How to Apply to Life Sciences and Pre-Health Study at Carleton College: Biology Is the Only Major, Biochemistry and Neuroscience Are Minors, No Nursing Degree, You Apply Without Choosing a Major, and the Path for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants
Carleton College is a liberal arts college in Minnesota. In the life sciences it offers a Biology major (75 credits); Biochemistry and Neuroscience are minors only, and there is no nursing degree. Pre-health advising is a separate office. You do not choose a major on the application. Fall Early Decision closes 15 November, Winter Early Decision and Regular Decision 15 January, there is no application fee, and SAT/ACT is permanently optional. 2026-27 tuition is $75,186.
Carleton College is an undergraduate-only liberal arts college in Northfield, Minnesota. Its life-science degrees are concentrated: Biology is a major, while Biochemistry and Neuroscience are minors only. There is no pre-med major in the United States; Carleton’s Pre-Health office, part of the Provost’s office, helps students planning medicine and other health careers. This guide summarises Carleton’s published information for fall 2027 entry for U.S. applicants, international applicants and applicants from China, followed by transfer students. Most dates on Carleton’s pages carry no year; check that they refer to the cycle for fall 2027 entry.
1. Relevant undergraduate programs
- Biology major: the department page says a major is offered, with courses from biochemical and molecular levels through cells, organisms and populations to ecosystems. The major is 75 credits.
- Biochemistry: the program page says plainly that only a minor is offered, not a major, with faculty from both Biology and Chemistry.
- Neuroscience: a minor only, built from biology and psychology courses, with electives from linguistics, philosophy, computer science and music as well.
- Other fields: the Pre-Health “areas” page lists medicine, nursing, dentistry, public health, physician associates/assistants, veterinary medicine, pharmacy and physical therapy. The pages I read show no undergraduate major in health science, nutrition, kinesiology or biomedical engineering; whether any exists is not published there, so ask admissions.
- Nursing: the Pre-Health nursing page states that Carleton does not offer a nursing degree; each year 2 to 5 students and alumni go on to nursing programs, and the page describes post-graduation direct-entry accelerated BSN or MSN routes.
- Whether these programs are STEM-designated, and whether any combined bachelor’s/medical-degree program exists, is not stated on the pages I read; ask admissions.
2. Admission: apply to the college, choose a field later
- Applying: the admissions pages I read ask for the common application materials and do not ask you to pick a major; there is no separate application or cap for a restricted major.
- When you declare a major: not stated on the Biology or admissions pages I read; ask the Registrar’s Office (its page lists major declaration among its services) or the department.
- Entry conditions for Biology: no GPA threshold or cap is stated. The one hard condition stated is that majors must complete both introductory courses, BIOL 125 and BIOL 126, with C- or better before taking any other department course.
- Major structure (75 credits): core courses 12 credits (BIOL 125, BIOL 126 with labs); laboratory courses, at least 18 credits, one from each of three groups (molecular and cell biology, organismic biology, ecology and evolutionary biology); three electives (at least 18 credits), including at least one general elective and one seminar emphasizing data interpretation and primary literature; other STEM courses, 18 credits, including physics (or statistics STAT 120, or computer science CS 111), an introductory chemistry course and an upper-level chemistry course; BIOL 399 Critical Reading and Analysis of Primary Literature (3 credits); and the senior integrative exercise BIOL 400 (3 credits over two terms).
- Chemistry: CHEM 123 or 124 (or 128, not offered in 2026-27) and then CHEM 224 or CHEM 233 (Organic Chemistry I).
- Other rules: a lab section must be taken with its lecture to count; courses at other schools need prior approval from the chair and Biology faculty; up to six credits of off-campus biology coursework can count as one upper-level elective; six credits of BIOL 394 research can count as one elective; for early graduation the integrative exercise must be finished by March and the student must have attended 10 biology seminars.
- Neuroscience minor: 47 credits; the core includes BIOL 125, NEUR 127, NEUR 238 with lab and the capstone seminar NEUR 395, plus 24 elective credits with at least 6 each in biology, psychology and 300-level courses.
- Switching in: because you are not admitted to a major, there is no internal-transfer step; you follow the course sequence above after enrolling.
3. Pre-med: what the Pre-Health office says
- The Pre-Health Program has one advisor, who urges students to meet her early in their time at Carleton. The student-led Carleton Pre-Health Association offers volunteering and talks with physicians and medical students.
