Home / Admissions / US Applications / How to Apply to Life Sciences and Pre-Med Study at Stevens Institute of Technology: BS in Biology and Chemical Biology, Seven-Year BS/MD and BS/DO Accelerated Pre-Medicine Pathways, Biomedical Engineering Only Mentioned, and the Path for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants

How to Apply to Life Sciences and Pre-Med Study at Stevens Institute of Technology: BS in Biology and Chemical Biology, Seven-Year BS/MD and BS/DO Accelerated Pre-Medicine Pathways, Biomedical Engineering Only Mentioned, and the Path for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants

2026-10-25 · Application guides

Stevens’ life-science majors sit in the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology of the Schaefer School of Engineering and Science: Biology (BS), Chemical Biology (BS) and Accelerated Chemical Biology, which has 3+4 pathways to an MD at Rutgers New Jersey Medical School or a DO at Rowan-Virtua (seven years). Biomedical Engineering is a Bachelor of Engineering. The pages we read do not say whether regular applicants must choose a major on the application, or give a GPA threshold for entering a major. For fall 2027, Early Decision I closes 15 November, Regular Decision 5 January, and the accelerated pre-medicine program 1 November (test scores required there, optional elsewhere). The 2026-27 on-campus cost of attendance is $91,294.

Stevens Institute of Technology is in Hoboken, New Jersey. Its life-science and health-related majors are mainly in the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology of the Charles V. Schaefer, Jr. School of Engineering and Science. There is no pre-med major in the United States: Stevens’ own pre-health FAQ says you can choose any major and still apply to medical school if you complete the math and science prerequisites. This guide summarises Stevens’ published information for fall 2027 entry for U.S. applicants, international applicants and applicants from China, followed by transfer students. Stevens’ course catalog is hosted on a third-party site that we did not visit, so for required-course lists see the official catalog and study plans.

1. Relevant undergraduate majors

  • The Schaefer School’s Bachelor of Science list includes Biology, Chemical Biology and Accelerated Chemical Biology, together with Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics and an “Undecided” option. The three biology-related programs are in the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, are Bachelor of Science degrees and are taught on campus.
  • Biology: Stevens says coursework covers microbiology, molecular genetics, physiology and immunology, with opportunities to research cancer, drug discovery, medicinal chemistry and antimicrobials with faculty, and a senior research capstone (listed on the program pages). Through the Accelerated Master’s Program you can earn a bachelor’s and master’s degree in five years.
  • Chemical Biology: Stevens says it was established in 1978 as the first undergraduate program of its kind, combining a full chemistry education with cellular, molecular and physiological biology, and that it satisfies admission requirements for medical, dental and other health professional schools. It can be certified by the American Chemical Society if CH 412 Inorganic Chemistry is taken as an elective.
  • Accelerated Chemical Biology: the 3+4 medical pathways in section 3.
  • STEM: the department FAQ says a biology major is categorized as a STEM major. Whether Chemical Biology carries its own STEM designation is not stated on the pages we read.
  • The site contradicts itself: the pre-med part of the same department FAQ says Stevens “does not offer degrees in Bioengineering or Biological Science”, while the same page and the program page present the BS in Biology. Both statements are on the site; check the latest and ask admissions if needed.
  • Biomedical Engineering (mentioned only): a Bachelor of Engineering in the Schaefer School with concentrations in Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering, Biomechanical Rehabilitation, and Neuroengineering and Biomedical Imaging. The department FAQ says it offers a dedicated track for students applying to medical school. See our Stevens engineering guide.
  • Others: the school lists a Biology minor and a Chemical Biology minor. Nursing, public health, nutrition and kinesiology are not in the Schaefer School program lists we read.

