How to Apply to the Nursing (BSN) Program at Clemson University: Direct Admission in the School of Nursing, Nursing Listed as First Choice with No Separate Application, a Clemson-Based and a Greenville-Based Cohort, and How Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants Are Admitted
Clemson’s Bachelor of Science in Nursing sits in the School of Nursing in the College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences and is a direct-admit program for first-year students: you list Nursing as your first-choice major on the regular Clemson application, with no separate nursing application and no later re-application to the upper-level courses. The site says space is limited, nursing is often one of the most competitive majors, and the target first-year class is about 175. Only ten transfer students are admitted each fall. The application fee is $70, SAT/ACT is optional, and the site says there are no scholarships for international undergraduates. This guide covers U.S., international (including Chinese) and transfer applicants, and says where the pages we read are silent.
Clemson University is a public university in South Carolina. Its undergraduate nursing program is the School of Nursing in the College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences. This guide covers only the Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN). It follows the official pages for fall 2027 entry and is split into U.S. applicants, international applicants and applicants from China, with a section on transfer students at the end. Clemson’s combined life-science and medicine guide is a separate article, so we do not repeat it here.
The key point: Clemson nursing is direct admission. The site says the Clemson application is also the application for a seat in nursing, so there is no separate nursing application, and students admitted to nursing as first-years do not re-apply to progress to the upper-level nursing courses. The site also says space is limited and nursing is often one of the most competitive majors for entry.
1. Degree and program
- Degree: B.S. in Nursing, an eight-semester program leading to a four-year degree. Students meet nursing in their first semester (NURS 1020 Nursing Success Skills), take mostly science and general education courses for two years, and then focus on nursing courses and clinical work. The site mentions research and service through Creative Inquiry, the honors program and interdisciplinary courses.
- Two clinical cohorts: because of clinical availability, students are split in the junior and senior years into a Clemson-based traditional cohort or a Greenville-based accelerated cohort (classes in the Clemson University Nursing building on the Greenville Memorial Medical Campus, clinical rotations at Prisma Health-Upstate campuses). Students state a preference during the first two years; the site says they are matched “whenever possible”, preference is not guaranteed, but all students are guaranteed a clinical space in the junior and senior years. Transportation is provided between the sites. The accelerated cohort takes three senior nursing courses (women’s health and developing families, pediatrics, mental health) in the summer after the junior year, so it can graduate in December, a semester early; both cohorts have eight semesters of coursework and tuition. The site says D1 athletes (including cheerleaders), Tiger band members, student government officers and ROTC scholarship recipients must be in the Clemson-based cohort.
- Expansion: the site says that with Prisma Health-Upstate the expansion has “more than doubled” enrollment in the traditional BSN, and that the target incoming freshman class is about 175.
- Other routes (one line): the site also lists an accelerated second-degree nursing option (for people who already hold a bachelor’s degree) and an online RN-to-BS completion track.
- Honors: Nursing Departmental Honors is usually completed in the junior and senior years; applications come from sophomore change-of-major students and students about to begin junior-level nursing, with mentored research.
- Accreditation and STEM: the baccalaureate, master’s and Doctor of Nursing Practice programs are accredited by CCNE. The pages we read do not say whether nursing is STEM-designated.
2. How you get into nursing, and the thresholds
- Freshmen: the site says admissions generally considers three criteria: high school class rank, high school GPA, and SAT or ACT scores. Clemson is test-optional overall, and the nursing FAQ says applicants need not submit a score and that the School does not require SAT subject tests, any other nursing test, or any licensure. The pages give no minimum GPA or test score for nursing. The university’s statistics page gives a 2025 first-year middle 50% of SAT 1250–1400 and ACT 28–32; that is university-wide, not nursing-specific.
- How to list it: put nursing as your first-choice major on the Clemson application. The college-preparation and international pages say you pick two intended majors (preferably two different ones), and if you are not admitted to the first choice the second is considered; as a public institution Clemson gives South Carolina residents priority.
