Home / Admissions / US Applications / How to Apply to Life Sciences and Pre-Health Study at Colorado College: The Block Plan Where You Take One Course at a Time, Majors in Molecular Biology and Neuroscience, No Application Fee, Optional Testing, No Nursing Major in the Pages We Read, and the Path for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants

How to Apply to Life Sciences and Pre-Health Study at Colorado College: The Block Plan Where You Take One Course at a Time, Majors in Molecular Biology and Neuroscience, No Application Fee, Optional Testing, No Nursing Major in the Pages We Read, and the Path for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants

2026-10-25 · Application guides

Colorado College is a liberal arts college in Colorado Springs on the Block Plan: one course at a time in 3.5-week blocks. Life-science majors include Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Organismal Biology and Ecology, and Chemistry and Biochemistry; Human Biology and Kinesiology is listed as a minor only, and the pages we read show no nursing major. You apply to the college, there is no application fee and testing is optional. ED I and EA close 1 November; ED II and Regular Action close 15 January. The estimated 2026-27 total is $97,990.

Colorado College (CC) is a liberal arts college in Colorado Springs, Colorado, best known for the Block Plan: students take one course at a time in blocks of about 3.5 weeks, eight blocks a year. The admission site describes classes of fifteen students, and the OBE page says the college limits class size to 25. There is no pre-med major in the United States; at CC pre-health advising sits in the Advising Hub. This guide summarises CC’s published information for fall 2027 entry for U.S. applicants, international applicants and applicants from China, followed by transfer students. The pages we read show no nursing major.

1. Relevant undergraduate majors

  • The college’s majors and minors list shows these life-science-related majors: Molecular Biology (also a minor), Neuroscience, Organismal Biology and Ecology (OBE) and Chemistry and Biochemistry (also a minor); there are also Psychology and Environmental Studies and Science.
  • Human Biology and Kinesiology (HBK) appears only as a minor; the department describes a five-course minor covering anatomy, nutrition, biomechanics and physiology. There is also a thematic minor in Global Health.
  • The Molecular Biology department says majors will be prepared to enter graduate programs in research or healthcare.
  • Degree title (BA or BS) and STEM designation are not stated on the pages we read; ask admission (admission@coloradocollege.edu).
  • There is no nursing major. Whether any combined bachelor’s/medical-degree program exists is not stated on the pages we read.
  • The Chemistry and Biochemistry major requirements are in the course catalog system hosted by Coursedog, which we did not access; the department page we read only lists a “Major-Minor Requirements” entry. See the department page.

2. Admission: apply to the college, declare a major later

  • Applying: you apply to the college. The admission pages we read do not say whether you name an intended major or whether life-science majors have their own standard; ask the admission office.
  • Declaring: the Molecular Biology advising handbook suggests that in sophomore year you find a Molecular Biology advisor and declare through the Registrar’s Office; to declare the major or minor, contact the chair or the department paraprofessional. Declaration timing for other departments is not stated on the pages we read.
  • Entry conditions: the Molecular Biology, Neuroscience and Chemistry pages we read state no GPA threshold or cap; ask the departments.
  • Molecular Biology major (advising handbook updated 3 October 2026): no single one-block course can satisfy more than one requirement. It requires one unit of organismal biology (BE105 plants, BE106 animals, BE107 microbes or HK204 human anatomy); MB131 Intro to Molecular and Cellular Biology; MB201 Laboratory in Molecular and Cellular Biology and Genetics; MB231 Genetics; one 300-level and one 400-level MB lecture/discussion elective; two 300- or 400-level lab-rich electives (mentored research can count); one biology elective; the capstone MB497; four units of chemistry (CH107 or CH117, CH108, CH250, CH251); and two units of mathematics, computer science or physics (which AP or IB credit can satisfy). The handbook speaks of a 16-unit major.
  • Capstone (Molecular Biology): pass MB497, attend department seminars (seniors attend four), attend Molecular Biology Day and take part in departmental assessment. Students who wish to do a thesis can register for MB499. At most two units of mentored research count toward the major.
  • Neuroscience major (the department’s requirements PDF): core courses PY197 Principles of Neuroscience and PY297 Systems Neuroscience, plus one of PY298 Advanced Neuroanatomy, PY300 Hormones and Behavior or PY300 Computational Neuroscience; MB131; CH107 and CH108; Introduction to Psychology (PY100, PY105, or AP 4/5 or IB HL 5–7); two methods units (PY205 plus one of PY301–309); one math or computer science unit (MA120, MA125, MA126, CP115 or CP116); three elective units from chemistry, human biology and kinesiology, molecular biology, mathematics, physics and psychology; two seminar units; a research presentation; and a research or internship experience. The program director is Lori Driscoll; the program is based in the Barnes Science Center with the Psychology Department as its mailing address.
  • Organismal Biology and Ecology: the department describes lab and field courses (including trips around Pikes Peak and block-long field courses to Belize) and says students can receive credit for as many as two mentored research blocks. Its major requirements were not read; not published on the pages we read.

