Home / Admissions / US Applications / How to Apply to Mathematics at NJIT: A Jordan Hu College of Science and Liberal Arts Department with Applied Mathematics, Statistics, Computational Mathematics, Mathematical Biology and Finance-Actuarial Concentrations, for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants

How to Apply to Mathematics at NJIT: A Jordan Hu College of Science and Liberal Arts Department with Applied Mathematics, Statistics, Computational Mathematics, Mathematical Biology and Finance-Actuarial Concentrations, for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants

2026-10-26 · Application guides

At the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT), the Department of Mathematical Sciences sits in the Jordan Hu College of Science and Liberal Arts and offers a B.S. in Mathematical Sciences with five concentrations (applied mathematics, applied statistics, computational mathematics, mathematical biology, and mathematics of finance and actuarial science), plus a data science (statistics) B.S., a 7-year BS/MD and double majors with physics, biology and computer science. Students can ask to change major or concentration through Highlander Pipeline after entering; the pages read do not say whether applicants are reviewed by major. Early Action I is November 15, testing is optional, and the application fee is $75. International English minimums are TOEFL 79 (old scale) or 4.0 (new scale) and IELTS 6.0. For 2026-27, tuition and fees are $22,426 for New Jersey residents and $42,300 for non-residents.

At the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT), undergraduate mathematics is offered by the Department of Mathematical Sciences in the Jordan Hu College of Science and Liberal Arts. Here is what you need to know, based on the department’s pages, the 2026-27 catalog and the admissions website, organised for US domestic applicants, international applicants and applicants from China, followed by transfer students. Computer science is mentioned only where it is part of a joint double major with mathematics; this site has a separate article on it. Data science is not covered in detail.

1. Degrees and concentrations

  • B.S. in Mathematical Sciences: the department and the catalog both list five concentrations: applied mathematics, applied statistics, computational mathematics, mathematical biology, and mathematics of finance and actuarial science. To be certified for the degree, students need grades of C or better in all their mathematics courses.
  • Other programs: a B.S. in Data Science (Statistics Track; the catalog calls it Data Science (Statistics Option) B.S., while an older department page still says “planned Fall 2021 launch”); a 7-year accelerated BS/MD in mathematical sciences; double majors with applied physics, biology, and computer science (applied mathematics track or computational mathematics track); a minor in each of the five concentrations; and a BS/MS program page. See the catalog for the requirements.
  • Example of structure: the catalog’s applied mathematics concentration totals 120 credits. The first year has Calculus I and II (MATH 111, 112), English composition and Physics I and II; the second year includes MATH 213 Calculus III, MATH 227 Mathematical Modeling, MATH 222 Differential Equations, MATH 337 Linear Algebra and MATH 340 Applied Numerical Methods; later years include complex variables, partial differential equations, introductory mathematical analysis and advanced calculus; the rest are general education, technical and free electives chosen with a department advisor. Any mathematics course numbered 331 or above can be used as a math, technical or free elective. The other concentrations’ plans were not read.
  • Co-op: the catalog says the co-op courses MATH 310 and MATH 410 carry degree credit and count as technical or free electives with an advisor’s approval.

2. How admission works: apply to the University, then request a change of major or concentration

  • Whether applicants must name mathematics on the application, whether mathematics is reviewed separately, and whether it has its own admission line are not stated on the admissions pages; ask the admissions office. The admissions page groups “Engineering, Computing and Science Majors” in one high school course category; it does not say which category mathematics falls under.
  • Declaring / changing in: the department says that to major in math you select the specific major on its “Undergraduate Majors and Minors” page and request to declare through Highlander Pipeline or the Application to Change Major/Minor/Concentration. The conditions (grades, courses, any cap) are not on the pages read; ask the Undergraduate Math Advisor.
  • Honors: applicants to the Albert Dorman Honors College and accelerated programs must submit test scores and have their own deadlines (section 4); the honors entry conditions were not read.

