Home / Admissions / US Applications / There Is No Public Health Bachelor’s Degree at Florida International University: The Stempel College Degrees Page Lists Public Health Only as Graduate Programs, and the Closest Undergraduate Paths Are the BS in Nutrition Science and the Bachelor of Health Services Administration, for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants

There Is No Public Health Bachelor’s Degree at Florida International University: The Stempel College Degrees Page Lists Public Health Only as Graduate Programs, and the Closest Undergraduate Paths Are the BS in Nutrition Science and the Bachelor of Health Services Administration, for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants

2026-10-25 · Application guides

On the degrees page of Florida International University’s Robert Stempel College of Public Health & Social Work, the undergraduate programs are a BA in Disaster Management, two bachelor’s programs in Dietetics & Nutrition and a BS in Social Work; there is no public health bachelor’s, and public health is offered through MPH and other graduate programs. The closest undergraduate paths are the BS in Dietetics & Nutrition with a Nutrition Science concentration (the page lists an A.A. or the University Core Curriculum, a 2.70 cumulative GPA and C or better in chemistry, biology and nutrition prerequisites) and the Bachelor of Health Services Administration in the Nicole Wertheim College of Nursing & Health Sciences, a 60-credit upper-level program. First-year applicants must send SAT, ACT or CLT scores; Early Action closes November 2, 2026 and the application fee is $30.

Florida International University (FIU) is a public university in Miami, Florida. Public health sits in the Robert Stempel College of Public Health & Social Work (Stempel College). The short answer: on the “Degrees & Programs” page of Stempel College that was read for this guide, the undergraduate programs are a BA in Disaster Management, two bachelor’s programs in Dietetics & Nutrition (the Didactic Program in Dietetics and Nutrition Science) and a BS in Social Work, plus a nutrition minor, a social welfare minor and a child welfare certificate; there is no public health (BSPH) bachelor’s. The public health department’s pages describe graduate programs: MPH concentrations (biostatistics, environmental health sciences, epidemiology, global health, health promotion and disease prevention, infectious disease, maternal and child health, and an online MPH), one-year accelerated MPH tracks, a PhD and graduate certificates. So this guide covers the closest undergraduate paths, then U.S. applicants, international applicants, applicants from China and transfer students. FIU’s course catalog (catalog.fiu.edu) is a third-party hosted catalog that was not visited, so full course lists are on the official site.

1. Degrees and options: what exists and what does not

  • Public health: the Stempel public health page says the college’s public health offerings have their distinct advantages for graduate students (part-time and working-professional options, one-year accelerated MPH, a fully online MPH), and no public health program appears among the undergraduate entries on the degrees page. A bachelor’s-plus-MPH or 4+1 program is not described on the pages read and is not published there. The Global Health MPH accelerated page is for applicants with a strong relevant professional background and academic record; it is a graduate application, not an undergraduate combined program.
  • BS in Dietetics & Nutrition, Nutrition Science (Department of Dietetics & Nutrition, Stempel College): the page says the major emphasizes the basic sciences, biology and chemistry, and builds up to the nutrition science core; it was developed for students seeking a BS before entering pre-professional programs such as medical/dental, occupational therapy, physical therapy, pharmacy, physician assistant, registered nurse or allied health sciences. It does not award a Verification Statement, which only the Didactic Program in Dietetics does. The core includes World Nutrition, Fundamentals of Food (with lab), Life Cycle Nutrition, physiology, Food Science (with lab), Genetics, biochemistry, Medical Nutrition Therapy, Dietetics in Community Health or Nutrition, Physical Activity and Special Populations, Advanced Nutrition, Clinical Nutrition, Nutrigenomics and Evidence-Based Research in Dietetics, 41 credits in all. Graduation needs at least 120 credits, a 2.70 GPA and C or better in DIE, HUN and FOS courses.
  • Bachelor of Health Services Administration (BHSA, Nicole Wertheim College of Nursing & Health Sciences): a field adjacent to public health. FIU says it qualifies graduates for entry-level management positions in health-related organizations and prepares them for graduate study in health services administration or other health sciences; it is a 60-credit upper-level curriculum emphasizing systems engineering and financial management of health organizations, health services research, economics, politics and legal aspects of health systems, and program planning and evaluation. It can be completed part-time or full-time (5 semesters) at the Biscayne Bay Campus, and an online version runs through FIU Online.
  • Others: the Disaster Management BA is run by the Academy of Disaster International Preparedness (that page was not read); the BS in Social Work is only named here.
  • STEM designation, honors/research and practicum hours: not stated on the pages read.
  • Pre-med: the Nutrition Science page says the major is for students heading to pre-professional programs; details of pre-health advising were not on the pages read.

