How to Apply to Mathematics at the University of Kansas: BA and BS Degrees in the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, Applying to the University and Declaring the Major After Entry, for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants
At the University of Kansas (KU), undergraduate mathematics is offered by the Department of Mathematics in the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, as a BA (29 hours of math) and a BS (41 hours of math plus an applications requirement, with informal statistics, applied and pure tracks). KU is test optional; assured admission to the College requires a high school GPA of 3.25 or an ACT of 21 / SAT of 1060 with a 2.0 GPA. The entry course is MATH 125 Calculus I, which cannot be tested out of. Estimated 2026-27 tuition is $11,844 for Kansas residents and $30,779 for out-of-state students. English proficiency is not an admission requirement for international applicants, and the international application fee is $90. Based on KU’s official information, this guide covers degrees, entry, prerequisites, deadlines, domestic, international and Chinese applicants, and transfer.
At the University of Kansas (KU), undergraduate mathematics is offered by the Department of Mathematics in the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences. Here is what you need to know, based on the department, the Office of Admissions, International Admissions and the academic catalog, organised for US domestic applicants, international applicants and applicants from China, followed by transfer students. Computer science is not covered here; this site has a separate article on it, and engineering, business and other majors are not covered either.
1. Degrees and areas
- Two degrees: the department offers a BA in Mathematics and a BS in Mathematics. The BA has fewer mathematics requirements and more general education requirements; the BS requires more mathematics courses and an applied mathematics concentration, with fewer general education courses. Credit structure on the department page: BA – 29 math, 0 applied concentration, 47 KU Core and general education, 44 electives, 120 total; BS – 41 math, 9 applied concentration, 37 KU Core and general education, 33 electives, 120 total.
- Which one: the department suggests the BS for students who want graduate school in mathematics or a career that makes substantial use of math (an actuary, for example), and the BA for those who want a liberal arts degree. Students who want to teach high school mathematics should major in math (BA or BS) and join the STEAMTeach KU program; for middle school, the department page says to get a BSE from the School of Education.
- BA requirements (catalog): KU Core 34, a laboratory or field experience, and proficiency in a non-English language; calculus I–III (or honors versions), linear algebra (MATH 290 or 291, plus MATH 590 or 790), advanced calculus (MATH 600 or 765), a two-course “math sequence and breadth” requirement chosen from a long list (for example discrete mathematics with introductory modern algebra, probability with mathematical statistics, or analysis I and II), and advanced calculus as the capstone. The catalog says MATH 125 Calculus I is the Math Pathway course for the BA, and a student not ready to start in MATH 125 will need more than four years.
- BS requirements (catalog): calculus I–III, MATH 290/291 and one differential equations course (MATH 320, 220 or 221); linear algebra, modern algebra and advanced calculus; one statistical theory course (MATH 526, 628 or 728); one two-course sequence from List A and a second from List A or B; 24 credit hours of mathematics numbered 400 and above in total; a mathematics application requirement of at least 8 hours in 3 courses that make significant use of mathematics (at least 2 in the same area; the catalog lists approved courses in statistics and data science, economics and finance, biology, physics and astronomy, chemistry, atmospheric science, engineering and other areas); and advanced calculus as the capstone.
- Three informal BS tracks: the catalog says the department has a statistics track, an applied mathematics track and a pure mathematics track within the BS; they are advisory only, and students without a strong interest are encouraged to build a broad programme.
- Major grade requirements: for both degrees, at least 15 hours of KU resident credit in the major, at least 12 hours from courses numbered 300+, and a KU GPA of at least 2.0 in 300+ major courses.
- Other options: a mathematics minor, a statistics minor, an actuarial science certificate and a data science certificate (listed in the catalog); double majoring (two majors within the College, or a math degree alongside a degree from another KU school, meeting the general education requirements of both); and teaching certification through STEAMTeach KU. Beyond the statistics minor, the pages read do not list statistics as a separate undergraduate major.
2. How admission to the major works: apply to the University, declare after entry
- At application: the Office of Admissions says first-year students are assured admission to the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, and the department lists no separate admission threshold. The major-specific requirements page lists architecture, business, design, engineering, music, nursing and others with extra criteria; mathematics is not among them, and the College entry is simply a 3.25 high school GPA, or an ACT of 21 with a 2.0 GPA.
- Declaring the major: the department says to declare or update your major through the CLAS Undergraduate Advising Center. When to declare, any grade requirement and any cap on places are not stated in the pages read; please ask the department (math@ku.edu, 785-864-3651) or the College advising center.
