How to Apply to Life Sciences and Medicine at Middlebury College: Apply to the College, Not a Major, Declare by the End of the Third Semester, Biology, Neuroscience and Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, No Undergraduate Nursing, and What U.S., International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants Need
Middlebury is a liberal arts college in Vermont. Its life-science majors on the pages we read are Biology, Neuroscience and Molecular Biology and Biochemistry; the pages show no nursing or engineering degree. The advising page says students must declare a major by the end of the third semester. Early Decision I is 2 November, Early Decision II and Regular Decision 4 January, testing is optional, and applicants can choose September or February entry. The health professions office lists one-plus years of biology, two years of chemistry including biochemistry and a year of physics as medical school prerequisites. The 2026-27 cost of attendance is $97,386. This guide covers U.S., international (including Chinese) and transfer applicants.
Middlebury College is a liberal arts college in Vermont. On the pages we read, the life-science and health-related majors are Biology, Neuroscience and Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, plus a Global Health program. There is no undergraduate “pre-med major” in the United States, and Middlebury’s health professions office says students aiming for health careers are not required to major in science. This guide follows Middlebury’s own pages for fall 2027 entry and speaks to U.S. applicants, international applicants and applicants from China, then transfer students. We read the admissions, department and program pages, the health professions pages and the tuition page; we did not read the course catalog site.
1. Which majors are related
- Biology: offered by the Department of Biology. The major is 12 courses: BIOL 0140 Ecology and Evolution, BIOL 0145 Cell Biology and Genetics and BIOL 0211 Experimental Design and Statistical Analysis (the site suggests taking these early); two organismal courses from a list of six (comparative vertebrate biology, plants, entomology, ornithology, mammalogy, microbiology); one full-credit college chemistry course with lab, for which the site says AP chemistry scores or a bypass exam cannot be used; and six electives at the 0200–0701 level, at least two with a lab. At most one semester of independent research counts as an elective and only two winter-term courses count toward the major. The minor is five courses.
- Neuroscience: an interdisciplinary major (biology faculty take part in the teaching). Background courses: PSYC 0105 Introduction to Psychology, BIOL 0145, one chemistry course with lab and one statistics course (PSYC 0201, BIOL 0211, STAT 0116 or 0201; the first two are strongly recommended). Foundations: NSCI 0251 and NSCI 0252. Three electives. Senior work is a neuroscience senior seminar or senior research (NSCI 0500/0700/0701). The site says Neuroscience does not allow joint majors; a double major with a departmental major is allowed but not with another interdisciplinary major. A single major may have only one minor, and not in biology or psychology.
- Molecular Biology and Biochemistry (MBBC): the site says the major takes 14.5–15 credits depending on where chemistry starts. Background: PHYS 0108 or 0109, BIOL 0140, BIOL 0145, one statistics course (BIOL 0211, STAT 0116 or STAT 0201), CHEM 0102 (waived if you place into 0105 or 0107), CHEM 0105 or 0107, organic chemistry CHEM 0205 and 0305. Advanced: BIOL 0314 Molecular Genetics and CHEM 0322 Biochemistry of Macromolecules. Two quantitative electives, and three advanced electives, one of which must be a laboratory course (a semester of independent research counts). The site says there is no MBBC minor.
- Global Health: the page describes it as grounded in public health and multidisciplinary. The page we read does not say whether it is a major or a minor or list its requirements; not stated, so check the program page or the department.
- Joint majors: the biology pages list a joint major with Environmental Studies (conservation biology focus) and one with Earth and Climate Sciences, whose courses are listed there.
- Nursing, biomedical engineering, public health degrees: the pages we read show no undergraduate nursing degree, and the health professions office says prerequisites for nursing, PA or physical therapy such as anatomy and physiology, nutrition and medical terminology are not offered at Middlebury. The pre-professional page says Middlebury does not offer an engineering major; no biomedical engineering degree appears on the pages we read.
- BA or BS, and STEM status: the pages we read do not say whether the degree is a BA or BS or which majors count as STEM; not stated, so ask admissions.
2. How admission works: you apply to the college and declare by the end of the third semester
- No major at application: the application checklist has no field for a major. The advising page says new students are advised by their first-year seminar instructor, may choose a major any time after the first semester, and must declare no later than the end of the third semester.
- Conditions for entering a major: the biology and neuroscience pages we read give no GPA threshold or cap; not stated. NSCI 0252 is currently open only to neuroscience majors who have PSYC 0105 and NSCI 0251. To declare MBBC you complete a declaration form, have an MBBC faculty affiliate who could serve as your adviser sign it, and send it to the MBBC director. How to declare biology is not described on the pages we read.
- Moving in from another major: not described separately; not stated.
- Honors: biology needs an average of 3.5 or higher in departmental courses plus the BIOL 0701 thesis with a grade of A- or above; neuroscience needs a 3.5 major GPA (3.3 for students graduating before May 2027), at least two semesters of thesis research, a public seminar and a defense before three faculty; MBBC needs a 3.5 GPA in major courses, at least two semesters of research and at least a B+ in MBBC 0701.