3. Pre-med: what the health professions office says

  • Health professions advising is in the Advising Hub, led by Pre-Health Manager Jane Byrnes. The page encourages students to meet the Hub early, and notes that students also take an interest in dentistry, physician assistant programs, physical therapy and veterinary medicine.
  • Medical, dental, veterinary, optometry, pharmacy and similar programs (course requirements page, last updated February 2025; check for newer versions): Biology, three courses: one of BE105, BE106 or BE107, plus MB131 and MB201. Chemistry, five courses: CH107, CH108, CH250, CH251 and CH382. Physics, two courses: PC141 and PC142, or PC241 and PC242. Math, two courses from MA117, MA125, MA126 or MA129. English, two courses (one writing-intensive, one literature). Highly recommended: Psychology PY100, Genetics MB231, Anatomy HK204 and Human Physiology HK321.
  • PA, PT and nursing programs: three biology courses (BE107, MB131 and MB201); two to four chemistry courses (organic chemistry is not required for PT); two physics courses (PT only); statistics MA117 and calculus MA126 or MA129; psychology PY100; anatomy HK204 and physiology HK321; biochemistry CH382 (nursing and PA) and genetics MB231 are highly recommended.
  • The page warns that requirements vary by program, so check each school; veterinary schools may emphasize a science major; many medical schools look favorably on applicants who wait a year or more.
  • The page says the Career Center offers Princeton Review MCAT and GRE test prep each year during Dynamic Half Block.
  • Committee letters, medical-school admission statistics and any limits for international students applying to U.S. medical schools are not stated on the pages we read; email jane.byrnes@coloradocollege.edu.

4. High school preparation

  • Admission: the first-year FAQ says CC has no minimum GPA and no specific required minimum number of courses or subjects; successful applicants typically take the most rigorous curriculum available to them. The pages we read do not list required high school math, chemistry or physics for life-science majors.
  • First two years: the Molecular Biology handbook suggests the first year be the math placement exam, then CH107 (or CH117), MB131, MB201 and CH108; students who did not take calculus in high school are advised to take calculus or statistics before any chemistry or molecular biology course.
  • AP / IB / A-Level credit (Registrar): AP Biology 4 or 5 earns 1 unit each (placement per the department); AP Chemistry 5 earns 2 units and places out of CH107 and CH108, a 4 earns 1 unit and places out of CH107; AP Calculus AB 3–5 earns 1 unit and places into MA129 (Calculus 2), BC 5 earns 2 units and BC 3–4 earns 1 unit; IB Higher Level 5–7 earns 2 units and a 4 earns 1 unit, Standard Level 5–7 earns 1 unit; A-Levels earn 1 unit for each passing grade (A–E). One unit equals one block. The Chemistry Department’s AP/IB table agrees and adds that IB Standard Level 5–7 places out of CH107; students with strong high school chemistry but no AP/IB can try a 110-minute placement exam.
  • Molecular Biology handbook: AP Biology 4/5 or IB HL Biology 5 meets the organismal-biology requirement; IB HL 6 meets MB131 or organismal biology; IB HL 7 meets both; students request this in Stellic for approval by the chair. The Neuroscience requirements accept AP 4/5 or IB HL 5–7 for Introduction to Psychology.
  • Registrar: new first-year students may apply at most 8 units of transfer, AP and IB credit to degree requirements; graduation requires 32 units.

