How to Apply to Life Sciences and Health Programs at Texas Christian University: Biology, Biochemistry, Biomedical Sciences, Neuroscience, Nursing and Health Sciences, Extra Supplement and TEAS for Nursing, and the Path for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants
TCU’s life-science and health undergraduate programs sit in two colleges: Science and Engineering (Biology, Biochemistry, Biomedical Sciences, Neuroscience, Nutrition) and the Harris College of Nursing and Health Sciences (Nursing, Health Sciences, Movement Science). The program pages for the science majors say there are no special admission requirements; Nursing adds a supplement and the TEAS exam. Early Action and Early Decision I are 1 November, Early Decision II and Regular Decision 1 February (pages print no year); testing is optional. Published 2026-27 tuition is $66,520. TCU is need-aware for international applicants.
Texas Christian University (TCU) is a private university in Fort Worth, Texas. Its life-science and health programs sit mainly in two colleges: the College of Science & Engineering (the website also writes “Davis College of Science & Engineering”) offers Biology, Biochemistry, Biomedical Sciences, Neuroscience and Nutrition, and the Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences offers Nursing, Health Sciences and Movement Science. There is no pre-med major in the United States; TCU’s Pre-Health Professions Institute serves students in any major. This guide summarises TCU’s published information for fall 2027 entry for U.S. applicants, international applicants and applicants from China, followed by transfer students. TCU’s undergraduate catalog is hosted on a third-party platform that we did not read, so for each major’s credit table use “View Courses & Degree Requirements” on TCU’s program pages.
1. Relevant undergraduate programs
- Biology (Department of Biology): BS, BA and a minor. TCU describes an evolution-centered curriculum; sample courses include cellular, molecular and developmental biology, ecology and the environment, genetics, conservation genetics, immunology and marine science. The page says many faculty also advise pre-health students on the Health Professions Advisory Committee, that many students spend two or more years in research, and that students score in the top 10% nationally on the ETS Major Field Test (the page’s own claim).
- Biomedical Sciences (BS, Department of Biology): prepares students for medical, dental or veterinary school, biomedical research and other health careers; sample courses include fundamentals of biochemistry, genetics, human physiology, human anatomy, molecular basis of human disease and pre-health professional development.
- Biochemistry (BS, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry): the page says most biochemistry graduates enter medical or dental school; sample courses include advanced inorganic chemistry, chemical instrumentation, physical chemistry I and quantitative analysis.
- Neuroscience (BS, Department of Psychology): begins with psychology, biology, mathematics and physics, with lab work in biology, chemistry, physics and psychology; sample courses include introductory neuroscience, histology, experimental psychology, psychopharmacology, behavioral research and mammalian physiology.
- Nursing (BS, Harris College): the BSN is 120 credit hours, 63 nursing and 57 non-nursing; per the college’s page, students admitted into TCU as declared nursing majors are automatically placed in the traditional nursing program if they meet all prerequisite criteria.
- Health Sciences (BS, Harris College): a multidisciplinary program covering health care delivery, disease prevention, health promotion and population health. Movement Science (BS and minor, Department of Kinesiology): human movement through coursework, laboratory research and clinical experiences.
- Nutrition (BS, Department of Nutritional Sciences): BS, a combined BS/MS, and a minor. The program list also has Athletic Training and Dietetics pages that we did not read.
- Pre-Health Professions: not a degree but a program supporting students aiming at medicine, dentistry, physician assistant, veterinary medicine, optometry, pharmacy, anesthesiologist assistant, genetic counseling and podiatry, in any major; there is also a Cultural Awareness & Health Care minor.
- Engineering is not covered here. STEM designation and a direct BS/MD program: not stated on the pages we read. The “Early Masters” program is a bachelor’s-to-master’s route; we did not read that page.
