Home / Admissions / US Applications / How to Apply to the Nursing (BSN) Program at Elon University: A Direct-Entry Four-Year BSN in the School of Health Sciences, a Stated Minimum of SAT 1100 or ACT 22, Prerequisites at C or Higher and Nursing Courses at B- or Higher, and the Path for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants

How to Apply to the Nursing (BSN) Program at Elon University: A Direct-Entry Four-Year BSN in the School of Health Sciences, a Stated Minimum of SAT 1100 or ACT 22, Prerequisites at C or Higher and Nursing Courses at B- or Higher, and the Path for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants

2026-10-25 · Application guides

At Elon University in North Carolina, the Department of Nursing sits in the School of Health Sciences. The four-year BSN is direct entry: you apply to nursing when you apply to Elon rather than applying after two years. The nursing page states a minimum SAT of 1100 or ACT of 22, 24 credit hours of prerequisites with a C or higher, and nursing courses with a B- or higher. Early Decision and Early Action close 1 November and the regular deadline is 10 January. Tuition and fees for newly admitted students in 2026-27 are $51,368.

Elon University is a private university in Elon, North Carolina. The Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) is offered by the Department of Nursing in the School of Health Sciences. Elon says the BSN comes in two formats: a traditional four-year program for high school graduates and a 16-month accelerated BSN for people who already hold a bachelor’s degree in another field (not covered here). Both are approved by the North Carolina Board of Nursing and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC), and graduates are prepared to sit for the NCLEX to become registered nurses. This article covers the four-year undergraduate BSN. The companion life-sciences article covers Elon’s other health-related majors; here nursing gets its own detail. Below are the points for fall 2027 entry, split into U.S. domestic, international, Chinese and transfer applicants.

1. Degree and program

  • School and degree: the Department of Nursing is in the School of Health Sciences and awards the BSN. The nursing pages say the four-year program satisfies all Elon core requirements and offers several minor options; the admissions-site page adds that it is built to allow a biology minor.
  • Credits and clinical hours: the department page says the nursing curriculum is 67 credit hours with 540 clinical hours; the admissions-site nursing page says a “65-credit hour nursing curriculum” and 540 clinical hours; the curriculum page calls the whole four-year program 140 credit hours. 67 versus 65 conflict on the site; both are given, so confirm with the department.
  • NCLEX pass rate: the department page says, under “BSN Class of 2026”, “NCLEX pass rate: 97.4%”. The page does not give the number of test takers, whether it is a first-time rate, or which test window it covers; that basis is not published. The admissions-site page says the inaugural BSN cohort graduated in May 2025.
  • Clinical and internship settings: the nursing pages mention interprofessional education, simulation facilities and community clinical partners; the “past nursing internships” list names Alamance Regional Medical Center, Annie Penn Medical Center, Duke Medical Center, Moses Cone Hospital and Wesley Long Medical Center. The BSN page also mentions hands-on learning in diverse and international settings.
  • STEM status, honors or research programs: not stated on the nursing pages we read. The dates page lists Honors and Fellows programs (apply by 10 November); whether nursing students can apply is not published.
  • RN-to-BSN: not on the pages we read.

2. How you get in: direct entry

  • First-year direct entry: Elon says the four-year BSN is direct entry: you apply to nursing when you apply to Elon, rather than being accepted to Elon and applying for the program after two years. The BSN page lists these requirements: apply to Elon and declare Nursing as your major; have a minimum SAT of 1100 or ACT of 22.
  • To stay in the program: complete all nursing prerequisites with a C or higher before starting nursing clinical courses; complete all nursing courses with a B- or higher (the curriculum page says a minimum final grade of 80% (B-) in each course).
  • Seats: the number of first-year nursing seats is not published. The application page gives only university-wide numbers: about 19,000 applications for 1,685 first-year seats.
  • The testing tension: Elon overall is test-optional, but the nursing page states a minimum SAT 1100 or ACT 22. The pages we read do not explain whether an applicant without scores can apply to nursing; not published, ask admissions.
  • GPA, interview, clinical or volunteer experience, TEAS/HESI, background checks, health exams and immunizations, insurance: not stated on the nursing pages we read; ask admissions and the department.
  • Moving into nursing from another Elon major: not published. The admissions FAQ says most students can declare a major by the end of sophomore year, but nursing is chosen at application.