- Entrance exam, interview, background check, medical requirements: the pages do not mention TEAS or HESI, and do not mention an interview. The 2026-27 undergraduate handbook lists requirements for clinical work: a valid American Heart Association BLS/CPR for Health Care Providers card; a criminal background check through SRandI (a letter of expungement or satisfaction for any violation or arrest on it); a urine drug screen paid by the student (refusal means dismissal from the School); immunization records, namely MMR (2 doses), hepatitis B (3), varicella (2 doses or a positive titer), a current Tdap, an annual flu shot due by 1 November, and annual tuberculosis screening (first a two-step PPD or a QuantiFERON blood test); the COVID-19 vaccine is “recommended but not required”, though some agencies may require it; and student professional liability insurance. Missing these deadlines can mean being dropped from nursing courses.
- Is progression guaranteed? Direct admits need no second application, but they must meet the progression requirements in section 3.
- Changing in from another major: students admitted to another major can apply to change into nursing twice, in the spring of the first year and the spring of the second year; applications open once a year in January and a faculty committee decides. First-year criteria: completed the first fall semester only, has a Clemson GPR/GPA, is enrolled in the spring, has at least general biology (BIOL 1030/1050 or 1100), and a Clemson GPA of 2.75 or higher (the site adds that selection is more competitive than the minimum and that students above 3.0 are typically considered competitive). The site says that in 2023, 2024 and 2025 the School admitted no first-year change-of-major applicants because of clinical space; in 2022, 32 of 59 applicants were admitted with an average GPA of 3.71. Upper-class criteria: at least two semesters enrolled, a Clemson GPR, two or more of the six math/science courses (general biology, CH 1010, anatomy and physiology I and II, microbiology, STAT 2300) done, and a GPA of 2.75 or higher; competitive students usually have at least five of the six. In 2025, 33 of 62 upper-class applicants were admitted (average GPA 3.69); in 2024, 25 of 53 (3.76). Successful changers should expect to take an extra semester. The 2026 window printed on the page ran from 2 to 30 January 2026; check the site for the 2027 window.
3. Prerequisites and curriculum
- High school courses: the nursing pages give none of their own. Clemson’s college-preparation page recommends for all first-year applicants: English 4 credits, mathematics 3, laboratory science 3, foreign language 2 (all in the same language), social sciences 3, other 2, physical education/ROTC 1 and fine arts 1. The site says high school performance (GPA, class rank and the rigor of courses relative to what your school offers) is the most important factor.
- Curriculum (2026-27 freshmen plan): year one has General Biology BIOL 1030/1050, General Chemistry CH 1010, statistics STAT 2300, psychology PSYC 2010, composition ENGL 1030, NURS 1020 and NURS 1400; year two has Anatomy and Physiology I and II (BIOL 2220, 2230), Microbiology MICR 2050, Nutrition NUTR 2050, Health Assessment NURS 3100 and Professionalism in Nursing NURS 3200; years three and four cover pathophysiology, pharmacotherapeutics, gerontology, medical-surgical nursing I–III, mental health, children, women and families, community health, research, healthcare genetics, and leadership and management. Total: 124 hours. A footnote says students who score below the designated level on the math placement test (CMPT) must first take an approved math prerequisite for STAT 2300.
- Progression rules (curriculum plan): C or better in BIOL 1030/1050 or 1100, BIOL 2220, BIOL 2230, CH 1010, MICR 2050 or 3050, NUTR 2050 and STAT 2300, and in every NURS course; a 2.5 GPR is required to register for each nursing course and a nursing GPA below 2.5 ends eligibility; no more than two final grades below C on degree-requirement courses in the last five years; only one NURS course may be repeated, with at most two attempts per course.
- AP/IB credit: the college-preparation page points to an AP credit chart and an IB credit chart that we did not read; ask admissions or the School how credit applies to nursing.
- Clinical work: the site says clinical coursework starts in the fall of the junior year; sites are typically within about an hour’s drive of campus (the closest ten minutes, the farthest, Spartanburg Regional, about an hour); partners could include Prisma Health-Upstate, AnMed, St. Francis and Spartanburg Regional Medical Center. The ratio of students to faculty is given as eight to one, and students practice in a simulation center with high-fidelity patient simulators. Total clinical hours are not given on the pages we read.
