How to Apply to the University at Buffalo’s Nursing (BSN) Degree: The Traditional BS Is an Upper-Division Program, So You Enter as an Intended Nursing Major, Finish 11 Prerequisites and Apply Separately by January 15, With a 3.3 Overall GPA and 3.0 Prerequisite GPA, for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants
At the University at Buffalo (SUNY), the School of Nursing’s Traditional BS is an upper-division program of two years of prerequisites plus two years of nursing courses. High school students first apply to UB as intended nursing majors and typically apply to the nursing program in the spring of sophomore year, with a January 15 deadline. The criteria are 11 prerequisites (each C+ or higher) completed or in progress in spring, a prerequisite GPA of 3.0 and an overall GPA of 3.3. The website states that admission to UB as an intended nursing major does not guarantee admission as an approved nursing major. Clinical rotations exceed 600 hours, and the program page estimates tuition at about $6,000 per semester at the resident rate.
The University at Buffalo (UB), a member of the State University of New York (SUNY), offers the bachelor’s in nursing through its School of Nursing. The first thing to know: the website says the Traditional BS in Nursing is an upper-division program, not direct entry into the School of Nursing, and states that “admission to UB as an intended nursing major does not guarantee admission as an approved major to the School of Nursing.” This guide follows the website for fall 2027 entry and speaks to U.S. applicants, international applicants, applicants from China and transfer students. The Accelerated BS and RN to BS get one line in section 1; graduate nursing is outside the scope.
1. Degree and programs
- Three paths: the nursing admissions page lists the Traditional BS, the Accelerated BS (for those with a non-nursing bachelor’s degree) and the RN to BS (for registered nurses with an associate degree). High school students, college students with some credit and current UB undergraduates are all pointed to the Traditional BS.
- Traditional BS structure: 120 credits (59 credits of prerequisites and electives plus 61 upper-division credits), two years of prerequisites plus two years of upper division full time, fall start; estimated tuition about $6,000 per semester at the resident rate, not including fees.
- Clinical: the page says clinical rotations include over 600 hours of patient care, some in Dedicated Education Units (DEU). A full list of clinical partner hospitals is not given on the pages we read; not stated.
- Upper-division curriculum: junior fall NSG 312, 313, 310, 314 (15 credits); junior spring NSG 316, 317, 348, 315 (15); senior fall NSG 411, 412, 413, 414 plus UBC 399 UB Capstone (16); senior spring NSG 415, 416, 417, 418 (15).
- Honors and guaranteed pathways: Honors College nursing students admitted as freshmen to both the Honors College and Nursing are guaranteed admission to the upper division provided they stay in good standing with the Honors College, meet the School’s minimum requirements and hold a UB cumulative GPA of 3.5 when applying. Daniel Acker Scholar nursing students also have a guaranteed seat if they remain in good standing with the Cora P. Maloney Center, meet prerequisite, overall and prerequisite GPA requirements, and submit the nursing supplemental application by January 15, typically in sophomore year.
- NCLEX-RN: graduates are eligible for the exam, and the admissions page says the program’s pass rate is “well above the national average,” but the pages we read give no figure or year, so none is stated here.
- STEM designation: the pages we read do not say; not stated.
2. How you get in, and the bar
- First-year route: the nursing page says the two years of prerequisites are taken at the university level; high school students apply to UB as intended nursing majors and then apply to the nursing program (to become approved nursing majors), typically in the spring semester of sophomore year. Intended majors are advised directly by the School of Nursing, which also encourages alternate plans such as other UB majors or nursing programs elsewhere.
- No guarantee: “Admission to UB as an intended nursing major does not guarantee admission as an approved major.” The process is competitive.
- Admission criteria: all 11 prerequisites complete or in progress during spring semester; at least 2.33 (C+) in each; overall prerequisite GPA at least 3.0; overall GPA at least 3.3. Review is holistic: video response, written essay, resume response, prerequisite GPA, cumulative GPA and prerequisite science GPA.