2. How admission to a major works
- Applying: first-year students may use the TCU Application, Common App, Coalition App or ApplyTexas, which TCU says are all read equally. The program pages for Biology, Biochemistry, Biomedical Sciences, Neuroscience, Health Sciences, Movement Science and Nutrition each say there are no special admission requirements (the Biology page says this for the undergraduate program). Whether you may apply undecided and the rules for changing majors: not stated on the pages we read; ask admissions.
- Nursing (restricted): you apply to TCU as a nursing major and complete the Nursing Supplement, two answers of about 250 words each: the moment nursing became your calling, and how you have prepared academically and experientially for a BSN. It is an online form in the MyTCU portal, due 15 November for Early Action and Early Decision I and 15 February for Regular Decision and Early Decision II. The nursing school’s page adds that direct admits must take the TEAS exam before nursing coursework and that nursing majors need a TCU cumulative GPA of 2.5 or higher to stay in the program.
- A second set of dates for nursing (the pages do not line up): the nursing school’s page says that for “direct applicants to the nursing program” NursingCAS opens 1 September, applications must be submitted and verified by 1 February, and decisions come by 1 April. The admissions office page, however, has first-year students applying through TCU, Common App and the others plus the supplement, and uses NursingCAS only for transfer nursing clinical applicants. We cannot reconcile the two; confirm with the nursing office (nursing@tcu.edu).
- Nursing seats: not stated on the pages we read. Limits for international students in nursing or clinical placements: not stated.
- Conditions to enter the other majors: apart from the 2.5 GPA in nursing, the pages we read give no GPA threshold.
3. The pre-med path
- The Pre-Health Professions Institute serves any major; the page says students come from more than 40 majors, most in biology or another major in the Science & Engineering college. It lists weekly walk-in advising and formal one-on-one advising each semester, run by the Health Professions Advisory Committee of faculty from five departments, a clinical observation (shadowing) program beginning in the first year, and internships and volunteering in emergency medicine, oncology, community health and fetal medicine.
- The page says TCU supports “any student wishing to apply to professional school, regardless of GPA and standardized test score”. It also states a medical-school acceptance rate of 90% for institute students, “twice the state and national average”, and the Biology page makes a similar claim; these are TCU’s own statements, with no stated method, so check the latest.
- Required pre-health science courses: the program page lists sample courses only (Introduction to Pre-Health, Topics in Medicine: Becoming a Great Applicant, Pre-Health Professional Development, Oncology and Community Health) and no required chemistry, biology or physics list; not stated on the pages we read. Committee letters and how international students apply to U.S. medical schools are also not stated; contact the institute (817-257-7196).
- A direct BS/MD program: not stated.
4. High school preparation and first two years
- High school courses: neither the first-year application page nor the program pages list required high school math, biology, chemistry or physics. The nursing supplement asks about academic and experiential preparation but names no courses. Not stated; ask admissions (frogmail@tcu.edu).
- Nursing prerequisites (nursing school page): Anatomy and Physiology 1 and 2, Microbiology, Statistics, Nutrition, Human Development, Introduction to Psychology and Introduction to Sociology; science courses must be at least 4 credit hours with an in-person lab and completed within 5 years of the program start; C or higher in all prerequisites; two of the three sciences (Anatomy and Physiology 1 and 2, Microbiology) must be taken after high school; all must be done before the June (accelerated) or August (traditional) start.
- First- and second-year course sequence: major credit tables are in the third-party catalog that we did not read; not stated on the pages we read.
- AP / IB / CLEP credit (TCU “Credit by Exam”, only within the first 66 semester hours): AP Biology 3 earns 3 credits (BIOL 10003), 4 earns General Biology BIOL 10000 (4 credits), and 5 adds Introductory Biology Lab II and Introductory Biology II (8 credits in all); AP Chemistry 4 earns General Chemistry I (3 credits) and 5 adds General Chemistry II with lab (8 credits); AP Calculus AB 4 or 5 earns Calculus I (MATH 10524, 4 credits) and BC 5 earns Calculus I and II (8 credits); AP Physics 1 at 4 or 5 earns General Physics I with lab (4 credits); IB Higher Level Biology 5 or 6 earns 3 credits, IB HL Chemistry 6 earns General Chemistry I (3 credits) and 7 adds General Chemistry II with lab (8 credits); IB Mathematics Analysis and Approaches HL 6 or 7 maps to Calculus I. TCU says the academic dean decides how credit applies to specific, general or elective requirements, duplicate credit is not allowed, and official score reports are required.