- Advising: the department designates faculty advisors for math majors and prospective majors and recommends seeing one early and consistently, especially for double majors; Jayhawk Academic Advising is also available.
3. Prerequisites and placement
- High school math: the admissions and department pages read do not state a specific high school math course requirement. The department says MATH 125 and MATH 116 assume basic knowledge of trigonometry, and KU offers MATH 103 for students without a trigonometry or precalculus course.
- Placement: students with no prior college math credit are placed by math ACT, math SAT or ALEKS PPL score. From fall 2026: ACT 28+/SAT 660+/ALEKS 76+ can enrol in MATH 125 among others; ACT 26+/SAT 610+/ALEKS 61+ can enrol in MATH 101, 103, 104, 105, 107, 112, 115 and 365 but not 125; lower scores place into more basic courses. The department states that students cannot place into MATH 116 or 126 with test or placement scores, and cannot test out of MATH 125. Students who report no ACT/SAT (or qualifying AP math credit) must take ALEKS before enrolling in a KU math class.
- ALEKS PPL: up to 30 questions, generally 60–90 minutes, followed by an individualised prep and learning module and the chance to reassess; KU provides two exam sessions at no cost. The department says ALEKS scores will not change your acceptance to KU.
- Honors calculus: students with the appropriate background and a math ACT of 34 or higher (32 for University Honors Program members; math SAT 780 or 760) are eligible for MATH 145, 146 and 147, with permission from the department.
- AP credit (Registrar): Calculus AB 3+ – 4 hours, MATH 125; Calculus BC 3+ – 4 hours, MATH 126; the AB subscore on the BC exam 3+ – 4 hours, MATH 125; Precalculus 3+ – 5 hours, MATH 104; Statistics 3+ – 3 hours, MATH 112.
- IB credit (Registrar, score 4+): Mathematics: Analysis and Approaches HL – 4 hours, MATH 125; Analysis and Approaches SL – 3 hours, MATH 115; Applications and Interpretations HL – 3 hours, MATH 115; Applications and Interpretations SL – 5 hours, MATH 104 (as printed on the page). Cambridge A-Level and AS-Level math credit can be looked up in the CredTran tool, and questions go to International Admissions.
- Honors entry: departmental honors are described in section 8. The University Honors Program is a separate application; the admissions page says it has no minimum GPA or test score, reviews challenge, depth, breadth and leadership potential, and has a priority deadline of 1 November, a standard deadline of 1 December and a late-consideration deadline of 1 February.
- Math competitions: the department’s admissions page says students can take part in national, state and local math competitions and do faculty-guided research; how competitions are viewed in admission is not stated in the pages read.
4. Deadlines and application materials
- Deadlines: the “fall admission deadlines” on the admissions apply page list only three items: the freshman scholarship deadline of 1 December, the FAFSA priority deadline of 1 February and the fall transfer scholarship deadline of 1 August. The final application deadline for first-year students is not stated in the pages read; please ask the Office of Admissions. The pages show no year, so check that they apply to fall 2027 entry. The admissions FAQ says Decision Day is 1 May of the senior year, when the deposit must be received to hold a place.
- How to apply and fee: KU’s own online application; a non-refundable $40 fee for domestic degree-seeking freshmen, with waivers for economically disadvantaged students or those with military backgrounds. The international fee is in section 6.
- Materials: a self-reported GPA and an official or unofficial transcript; GED or HiSET scores if applicable. The application page read does not ask for essays, recommendation letters or an interview.
- Testing: KU is test optional. The page strongly encourages submitting ACT/SAT scores, which will not negatively affect admission eligibility but may be used in professional school admission decisions; see section 3 for the use of ACT/SAT or ALEKS in math placement.
- Assured admission: first-year students who submit a transcript are automatically admitted to the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences with either a cumulative high school GPA (weighted or unweighted) of 3.25 or higher, or an ACT of 21+ or SAT of 1060+ with a GPA of at least 2.0. Applicants who do not meet these are encouraged to apply and are reviewed individually.
5. US domestic applicants
- Cost (2026-27 estimates, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, 30 hours a year): Kansas residents – tuition $11,844, required student and wellness fees $1,065, housing and food $8,308–$18,708, books and supplies $778, total $21,995–$32,395. Out-of-state – tuition $30,779, other items the same, total $41,930–$52,330. Other estimated costs for financial aid purposes: transportation $2,080, personal expenses $2,096 and loan fees $52. Some programs add course fees. The rates for fall 2027 entry are not stated in the pages read.