- Other limits: applicants dismissed from other nursing programs are not eligible; applicants who attended a nursing program but were not dismissed must submit a verification-of-good-standing form.
- Interview: the pages describe a video response but no in-person interview; not stated.
- Entrance exams (TEAS, HESI, etc.): the pages we read do not mention them; not stated.
- Clinical or volunteer experience: the page only lists “develop nursing experiences” and “develop leadership experiences” under recommended steps; no required hours; not stated.
- Background check, physical, immunizations, insurance: not described on the admissions and program pages we read. Ask the School of Nursing (Kyle Cortley, kylecort@buffalo.edu).
- Internal transfer: current UB students can file a major-change request to become intended nursing majors; to enter the program they apply under the conditions above, after confirming transfer and test credits are posted in HUB.
3. Prerequisites and curriculum
- High school coursework: UB’s first-year page suggests (but does not require) four years of English with substantial writing, four of social studies, three of college-preparatory science, three of a second language and at least three of college-preparatory math. The nursing pages do not separately list high school math, biology or chemistry requirements; not stated.
- The 11 nursing prerequisites (recommended UB equivalents): Introduction to Psychology (PSY 101)*; Introduction to Sociology or American Pluralism (SOC 101 or 211)*; Human Growth and Development (NSG 250); Human Nutrition (NTR 108); Human Anatomy with lab (PAS 301 or 313); Human Physiology (PGY 300); Applied Physiology (PGY 412); Microbiology with lab (MIC 301); Pharmacology (PMY 302); Chemistry (CHE 121, or CHE 101, or CHE 101 + 113); Statistics (NSG 295, STA 119, PSY 207 or CEP 207). *Not required for students who already hold a bachelor’s degree. For other equivalents, write to nursing@buffalo.edu.
- Grade rules: at least 2.33 (C+) in each prerequisite; a C is not accepted; each component (lecture, lab, recitation) needs C+, and averages are not accepted; a letter grade is required, with pass/fail not accepted (exam credit excepted).
- Transfer-credit rules: Anatomy and Physiology I and II must be completed at the same institution; use UB’s TAURUS articulation site; courses not in TAURUS can be submitted for syllabus review; UB prerequisites are not offered every semester, so contact the School well in advance.
- AP and IB credit: the nursing transfer-credit page says AP, IB and CLEP credit may give exact course credit or free elective credit depending on the score. UB admissions says AP scores of 3 or higher earn elective credit (sometimes applied to major or UB Curriculum requirements); an IB diploma of 30 earns up to 30 credits, and without it higher-level exam scores of 5 or higher are guaranteed credit; A-level grades of E or better guarantee elective credit. Whether a given exam satisfies a specific nursing prerequisite is not listed course by course on the nursing pages we read; not stated.
4. Rounds, deadlines and fees (fall 2027 entry)
- First, apply to UB (first-year): ApplySUNY, Common Application or Coalition for College (choose one); non-refundable $50 fee. Admissions dates page (no year printed, so confirm it is for fall 2027): application opens August 1; Early Action (non-binding) November 1, with priority response and priority merit-scholarship consideration; Honors College priority December 15; Regular Decision completion deadline February 1 (applications continue until capacity is reached); enrollment deposit May 1 or 10 days after acceptance, whichever is later.
- Nursing application (School of Nursing page, also no year printed): the upper-division application opens in early December, closes January 15, decisions in March, fall start. Steps: apply to UB (SUNY application and $50, not required for current UB students; a re-entry application is free); send transcripts to UB (not to NursingCAS); create a NursingCAS account, search for SUNY University at Buffalo, complete the essay questions and resume, pay the $60 fee ($55 for current UB students) and submit. We name the platform only and did not access it. SUNY also waives up to seven application fees for AA or AS graduates of SUNY or CUNY applying to SUNY four-year campuses.