- The overview page says that each year about 50 students and alumni apply to medical school, 2–3 to dental school, 0–2 to veterinary school, and a few more to programs such as public health, physical therapy and nursing.
- Medical school statistics (the college’s own figures): the medicine page says Carleton supports all students and alumni who decide to apply, regardless of GPA and MCAT; the acceptance rate over the past five years is 82%, about 77% of those accepted on the first try; for applicants with GPA 3.5 or higher and an MCAT at or above the 79th percentile (30 on the old MCAT, 508 on the new), 90%. The page gives the national average as 40–45%. These are the college’s statistics; see the page for how they are counted.
- Prerequisite courses: the Pre-Health pages I read do not list required courses; this is not published there, so ask the advisor. The Biology major’s chemistry and biology sequence is described above.
- Whether the office has separate guidance for international students, and any limits on applying to U.S. medical schools: not stated on the pages I read; contact the office.
- Combined bachelor’s/MD programs: not stated on the pages I read.
4. High school preparation
- The admissions criteria page says the strongest candidates typically have four years of English, four of mathematics, three or more of science, three or more of social science and three or more of a foreign or classical language; the stated minimum is three or more years of English with an emphasis on writing, three or more of mathematics including precalculus, two of social science, one year of a laboratory science and two or more of a foreign or classical language. It adds that an applicant of unusual ability who has not taken all of these may still be admitted. No separate life-science requirements are stated.
- AP / IB and Biology: the department says AP Biology 5 or IB Biology 6 or 7 exempts you from BIOL 125; you then take only BIOL 126 before upper-level courses, though many take 125 anyway. The pages I read do not say whether AP earns credit; not published there.
- Prerequisite for BIOL 126: CHEM 123, 124 or 128, or AP Chemistry 4 or 5, or IB Chemistry 5, 6 or 7. Before registering for CHEM 123 or 128 you take the online placement exam on the Chemistry department’s website. The catalog’s prerequisite lines also say a Cambridge A-Level Biology Test 1 with grade B or better can stand in for BIOL 125, and A-Level Chemistry with grade B or better can meet the CHEM 123 requirement.
- First year: BIOL 125 and 126 are sophomore-priority courses; the department strongly encourages starting with chemistry or math in the first year, and says not to worry if you cannot get a chemistry or biology course in the first term. The two courses can be taken in either order.
- Math placement and physics sequencing: the Biology requirements list physics as “two five-week courses or one ten-week course from 131–165”; nothing more detailed is stated.
5. Rounds, deadlines and materials
- Fall Early Decision (binding): 15 November; notification by 15 December; confirm enrollment by 15 January.
- Winter Early Decision (binding): 15 January; notification by 15 February; confirm by 1 March.
- Regular Decision: 15 January; notification by 1 April; confirm by 1 May.
- QuestBridge: late September, notification by 1 December.
- Platforms: Common Application, QuestBridge or Coalition Application, all treated equally. There is no application fee.
- Materials: transcript (first three years of grades, the senior-year schedule, and first-term senior grades), a counselor recommendation (School Report) and two academic teacher recommendations; TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo if your primary language of instruction is not English. Interviews are optional.
- Testing: since 2025 the SAT/ACT is permanently optional, the writing section is not required, and scores may be self-reported, with official reports required on enrolling. The site contradicts itself on score deadlines: the materials page says 20 November (Fall ED) and 20 January (Winter ED and Regular), while the criteria page says 1 February (ED 2) and 1 March (Regular). Check the latest.
- Essay: the pages I read do not list Carleton’s supplement prompts; see Carleton’s section of the common application. Admissions also has an essay-tips page.
6. U.S. applicants
- Cost: Carleton is private, and its cost page lists one rate with no in-state tuition. 2026-27: tuition $75,186, housing $10,194, food $9,120, student activity fee $480, comprehensive fee $94,980; books and personal about $2,040, travel average $850, total cost of attendance $97,870; health insurance $2,355 extra (can be waived). No extra fee for biology or health-related study appears on the pages I read.
- Aid: Carleton says it meets 100% of demonstrated need without loans. The cost page says that beginning in 2027-28 all federal and institutional loans in need-based packages are replaced with grants and scholarships, while the admissions page already says “without loans”. In 2025–26 aided families paid an average of $21,763; the average need-based package was $71,866; 57% of students receive need-based aid.
