How to Apply to Binghamton University’s Nursing (BSN) Degree: Decker Admits First-Year Students Directly, They Become Nursing Majors on Paying the Deposit and Need Not Reapply, While Transfer Students Enter Only as Juniors, for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants
Binghamton University (SUNY) admits a first-year nursing cohort directly through Decker College: students become nursing majors on paying the enrollment deposit and do not reapply after the prerequisites. Applicants must show strength in biology, chemistry and mathematics, and the SAT or ACT is not required. The traditional BS needs 126 credits (52 in nursing), with core nursing courses and clinical work starting in the fall of junior year. First-year Early Action is November 1 and Regular Decision January 15; transfer students are admitted only as juniors with a 3.0 GPA and 3.0 prerequisite average, by March 1.
Binghamton University is a public university in the State University of New York (SUNY) system, in Binghamton, New York. The nursing degree is offered by the Decker College of Nursing and Health Sciences (the nursing pages call it the Decker School of Nursing) and awards a Bachelor of Science (BS) in Nursing. Unlike schools that make you complete prerequisites first and then apply, the website says Decker directly admits an incoming first-year cohort each year; those students are considered nursing majors once they pay the enrollment deposit and do not need to re-apply after the prerequisites. This guide follows the website for fall 2027 entry and speaks to U.S. applicants, international applicants, applicants from China and transfer students. The accelerated track and the online RN-BS get one line each in section 1; graduate nursing is outside the scope.
1. Degree and programs
- Traditional program: for students without an undergraduate degree, or those with a bachelor’s degree who want to study at a regular pace. The website describes a four-year program grounded in the liberal arts and sciences that first-year students can apply to directly; graduates are eligible for the NCLEX-RN. It requires 126 credits: 52 credits of nursing courses and 74 credits of prerequisites, General Education courses and electives, and students may transfer in up to 78 credits of prerequisites, General Education and electives.
- Other entry points: transfer students (junior class only), intra-University transfer or double-degree students (current Binghamton students applying as incoming juniors), and the 12-month Baccalaureate Accelerated Track (BAT) for those with a non-nursing bachelor’s degree; the online RN-BS (100% online, for registered nurses with an associate degree or diploma) gets this one line. Applicants may not apply to both BAT and the traditional program in the same year. The site adds that if you are or will be eligible to sit for the NCLEX-RN before your intended start, you are not eligible for a pre-licensure program.
- Clinical: the website says many courses have clinical components in diverse settings, using hospitals, community health facilities and long-term care institutions in and around Binghamton; Decker has “hundreds of clinical partnerships,” including UHS, SUNY Upstate Medical and Guthrie. Total clinical hours are not stated on the pages we read.
- NCLEX-RN: the site says Decker graduates “continue to pass this exam at rates above state and national averages,” but the pages we read give no figure or year, so none is stated here. The costs page adds that NCLEX-RN test preparation is provided to all pre-licensure students and integrated into coursework.
- Honors or research, STEM designation: the nursing pages we read mention no nursing honors or research program and do not say whether nursing is classed as STEM; not stated. Students in the Binghamton University Scholars program are the one exception for entering the sophomore class (see below).
- Health-related minors (Decker): the forensic health minor requires a 3.0 cumulative GPA and at least 45 earned credits and is open to students in any major.
2. How you get in, and the bar
- Direct first-year admission: Decker directly admits an incoming first-year cohort each year; students are nursing majors once they pay the enrollment deposit, and admitted first-year students do not need to re-apply to the nursing program after the prerequisites. Applicants must be graduates of accredited secondary schools or have an equivalent education and demonstrate strength in biology, chemistry and mathematics; the page notes that SAT or ACT scores are not required. The number of first-year nursing places is not stated on the pages we read.
- Progression into the nursing core: the pages we read give no minimum prerequisite grade or GPA for first-year admits to start the junior-year nursing courses (they only say no second application is needed). Minimum prerequisite grades and what happens if a student falls short are not stated; see the Undergraduate Nursing Student Handbook listed on the site or ask Decker.
- Entrance exams (TEAS, HESI, etc.): not stated on the pages we read.
- Interview, volunteer or clinical experience: not stated for first-year applicants (internal-transfer and double-degree applicants write an experience-based essay; see section 7).
