How to apply to Engineering at Wright State University: the College of Engineering and Computer Science admits by the major you list, with seven engineering majors including biomedical, electrical, mechanical, industrial and systems, and materials engineering, and requirements for domestic, international (including China) and transfer applicants
At Wright State’s College of Engineering and Computer Science you name your intended major on the application, and if you meet university admission requirements you are admitted to the college; the pages we read describe no first-year engineering holding year. International high school applicants need a cumulative GPA of 2.5, and the college lists a minimum TOEFL of 71. Eligible international first-years and transfers are automatically considered for UCIE merit awards of USD 6,000–10,000 a year. For fall 2027, the domestic priority deadline is December 1 and the regular deadline is February 1.
Wright State University is in Dayton, Ohio. Its engineering degrees are offered by the College of Engineering and Computer Science (CECS). The BS and BA in Computer Science are also in this college, offered by the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, and are not covered here. This guide summarizes the official requirements for U.S. domestic applicants, international applicants (including from China) and transfer students.
1. Undergraduate majors in the college
- The college’s degree list shows: Biomedical Engineering (B.S.), Computer Engineering (B.S.), Electrical Engineering (B.S.), Engineering Technology (B.S.), Industrial and Systems Engineering (B.S.), Materials Science and Engineering (B.S.), Mechanical Engineering (B.S.), plus Computer Science (B.S. and B.A.) and Information Technology and Cybersecurity (B.S.).
- ABET accreditation: the program pages for Biomedical, Electrical, Computer, Mechanical, Materials Science and Industrial and Systems Engineering say each is accredited by the ABET Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC). Biomedical Engineering has a traditional track and a pre-med track; both are described as accredited, and the pre-med track also prepares students to apply to medical school or other health graduate programs.
- Engineering Technology (B.S.E.T.): new in 2025–2026, 120 semester hours, designed primarily for students with associate degrees, with a hybrid in-person and online schedule and a focus area in industrial and systems engineering or electrical engineering. The page does not mention ABET accreditation; not published.
- Combined degrees: the college offers combined B.S./M.S. programs that can be completed in as little as five years: Biomedical or Industrial and Systems Engineering, Electrical Engineering, and Mechanical and Materials Engineering (plus Computer Engineering or Computer Science). Students apply in the junior year and begin graduate courses in the senior year.
- Full required-course lists for each major are in the university catalog (catalog.wright.edu), which we did not use; they are not published on the pages we read. Check the official catalog.
2. How admission works: direct entry or a first-year engineering year?
- The major pages say essentially the same thing: indicate your desired major on the application, and if you meet university admission requirements you are admitted to the college. The pages we read do not describe a first-year or undeclared engineering year with GPA-based placement, and do not state major-specific GPA cutoffs or enrollment caps; not published.
- Changing majors: current students submit a Major/Minor Change Request through WINGS; undecided students talk to an advisor. GPA or course conditions for moving into each engineering major are not stated on the pages we read.
- Testing: the high school page says all applicants, including test-optional applicants, are eligible for merit scholarships and that Wright State scholarships are not based on test scores; the international checklist lists SAT/ACT as not mandatory but helpful for scholarship decisions. The two pages differ; confirm with admissions.
3. Prerequisites and math placement
- Recommended high school coursework (high school page): 4 years of English, 4 of mathematics, 3 of science and 3 of social studies. Graduates who complete the Ohio Core Curriculum (or an equivalent rigorous curriculum) with at least a 2.0 cumulative high school GPA are considered, in a holistic review. The college does not list a required number of high school calculus, physics or chemistry courses; not published. The international page says applicants should have studied mathematics and science at the secondary level.
- Math placement: new students are placed into a default math level using multiple measures, one of which is the ALEKS math placement assessment. Your level determines which math course you start with and also affects computer science, engineering and some science courses. The college’s advising page also lists Engineering Mathematics (EGR 1010) materials.
- Academic Advantage Program (AAP): a one-week pre-college workshop for entering CECS students (August 10–14 in 2026, registration for 2026 has closed) that reviews math with engineering examples, teaches study strategies and offers an ALEKS retest; the page says placement cannot go down. The fee is USD 200 and CECS majors who complete it receive a USD 200 completion scholarship, so the final cost is free. 2027 arrangements are not published.