2. Admission: whether you choose a major when applying, and entry conditions, are not stated

  • Applying: through the Common App or the Coalition App with Scoir; the accelerated pre-medicine program is the exception (section 3). The admissions pages we read do not say whether regular applicants must name a major on the application; the Bachelor of Science list has an “Undecided” option, and when an undecided student must choose is not stated. Ask admissions.
  • Entry conditions: the Biology and Chemical Biology pages state no GPA threshold or cap on places.
  • Changing major internally: not stated on the pages we read.
  • Required-course sequence: the program pages link to the course catalog (third party, not visited) and to Sample Study Plans (PDFs, not read), so this guide does not list first- and second-year courses. The pre-health office’s recommended courses are in section 3.

3. Pre-med: the pre-health office, and the 3+4 BS/MD and BS/DO pathways

The Pre-Health Advisory Program is open to students in any major and can be added or removed at any time.

  • Stevens says it consists of the Director of Pre-Health Advising and the Health Professions Advisory Committee (HPAC), and serves current students and alumni heading to medical (MD and DO), dental, physical therapy, veterinary, optometry, physician assistant, chiropractic, podiatry and pharmacy schools.
  • It offers workshops, shadowing programs, alumni panels, research, volunteer opportunities, bootcamps, personal statement and resume support and mock interviews, and helps students build a four-year plan with the pre-health requirements. In the year of application, HPAC holds a Counseling, Advising and Planning Session and writes a committee letter for the application.
  • Common majors it names include Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Chemical Biology, Chemical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Business and Technology.
  • Recommended courses (pre-health page; M means normally required by U.S. medical schools, D by U.S. dental schools): chemistry 16 credits (General Chemistry I and II with labs, Organic Chemistry I and II with labs; M, D); biology 11 credits (BIO 181 Biology and Biotechnology, BIO 290/292 Cell and Molecular Biology with lab, BIO 382 Biological Systems, or BME 502 Engineering Physiology with BME 512 lab; M, D); physics 8 credits (M, D); mathematics 8 credits (calculus; M, D; students without high school calculus can take 6 credits of calculus plus one statistics course); humanities 8 credits; biochemistry 3 credits (M, D); psychology, sociology, statistics and bioethics 3 credits each; microbiology 4 credits (D). BIO 181 is a prerequisite for BIO 290/292 and BIO 382, and “students can skip with appropriate AP scores”.
  • The page adds a warning: most U.S. medical and dental schools will not accept high school AP courses, courses taken abroad or community college courses to satisfy basic chemistry, biology, physics, math and English requirements; check with each school. The pre-med FAQ says most pre-med students take biochemistry in the fall of junior year and the entrance exam that winter.

Accelerated Pre-Medicine (Accelerated Chemical Biology):

  • Two 3+4 pathways: BS/MD (BS at Stevens, MD at Rutgers New Jersey Medical School) and BS/DO (BS at Stevens, DO at Rowan-Virtua School of Osteopathic Medicine, a new pathway beginning in the 2027–2028 academic year). Seven years in total: in the first year you take the same courses as science majors, and you enter medical school at the start of the fourth year, with first-year medical credits transferring back to complete the BS.
  • The program page also lists a Rowan-Virtua BS/DO 4+4 pathway (eight years) for current Stevens students majoring in Chemical Biology or an approved pre-health pathway.
  • Requirements (program page): a Regular Decision application with an earlier deadline of 1 November, with all materials due that day; four years of English, four years of mathematics (one each of algebra, geometry, pre-calculus and calculus) and three years of science (one each of biology, chemistry, physics), with AP Biology and AP Chemistry recommended; rank in the top 10% of the class; a combined SAT of 1400 (reading and math) or an ACT composite of 32 (with the science section) in one sitting, completed before 1 November and sent by the testing agency; an essay on why you want to be a doctor; an interview (not guaranteed to everyone); and a resume listing shadowing, volunteering or medical research. How class rank is handled for schools that do not rank is not stated on the pages we read.
  • Decisions: both the Stevens and the medical program decisions come no later than 1 April.
  • International students: Stevens says Rutgers New Jersey Medical School requires U.S. citizenship or permanent residency, and that international students in the process of obtaining either “may be eligible for consideration”. Rowan-Virtua’s rule for international students is not stated on the pages we read.

The Biology program page also says that in the Stevens Careers Report 2025, 81% of graduates were accepted to graduate, medical or dental school (a department-wide figure whose basis the page does not explain); it is given for information only.