- NCLEX-RN pass rate: the Nursing B.S. page says only that pass rates are “consistently above the state and national levels”, with no figure or year; ask the School. The handbook says South Carolina belongs to the RN Compact, so nurses with a compact license may practice in other compact states.
- Study abroad: nursing students in good standing may spend the spring semester of the sophomore year at the University of Nicosia in Cyprus.
4. Rounds, deadlines and materials (fall 2027 entry)
- First-year: the application opens 1 August; Early Action application deadline 15 October (required materials 1 November), decisions in mid-December; Regular Decision application deadline 1 January (materials 10 January), decisions mid-February; the page also gives 1 May as the final date to apply for fall. Nursing has no separate deadline or supplement, but because space is limited, the pages do not say whether nursing places remain for applications close to 1 May; ask admissions. The page prints no year, so check that these are fall 2027 dates.
- Application fee: $70, nonrefundable; apply through the Clemson application, the Coalition application (Scoir) or the Common Application; a fee waiver can be requested on financial grounds.
- Transcripts: first-year applicants self-report high school courses and grades in the Self-Reported Transcript and Academic Record System (STARS); official transcripts are required only after admission.
- Testing: optional; if submitted, Clemson superscores both the SAT and the ACT (SAT code 5111, ACT code 3842).
- Essay and recommendations: after applying you may upload a personal statement, letters of recommendation and a résumé; the site says none is required.
- Platform: no separate nursing platform (no NursingCAS); the accelerated second-degree option has its own process, and the transfer page says to apply by 1 September for fall.
5. Three kinds of applicant
U.S. applicants
- Costs differ a lot between South Carolina residents and non-residents (section 6), and the site says public-institution priority goes to South Carolina residents. The 2025 statistics page says 53% of South Carolina applicants were accepted for fall admission and 42% of all first-year applicants were accepted; those are university-wide figures, not nursing figures.
- Testing is optional; list nursing first and a different second major; Early Action 15 October, Regular 1 January.
International applicants
- Deadlines: the international page says the last day to apply with all credentials for fall entry is 1 May, and the I-20 or DS-2019 must reach Clemson by 1 June; for spring entry 1 October. It does not separate nursing from other majors, and does not explain how this relates to the first-year Early Action and Regular dates.
- English: TOEFL iBT 80 or higher, IELTS 6.5 or higher (at least 6.0 in each sub-score), Duolingo 105 or higher, or English Composition I and II at an accredited U.S. college with a B or better; the site says the requirement can be waived where English is the primary or an official language. The pages do not set a higher English requirement for nursing.
- Testing and transcripts: as for others, SAT/ACT is optional and high school courses are self-reported in STARS; transfer applicants need a U.S. credential evaluation (World Education Services or Josef Silny & Associates).
- Funds and scholarships: after admission, International Services verifies that funds are sufficient for the entire period of study; costs are paid at the start of each term with no deferred payment; the site says there are no scholarships for international undergraduates at Clemson. International students need at least $50,000 in health insurance coverage including medical evacuation and repatriation. U.S. immigration rules generally prohibit work during study, except cooperative education where a program requires it.
- Limits for international students in nursing or clinical placements, licensure eligibility, Social Security numbers: neither the nursing pages nor the international page say. Ask the School of Nursing (864-656-7622) and admissions.
Applicants from China
- The pages we read do not say how the Gaokao is used or whether Huikao (academic proficiency test) materials are needed, and give no statement specifically for Chinese applicants; high school courses are self-reported in STARS and official transcripts follow after admission. For what is not published, contact Undergraduate Admissions (864-656-2287).
6. Costs and scholarships
- 2026-27 costs (cost page): South Carolina residents — tuition and fees $15,870, housing and food $14,880, books and supplies about $1,576, total $32,326; non-residents — tuition and fees $42,852, other items the same, total $60,308; personal and transportation about $5,804 and a laptop about $2,524 are extra. The page notes that major enrichment fees apply to some majors and can range up to $2,500. Which column applies to international students is not stated directly.