- AP / IB / A-Level credit: Wright State recognizes six external exam programs including AP, IB and Cambridge International AS and A Levels. AP scores of 3 or better are passing, and 4 or better is recommended for STEM majors; no credit is given for IB World History or for a foreign language on IB scores alone. Score tables and course equivalents are on separate pages we did not read; how they apply to engineering required courses is not published.
4. Dates and materials
- Domestic applicants, fall 2027: priority applications are due December 1 with decisions by December 15; regular applications are due February 1 with decisions by February 15; rolling admission continues until August 16; the confirmation date is May 1. The FAFSA priority deadline and the competitive scholarship deadline are both February 1. The first day of fall semester 2027 is August 23.
- International preferred deadlines: fall June 30, spring November 30, summer March 31. The page shows no year, so confirm they apply to fall 2027 entry. Missing the preferred deadline reduces your chances for admission, scholarships and I-20 issuance; admission is rolling.
- Materials: domestic applicants submit the application (Wright State’s own or the Common App) and a high school transcript (partial at application, final after graduation). The application is described as free (the page has an asterisk whose note we did not read). The pages we read do not list a college-specific essay or recommendation letters; not published.
- International checklist: passport information page, the application and a USD 30 non-refundable fee, complete official academic records from all schools attended, an I-20 request form and a current bank statement in U.S. dollars (the amount is on the financial requirements page, which we did not read), and SAT/ACT scores (not mandatory).
5. U.S. domestic applicants
- Tuition (tuition-and-aid page, 2026–27 estimates): Ohio residents pay USD 6,085 per semester for 11–18 hours plus USD 232.50 in required fees; non-Ohio residents pay USD 11,431 per semester. The fee page lists USD 546 per hour (residents) and USD 1,038 per hour (non-residents) for 1–10.5 hours. The Wright Guarantee locks in in-state tuition, housing and meal plan costs for four years for students starting in fall 2026 or spring 2027; the non-resident portion is not guaranteed (the page lists USD 5,346, or USD 492 per hour).
- Engineering tuition differential: the undergraduate fee table does not list a differential for engineering majors; the page lists College of Engineering and Computer Science tuition only for graduate programs. It notes that costs do not include course or program fees, so check the course schedule.
- Scholarships: submitting the admission application automatically considers you for merit scholarships, and there is also a competitive scholarship application (due February 1); complete the FAFSA for need-based aid. The college pages we read do not list a college-specific freshman scholarship; not published.
- Any priority or guaranteed admission for Ohio residents is not published on the pages we read.
6. International applicants
- Grades: a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale for international high school applicants.
- English (any one): TOEFL 3.5 (old scale 61); IELTS 5.5 with no subscore below 5.0; Pearson PTE 51; Duolingo 105; Cambridge English Qualifications 162 (no subscore below 154); SAT evidence-based reading and writing 510; completing an accepted Intensive English Program also exempts you from a test. The College of Engineering and Computer Science lists a higher minimum TOEFL of 71; the page does not say whether that is on the old or new scale, so confirm with International Admissions. The college’s minimums on other tests are not published.
- Exemption: graduates of schools in countries where English is the official language of higher education do not need to show English proficiency; the list includes Canada (except Quebec), the United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Africa and others. Graduation from a U.S. high school also exempts.
- Transcripts: upload international transcripts to the application portal (do not mail them; mailed copies are neither processed nor returned); transcripts not in English need the original plus an official translation. Applicants who have only finished high school provide, depending on country, the state examination result needed to enter university or a complete high school transcript; students still in Year 12 submit years 9–11 grades. The site lists countries that must have transcripts evaluated by IEE, and China is not on that list; the university may also request an IEE report if it cannot verify documents. Admission may be provisional for one term, with official documents due in the first week.
- Financial documents: an I-20 request form and a bank statement in U.S. dollars.
- Estimated annual cost (international undergraduate tuition page): tuition USD 11,431 per semester for 12 hours (USD 22,862 a year), plus the international student fee (USD 150 per semester), career services, campus engagement, counseling and wellness, legal services and first-year program fees, living expenses USD 11,000 and books and health insurance USD 3,000, for an annual total of USD 37,899. The tuition-and-aid page gives different international totals (USD 36,176 living off campus, USD 36,658 living on campus); the university does not explain the difference, so confirm with International Admissions.