5. Rounds, deadlines and materials

  • Early Decision I (binding): 1 November; decisions in mid-December.
  • Early Action (non-binding): 1 November; decisions in mid-January (the international page says early January); reply by 1 May.
  • Early Decision II (binding): 15 January; decisions in mid-February.
  • Regular Action (non-binding): 15 January; the first-year page says decisions in early March, while the main apply page and the international page say mid-March; reply by 1 May.
  • The pages do not print a year; check that the dates are for the fall 2027 entry cycle.
  • Application fee: none.
  • Platforms: Common App, Coalition with Scoir or QuestBridge.
  • Materials: transcripts and school report, one core-subject teacher recommendation (preferably from junior or senior year), a counselor recommendation (two teacher recommendations if a counselor letter is unavailable), and the Early Decision agreement if applying ED. Optional: a supplemental essay (up to 300 words), a 30-minute virtual informational interview with an admission ambassador (not evaluative), an arts supplement and more recommendations. If you apply for aid, the FAFSA, CSS Profile and other documents must arrive by your chosen deadline or the application is not complete.
  • Testing: SAT/ACT optional (since 2019); scores are considered only if they strengthen the application, and most enrolled students did not submit them.

6. U.S. applicants

  • Cost: CC is private and lists one tuition with no in-state rate. 2026-27: tuition $75,702, student activity fee $528, housing (double room) $9,616, meal plan $7,744, together $93,590 in fixed direct charges; allowances for books $1,240, miscellaneous $1,800, transportation $1,230 ($1,500 for international students) and loan fees $63 and $67 bring the estimated total to $97,990; health insurance $5,316 is extra and, if required, brings the total to $103,306. No extra fee for life-science majors appears on the pages we read; the Chemistry Department page has an “Additional Lab Expenses” entry we did not expand, so it is not stated here.
  • Aid: CC meets 100% of demonstrated need; it reports an average first-year aid package of about $58,000 and more than $70 million in aid each year.
  • Merit: the cost page says every applicant is considered for a $15,000 merit scholarship; the scholarships page describes the Leadership Scholarship as $60,000 over four years ($15,000 a year), awarded automatically to those who apply through Common App, Coalition or QuestBridge. Separate applications are needed for the Barnes (for outstanding students in math and sciences), El Pomar and WES scholarships; the OBE page calls the Barnes natural sciences and mathematics award a full-tuition scholarship, so check the amount and terms on the official site.
  • Four Corners Pledge: for students from Colorado, New Mexico, Utah and Arizona: family income under $60,000, no parental contribution toward tuition, housing and meals; $60,000–$125,000, no parental contribution toward tuition; $125,000–$250,000, a parental contribution of up to $40,346 a year.
  • Research: Molecular Biology offers mentored research courses (MB399, MB397, MB498); the Neuroscience page lists several research labs; the OBE page says students can earn credit for up to two mentored research blocks. Numbers of placements are not published.