3. Prerequisites and where you start in math

  • High school mathematics: the admissions office says Engineering, Computing and Science majors need four years of English, four years of math (Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II and Pre-Calculus required; Calculus strongly recommended) and three years of lab science (Chemistry and Physics required). The page does not state whether mathematics falls under this category.
  • Starting course: the department’s preparation page offers placement exam practice problems and a precalculus and calculus sequence chart, and says to contact your degree program advisor to determine which math sequence is correct for your major. Placement cut-offs were not read. In the catalog plan, the first year starts with MATH 111 Calculus I.
  • AP / IB: the admissions office says AP or IB scores may earn college credit if official score reports are sent to NJIT; which math course they map to was not read.
  • Math competitions: the pages read do not say how math competitions are viewed in admission.

4. Deadlines and application materials

  • First-year fall dates (no year is printed; check that they apply to fall 2027 entry): Early Action I November 15; Early Action II December 15; Honors College February 1; rolling admission to March 1. Spring entry: rolling, November 15. Applications are evaluated once the file is complete.
  • Application fee: $75, non-refundable; a College Board or other fee waiver can be used.
  • Application and materials: Common App for first-year students; high school transcript (NJIT generally looks for the top 25% of the class, or a 3.0 GPA or higher where there is no ranking), the Common App essay and a letter of recommendation (counselors and teachers; the page does not require a math teacher).
  • Testing: test-optional for spring 2027 and fall 2027, though applicants are strongly encouraged to submit scores; Albert Dorman Honors College and accelerated-program applicants must submit them. NJIT has no minimum high school GPA or test score requirement; the fall 2026 first-year class averaged a 3.65 high school GPA, an SAT of 1339 and an ACT of 30. Scores are superscored; SAT code 2513, ACT code 2580. The “How to Apply” checklist still refers to the “Test-Optional Admission Policy for Fall 2024”, which conflicts with the above; the Admission Requirements page appears current, but check with the admissions office.

5. US domestic applicants

  • Costs (2026-27, full-time 12-17 credits, two semesters): the tuition and costs page lists tuition of $18,352 for New Jersey residents and $38,226 for non-residents, with $4,074 in fees for both, for tuition and fees of $22,426 (New Jersey residents) and $42,300 (non-residents). Living on campus, housing and food are $18,900 and additional indirect costs $5,500; living with parents $9,000 and $7,600; off campus $16,900 and $7,600; books and supplies $2,900 ($4,800 for architecture). The figures for fall 2027 entry are not published here.
  • Scholarships and aid: the admissions office says enrolling makes you automatically considered for all awards you are eligible for; most merit scholarships require full-time study and a 3.0 GPA, and need-based grants require a FAFSA each year. Applicants who submit SAT or ACT scores can be considered for endowed scholarships that may require scores; others are considered for other scholarships. The scholarships page says a FAFSA gets you considered automatically, most merit awards renew, and students whose scholarship is not renewed go on probation and need a term GPA of 3.0 or higher at the end of the fall semester. Amounts were not read.
  • Department scholarships: the department’s home page links to an endowed fellowship fund page (Gregory Kriegsmann Endowed Fellowship Fund), which was not read, so it is unclear whether it is for undergraduates; a mathematics-specific undergraduate scholarship is not published on the pages read.
  • Priority or guaranteed admission for residents: not published; NJIT has joint admissions agreements with New Jersey community colleges (see section 9).

6. International applicants

  • English requirement: applicants whose first language is not English submit TOEFL, IELTS, Duolingo or PTE: TOEFL iBT 4.0 (new scale) or 79 (old scale), IELTS 6.0, Duolingo 100, PTE 53. Applicants with degrees from the listed countries (including the UK, US, Australia, New Zealand, Ireland, Canada and South Africa) are exempt; China is not on the list.
  • Academic record and materials: an official high school transcript in English or a notarized copy; the page stresses math, science and English grades and trends, and expects English composition, algebra, geometry, trigonometry, chemistry and physics. SAT/ACT is optional except for the Honors College and accelerated programs. The application fee is $75.
  • Dates: the final cutoff for undergraduate international applicants is March 1 for fall and October 15 for spring; admission is rolling, the office recommends starting at least six months before the semester, and decisions are given within two to three weeks of a complete file.
  • Costs: the 2026-27 international undergraduate estimate is $42,300 for tuition and fees, $18,900 for living expenses and $10,678 for other expenses (health insurance, books and so on), for a total of $71,878 per year.
  • Aid: the types-of-aid page says need-based grants require a yearly FAFSA and federal work-study requires US citizenship or permanent residency; institutional work-study is open to international students who are full-time. The scholarship amounts available to international students are not published. Proof-of-funds and I-20 requirements for first-year applicants were not on the pages read (the international transfer page mentions an application for an I-20/DS-2019).