- Freshman merit scholarships (GPA only): in-state – Chancellor (3.95+) $20,000 total ($5,000 a year), Traditions (3.85–3.94) $16,000, Crimson & Blue (3.70–3.84) $12,000, Rock Chalk (3.5–3.69) $8,000, Jayhawk (3.25–3.49) $4,000. Out-of-state – KU Excellence (3.95+) $64,000 total ($16,000 a year), KU Distinction (3.85–3.94) $56,000, KU Achievement (3.70–3.84) $48,000, KU Performance (3.5–3.69) $40,000, KU Access (3.25–3.49) $32,000. A complete application with a transcript is due by 1 December; renewal needs a 3.0 KU GPA and full-time enrolment, for a first bachelor’s degree or eight continuous semesters, whichever comes first. The page says scholarship information is reviewed each year and may change.
- Need-based aid: freshmen who file the FAFSA by 1 February and show need are considered for the Jayhawk Access Grant; Kansas National Merit Finalists who name KU as first choice receive an extra $1,000 a year. Kansas students facing significant personal challenges and financial hardship can look at the Hixson Opportunity Award.
- In-state priority or guaranteed admission: the pages read give Kansas residents no separate admission priority; assured admission is the same for all first-year students (section 4).
6. International applicants
- How to apply: international students apply through International Admissions’ online application rather than the general admissions route; those applying for permanent residency count as domestic.
- Deadlines: for students outside the US – fall 1 May, spring 15 November; for international students inside the US – fall 25 July, spring 1 December; fall scholarship application deadline 1 May. The pages show no year, so check.
- Fee and materials: a $90 application processing fee paid by credit card, which cannot be waived and for which the Common App fee waiver form is not accepted. Applications need English proficiency scores sent by the testing agency; proof of high school graduation for your country; academic records (unofficial transcripts accepted for the application, official ones required before enrolling, and official ones at application for transfer applicants from US institutions); where applicable, an educational gap statement (more than three months not enrolled after high school), a third-party release page, and SAT/ACT scores if your school requires them.
- English requirements: full English proficiency is not an admission requirement, but a score or other proof must be submitted with the application, less than two years old; students below the minimum may take English coursework before or alongside their degree. Minimum scores for full-time degree coursework: TOEFL iBT 79 (18 minimum subscore), or 4.5 (minimum subscore 4) on the new scale for tests from 21 January 2026; paper TOEFL 60 (18); IELTS Academic 6.5 (6.0); PTE Academic 53 (48); SAT Evidence-Based Reading & Writing 590; ACT English + Reading 48; AP English grade 4; AS/A-Level English Language grade B on both exams. Students below these take the Applied English Center (AEC) proficiency test; passing allows full-time degree coursework. Students with limited access to testing may submit the Duolingo English Test but must still take the AEC test.
- Waivers: native speakers of English; four years of college-preparatory English and a high school GPA of 2.5+ in a qualifying region (United States, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, English-speaking Canadian provinces, English-speaking Caribbean and African countries, or a US-accredited school); a B or better in college English composition 1 and 2 with 24 or more credit hours in a qualifying region; the full IB diploma with English HL of 5 or higher; or a US-accredited associate degree with a 2.5+ GPA.
- Proof of funds: the costs page says students requesting F-1 or J-1 status must submit proof of financial support before an I-20 or DS-2019 can be issued. Estimated yearly cost for full-time international undergraduates (30 credit hours): tuition and fees $33,854, living expenses (housing, food, personal items, books and mandatory health insurance) $18,424, total $52,278. The page shows no year, so check.
- International scholarships: international freshmen are listed with the same scholarships as out-of-state students (KU Excellence to KU Access, from a 3.25 GPA, $8,000–$16,000 a year, $32,000–$64,000 in total), based on high school GPA alone, renewable with a 3.0 KU GPA and full-time enrolment; exclusively online degree programmes are not eligible. The sources are inconsistent: the admissions scholarship page says a complete application is due by 1 December and says the scholarships are awarded to domestic students, while International Admissions gives a fall scholarship deadline of 1 May and lists these scholarships for international students. Please confirm with International Admissions.
7. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: the International Admissions credentials page does not mention the Gaokao. Whether it is used, and how, is not published; please contact International Admissions (world@ku.edu).
- Transcripts and school-leaving materials: for China the page asks for school-attested and sealed copies of official transcripts for grades 9–12; the Huikao (Xueye Shuiping Ceshi) and a school-attested copy of the Graduation Certificate, with English translation. If you do not yet have the certificate, a school official must provide a letter stating when it will be issued; on arrival you must present the original certificate and grade 12 transcript, in Chinese with an English translation.