- February entry: applicants can say September only, February only or either. Deadlines and notification dates are the same; the site says choosing February does not affect how the application is evaluated, early decision applicants’ term preference is honored, and some regular decision applicants may be offered a term they did not choose.
3. The pre-med route
- The office: health professions advising sits in the Center for Teaching, Learning, and Research and covers medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, nursing, PA, PT and other fields. When eligible students and alumni apply to medical school, the college prepares a committee letter. For dental and veterinary applicants the college does not provide committee or composite letters; letters go straight to the centralized application service.
- Do you have to major in science? The site says not necessarily, but you do need these courses to qualify for admission to medical, dental and veterinary school: one-plus years of biology, two years of chemistry including biochemistry, one year of physics, math (statistics and/or calculus) and behavioral science.
- Recommended coursework (semesters): chemistry with lab 4 (including general and organic), biology or neuroscience with lab 2, psychology 1, math 1, statistics 1, physics with lab 2, biochemistry 1, English or college writing 2. The site notes that only the physics courses in its sample list count, and that most medical schools have accepted Middlebury’s Biochemistry of Macromolecules as the biochemistry requirement even without a lab.
- A figure on the site: the prospective-students page says 91% running cohort acceptance into medical school over the last five years; it does not explain how this is computed, so ask the office.
- Other notes: courses taken Credit/No Credit are often not accepted for required prerequisites, so talk to an advisor first; athletes can be pre-health; study abroad is possible but the chemistry sequence needs planning (the site suggests one semester or a summer).
- Combined BS/MD programs: not on the pages we read; not stated.
- What the office says to international students is in the international section below. This guide does not cover applying to medical school itself.
4. Prerequisites and the first two years
- The admissions pages we read do not list required high school mathematics, biology, chemistry or physics; not stated, so ask admissions.
- Chemistry placement: first-years who want to take chemistry in the first year take the chemistry placement exam unless they already have credit from AP, IB Higher Level or A-Levels; it is an online exam of about 60–90 minutes taken over the summer or at orientation. The FAQ says students who enter with advanced placement register for CHEM 0107. The neuroscience page adds that students with AP Chemistry 4 or 5, or IB Chemistry (SL or HL) 6 or higher, skip the placement exam and take CHEM 0107. The FAQ uses older chemistry numbers (103, 104) while the MBBC page uses the new ones (0102, 0105); follow the current site.
- Math placement: the site points to an online tool; placement is not the same as credit.
- AP and IB: the pages differ in emphasis. The pre-health FAQ says departments may use certain AP/IB scores to meet prerequisites or waive major or minor requirements, but they do not count toward graduation credit; a registrar letter can explain this to professional schools that accept AP/IB, which typically look for AP 4 or higher or IB 6 or higher, and each school has its own policy. The biology page says that because there is no introductory course equivalent to AP or IB biology, pre-college scores do not exempt students from any biology major, minor or joint major requirement. The neuroscience page says AP cannot bypass PSYC 0105, BIOL 0145 or the statistics requirement. The MBBC page says AP Statistics does not satisfy statistics, and AP Calculus, IB or A-Level mathematics cannot satisfy the quantitative electives.
- Typical first two years: biology: BIOL 0140, 0145, 0211 and a chemistry course; neuroscience: PSYC 0105, BIOL 0145, chemistry, NSCI 0251; MBBC: the site suggests starting introductory chemistry, introductory biology and mathematics in the first three semesters.
5. Rounds and materials (fall 2027 entry)
- Platforms: Common App, Coalition Application or QuestBridge.
- Early Decision I (binding): application due 2 November, financial aid due 15 November, notification mid-December.
- Early Decision II (binding): application and financial aid due 4 January, notification mid-February.
- Regular Decision: application due 4 January, financial aid due 1 February, notification late March.
- Materials: the application and essay (use the platform prompts; no supplemental essay); at least two teacher recommendations; school report, counselor recommendation and transcript sent by the school; senior grades (ED I as soon as possible, ED II by 15 January, RD by 15 February; no decision is made without senior grades). The application fee is not stated on the pages we read.
- Testing: SAT/ACT optional; self-reported scores are accepted and the ACT science section is not required.
- Interview: after applying you can request an optional alumni interview (request by 8 November for ED I, 9 January for ED II, 16 January for RD); it is not guaranteed, and a 90-second Glimpse video is the alternative.
- Class profile: the apply page says the class of 2030 has 755 students (640 September starts and 115 Febs), 11% international, 61 countries, from 11,458 applications with 18% admitted; SAT middle 50% 1460–1530, ACT 33–34.
6. U.S. applicants
- Costs (2026-27): tuition $72,924, on-campus housing and meal plan $20,920, student activity fee $542; estimates of $1,000 each for books and supplies, transportation and personal expenses; total cost of attendance $97,386. No fee is charged for winter term. The cost page lists no surcharge for biology or neuroscience and no in-state versus out-of-state difference.
- Financial aid: the apply page advertises “full-need financial aid”. The aid deadlines are above. Which forms (FAFSA or CSS Profile) a first-year applicant must file is not stated on the pages we read; ask Student Financial Services.