5. Rounds, deadlines and materials
- Early Action (non-binding): 1 November, decision by 1 January, reply by 1 May. Early Decision I (binding): 1 November, decision by 1 January, commit by 15 January. Regular Decision: 1 February (to have senior-fall grades considered), decision by 1 April. Early Decision II (binding): 1 February, decision by 1 March, commit by 15 March. 1 May is the National Candidate Reply Date. The page prints these dates without a year, so check that they are for fall 2027 entry. For Chancellor’s Scholars consideration TCU recommends applying by 1 November, with the John V. Roach Honors College application by 15 November; honors deadlines are 15 November or 15 February and every major may apply.
- Application fee: $50, nonrefundable; waived for first-generation applicants, students with an ACT/College Board waiver, those in the federal free and reduced lunch program, and those affected by a recent natural disaster.
- Required: official high school transcript from your school (sealed or electronic); a 250–650 word essay; counselor and teacher recommendations submitted by school officials; English proficiency for international applicants. Optional: a “freedom of expression” piece.
- Testing: optional. TCU has a “Do No Harm” policy under which a submitted score that would hurt your chances for admission or scholarship is excluded; it superscores, accepts self-reported scores, and its codes are SAT 6820 and ACT 4206. TCU says tests are not required for students graduating through 2028; the middle 50% of students entering in fall 2026 scored 1310–1460 on the SAT and 29–33 on the ACT. There is no cut score.
6. U.S. applicants
- In-state and out-of-state tuition: the cost page lists one tuition; it does not describe a split.
- Costs (2026-27, on campus): tuition $66,520 (flat rate for 12–18 hours), student government fee $90, housing and food $18,780 (typical first-year housing $12,080, basic meal plan $6,700), books and supplies $700; total direct cost $86,090. Indirect costs: travel $1,374, miscellaneous $2,278 and average loan fees $68. TCU says some programs and courses, such as the Neeley School of Business, may incur additional costs; additional fees for biology or nursing majors are not stated.
- First-year scholarships: Chancellor’s Scholarship (full tuition, four years); Dean’s $32,000 a year; Faculty $30,000; TCU $27,000; Founders’ $17,000; Purple and White $12,000, for up to 8 semesters. The middle 50% of 2026 recipients had a 3.8–3.98 GPA; the page also says scores are not considered for scholarships for test-optional applicants. TCU says 84% of students receive some financial aid; FAFSA and the CSS Profile unlock federal and institutional aid.
- Research and experience: the biology page says students can apply for research grants, present at TCU events and meetings, and co-author publications; the international page says around 40% of students take part in research or study abroad. Seat numbers: not stated.
7. International applicants
- Need-aware admission: TCU says it is need-aware for international applicants, meaning financial circumstances are considered in admission, and “applicants who can contribute at least $40,000 USD per year toward their educational expenses are the most competitive”. To be considered for need-based aid you must submit the CSS Profile for International Students (TCU code 6820) in addition to the application, and applicants who intend to apply for need-based aid will not receive an admission decision until the aid application has been received.
- Aid: the international aid page lists need-based aid of $2,000 to $41,570; CSS Profile deadlines are 1 February for first-year fall entry, 15 April for fall transfers and 1 October for spring; all applicants are automatically reviewed for academic scholarships; TCU does not offer “full funding” awards. The same page has apparent inconsistencies: its notes mention a $25,000 average and $51,570 maximum package, say students with less than $21,000 a year in personal resources will not be admitted, and give a 2020-2021 total cost of $72,080; these differ from the 2026-27 cost page and the $40,000 statement and look outdated, so confirm with admissions.