4. High school preparation

  • The first-year page sets requirements by category. “Engineering, Computer Science and the Applied Sciences”: four years of English; four years of mathematics (one each of algebra, geometry, pre-calculus and calculus); three years of lab science (biology, chemistry and physics). The pages we read do not say which category Biology and Chemical Biology fall under; ask admissions.
  • Applicants planning a secondary concentration in math or science should have more extensive preparation in high school math and lab science.
  • The pre-health page says students without high school calculus can take calculus at Stevens. Math and chemistry placement levels and an AP/IB credit chart for first-year students are not stated on the pages we read.
  • The accelerated pre-medicine requirements are in section 3.

5. Rounds, deadlines and materials

  • The timeline table does not print a year; check the dates for fall 2027 entry. Early Decision I (binding): applications close 15 November, decisions by 15 December, deposit by 10 January. Early Action (non-binding): 1 December, decisions by 1 February, deposit by 1 May. Early Decision II (binding): 5 January, decisions by 15 February, deposit by 1 March. Regular Decision: 5 January, decisions by 1 April, deposit by 1 May. CSS Profile and FAFSA are due on the same date as the application for each round (15 December for Early Action).
  • Accelerated Pre-Medicine: 1 November; CSS Profile and FAFSA 5 January; decision by 1 April; deposit 1 May.
  • Materials: Common App or Coalition application; official high school transcript (sent electronically by the school or by email; student-submitted copies are not official); essay; two recommendations (teacher or counselor preferred); $75 application fee. An interview is optional for all. Need-based aid requires the CSS Profile (code 2819) and the FAFSA (code 002639).
  • Testing: the first-year page says SAT/ACT are optional through fall 2029 entry; the international students page says the policy runs through fall 2026 entry. The two disagree, so check the latest. The accelerated pre-medicine program requires scores. Stevens says there is no minimum GPA or test score; successful applicants in recent classes had an average GPA of 3.8 (out of 4.0) and SAT scores of 1380 to 1505 (university-wide, not by major).

6. U.S. applicants

  • Cost: Stevens is private and its cost page lists one tuition with no in-state rate. 2026-27 on campus: tuition and fees $68,230, housing and meals $20,744, books and supplies $1,200, miscellaneous $1,050, loan fees $70, total $91,294; off campus $91,644 (including $350 transportation); commuting $73,320. No extra fee for biology-related majors appears on the pages we read.
  • The Stevens Investment: beginning with the class entering in fall 2026, first-time, first-year, full-time undergraduates who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents with family income of $75,000 or less and typical assets have tuition covered fully by grants and scholarships. It applies to all majors, requires living on campus in the first year, has no separate application (you must file the admission application, CSS Profile and FAFSA by the deadlines for your round), and Stevens says the criteria may change or the program may end.
  • Other aid: merit scholarships, need-based Stevens Grants and, for New Jersey residents, state grants; Stevens says more than 90% of students receive some financial support.
  • In-state preference: not stated on the pages we read.
  • Research and clinical experience: the Biology and Chemical Biology pages describe research-focused courses that place students in research groups, summer research with faculty in every Schaefer School department and an interdisciplinary undergraduate research program. The department page describes a month-long shadowing internship with Jersey City Medical Center’s obstetrics, gynecology and women’s health department, and volunteering at Hoboken University Medical Center. Numbers of places are not published.