- Nursing academic program fee: $1,000 per semester for full-time students, beginning in the first semester of enrollment in the nursing program; it applies to Traditional BS, Accelerated BS and Accelerated Second Degree students, not to RN-BS students.
- Other nursing costs (handbook estimates): background check about $35, urine drug screen $25, malpractice insurance about $42; at graduation an NCLEX application fee of $200, a South Carolina licensure fee of $97 and a South Carolina criminal history check of $54.25. Travel to clinical sites is the student’s own.
- Nursing scholarships: the School emails application forms to students in the spring. Some listed awards have conditions: the Hearst scholarship is for undergraduate nursing students from South Carolina, the Lettie Pate Whitehead award for residents of nine listed states, and the Viola M. Wolf scholarship for U.S. citizen juniors and seniors with a 3.0 GPA. For first-year merit scholarships you apply for admission by 1 January and complete your file by 10 January; no separate application is needed and test scores are optional.
- The site also says South Carolina’s LIFE and Palmetto Fellows scholarships can be used for summer tuition in the Greenville-based accelerated cohort.
7. Transfer students
- Places: the School admits only ten transfer students each fall, with no spring admission; priority applications open 1 February and review is rolling until capacity (the university’s general transfer deadlines are 1 July for fall and 1 December for spring). Apply with the Clemson transfer application, list nursing first and, as encouraged, a second-choice major; there is no separate nursing application.
- Eligibility: students with 30 or more credit hours at application are transfer students (AP, IB and dual-enrollment credit do not count toward the 30); the university asks for a cumulative GPA of 2.5 or higher (3.0 preferred). Applicants who have completed all science courses and most general education courses by the fall they enroll are the most competitive, with priority for those who have completed and excelled in general biology, anatomy and physiology I and II, microbiology, general chemistry and statistics. Continuing prerequisites in fall, spring and summer after applying is described as normal. The pages give no nursing-specific minimum GPA.
- After you arrive: accepted students begin in the fall of the junior year, with clinical courses the following spring; the site warns you should expect an extra semester. All nursing (NURS) courses and NUTR 2050 must be taken at Clemson, while the other first-two-year courses can be “shadowed” elsewhere. The program is full-time only, with clinical placements throughout the Upstate of South Carolina. The $1,000-per-semester program fee applies.
- International transfers: the international page requires a U.S. credential evaluation of transcripts; whether international transfers are admitted to nursing is not stated.
- Credit: the Transfer Course Equivalency List lets you evaluate courses informally; students from the South Carolina Technical College System can take part in reverse transfer.
8. Pre-health advising
Clemson’s website has a separate Health Professions Advising page for pre-medicine and similar tracks, which we did not read for this guide; nursing students are direct admits and are advised mainly by the School of Nursing.
Checklist
U.S. applicants:
- List two intended majors, nursing first; Early Action 15 October (materials 1 November) or Regular 1 January (materials 10 January); tests optional; fill in STARS
- If admitted to another major: you may apply to change into nursing in the spring of year one and of year two, in the January window
International applicants (including China):
- Fall deadline 1 May; TOEFL 80 / IELTS 6.5 / Duolingo 105; no scholarships for international undergraduates, and funds are verified for the whole period of study
- Gaokao use, Huikao materials, and limits for international students in nursing and clinical work are not stated; ask admissions and the School
Transfer students:
- Ten places each fall; 30 or more credits, GPA 2.5 (3.0 preferred); finish the science courses and statistics before entry; expect an extra semester
Sources: Clemson University, School of Nursing; Nursing B.S.; Nursing: prospective freshmen; Nursing: transfer students; Nursing: change of major; Nursing expansion program and the two cohorts; Nursing honors; Nursing academic program fee; 2026-27 curriculum plans (PDF); 2026-27 undergraduate handbook (PDF); First-year application; International undergraduate application; Transfer application; Cost and aid; College preparation. Most pages print no year; dates in this guide are read as the cycle for fall 2027 entry, so check the year on the official pages. The curriculum plan is the one for 2026-27 freshmen, and costs are 2026-27 figures.