Home / Admissions / US Applications / How to Apply to Public Health at Cornell University: There Is a Global and Public Health Sciences (BS) Major in Human Ecology or Agriculture and Life Sciences, You Choose It When You Apply, and Outside Transfer Students Cannot Apply to It, for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants

How to Apply to Public Health at Cornell University: There Is a Global and Public Health Sciences (BS) Major in Human Ecology or Agriculture and Life Sciences, You Choose It When You Apply, and Outside Transfer Students Cannot Apply to It, for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants

2026-10-25 · Application guides

Cornell has a Global and Public Health Sciences (GPHS) major leading to a Bachelor of Science, run by the Division of Nutritional Sciences and available in the College of Human Ecology or the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. You choose the college and major when you apply, and outside transfer students cannot apply to the major (both colleges say so). Early Decision is due November 1 and Regular Decision January 2; the SAT or ACT is required and the fee is $85. CALS says GPHS applicants need calculus in high school.

Cornell University has a major named Global and Public Health Sciences (GPHS), leading to a Bachelor of Science (BS), run by the Division of Nutritional Sciences (DNS). Cornell says GPHS is offered through the College of Human Ecology (CHE) or the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS); the major requirements are the same, while the distribution (general education) requirements and electives vary by college mission. Two features matter for applicants: you choose the college and the major when you apply, and outside transfer students cannot apply to this major. Below, the main points for fall 2027 entry are split into U.S. applicants, international applicants and applicants from China, followed by transfer and internal transfer.

1. Degrees and programs

  • Degree and host: Bachelor of Science, offered through DNS. The page says GPHS “is recognized as a public health program because it requires a foundation in the life and physical sciences, complemented by coursework in epidemiology and biostatistics.” It focuses on issues such as food insecurity, chronic disease, obesity and health disparities, and says graduates can make an impact through outreach and education and through advocacy and health policy.
  • Core courses: NS 1600 Introduction to Public Health, NS 2060 Preparation for Engaged Learning in Global and Public Health Sciences, NS 2600 Introduction to Global Health, NS 3600 Epidemiology and NS 4600 Explorations in Global and Public Health (capstone). In addition, at least one advanced course in each of four areas: social and behavioral health; biological aspects of public health; environmental health; and health policy and management. CHE students also take coursework in the social sciences, humanities, writing and math.
  • Practice requirement: every GPHS student must complete an experiential learning opportunity (ELO) in a research or community setting. You can source an experience approved by DNS in the local community, an academic or research setting, or abroad, or choose a program such as Cornell in Washington or the Cornell Global Health Summer Program in India, or do research with a DNS faculty member. Required hours are not stated on the pages we read.
  • Honors and research: the page mentions the DNS Honors Program and undergraduate research opportunities.
  • Five-year BS/MHA: the page says you may also apply to the Brooks School of Public Policy’s Sloan Program in Health Administration for a five-year BS/MHA; whether international students are accepted is not stated.
  • Global Health minor: offered by DNS and described as complementing “any academic major offered at Cornell”; it requires 5 courses (15 credits) plus an ELO: NS 2600, NS 4600 and three electives from an approved list (spread over three of five categories, taken for a letter grade at Cornell; overseas-study and transfer credit are not accepted).
  • STEM status is not stated on the pages we read.

2. How you get into the program

  • First-year: you choose the college and the major in the application. Cornell admissions says you apply directly to one of nine colleges and schools and answer that college’s own essay in the Cornell supplement on the Common App. CALS is most explicit: applicants “apply directly to one of our 20+ majors” and, if admitted, “jump right into your major.” CHE’s essay guidance asks why you are interested in the college and your selected major. So GPHS is a major chosen at application, not one declared after arrival.
  • Capacity and admit rate: not stated for GPHS on the pages we read.
  • Outside transfer: the CHE transfer page says “The Global and Public Health Sciences major is not available for transfer application. Consider choosing another CHE major in conjunction with a Global Health minor.” The CALS transfer page also says “Global & Public Health Sciences does not accept transfer students.”
  • Internal transfer (a current Cornell student moving into CHE’s GPHS): a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 and at least 3.0 in the semester you apply; on track for on-time graduation; first-year students may apply at the end of their second semester at the earliest; you must have taken NS 1600 or NS 2600 with a B or better (not B-), plus one introductory chemistry and one introductory biology course with a C or better, all for letter grades. Complementary preparation listed: statistics (STSCI 2150 or BTRY 3010) and coursework in HD, PUBPOL, DEA and FSAD. The page says the most competitive applicants have B or better in courses for the target major.