- Health and clinical requirements after enrolling: pre-licensure nursing students must comply with New York State Department of Health, Decker, University and affiliated-agency rules; compliance is checked around deadlines and failure delays time to degree. Juniors complete the health packet by the fall add/drop deadline and BAT students by June 1 (the packet is in a Google folder we did not open); continuing students renew every year. The costs page lists clinical-related items including a Pennsylvania child abuse check and criminal clearance (one-time $10 each), measles, mumps, rubella and varicella titers, hepatitis B vaccination series and titer, tetanus series, a physical exam, a CPR course, N95 fit testing, and flu and COVID vaccines (a meningitis vaccine is marked optional).
- Insurance: the costs page lists malpractice and liability insurance ($12) and mandatory health insurance (domestic students); it also says health insurance is mandatory for SUNY students and can be bought through the University or waived with proof of other coverage.
- Criminal history: students with a prior felony or child abuse conviction are advised that it may impede completing the program or licensure and that clinical agencies may require a background check; students convicted while enrolled must report it to the program director, and should check with the State Board of Nursing about licensure.
- Internal transfer: current Binghamton students can apply as intra-University transfer (IUT) or double-degree (DD) applicants for the junior class; see section 7.
- Equipment and uniforms: from the fundamental assessment course (NURS 321), students need uniforms and an assessment kit (blood pressure cuff, stethoscope, penlight and so on) and must own a laptop or iPad meeting ExamSoft requirements.
3. Prerequisites and curriculum
- High school coursework: the website says only to show strength in biology, chemistry and mathematics; specific numbers of high school courses are not stated. Ask admissions (admit@binghamton.edu).
- Nursing prerequisites (traditional and BAT students complete these before the nursing core; each course at least 3 semester credits; may be taken in person or online at any accredited college): Composition I and II; Statistics (MATH 147 or PSYC 243); Introductory Psychology (PSYC 111); Developmental Psychology (PSYC 220); General Chemistry I and II (HSCI 101/102, CHEM 104/105 and others; lab recommended); Introductory Biology (BIOL 113, waived if Anatomy and Physiology I, II and Microbiology are completed at another college); Microbiology (BIOL 319 or HSCI 319); Anatomy and Physiology I and II (HSCI 200/201 or BIOL 251/347; one semester of anatomy and one of physiology also works). Anatomy, physiology, chemistry and microbiology courses expire after 10 years; Decker then requires comprehensive exams (such as CLEP or Excelsior) or repeating the coursework.
- General Education: nursing students are responsible only for the aesthetics, global interdependencies, humanities, physical activity, diversity/equity/inclusion/social justice, U.S. diversity, social science and world language requirements; prerequisites and nursing courses cover the rest. Students with a prior bachelor’s degree are exempt.
- Sample plan: years one and two cover prerequisites and Gen Ed; the nursing core begins in the fall of junior year with courses such as NURS 320, 321, 322 and 351; junior spring NURS 352, 353 and 361; senior fall NURS 360, 362, 363 and 365; senior spring NURS 470 and 471; one nursing elective is also required. Courses marked * include clinical work.
- Credit by exam and transfer: the website says credit may be earned for previously completed college-level courses, AP scores of 3 or better and IB higher-level scores of 4 or better. The detailed AP, IB and A-level equivalency tables are on separate pages we did not read course by course; check with Decker advising.
4. Rounds, deadlines and fees (fall 2027 entry)
- First-year (nursing page): fall only. Early Action applicants apply by November 1 with other materials (transcripts) by December 1; Regular Decision applicants submit the application and all materials by January 15. Processing takes at least 7 to 14 days; Early Action decisions come by January 15 and Regular Decision by April 1.
- Platforms and fee: Common App, the SUNY Application or the Coalition Application (choose one); non-refundable $50 fee, with only Binghamton’s own fee-waiver form accepted for students with financial need. There is also a “Free Application Weeks” period, October 19 to November 2, with no fee, special codes or waiver forms. SUNY’s Top 10% Promise guarantees admission to at least one participating school but not Binghamton, so apply directly to Binghamton for full consideration.
- Materials and testing: first-year applicants submit a high school transcript (official, from the school) and one teacher or counselor recommendation. SAT/ACT is optional; all applicants state on the application whether they want scores included; students who self-report scores must send official scores by May 15 after enrolling. SAT code 2535, ACT code 2956. Essay requirements are not stated on the admissions first-year page we read.
- Nursing-specific platforms: first-year students do not file a separate nursing application, and the pages we read mention no platform such as NursingCAS; no application platform was accessed.
