid; International transfers; International last steps; Cost and aid; Scholarships; Biological Sciences undergraduate degrees; BS in Biological Sciences; CASE degrees and programs; Pre-Health Advising; Pre-Health FAQ; Undergraduate Nursing; FTIC Pre-Nursing pathway; Traditional BSN. Information is for the fall 2027 entry cycle (the cost page prints no academic year, see the text; where a page prints no year, check that the date is for fall 2027 entry). Check FIU’s website for the latest.

Related articles