- Visa funds: applicants needing a visa submit a TCU Financial Statement signed by the applicant and sponsor with letters from the sponsor’s employer and bank showing average and current balances and enough funds for a full year; the statement and a nonrefundable enrollment fee are required before an I-20 is issued. The international cost table adds health insurance of $2,846 for 2026-27, for a direct cost of $88,936.
- Work: up to 20 hours a week on campus during the school year (most work 10–15), full time in summer and breaks; off-campus work is not permitted on F-1 or J-1.
- English: the first-year page says international applicants must provide English proficiency; the score table sits in the international FAQ page, whose content loads dynamically, so we did not read it. Check that page. Transfer minimums are in section 9.
- Limits on international students in nursing or clinical placements: not stated.
8. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: the pages we read do not say how the Gaokao is used; not stated. Contact admissions (frogmail@tcu.edu, 817-257-7490) or your international counselor.
- Transcripts and translation: first-year students need an official transcript sent by the school; any China-specific translation or huikao guidance is not on the pages we read.
- English: first-year minimums are in the dynamically loaded FAQ page that we did not read; transfer applicants need TOEFL 80 or IELTS 6.5.
- Math and science expectations for the Chinese curriculum are not described separately; follow section 4 and confirm with admissions.
9. Transfer
- Eligibility: at least 12 transferable credits from a regionally accredited college in a long (fall or spring) semester after high school, and a transfer GPA of 2.7 or higher, with higher thresholds for some majors (thresholds for biology and similar majors are not stated). You need good academic, disciplinary and financial standing, official transcripts from every college, a 300–500 word essay and a disciplinary standing form; the application fee is $50 (waived for veterans, Phi Theta Kappa members and first-generation students).
- Deadlines: Fall Early Action 1 February; Fall Traditional BSN nursing 1 February (application plus TEAS, decisions mid-March); international summer and fall final deadline 15 April (decision by 1 June); U.S. summer 1 May and fall 1 June; spring 1 October for international and 1 November for U.S. applicants.
- Nursing clinical transfer: transfer students who have completed the nursing prerequisites and transferable core apply through NursingCAS, not through TCU admissions, by 1 February; the Texas Board of Nursing requires a DPS/FBI fingerprint criminal background check before nursing coursework.
- International transfer students: TOEFL 80 or IELTS 6.5 for non-native speakers, which may be waived for strong SAT or ACT scores or at least 24 transferable credit hours (including English composition) from a U.S. college; a TCU Financial Statement; an optional interview.
- Credit: TCU provides a Transfer Credit Calculator; course requirements for transferring into biology and similar majors are not stated on the pages we read.
Checklist
U.S. applicants:
- EA and ED I 1 November, RD and ED II 1 February; $50 fee; testing optional with a “Do No Harm” policy
- Nursing majors: supplement due 15 November (EA, ED I) or 15 February (RD, ED II) and plan the TEAS; the science program pages say no special admission requirements
International applicants (including China):
- Need-aware: applicants able to contribute at least $40,000 a year are the most competitive; the CSS Profile is needed for aid, and no decision is issued until it arrives
- Check the FAQ page for first-year English minimums; prepare the TCU Financial Statement for the I-20; confirm Gaokao use with admissions
Transfer students:
- 12 transferable credits and a 2.7 GPA; international fall deadline 15 April; nursing clinical transfer through NursingCAS by 1 February
Sources: Texas Christian University, Biology; Biochemistry; Biomedical Sciences; Neuroscience; Nursing; Health Sciences; Movement Science; Nutrition; Pre-Health Professions; First-year application; Testing policy; Nursing supplement; Nursing undergraduate admission; International students; International scholarship and aid; Cost estimate; First-year scholarships; Credit by exam; Transfer application; Transfer requirements; Nursing clinical transfer. Information is for fall 2027 entry (costs are 2026-27 figures; some dates are printed without a year, so please check); check TCU’s website for the latest.