2. How you get into the program

  • Nutrition Science BS: the prerequisite list reads: an A.A. degree from a Florida public institution, or completion of the University Core Curriculum (UCC); a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.70; C or better in General Chemistry I and II (with labs), general biology (with lab) and Principles of Nutrition HUN 2201; the pre-major is 41 credits of required coursework and all science courses (including HUN 2201) need a C or better. The text says “BSC 1010/L” while the table lists BSC 2010/L, so check with the department. Whether freshmen can choose this major on the FIU application is not stated; the page links to freshman requirements and transfer information.
  • BHSA: admission to the upper division requires 60 completed credit hours, or an A.A. degree or equivalent; the University’s core curriculum and lower-division requirements; and the prerequisites (Principles of Microeconomics ECO 2023, Accounting for Decisions ACG 2021, Managerial Accounting ACG 3301, Introduction to Microcomputers CGS 2060, and one statistics course from STA 2122/3111/3145/2023, with high school algebra as the statistics prerequisite), with “a minimum C” stated. You can apply while completing prerequisites but must finish them before BHSA courses. Active FIU students with fewer than 75 credits can submit a request to change to BHSA.
  • Seat limits: not published for either program.

3. Prerequisites and curriculum

  • High school courses (university-wide): English 4, mathematics 4 (Algebra I or higher), natural science 3 (two with substantial lab work), social science 3, second language 2, academic electives 2. FIU recalculates GPA, weighting AP, IB, dual enrollment, AICE and honors courses, and courses beyond the minimum improve your chances.
  • Nutrition Science prerequisites: chemistry CHM 1045/1046 (with labs), organic chemistry CHM 2210/2211 (with labs), biology BSC 2010/2011 (with labs), microbiology (with lab), Introduction to Psychology PSY 2012 and Principles of Nutrition HUN 2201.
  • Public health core courses (biostatistics, epidemiology, environmental health, health policy): these appear in the MPH curriculum, for example the Global Health MPH accelerated page lists Epidemiology I, Introduction to Environmental Health Sciences, Biostatistics I and Health Policy in a Global Context; there is no matching bachelor’s major, so they are not described here.
  • AP/IB credit: the first-year page says AP scores must be 3 or higher and must be sent separately by the testing agency; scores received after the application deadline are not considered. Which courses they replace is on a transfer-services table that was not read.

4. Rounds, deadlines and materials (first-year, fall 2027)

  • Platform and fee: the Common App (opens August 1); $30 application fee, or an SAT/ACT fee waiver.
  • Deadlines (the page says “Early Fall 2027 / Fall 2027”): Early Action complete application with documents November 2, 2026, notification December 10, deposit May 1, 2027; all first-year applicants complete application with documents December 16, 2026, notification January 21, 2027; final deadline complete application with documents March 2, 2027, last decisions April 2, 2027.
  • Materials: official transcripts from every high school or college attended, which must arrive before an application is reviewed; SAT, ACT or CLT scores (FIU’s SAT code is 5206 and ACT code 0776). From the 2025-26 application, the ACT Science section is no longer required and the composite uses English, math and reading only.
  • Essay and recommendations: not listed in the first-year application steps; not published there.
  • Testing: SAT, ACT or CLT is required. FIU gives the fall 2026 admitted profile (the table columns read 50% Lower, Middle, 50% Upper): Fall Direct SAT 1250, 1320, 1380; ACT 27, 30, 32; CLT 84, 88, 95; GPA 4.10, 4.4, 4.70. Early Fall Direct (starting in summer) SAT 1110, 1150, 1200; ACT 22, 24, 25; GPA 3.90, 4.2, 4.40. FIU says admission goes through pathways (Fall Direct, Early Fall Direct, Golden Scholars summer bridge, Spring Direct, START and others) and no single factor decides.

5. The three readers

U.S. applicants

  • Per-credit tuition: Florida residents $205.57 undergraduate, out-of-state $660.19 (cost page). Residency is decided from the documents you submit, and every student, including international students, must submit residency documentation.
  • The FAFSA opens October 1 with a December 1 early award priority date; the Golden Promise covers tuition and fees for first-time-in-college Florida students with a zero expected family contribution. Scholarships: the page is labeled “Early Fall/Fall 2026” but its dates match the fall 2027 entry cycle (verify them): students are considered automatically when they complete the application by November 2, 2026 for Florida high schools or December 16, 2026 for out-of-state or overseas high schools. Gold and Blue Scholarships range from $1,000 to $12,000 for Florida residents and $4,000 to $24,000 for non-residents, distributed over four years.