7. International applicants

  • Profile: more than 100 international students from over 40 countries.
  • Who counts as international: non-U.S. citizens seeking an F-1 or other visa apply as international students; dual citizens, permanent residents, DACA and undocumented students, and U.S. citizens living abroad apply as domestic students. The platforms and deadlines are the same.
  • Materials: transcripts covering coursework through the end of the penultimate year (mid-year and final grades later); non-English transcripts translated by a certified translator; school report; counselor recommendation (two teacher letters if unavailable); one teacher recommendation.
  • English: required if your native language is not English or your school is not English-medium: TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo sent by the testing agency (TOEFL code 4072). CC says students at or above TOEFL 5.0 (100 on the old scale), IELTS 7.0 or Duolingo 130 are best prepared; it states no minimum. A waiver can be requested by email after applying; an InitialView or Vericant interview supplements but cannot replace a test. CC does not offer fee waivers for English exams.
  • Aid: you must apply for aid when you apply; answering “no” cannot be changed for two years. CC says international applicants seeking aid are its most competitive group and it can fully fund only a handful. Submit the CSS Profile (fee waivers only for UWC students) or CC’s own ISFAA.
  • Visa: International Student & Scholar Services (isss@coloradocollege.edu) supports visa applications and runs an International Student Orientation before New Student Orientation.
  • Any limits on international students in lab or clinical placements: not stated on the pages we read.

8. Applicants from China

  • The CC pages we read have no China-specific or Gaokao note. Not published on the pages we read: whether the Gaokao is considered, what school-leaving exam materials are needed and how Chinese transcripts are handled. Ask the admission office (admission@coloradocollege.edu) or your regional counselor.
  • General rules: non-English transcripts need a certified translation; English requirements are above.
  • CC gives no separate math and science expectations for the Chinese curriculum; follow section 4 and confirm with admission.

9. Transfer

  • Deadlines: spring entry 15 October, decisions in early December; fall entry 1 March for Early Action and Pathways and 1 May for Regular Action, with rolling decisions. No year is printed; check it.
  • Materials: Transfer Common App only; official high school and college transcripts; course descriptions; College Official’s Report; two academic evaluations (CC strongly prefers both from college professors; the second may come from a high school teacher, counselor, supervisor or others); aid applications (FAFSA and CSS Profile) due with the admission application; testing optional; no application fee.
  • Credit: up to 16 units; grades of C- or better; from a regionally accredited institution; courses must be substantially similar to CC courses. CC cautions that not all credits may count toward a major, and that finishing within 16 blocks is not guaranteed.
  • Into Molecular Biology: all transfer credits toward the major must be approved by the department; a year of college introductory biology typically covers MB131 and the organismal biology requirement, but still needs approval; the petition needs course numbers, credit hours, official descriptions, prerequisites, textbook or syllabus and the MB courses you want them to satisfy. The Chemistry Department also has an “AP/IB and transfer credit” entry, of which we read only the AP/IB part.
  • Pathways: associate-degree graduates of Pikes Peak State College with a cumulative GPA of 3.3 or higher may be considered; eligibility does not guarantee admission.

Checklist

U.S. applicants:

  • ED I and EA 1 November; ED II and Regular Action 15 January; no application fee; testing optional
  • Pre-health courses per the Hub: 3 biology, 5 chemistry (including organic and biochemistry), 2 physics, 2 math, 2 English; book the Pre-Health Manager early

International applicants (including China):

  • English levels described as best prepared: TOEFL 5.0 (new scale), IELTS 7.0, Duolingo 130
  • Request aid on the application itself; confirm how the Gaokao is treated with admission

Transfer students:

  • Spring 15 October; up to 16 units; credits toward Molecular Biology need department approval

Sources: Colorado College, Majors and minors; Molecular Biology; Molecular Biology: major and minor requirements; Molecular Biology advising handbook; Molecular Biology advising handbook (3 Oct 2026 PDF); Neuroscience; Neuroscience major requirements (PDF); Organismal Biology and Ecology; Chemistry and Biochemistry; Chemistry: AP/IB and transfer credit; Human Biology and Kinesiology; Health professions advising; Health professions: course requirements; Registrar: transfer, AP and IB credit; Admission: applying; Admission: first-year; Admission: international; Admission: transfer; Admission: cost and aid; Admission: scholarships; Student Financial Services: 2026-27 cost. Information is for fall 2027 entry (costs are 2026-27 figures). Check Colorado College for the latest details.

Related articles