- Grade requirement: a minimum grade average of 75% on the Chinese grading scale for the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences; a higher minimum for architecture, engineering and other programmes. International Admissions converts grades to the 4.0 scale.
- International curricula: students taking AP, IB or A-Level can use the credit rules in section 3; rules for GCSE/IGCSE and A-Level graduation documents are on the credentials page.
- English and funds: see section 6.
8. Costs, scholarships and outcomes
- Costs: see sections 5 and 6.
- Department scholarships (for enrolled majors): the department awards over $100,000 a year in scholarships, most of which supports KU’s four-year renewable scholarships. Eligibility: a registered math major, currently enrolled in a math class and having completed MATH 126/146, planning junior-senior math courses, with a GPA of at least 3.5 in KU math classes; review begins 1 March and recipients are notified in the first week of April. Need-based awards require the FAFSA (U.S. citizens) or ISNAW (international students).
- Undergraduate Research Awards (MathUGRA): $1,000 for students with a declared math major or minor doing an original research or creative project guided by a faculty member; fall awards are due 18 September (applications accepted 5–18 September) and spring awards 22 December (1–22 December). The application form on that page is for Spring 2024, so check for a current form.
- Departmental honors: the College requires an overall GPA of 3.25 and at least 3.5 in mathematics; the department adds a GPA of 3.5 or above in mathematics courses numbered 500+ and two of the sequences MATH 727/728, 765/766, 781/782 and 790/791, each course with a grade of B- or better, and an oral presentation (suggested for the second semester of the senior year, preparing with MATH 699 Directed Reading). Students are urged to tell the honors committee by the end of the sophomore year.
- Outcomes: the department says employers appreciate the data analysis and original thinking taught in a math degree, and points to the Jayhawk Career Network and the University Career Center. It prints no employment data.
9. Transfer students
- Assured admission: transfer students with 24 or more transferable credit hours at a GPA of 2.5 or higher from a regionally accredited community college, college or university are assured admission; with fewer than 24 hours, applicants must also meet a first-year assured admission requirement and send a final official high school transcript (or GED scores).
- Applying: the transfer page says transfer students apply for free and need official transcripts sent directly from every college attended; essays and final transcripts are not required. International Admissions separately lists the $90 fee for freshman and transfer applicants, accepts unofficial transcripts from institutions outside the US, and uses the cumulative transferable GPA, with a minimum of 2.5.
- Deadlines: fall scholarship 1 August and final fall application 8 August; spring scholarship 1 December and final spring application 5 January (no year shown; check). International transfer applicants also have the international deadlines in section 6.
- Math prerequisites for transfer: neither the department nor the catalog pages read set a separate GPA or calculus-sequence requirement for transfer students into the math major; the general major requirements are in section 1. Not published; please contact the department.
- Credit transfer: the department says to submit an official transcript to the Office of Admissions. A course may be listed as equivalent to a specific KU course (satisfying whatever that course satisfies), or listed with only a department name, in which case it counts toward total credit but not specific requirements; talk to an advisor if you think a requirement should be waived. You can check how courses transfer in KU’s CredTran tool, which is a guide only; the Office of Admissions decides based on your transcript.
Checklist
US domestic applicants:
- Self-reported GPA and transcript; $40 fee; testing optional; complete the application by 1 December for freshman scholarships; FAFSA by 1 February
- After entry: place into math using ACT/SAT or ALEKS, with MATH 125 as the starting course; declare the math major through the CLAS Undergraduate Advising Center
International applicants (including China):
- Fall 1 May from outside the US; $90 fee; English scores (not an admission minimum, but required) or a waiver; transcripts and graduation documents (China: grades 9–12 transcripts, Huikao, Graduation Certificate, 75% average)
- Proof of funds before the I-20; the role of the Gaokao is not published
Transfer students:
- 24+ transferable hours and a 2.5+ GPA for assured admission; final fall deadline 8 August and spring 5 January; check course transfer in CredTran
Sources: University of Kansas, Mathematics: undergraduate program; Mathematics: undergraduate admission; Catalog: BA in Mathematics; Catalog: BS in Mathematics; Mathematics: advising and placement; Mathematics: ALEKS; Mathematics: honors; Mathematics: double majoring; Mathematics: scholarships; Mathematics: undergraduate research awards; Mathematics: transferring courses; Admissions: apply; Admissions: major-specific requirements; Admissions: costs; Admissions: freshman scholarships; Admissions: transfer; Registrar: AP/IB credit; International Admissions: apply; International Admissions: English; International Admissions: credentials; International Admissions: costs; International Admissions: scholarships. Most pages show no year, so check that they apply to fall 2027 entry and see the University’s website for the latest.