- Essay and recommendations: UB strongly recommends at least one recommendation (counselor, teacher, community member or employer) and accepts up to three; word counts for the UB essay are not stated. The nursing application needs a video response, written essay and resume response; recommendation requirements for nursing are not stated on the pages we read.
- Testing: UB does not require SAT or ACT for admission or scholarships; submission is optional. The international page says most admitted applicants who submit scores have an SAT of 1170 or above or an ACT of 25 or above, and applicants who do not submit are not at a disadvantage. SAT code 2925, ACT code 2978.
- Nursing lab fees: skills and assessment labs are charged by course: NSG 313 $235, NSG 317 $195, NSG 412 $130, NSG 416 $120.
5. The three kinds of applicants
U.S. applicants
- Costs (UB estimates, 2026–27): NYS residents: tuition $7,070, fees $3,966, on-campus housing and dining $18,606, related expenses $6,888, total $36,530; out-of-state: tuition $29,070, total $58,530. To qualify for in-state tuition a student must show a permanent principal home in New York for at least 12 months before the semester; living in New York to attend college does not establish residency.
- Nursing surcharges: beyond the lab fees above, the pages we read list no other nursing surcharge or clinical costs (uniforms, health screening); not stated. The nursing page says the School awards more than $180,000 in scholarships to admitted or approved undergraduate nursing students, with Traditional, Accelerated and RN to BS students emailed a scholarship application link in the fall.
- Scholarships: high-achieving first-year out-of-state students are automatically considered for the Provost Scholarship (renewable up to four years with continuing eligibility, for direct costs); high-achieving New York first-year students are automatically considered for the Pride of New York Scholarship (non-tuition costs only); the Presidential Scholarship needs a separate application through the Honors College.
- In-state preference: not stated on the pages we read.
International applicants
- Review: the international first-year page says UB weighs academic marks, test scores, essay and recommendations; UB uses a 4.0 scale and expects the equivalent of a 3.0 (a B, or 83 on a 100-point scale); counselors convert grading scales. Non-English documents need English translations.
- English proficiency (first-year page): generally required if English is not the native language and any high school study took place outside an English-speaking country. Minimums: TOEFL iBT “70 or 4” (as printed; the 4 presumably refers to the scale introduced in 2026), IELTS Academic 6.0, Duolingo 105, PTE Academic 50, ACT English and reading 18, SAT EBRW 500, IB English A 5, AP English Language and Composition 4 or a B in the class, IGCSE English First Language C, A-level English C. Scores must be under two years old; self-reported scores are fine for initial review and official scores come from the testing agency. Exemption: only applicants who are citizens of Australia, the Bahamas, Canada, Guam, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria, Singapore or the United Kingdom, native English speakers and educated entirely in English; applicants from China do not qualify. Whether nursing requires a higher English score is not stated.
- International students in clinical courses, licensure and Social Security number: not stated on the pages we read. Contact the School of Nursing (Kyle Cortley, kylecort@buffalo.edu).
- Proof of funds: F-1 and J-1 students must show first-year costs before an I-20 or DS-2019 is issued: $61,030 for a fall or spring start (tuition $29,070, fees $4,166, student health insurance $2,300, housing and dining $18,606, related expenses $6,888). Accepted: bank statements, scholarship letters, fully sanctioned loan letters, government or company sponsorship letters, dated within six months and in English or officially translated. Not accepted: employment letters or salary statements, credit card statements, insurance policy statements, tax returns, trusts, mutual funds, stock statements, valuation of jewelry, gold or property, cryptocurrency. The tuition page’s international total ($29,070 tuition, $6,466 fees, $18,606 housing and dining, $6,888 related, $61,030) matches, but the funds page footnote says “2025-26 estimates” while the tuition page says 2026-27, so check the latest.