International applicants

  • English: the international freshman page says that for direct admission international first-time-in-college students are not required to submit TOEFL or IELTS scores, but must meet the Florida Board of Governors college-readiness requirements, determined largely by SAT or ACT Verbal/Reading and English sub-scores, along with the right GPA. The international FAQ adds, in an athletics answer, that you may need TOEFL or IELTS “if necessary” to show English proficiency, so the two statements are not fully consistent; confirm with an admissions counselor.
  • SAT, ACT or CLT scores are required. Transcripts must come directly from the school or counselor, with an official English translation if not in English. International students who want extra language and academic support can apply to the Global First Year (G1Y) program (English instruction, advising, priority housing and more).
  • F-1 and J-1 students must have medical insurance meeting FIU’s requirements before registering. The funds amount and work or internship limits are not stated on the pages read.
  • International costs: the international cost page lists $205.57 per credit for residents and $618.87 for non-residents, with about $18,964.75 for 30 credits in fall and spring including athletic, health and parking fees. That differs from the $660.19 on the main cost page, so the two pages disagree. The scholarship dates on the international page are from the 2024 cycle (fall 2025), so use the scholarship page above for current dates.

Applicants from China

  • Gaokao: the pages read do not say whether it is considered or give a cut-off; not published. International freshmen still must submit SAT, ACT or CLT scores.
  • Documents: only the general rule: high school transcripts sent directly by the school, with an official English translation if needed. Whether provincial exam records or similar are asked for separately is not published.
  • China-specific note: none on the pages read; ask an FIU admissions counselor.

6. Costs and scholarships, a note

  • See above. Program surcharges for Nutrition Science or the BHSA are not published.
  • The international page points to the Florida Linkage programs and the Academic Works scholarship database; no public-health-specific scholarship is listed.

7. Transfer

  • General rules: transcripts from all colleges attended (including dual enrollment), at least a 2.0 GPA at the last school and good standing. With 60 or more transferable credits you need no high school transcript or test scores; with 30–59 credits you need ENC 1101 and a college math course with C or better and a 2.0 transfer GPA to skip them; with fewer than 30 or without both courses you must send a high school transcript and SAT/ACT/CLT first. A Florida public A.A. degree gives automatic university admission through the 2+2 partnership (except specialized programs), but you still apply to your own college and program.
  • Fee and exams: $30; AP and similar scores must be sent separately and be 3 or higher.
  • Deadlines (domestic transfers): fall 2027 entry July 8 (College of Business application June 23); spring 2027 entry December 1 (College of Business November 17); summer A/C 2027 entry March 8 (the page prints no year for the dates). For students educated at a non-U.S. institution: fall 2027 entry application May 16 with documents May 24; spring 2027 entry October 1.
  • Moving into these programs: Nutrition Science needs an A.A. or UCC and a 2.70 GPA; the BHSA needs 60 credits or an A.A. plus the prerequisites. A department PDF for transfer students in Nutrition Science was not read.
  • International transfer: all non-U.S. coursework needs a course-by-course evaluation with GPA from a NACES member service. English: TOEFL iBT 4.5 (new scale from January 21, 2026; earlier tests need 80), IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 110, or ENC 1101 with C or better at a U.S. institution, among other routes; transfers with 60 or more credits have several ways to show proficiency and those with fewer must meet the Board of Governors language requirements. At most 90 credits (60 lower-division and 30 upper-division) transfer in.

Checklist

U.S. applicants:

  • No public health bachelor’s; look at Nutrition Science (A.A. or UCC, 2.70 GPA, C or better in chemistry, biology and nutrition prerequisites) or the BHSA (60 credits plus prerequisites)
  • Common App; Early Action November 2, 2026, final March 2, 2027; $30 fee; SAT, ACT or CLT required

International applicants (including China):

  • The freshman page says no TOEFL or IELTS for direct admission while the FAQ has an “if necessary” line; transcripts with an official English translation; F-1/J-1 need medical insurance
  • Gaokao and China-specific notes are not published; the funds amount and work limits were not on the pages read

Transfer students:

  • 60 or more credits needs no test scores; domestic fall deadline July 8; non-U.S. coursework needs a NACES evaluation; at most 90 credits transfer

Sources: Florida International University, Stempel College: Degrees and Programs; Stempel College: Public Health; MPH Global Health accelerated track; BS in Dietetics & Nutrition: Nutrition Science; Bachelor of Health Services Administration; BHSA admission requirements; First-Year Applicant; Admission Standards; First Year Pathways; Transfer Applicant; International Freshmen; International FAQ; International Cost and Aid; International Transfer; Cost and Aid; Scholarships. Information is for fall 2027 entry. FIU’s course catalog (catalog.fiu.edu) is a third-party hosted catalog that was not visited, so full course lists are on the official site; the scholarship dates on the international cost page are from a previous cycle, so verify them. Check FIU’s website for the latest.

Related articles