3. Prerequisites and curriculum

  • High school courses: the nursing page lists none. The admissions application page gives general recommendations for all applicants (the page uses both “required” and “recommended”): English 4 units (3 must be completed for consideration); mathematics 3 units (Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry), 4 recommended; science 3 or more units including at least one lab science; social studies 3 or more (including U.S. History for U.S. residents); foreign language 2 units, 3 recommended.
  • Nursing prerequisites (before nursing clinical courses begin, each with a C or higher; 24 credit hours): human anatomy and physiology (8), microbiology with lab (4), introductory cell biology (4), lifespan development (4), nutrition (4). The curriculum page lists BIO 1112/1113 (Introductory Cell Biology/Lab), BIO 2122/2123 (Microbiology for Health Professionals/Lab), BIO 2312/2313 (Human Anatomy/Lab), BIO 2412/2413 (Human Physiology/Lab), PSY 2100 (Lifespan Development) and WHE 3240 (Nutrition).
  • Nursing courses (taken in years two to four): year two has NRS 2000 Healthcare Relationships I: Disparity, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion and NRS 3500 Essential Conversations in Healthcare; years three and four include Foundations of Nursing (NRS 2100), Assessment of Health and Wellness (NRS 2200), Physiology and Pathophysiology for Nursing (NRS 2300), Pharmacology (NRS 2400), Nursing Management of Adults I and II (NRS 3100, 4500), Family-Centered Nursing Care for Infants, Children and Adolescents (NRS 3200), Gerontological Nursing (NRS 3300), Multiple Perspectives in Mental Health (NRS 3400), Evidence-Based Nursing Practice (NRS 4100), Population and Community Health (NRS 4200), Reproductive Health (NRS 4400), Pathways to Practice (NRS 4800) and others. Courses marked ** have clinical elements. The page says all University Core requirements and nursing prerequisites should be completed before year-three nursing courses begin.
  • AP and IB credit: the international FAQ says Elon gives credit for both; typically a 4 or better on AP and a 5 or better on IB higher-level exams is considered. Whether AP or IB can replace nursing prerequisites is not stated on the pages we read; ask the department.
  • Course-by-course credits and descriptions: those are in the third-party catalog (elon.smartcatalogiq.com), which we did not access; not on the pages we read.

4. Rounds and deadlines (fall 2027 entry)

  • Deadlines on the BSN page: Early Decision (binding) 1 November; Early Action (non-binding) 1 November; regular deadline 10 January. The dates page also lists Early Decision II (binding, due 15 January); the nursing page does not mention it, so whether nursing applicants may use it is not published.
  • Notification and deposits (dates page): ED notification 1 December, non-refundable deposit 10 January; ED II notification 10 February, deposit 1 March; EA notification 20 December, deposit 1 May; regular notification 20 March, deposit 1 May. Some dates on that page carry 2026, so it appears to be the previous cycle; check the dates for fall 2027 entry.
  • Platform and fee: the Elon application or the Common App; non-refundable $60 fee unless you have a fee waiver.
  • Materials: application; official high school transcript; School Report (included in the application). The page says the academic record is the most important factor, followed by the application essay. Nursing-specific supplements and recommendations: not stated on the nursing pages; not published. The international FAQ says teacher recommendations are not required for the undergraduate application but may be submitted.
  • Testing policy: Elon is test-optional overall; home-schooled applicants must submit scores; the nursing page adds the minimum SAT 1100 or ACT 22 (see section 2).
  • Spring entry: the dates page lists a Spring First-Year round (due 1 December, rolling); whether nursing admits spring first-years is not published.

5. U.S. domestic applicants

  • Elon is private and the cost page gives one tuition figure, with no in-state/out-of-state split; the cost page does mention North Carolina state need-based aid for state residents.
  • 2026-27 for newly admitted students: tuition and fees $51,368, food and housing $17,535, total $68,903. The financial-aid cost of attendance is $73,403: tuition $50,386; student activity fee $292; health and wellness fee $690; housing (first-year average) $9,306; food (basic plan) $8,229; books and supplies $1,000; transportation $1,500; miscellaneous $2,000.
  • Nursing surcharges and clinical-related costs (uniforms, health checks, insurance): not on the cost page; not published, ask the department or financial aid (finaid@elon.edu).
  • For need-based aid file the FAFSA and CSS Profile; the page suggests submitting everything by mid-January, and aid is processed only after admission.