5. The three kinds of applicants
U.S. applicants
- Costs (2026-27 budget, which the site marks “as of July 2026, subject to change”): NYS residents: tuition $7,070, fees $3,497, housing and meals $20,179, total $30,746; out-of-state: tuition $29,840, fees $3,497, housing and meals $20,179, total $53,516. Nursing students are charged the University’s standard tuition and fees; there is no separate nursing tuition.
- Clinical-related costs (the site’s estimates, split into mandatory and discretionary columns): junior fall about $5,006.95 (including a $176 simulation fee, $220 clinical learning support fee, $776 textbooks, $300 uniforms, $150 assessment kit, $1,877.95 health insurance, and health screening items), junior spring about $6,966.05, senior fall about $6,098.95 and senior spring about $6,281.05; transportation is estimated from weekly round trips, and the page calls all figures good-faith estimates. BAT students have a separate table. The simulation fee is charged per semester to students enrolled in NURS 321, 352, 353, 362, 363 or 471.
- Scholarships: all applicants are automatically considered with no separate application; three four-year awards (President’s, Provost’s and Dean’s Scholarships), the Achievement Scholarship (20 first-year students at $10,000 per year for up to four years) and awards up to the in-state cost of attendance for five students; New York residents may use the Excelsior Scholarship (run by HESC); the NYS STEM Incentive Program gives full SUNY tuition to the top 10 percent of each New York high school who pursue STEM degrees, and whether nursing counts as STEM is not stated. That scholarships page is marked last updated August 2024, so check for changes.
- Nursing aid: Decker offers a limited number of scholarships with specific eligibility criteria, and “Nursing Scholars Programs” run with partnered health systems that may give eligible Binghamton nursing students $25,000 to $65,000 toward educational loans, after which selected scholars take a full-time nursing role in that health system with a 2 to 3 year employment commitment. New York State also has the Nurses for Our Future scholarship program.
- In-state preference: not stated on the pages we read.
International applicants
- Who counts: non-U.S. citizens who hold or will obtain an F-1 or J-1 visa; other visa types use the first-year application. International students are not eligible for fee waivers; the fee is $50.
- Deadlines: international first-year Early Action November 1 (decision January 15) and regular admission March 15 (decision by April 1); later applications are reviewed on a space-available basis. The site contradicts itself: the nursing page gives January 15 for regular first-year applications, while the international first-year page gives March 15. Nursing applicants should confirm with the international admissions office (international@binghamton.edu).
- Transcripts: official transcripts for each of the most recent three years, listing all courses and grades, with English translations if needed, sent directly by a school officer (through the application, by email from a school domain to international@binghamton.edu, or by mail).
- English: non-native speakers must submit at least one English test score, even if they attend an English-medium school or are SAT/ACT test-optional; scores must be under two years old; students with four years in an English-medium school may request a waiver. Accepted: TOEFL (iBT and Home Edition), IELTS, Duolingo, PTE, Cambridge English, SAT, IB higher level, O-Level English and ACT. The site lists “mid 50%” ranges, not minimums: TOEFL 80-95 (exams before January 21, 2026) or 4.0-5.0 (on or after), IELTS 6.5-7.0, Duolingo 110-120, SAT EBRW 530-640, ACT English 21-27, Cambridge 176-185, PTE 53-65. Whether nursing requires a higher English score is not stated. Admitted students whose English is equivalent to an IELTS range of 5.5-6.0 may be required to attend English Language Institute programming before the semester.
- Proof of funds: F-1 and J-1 students submit the International Student Financial Statement (with sponsor signatures) and official bank statements showing funds for the first year before an I-20 or DS-2019 is issued.
- International budget (2026-27): tuition $29,840, fees $6,485 (not including the SEVIS fee), housing and meals $20,179, total $56,504.
- International students in clinical placements, licensure, Social Security number: not stated on the pages we read; contact Decker or international admissions. The costs table labels mandatory health insurance as “domestic students” and does not explain the arrangement for international students. The scholarships page says all applicants are considered but does not say whether international students can receive the Nursing Scholars Program funding; not stated.
Applicants from China (own section)
- Gaokao: the website does not say how the Gaokao is used; not stated. The international pages give contacts: phone +1-607-777-2171, international@binghamton.edu, WhatsApp +1-607-759-8764 and WeChat “Binghamton University” (written “BinghamtonUniversity” on the international transfer page).