3. Prerequisites and coursework

  • CALS high school courses: 4 units of English; 4 units of mathematics (pre-calculus required); 3 units of science (biology and chemistry required, physics strongly recommended). The page also lists that calculus is required for Global & Public Health Sciences (among other majors). It adds that curricula differ by school, state and country and that the admissions team evaluates preparation in context; how that maps to a specific country’s curriculum is not stated.
  • CHE high school courses: competitive candidates, regardless of major, take the highest level of coursework available, particularly in math and science, and should complete advanced-level (AP, IB and so on) calculus and core science work (biology, chemistry and/or physics) if available; elective science in place of core sciences is “not compelling.” You can explain inconsistencies in the “Additional Essay.” CHE suggests asking a science or math teacher for a recommendation when applying to a natural-science-based major.
  • Course examples (GPHS page): Nutrition and Health Equity (NS 4510), Nutrition and Global Health (NS 3060) and Epidemiology (NS 3600).
  • AP/IB credit: CHE says it has its own AP/IB rules; see the curriculum sheets. The internal transfer page says a 4 or 5 on AP Calculus BC counts as calculus (AP Calculus AB is not accepted) and a 5 on AP English Literature or Language can fulfill at most one First-Year Writing Seminar, with one seminar taken at Cornell. Other subjects are not covered by the pages we read.

4. Rounds, fees and materials (first-year)

  • Dates (admissions): Early Decision (binding) is due November 1, with other materials by November 13 and decisions in mid-December; Regular Decision is due January 2, with other materials by January 19 and decisions in late March. The admissions page prints no year; the financial aid page ties fall 2027 entry to November 1, 2026 (Early Decision) and January 2, 2027 (Regular Decision).
  • Platform: the Common App; QuestBridge applicants have separate guidance.
  • Fee: $85; a fee waiver may be available if the fee is a financial burden and you plan to apply for aid.
  • Essays: the Common App personal essay plus the college-specific essay in the Cornell supplement. CHE advises answering why you chose CHE and your major, not reusing a general essay.
  • Recommendations: one counselor and two teachers; CHE suggests a science or math teacher for natural-science-based majors. Also an official transcript (Early Decision applicants are encouraged to send first-grading-period grades), the school report, and mid-year grades when available.
  • Testing: the SAT or ACT is required for first-year applicants. Cornell says it reinstated the requirement after a multi-year study. For the SAT it considers the highest section scores; for the ACT, the ACT superscore and highest section scores; the ACT science section is not required. Codes: SAT 2098, ACT 2726. Scores may be self-reported; enrolling students must send official scores.
  • Interviews: CALS says it does not conduct personal interviews.

5. Three groups of readers

U.S. applicants

  • The aid office says your estimated cost depends on your undergraduate college, program, New York State residency and other factors. CHE and CALS are New York State contract colleges, and New York residents there get the contract-college tuition rate. Figures for 2025–26 (the table that shows numbers): the page has three tabs (endowed colleges; NY State contract colleges for non-NY residents; NY State contract colleges for NY residents), and the three tables in the page text appear in that order: the first two are identical, with tuition $73,946, mandatory fees $1,024, housing $13,744, food $7,604, billed subtotal $96,318, books $1,234, personal expenses $2,182 and estimated total $99,734 (transportation varies by region); the third shows tuition $49,816, the same other lines, and an estimated total of $75,604. By tab order the third corresponds to NY residents in the contract colleges, which include CHE and CALS. The page also carries a 2026–27 heading, but the page text we read showed no figures for that year; check the website for the current table. No program surcharge for GPHS is listed; not published.
  • Aid: Cornell’s admission process for U.S. students is need-blind; it meets 100% of demonstrated need with Cornell grants, an annual work-study award and “reasonable student loans” depending on family income. Priority aid dates for domestic students: November 15 (Early Decision) and February 15 (Regular Decision).
  • In-state preference: not stated on the pages we read; New York residents’ tuition difference is above.

International applicants

  • English: not required if you are a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, English is your native language, or English has been your primary language of instruction for the past four years. Otherwise submit a score; the page lists the minimums “to be most competitive”: TOEFL 100 (exams taken before January 2026) or 5.0 with 5.5 recommended (January 2026 or later); IELTS 7.5; Duolingo 130; Cambridge C1/C2 191. Scores can be self-reported; enrolling students send official scores.
  • Aid: Cornell’s process for international students is need-aware: interest in or need for aid is one factor in admission decisions. International applicants who want Cornell grant or scholarship aid at any point must complete the CSS Profile when they apply: for fall 2027, Early Decision November 1, 2026, Regular Decision January 2, 2027 and Transfer March 15, 2027; if you miss the deadline you will not be eligible for aid at any time as an undergraduate. The aid office says it meets 100% of admitted international students’ demonstrated need. Cornell must withhold 14% of any grant or scholarship aid above tuition and mandatory fees for U.S. tax unless a tax treaty exemption applies; ask your own tax adviser.
  • The website says about 10% of students come from more than 125 countries. Proof-of-funds amounts and limits on internships or employment are not stated on the pages we read. Admissions also lists two scholarships for specific international groups: the Levitan Family Scholarships (students who attended secondary school outside the U.S. and have significant need; five students a year) and the Tata Scholarship (students who attended secondary school in India).