- Scholarships: international first-year and transfer students are automatically considered for the UCIE Undergraduate Merit Scholarship on admission, with no application: cumulative high school (or prior college) GPA 2.5–2.99 earns USD 6,000 a year, 3.0–3.19 earns USD 8,000, and 3.2 or higher earns USD 10,000. It is divided between fall and spring, renewable with a 2.5 GPA and 24 credit hours a year for up to 8 semesters (the page says it covers the 2026–27 and 2027–28 years), usable for tuition only, and funds are limited. There is also an International Ambassador Scholarship (two first-year students selected for Fall 2027, USD 10,000 a year; an essay and on-campus housing intention are required). Vietnam and Southeast Asia merit scholarships exist for those regions; China is not in the lists.
- Whether international students can receive U.S. federal aid is not stated on the pages we read; the university lists an international student loan option through Wright-Patt Credit Union.
7. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: how Gaokao results are used, and what is required of Huikao records, is not published; ask International Admissions (international-admissions@wright.edu). The transcripts page says applicants who have finished only high school submit the state examination result required to enter university or a full high school transcript depending on the country, without saying which applies to China.
- Transcripts: upload to the portal, with an official translation if not in English; China is not on the list of countries requiring IEE evaluation, but the university can request a credential report if it cannot verify your documents.
- China-specific information: the pages we read have no China country page, interview requirement or designated credential agency; not published.
- English: China is not on the English-official-language list, so one of the listed scores is needed, and the college requires TOEFL 71.
8. Costs and paid work experience
- Internships are not required: the college says CECS students are not required to complete an internship or co-op to graduate, but strongly encourages one or more before graduation. A co-op usually lasts a year and alternates with academic semesters, while an internship is shorter, such as a summer. An internship can be registered for class credit (talk to your advisor) or without credit.
- The Computer Engineering page says students are eligible for paid internships starting in the sophomore year; the Electrical Engineering page mentions internships and co-ops with local companies. Work authorization rules for international students are not published on these pages; ask UCIE.
9. Transfer students
- Who counts as a transfer: the college’s page says applicants with 12 or more credits from another college or university apply as transfer students.
- GPA: a 2.0 cumulative GPA on all previous undergraduate work, and a 2.0 from the last institution where you took at least nine semester credits (12 quarter hours); students academically dismissed or suspended cannot enroll for one calendar year.
- English for international transfers: waived if you transfer from a U.S. college with 12 or more transferable semester hours; otherwise submit TOEFL, IELTS or another score, or take the Oral English Proficiency Test. International coursework is evaluated course by course by IEE or WES before advisors review it.
- Engineering entry conditions: GPA thresholds and the calculus/physics/chemistry sequence for transferring into each engineering major are not published on the pages we read; contact the college’s advisors. The Engineering Technology page states the new degree is designed primarily for students with associate degrees and offers a technical elective block for transfers with an engineering technology associate degree.
Checklist
U.S. domestic applicants:
- Priority deadline December 1, regular deadline February 1; file the FAFSA and competitive scholarship application by February 1
- Name your intended engineering major on the application; watch for ALEKS math placement and the Academic Advantage Program
International applicants (including China):
- Cumulative GPA of at least 2.5; upload transcripts to the portal and do not mail them
- The college lists TOEFL 71 (confirm the scale) or another accepted test
- By the June 30 fall preferred deadline (confirm it applies to fall 2027), prepare your passport, transcripts, the USD 30 fee, the I-20 request form and a bank statement
- Ask admissions how Gaokao results are used
Transfer students:
- At least a 2.0 cumulative GPA; ask the college’s advisors about the math, physics and chemistry sequence for your major
Sources: Wright State University, College of Engineering and Computer Science degrees; College admission and aid; Academic and career advising; Academic Advantage Program; Experiential learning; Biomedical Engineering; Industrial and Systems Engineering; Engineering Technology; Computer Engineering; Electrical Engineering; Mechanical Engineering; Materials Science and Engineering; International undergraduate requirements; International application checklist; International preferred deadlines; International undergraduate tuition; International transcripts; English as official language; International undergraduate scholarships; High school students; Dates and deadlines; AP and credit by examination; Tuition and aid; Tuition and fees. The international preferred-deadline page shows no year, and the tuition pages are labeled 2026–27. Check Wright State’s website for the latest.