6. International applicants

  • Who counts as international: non-U.S. citizens, permanent residents, U.S. citizens attending school outside the U.S., dual citizens and others.
  • Application materials: the application and $60 fee; official high school records in English, sent directly by the school official; SAT or ACT optional; English proficiency scores.
  • English proficiency: if your school’s main language of instruction is not English, submit TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo. IELTS 6.5; Duolingo 110; TOEFL: 80 for exams before 21 January 2026, and “4” for exams on or after 21 January 2026 (as printed; the page does not explain the score scale); the international FAQ still says 80, which does not match the requirements page. Whether nursing requires a higher English score: not published.
  • Two statements on testing: the international FAQ says applicants with at least three years of high school outside the U.S. can apply without SAT/ACT scores; the nursing page states a minimum SAT 1100 or ACT 22. How the two apply to an international nursing applicant is not published, so ask international admissions.
  • Funds and visa: after admission (not for the application review) you submit a clear passport copy, a Certificate of Financial Responsibility form and an original bank statement or bank letter issued within the last six months, used to issue the I-20 for the F-1 visa. A specific dollar amount to show: the page points to the cost page and gives no separate figure; not published.
  • Scholarships: all first-year applicants are considered for the Presidential Scholarship, Elon Engagement Scholarship and International Scholar Award; the Fellows and Scholars programs need a supplementary application and interview. The range for international applicants is $3,000–$23,500 per year. Elon says it is currently not able to offer need-based aid to non-U.S. citizens and does not offer full scholarships; U.S. citizens living abroad can apply for aid with the FAFSA and CSS Profile.
  • Optional interview: applicants may include an InitialView interview.
  • Limits on international students in nursing or clinical placements, licensure eligibility, Social Security number: not stated on the pages we read; ask the department and international admissions in writing.

7. Applicants from China

  • Elon’s international page lists China among the home countries of its students. Whether the Gaokao is used, what transcript or huikao documents are needed, and any China-specific note are not stated on the pages we read; not published. Contact international admissions (the international admissions page links to booking a session with an international admissions counselor).
  • What we can confirm is in section 6: school records must be in English and sent directly by the school official. How Chinese transcripts are certified, or whether a third-party credential evaluation is required, is not on the pages we read; not published.

8. Transfers

  • Definition: a transfer student has completed 12 transferable credit hours after graduating from high school with a minimum GPA of 2.7. A student in the first semester who is enrolled in at least 12 semester hours also applies as a transfer; part-time students or those with fewer than 12 semester hours apply as first-years.
  • Transfer into nursing: nursing is a direct-entry major, and the transfer pages we read do not say whether transfer students may enter the BSN, or give nursing prerequisites or a GPA bar; not published, ask admissions and the department. The 16-month accelerated BSN is for people who already hold a bachelor’s degree, not a transfer route.
  • General transfer requirements: a minimum 2.7 GPA from a regionally accredited institution; at least one full-time semester with 12 transferable credits; transcripts; final high school transcript and SAT/ACT (may be waived for some students); a Student Conduct Form from each institution; $60 fee.
  • Deadlines: the transfer page says fall 1 July, spring 15 January; the requirements page says spring 1 December. The spring dates conflict. Later applications are usually considered on a space-available basis.
  • Credit transfer: up to 65 semester hours from two-year institutions; grade C or above; course-by-course review; Elon uses a four-credit-hour system and accepts three-credit courses; Math-Stats is the lowest math course accepted. Whether transferred credits can satisfy nursing prerequisites: not published.
  • International transfers: the international requirements page says international transfer students need a visa clearance form on enrollment; whether they are admitted to nursing is not published.

9. Pre-health advising

The nursing pages we read do not mention pre-health advising. Elon has a separate Health Professions Advising office; we did not read its page for this article, and whether nursing students use it is not published.

10. Things to remember

  • Elon’s nursing is first-year direct entry: you choose nursing at application. The page states a minimum SAT 1100 or ACT 22; ask how that fits with Elon’s test-optional policy.
  • Two grade lines keep you in the program: prerequisites at C or higher, nursing courses at B- or higher.
  • The nursing credit total (67 vs 65), the TOEFL minimum, and the spring transfer deadline differ across Elon pages; go by written answers from admissions and the department.
  • Seat numbers, background checks, health exams and immunizations, nursing surcharges, and rules for international and transfer students entering nursing are not on the pages we read.

Sources: Elon University, Nursing (admissions site); Department of Nursing; Four-year BSN; BSN curriculum; Application requirements; Dates and deadlines; International admissions; International requirements; International FAQ; Transfer admissions; Transfer requirements and deadlines; Credit transfer; Tuition and aid. Information is for fall 2027 entry (costs are 2026-27 figures; where a page prints no year, check that the date is for fall 2027 entry). Check Elon’s website for the latest.

Related articles