Applicants from China

  • The admissions, Human Ecology and CALS pages we read have no China-specific section. Whether the Gaokao is considered, what Huikao records are needed, and transcript requirements are not stated; ask Cornell undergraduate admissions (contact address on the page: engage@admissions.cornell.edu) or the college admissions team (CALS: cals_admissions@cornell.edu).
  • General points for all international applicants: English requirements above; SAT or ACT is required; translation rules for non-English documents are not stated on the pages we read.

6. Costs and scholarships

  • Costs are above. The aid office says the cost of attendance for aid includes only mandatory fees charged to all students; items such as optional course fees, gym memberships, premium housing and the Cornell Student Health Plan are excluded, and students may request loans to cover them.
  • Scholarship amounts and the net price calculator are on the aid office site, which we did not read in full.

7. Transfer and internal transfer

  • Outside transfer (fall entry): GPHS does not accept transfer applications (stated by both CHE and CALS). For other CHE majors, admissions gives March 15 as the application deadline, April 15 for other materials, and decisions released from late April through June; fall only. CHE says the most competitive applicants are full-time (12 credits per semester) students with a GPA of 3.5 or higher.
  • Prerequisites: CHE transfer applicants must have completed high school coursework in biology and in chemistry or physics (courses not taken in high school must be taken as an undergraduate); the page advises against planning to use AP/IB credit to fulfill many or most required courses.
  • CALS transfer page: at least two full-time semesters; minimum overall GPA of 3.0; fall admission only; admitted transfer students may not change major before arriving; GPHS does not accept transfer students.
  • Materials: the transfer Common App; $85 fee; high school and college transcripts; College Report; academic evaluation; mid-term report; the Cornell transfer writing supplement (250–650 words on how continuing your education at a new institution helps you achieve your goals); SAT or ACT is neither required nor expected for transfers.
  • International transfers: the English requirements are the same as above; the aid deadline is March 15, 2027; other rules specific to international transfers are not stated on the pages we read.
  • Internal transfer: see section 2.

8. Pre-health and graduate school

The GPHS page says graduates have the tools to pursue graduate education in medicine, public health, allied health sciences (such as dentistry and nursing), law and business, and some pursue master’s programs in biomedical sciences or public health. For pre-health advising see our general life-sciences guide for Cornell.

Checklist

U.S. applicants:

  • Choose CHE or CALS and GPHS when you apply; CALS says calculus, biology and chemistry are needed; SAT or ACT required
  • Early Decision November 1 or Regular Decision January 2; $85 fee; one counselor and two teacher recommendations; New York residents pay the lower contract-college tuition

International applicants (including China):

  • English reference points: TOEFL 5.0 (new) or 100 (old) / IELTS 7.5 / Duolingo 130; no China-specific section, and Gaokao use is not stated
  • Complete the CSS Profile when you apply if you need aid at any point; Cornell is need-aware for international applicants

Transfer students:

  • GPHS does not accept outside transfers; other CHE majors are due March 15; internal transfer needs a 3.0 GPA and NS 1600 or 2600 with a B or better

Sources: Cornell University, Human Ecology: Global and Public Health Sciences, BS; Human Ecology: Global Health minor; Human Ecology: undergraduate majors and minors; Human Ecology: first-year admissions; Human Ecology: transfer admissions; Human Ecology: internal transfer; Admissions: first-year applicants; Admissions: transfer applicants; Standardized testing policy and English proficiency; CALS: first-year applicants; CALS: transfer applicants; Financial aid: cost to attend; Financial aid: international students. Information is for fall 2027 entry. The first-year dates on the admissions page (November 1, January 2 and so on) print no year, while the financial aid page for international applicants explicitly lists, for applicants starting fall 2027, Early Decision November 1, 2026, Regular Decision January 2, 2027 and Transfer March 15, 2027. The 2026–27 cost tables on the aid office page showed no figures in the page text we read, so the figures in this guide come from the table that does show numbers, labeled 2025–26.

Related articles