- Chinese-language resources: the international students page points to a Chinese-language site for Chinese students; that site is hosted on a third-party platform and was not used here. Find it from the university’s international students page.
- Transcripts and the school-leaving exams: the site only says non-English transcripts need English translations and must be sent by the school; how the Huikao and credential verification are handled is not stated.
- Guidance specific to Chinese nursing applicants: none on the pages we read.
6. Costs and scholarships (additional notes)
- Standard tuition and fees are above; nursing adds the clinical-related costs in the table and has no separate tuition surcharge. See the scholarship and nursing aid notes above.
7. Transfer
- External transfer (traditional): Decker admits transfer students only into the junior class; all prerequisites must be completed by the intended start, though courses may be in progress when applying and the site says preference goes to applicants who completed them by the time of review; there is no sophomore-class transfer admission except for Binghamton University Scholars. Requirements: graduate of an accredited secondary school, college coursework at an accredited institution, minimum cumulative GPA 3.0 and a minimum 3.0 average in the prerequisites; SAT/ACT not required. Fall only, with the transfer application; after applying you get a status-checker login and complete a prerequisite form; no personal statement or recommendation is required; the application and materials are due March 1 and most decisions come in March and April.
- Intra-University transfer or double degree (IUT/DD): current Binghamton students with a 3.0 cumulative GPA and a 3.0 prerequisite average and all prerequisites done by the start; apply through the internal system by March 15, then complete a supplemental application (prerequisite information, an experience-based essay on work, volunteer or internship roles, and three essays of up to 250 words each judged on writing, leadership, persistence and empathy) by April 1 with no late submissions; decisions by July 1.
- Accelerated track (BAT): a bachelor’s degree in another field, 3.0 cumulative GPA, 3.0 prerequisite average; the program starts in summer but applicants use the fall transfer application; the application is due November 15 and all materials December 1, with a resume uploaded; later applications are reviewed if space is available; most decisions come in January and February.
- International transfer: the international transfer page says Decker admits only incoming juniors with all prerequisites complete, a 3.0 GPA and a 3.0 prerequisite GPA. Prerequisites: two composition courses, statistics, introductory biology (waived if microbiology and anatomy and physiology were taken), anatomy and physiology I and II, microbiology, chemistry I and II, introductory psychology and developmental psychology. Anyone with international transcripts must first get a course-to-course and degree evaluation from WES or ECE. The international transfer priority deadline is March 1 for fall, nursing accepts fall applications only, and the BAT deadline is November 15 with all materials due December 1. English requirements match first-year, or two U.S. college composition courses with grades of B or better.
- Credit: transfer students may bring in up to 78 credits of prerequisites, General Education and electives; the site links a transfer course equivalency tool and Decker prerequisite advising guides (Google folder, not opened).
8. Pre-health advising
For nursing, academic advising goes through Decker’s Division of Advising; this guide does not go further.
Checklist
U.S. applicants:
- Apply as a nursing applicant from the start: Early Action November 1, Regular Decision January 15; pay the deposit to become a nursing major, with no second application after the prerequisites
- Show strength in biology, chemistry and mathematics; SAT/ACT not required; 126 credits, nursing core and clinical work begin in the fall of junior year
- After enrolling: health and clinical compliance, insurance, uniforms and assessment kit, a laptop or iPad
International applicants (including China):
- International Early Action November 1, regular March 15, but the nursing page says January 15, so confirm with admissions
- Three years of transcripts, at least one English score (ranges above), first-year proof of funds
- International students in clinical placements, licensure and Social Security number: not stated; Gaokao: not stated
Transfer students:
- Junior class only, prerequisites complete (in progress allowed, completed preferred), 3.0 GPA and 3.0 prerequisite average, fall deadline March 1; international transcripts need a WES or ECE evaluation first
Sources: Binghamton University, Decker nursing: undergraduate programs; BS in Nursing (pathways, prerequisites, how to apply); Requirements for undergraduate nursing students; Nursing: tuition, expenses and funding; First-year applicants; International first-year applicants; International students; International transfer applicants; Test policies; Cost; Scholarships. Information is for fall 2027 entry (costs are 2026-27 figures); check Binghamton’s website for the latest. The course catalog (Acalog), the third-party-hosted Chinese-language site, the application platforms and the Google folders the nursing page links to were not accessed.