- In-state preference: not stated.
- Research: the biology page invites students to join a biology research lab and start greenhouse projects, with Sciences and Technical Support and the Quantitative Center for help.
7. International applicants
- Scale: the site says about 15% of students carry international passports or grew up outside the U.S.
- Applying: Common App or Coalition with the requirements above. The site warns that some requested information may not pertain to every educational system, and asks your school to forward transcripts, tests and recommendations. Credential evaluation and proof of funds are not described on the pages we read.
- English proof: not needed if English is your native language or your high school classes were taught entirely in English for the last three or four years (depending on the length of high school). Others need a verifiable TOEFL iBT, Duolingo English Test, IELTS or Cambridge English result. Recommended minimums: TOEFL iBT 5.5 (105 for tests taken before 21 January 2026), DET 130, IELTS 7.0, Cambridge C1 Advanced.
- Interview: not required; the site recommends InitialView or Vericant (paid) for an interview that can be added to the application.
- Money: the site says Middlebury is need aware in admitting international students; those seeking aid must apply for it with the application, by the deadlines. A separate scholarship for international students is not described on the pages we read.
- Medical school and clinical placements: the health professions office says it is extremely difficult for students who are not U.S. citizens or permanent residents to enter U.S. medical schools; many state-run medical schools do not consider them, and private ones that do are highly competitive and often require a large part of four years’ tuition to be placed in escrow, possibly more than $250,000; international students are not eligible for the loans most U.S. students use. It advises such students to speak with the director early. The FAQ also says Middlebury does not sign educational or clinical affiliation agreements, so internships that require one cannot be accepted.
8. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: the pages we read do not mention China or the Gaokao or explain how scores are used; not stated, so email admissions (admissions@middlebury.edu).
- Transcripts and Huikao: the school report, counselor recommendation and transcript must be sent by your school. Whether Huikao materials or translations are needed is not stated on the pages we read.
- English: see above; no China-specific guidance on the pages we read.
- Chinese applicants who hope to attend a U.S. medical school should read the office’s note for international students above.
9. Costs, research and placements
- Costs are in section 6. Students must enroll in at least two of four winter terms, and the degree needs 36 course credits.
- Research: biology, neuroscience and MBBC all list independent research courses and theses; whether international students face any limits is not stated on the pages we read.
- Clinical and service opportunities (health professions pages): volunteering with the Open Door Clinic, Porter Hospital volunteer program, the Porter Hospital clinical shadowing program (the page says it is currently paused), SHPEP for first-year and sophomore students, and student groups such as the Pre-Health Society. Whether international students may take part is not stated.
10. Transfer
- Deadlines: fall entry 1 March, spring entry 2 November; notification mid-May for fall and mid-December for spring. The site warns that spring transfer places may not be available, in which case you are told in early December and can be considered for fall.
- Materials: Common App for transfers; all high school and college transcripts; a midterm report; a college report from your dean or registrar; at least one academic recommendation from a college instructor; course descriptions uploaded to the applicant portal; an English test for non-native speakers. Testing is optional.
- Credit: expect to complete at least two full academic years at Middlebury (at least 18 units). No evaluation or estimate is given before admission; the dean of curriculum, working with the registrar’s office, estimates credit before the enrollment deposit deadline.
- Entering these majors: the transfer pages give no GPA threshold for biology, neuroscience or MBBC; not stated. The biology page says transfer students may take BIOL 0140 and 0145 elsewhere, that up to three off-campus courses count toward the major and the chair reviews the course material. The MBBC page says transferred credits may count toward the major with the program director’s approval. The neuroscience page we read only sets rules for study abroad (at most two courses taken abroad count toward the major) and does not address transfer students; not stated.
- Aid: need-based only; file the FAFSA and CSS Profile by 1 November for spring and 1 March for fall; international transfer students must file the CSS Profile.
Checklist
U.S. applicants:
- Common App, Coalition or QuestBridge; ED I 2 November, ED II and RD 4 January; testing optional; declare a major by the end of the third semester
- Pre-med: no required major; follow the health professions office’s course list in biology, chemistry, physics, math and behavioral science; ask before taking prerequisites Credit/No Credit
International applicants (including China):
- English proof (waived for native speakers or fully English-taught schooling); the college is need aware, so apply for aid with your application; read the office’s note on U.S. medical schools if you plan to go that way
- The pages we read do not say how the Gaokao is used or whether the Huikao is needed; ask admissions
Transfer students:
- Fall 1 March, spring 2 November; at least two years at Middlebury; credit toward each major needs department or program approval
Sources: Middlebury College, Application instructions and deadlines; Apply and class profile; Biology; Biology major requirements; Neuroscience; Neuroscience requirements; Molecular Biology and Biochemistry; MBBC requirements; Global Health; Advising and declaring a major; Preprofessional programs; Health Professions; Recommended coursework; Prospective students; Pre-health FAQs; Engagement opportunities; 2026-27 tuition and fees. The deadlines page prints no year, so confirm that the dates are for the fall 2027 entry cycle. Costs are 2026-27 figures; course numbers follow what the site shows now.