- International scholarships: the Flagship Scholarship is for incoming international first-year students with no postsecondary credit, fall or spring entry; all admitted international students are automatically considered; amounts vary and renew up to four years with good standing. The Presidential Scholarship is separate, through the Honors College. International transfer students can receive transfer scholarships.
- International deadlines: first-year and transfer share a table: Early Action November 1, Honors College priority December 15, Regular Decision February 1, deposit May 1; spring entry recommended by October 1.
Applicants from China (own section)
- Gaokao: the English-requirement and first-year pages we read do not mention the Gaokao; not stated. Ask UB International Admissions (intadmit@buffalo.edu) whether and how it counts.
- Transcripts and the school-leaving exams: the international first-year page has a country selector for required academic documents that is generated by the page’s script, which we did not call, so the China-specific document list is not covered here; not stated in what we read. Open the page and choose your country.
- Guidance specific to Chinese applicants: none on the pages we read; the English-test exemption does not include China.
6. Costs and scholarships (additional notes)
- Tuition, fees, lab fees and scholarships are above. For the Traditional program the nursing aid page refers readers to UB’s financial aid website rather than listing a figure.
7. Transfer
- Into nursing: transfer and second-degree students can finish the remaining prerequisites at UB as intended nursing majors or apply directly to the upper-division program once they meet all admission requirements. The 11 prerequisites, C+ rule, 3.0 prerequisite GPA, 3.3 overall GPA and January 15 deadline are the same as above. Anatomy and Physiology I and II must be completed at the same institution, each component needs C+, and pass/fail is not accepted.
- UB transfer rules: a transfer student has completed at least 12 college credit hours after high school; for domestic transfer, fall regular deadline May 1 and priority scholarship March 15. UB accepts all college-level credits from regionally accredited two- and four-year institutions. Applicants should be in good academic standing, and some programs have supplemental criteria and separate deadlines.
- International transfer: the international transfer page expects the equivalent of a 2.5 on a 4.0 scale, does not require a transcript evaluation (official transcripts with English translation suffice), and says the professional programs in architecture, biomedical sciences, management, nursing, pharmacy, public health and health professions are competitive and selective. Note that the page’s fall dates are labeled “Fall 2026,” so check the dates for fall 2027, and that UB’s transfer deadline table is marked “Domestic Only.” Whether international transfer students can use the January 15 nursing route is not stated; confirm with the School of Nursing.
8. Pre-health advising
UB has a separate pre-health advising office; for nursing, rely on the School of Nursing’s advisors. This guide does not go further.
Checklist
U.S. applicants:
- Apply to UB as an intended nursing major (Early Action November 1, Regular Decision February 1); apply to the nursing program, usually in spring of sophomore year, by January 15
- 11 prerequisites at C+ or higher (completed or in progress in spring), prerequisite GPA 3.0, overall GPA 3.3; video response, essay and resume
- Intended nursing major does not guarantee a place in the School of Nursing; the School advises backup plans
International applicants (including China):
- English: TOEFL iBT 70 or 4 and the other minimums above; China is not on the exemption list
- Clinical courses, licensure and Social Security number for international students: not stated, confirm with the School of Nursing; Gaokao: not stated
- Proof of funds for the first year: $61,030, bank documents dated within six months
Transfer students:
- Finish the prerequisites (Anatomy and Physiology I and II at the same institution) and apply directly, or enter as an intended nursing major
Sources: University at Buffalo, Nursing: undergraduate admissions; Traditional BS in Nursing admissions; Nursing prerequisites; Traditional BS in Nursing; Nursing: transfer credit; Nursing tuition and aid; First-year applicants; International first-year; International: English proficiency; International: standardized tests; Important dates and deadlines; Transfer applicants; International transfer; Exam and transfer credit; Tuition and estimated costs; International financial documentation; Scholarships. Most date pages do not print a year, so check that they apply to fall 2027 entry; UB’s website has the latest. The course catalog (catalogs.buffalo.edu) and application platforms such as NursingCAS were not accessed.