- Testing and in-state preference: testing is optional; any preference for Minnesota residents is not stated on the pages I read.
- Research and placements: Biology faculty run research projects with students; during the term you can enroll in BIOL 394 for credit and summer research is described, although some faculty pages say they are not currently taking lab students. Students can receive up to $5,350 a year for an internship or research opportunity. Clinical placements are not described on the pages I read.
7. International applicants
- Who counts: applicants without U.S. citizenship, permanent residency or DACA status, wherever they live. Submit the same materials as everyone else plus the Certification of Finances, whether or not you apply for aid.
- Translation: documents not issued in English need an English translation; applicants may not translate their own. EducationUSA can help find an official translator.
- English: if you do not speak English at home and your classes were not taught in English for the last four years, submit TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo. Carleton says students in these ranges are best prepared: TOEFL iBT 5.5 and above (100 and above before 2026), IELTS 7.0 and above, Duolingo 130 and above.
- Aid: Carleton meets 100% of demonstrated need; submit either the free International Student Application for Financial Assistance or the 2027–28 CSS Profile. Funding for international students is limited, and a new or revised aid application is not considered after an offer of admission. Early Decision awards very few international scholarships.
- Interviews: not required; you may register for one if you visit Minnesota, some regions have alumni representatives, and InitialView or Vericant interviews can be sent.
- Any limits on international students in lab or clinical-related placements: not stated on the pages I read.
- Estimated cost for international students: the page gives $104,746 for 2026–27 (tuition, housing, food, fees, plus books, personal expenses, travel, health insurance and break expenses) and says to expect increases of 4–5% a year.
8. Applicants from China
- The Carleton pages I read have no separate section for applicants from China and do not say whether Gaokao scores are considered or how to submit national exam materials; this is not published there, so contact admissions (admissions@carleton.edu, 507-222-4190).
- The international rules above apply: English scores, the Certification of Finances and official translations; the transcript should cover the first three years, the senior-year schedule and first-term senior grades.
- Carleton gives no separate math and science expectations for the Chinese curriculum; follow section 4 and confirm with admissions.
9. Transfer
- Timing: fall entry only; 31 March deadline, decisions by 15 May, enroll by 1 June; no application fee. Apply through the Common Application or Coalition Application for transfer students.
- Materials: a report from the registrar or school official confirming good standing, high school and college transcripts, two teacher recommendations; testing optional; English proficiency scores if English is not your primary language.
- Credit: credit is generally awarded for coursework with grades of C- or higher from regionally accredited institutions; general credit is given first and departments decide course equivalency; at most 102 credits (18 Carleton courses) may be brought in. Transcripts from foreign colleges must go to a National Association of Credential Evaluation Services (NACES) member for a course-by-course evaluation. To graduate you must spend at least two years in residence, including your senior year.
- Course requirements for transferring into the Biology major (chemistry, biology and calculus sequence): not stated on the pages I read; ask the department.
Checklist
U.S. applicants:
- Fall ED 15 November, Winter ED or Regular Decision 15 January; no application fee; testing optional
- Two academic teacher recommendations; at least one year of lab science and math through precalculus in high school; BIOL 125/126 and the chemistry sequence after enrolling
International applicants (including China):
- Typical English ranges: TOEFL 5.5, IELTS 7.0, Duolingo 130; submit the Certification of Finances; request aid before you are admitted
- Use official translations for non-English documents; confirm with admissions how the Gaokao is used
Transfer students:
- 31 March deadline; C- or better transfers, up to 102 credits; at least two years in residence
Sources: Carleton College, Biology: home and first-year information; Biology: major, minors and programs; Biology: major requirements; Biology: student-faculty research; Catalog: Biology; Biochemistry; Neuroscience; Catalog: Neuroscience minor; Pre-Health Program; Pre-Health: overview; Pre-Health: medicine; Pre-Health: nursing; Admissions: applying; Admissions: materials and deadlines; Admissions: criteria; Admissions: international students; Admissions: transfer; Admissions: cost and aid; Financial Aid: cost of attendance. Information is for fall 2027 entry (costs are 2026-27 figures); check Carleton’s website for the latest.