7. International applicants

  • Materials: Common App, official high school transcript (with a certified translation if not in English), test scores, essay, two recommendations and the $75 fee. Stevens strongly recommends an interview (in person, by phone or by Zoom) and also considers InitialView interviews.
  • English: for non-native speakers, TOEFL (new-scale minimum 4; old-scale 80), IELTS 6.0 overall, Duolingo 105, PTE Academic 53 or SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 550. Students who have studied in the U.S. for at least three years can request a waiver after applying.
  • Financial documents: strongly recommended with the application. If you pay entirely from personal funds, a recent official bank statement is the only document; if a sponsor pays any part, you and the sponsor each complete the Financial Verification Form, uploaded with the bank statement.
  • Aid: international students are not eligible for federal aid; Stevens awards a limited number of merit scholarships, and the scholarship page mentions a Global Scholarship for exceptional academic achievement. To be considered you must file the CSS Profile. Award sizes are not stated. The Stevens Investment is for U.S. citizens and permanent residents only.
  • After admission: the I-20 for an F-1 visa comes from International Student and Scholar Services.
  • Limits on international students in lab, shadowing or clinical placements are not stated on the pages we read. For international applicants to the accelerated pre-medicine program, see section 3.

8. Applicants from China

  • Gaokao: Stevens does not explain on the pages we read how it uses the Gaokao, nor does it list requirements specific to applicants from China. Contact undergraduate admissions (+1 201-216-5194).
  • Transcripts and credential evaluation: high school transcripts must be in English (certified translation if not). The WES, ECE, TEC or other NACES credential evaluation requirement on the international page applies to non-U.S. college transcripts, i.e. transfer applicants. Whether high school records need an evaluation is not stated on the pages we read.
  • Curriculum expectations: Stevens gives no separate math and science expectations for the Chinese curriculum or for the Chinese high school exit exams; prepare for four years of math and three years of lab science as in section 4 and confirm with admissions.
  • The international page lists approved recruitment agencies (University Study Inc., Four Dozen (Vietnam), IDP Connect, GSM); none is China-specific.

9. Transfer

  • Deadlines: fall entry 15 June (decisions by 27 June; CSS Profile and FAFSA 14 February; deposit within four weeks of notification); spring entry 1 November (rolling through 15 December; deposit by 15 December). Apply through the Common App for transfer; $75 fee.
  • Materials: a Transfer Credit Evaluation Form and supporting documents uploaded to the portal; official transcripts sent by previous institutions; AP/IB scores sent by College Board; SAT/ACT optional; English proficiency scores if your first language is not English.
  • Credit: a syllabus is needed for each course; credits earned five or more years before attendance are reviewed case by case; the Stevens Transfer Database lists previously approved courses; evaluation usually takes two to three weeks after the documents are complete, and you may be admitted while it is still in progress.
  • International transfer students: non-U.S. college transcripts need an English translation and a WES, ECE, TEC or NACES credential evaluation, plus English syllabi; English proficiency by TOEFL 80, PTE 53 or three years of English-only instruction.
  • GPA and required chemistry, biology and calculus sequences for transferring into Biology or Chemical Biology are not stated on the pages we read. The accelerated pre-medicine program is for first-year applicants, and the 4+4 BS/DO pathway is for current Stevens students.

Checklist

U.S. applicants:

  • Early Decision I 15 November, Early Action 1 December, Early Decision II and Regular Decision 5 January (the page prints no year; verify); testing optional
  • If family income is $75,000 or less, check The Stevens Investment; for BS/MD or BS/DO, file everything by 1 November and submit SAT 1400 or ACT 32

International applicants (including China):

  • English: new-scale TOEFL 4, IELTS 6.0, Duolingo 105, PTE 53; an interview is recommended; prepare a bank statement
  • Read section 3 first: the Rutgers MD pathway requires citizenship or permanent residency; confirm with admissions how the Gaokao is used

Transfer students:

  • Fall 15 June, spring 1 November; keep a syllabus for every course; non-U.S. transcripts need a credential evaluation

Sources: Stevens Institute of Technology, Schaefer School undergraduate programs; BS in Biology; BS in Chemical Biology; Accelerated Chemical Biology (pre-med); Biomedical Engineering; Pre-Health Advisory Program; Accelerated pre-medicine programs; Chemistry and Chemical Biology undergraduate studies; Department FAQ; First-year applicants; Application plans; Admissions timeline; International students; Transfer application process; Transfer FAQs; Undergraduate costs; The Stevens Investment; Scholarships and aid. Information is for fall 2027 entry (costs are 2026-27 figures). Most of these pages do not print a year, so check Stevens’ website for the latest.

Related articles