7. Applicants from China

  • Gaokao: not published whether or how it is used; ask the NJIT admissions office.
  • Transcripts and school-leaving examination records: the admissions office gives only the general international requirement of an official transcript in English or a notarized copy. China-specific requirements are not published.
  • International curricula: AP and IB scores may earn credit if sent by the testing agency; the treatment of A-Levels was not read.

8. Costs, research and outcomes

  • Costs and scholarships: see sections 5 and 6.
  • Undergraduate research: the department’s research page contains only a link to the NSF list of research experiences for undergraduates; a department program of its own is not published on the pages read.
  • Outcomes: the careers page prints no outcome data; it says the programs lay the foundations for careers in three areas, lists professional societies (AMS, SIAM, Society of Actuaries, American Statistical Association, MAA) and points to NJIT’s Career Development Services. The “Why major” page lists where past graduates went (for example actuaries at several insurers and BS graduates in math PhD programs); that page is dated 2020.

9. Transfer students

  • Basic requirements: the transfer FAQ says you should have completed at least 15 semester hours including English composition, a mathematics class (pre-calculus is required for most majors) and other college-level courses; remedial courses may not be enough; with fewer than 30 semester hours you may need to submit a high school transcript; students below a 2.0 cumulative GPA are not admitted to a degree program. A mathematics-specific GPA or calculus requirement was not read.
  • Deadlines: fall June 1 (also June 1 for the Honors College), spring November 15 (January 1 for the Honors College); later applications are considered on a space-available basis.
  • Credit transfer: courses from regionally accredited institutions with a C or better and similar content transfer; transfer credit is not included in the NJIT term or cumulative GPA; there is no maximum, but you must earn at least 33 credits in upper-division courses approved by your department at NJIT. Formal evaluation is done after admission. Math courses are reviewed by the department’s Transfer Credit Advisor, electronically; international students send a WES report to the registrar and a copy with syllabi to the advisor.
  • Joint admissions: agreements with many New Jersey community colleges guarantee admission and automatic credit transfer for joint admissions students.
  • International transfer applicants: must live outside the US and have completed at least 15 semester hours (English composition, mathematics, science); materials include all transcripts (with certified translations), an English test, a passport photocopy, an application for an I-20/DS-2019 and a WES or NACES-member evaluation.

Checklist

US domestic applicants:

  • Common App; Early Action I November 15, II December 15, rolling to March 1 (check the year); $75 fee; test-optional; transcript, essay and recommendation
  • FAFSA; after entry, request a change into the major and concentration through Highlander Pipeline

International applicants (including China):

  • TOEFL 79 (old) or 4.0 (new), IELTS 6.0, Duolingo 100 or PTE 53; English or notarized transcript; March 1 for fall, October 15 for spring

After entry:

  • MATH 111, 112, 213 and the rest of the calculus sequence; see a math advisor about the sequence and concentration; C or better in math courses

Transfer students:

  • 15 semester hours with English composition and math; June 1 for fall, November 15 for spring; ask the department’s Transfer Credit Advisor

Sources: New Jersey Institute of Technology, Mathematical Sciences: undergraduate majors and minors; Mathematical Sciences: why major in math; Mathematical Sciences: undergraduate student information; Mathematical Sciences: preparation materials; Mathematical Sciences: transfer credit; Mathematical Sciences: undergraduate research; Mathematical Sciences: careers; Catalog: Mathematical Sciences (2026-27); Catalog: Applied Mathematics concentration; Admissions: admission requirements; Admissions: undergraduate dates; Admissions: international how to apply; Admissions: international dates; Admissions: international transfer; Admissions: transfer FAQs; Admissions: how credits transfer; Tuition and costs; Types of financial aid; Scholarships. Dates on the admissions pages show no year, so check that they apply to fall 2027 entry; costs are 2026-27 figures. See the NJIT website for the latest.

Related articles