Home / Admissions / US Applications / How to Apply to Ursinus College for a Mathematics Degree: A Math Major Within a Combined Mathematics, Computer Science and Statistics Department, with Pure, Applied and Secondary Teaching Tracks, No Application Fee, Test Optional, and How Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants Are Admitted

How to Apply to Ursinus College for a Mathematics Degree: A Math Major Within a Combined Mathematics, Computer Science and Statistics Department, with Pure, Applied and Secondary Teaching Tracks, No Application Fee, Test Optional, and How Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants Are Admitted

2026-10-26 · Application guides

Ursinus College’s mathematics major is offered by the Department of Mathematics, Computer Science, and Statistics. The department’s requirements page lists pure mathematics, applied mathematics and secondary teaching certification tracks, and statistics is a separate major. You apply to the College; the pages read do not state an entry threshold or a declaration date for math. Deadlines: Early Action 1 November, ED I 1 December, ED II and Regular 1 February; first-year applications are free; SAT/ACT optional. International applicants: TOEFL 80, IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 105. 2026-27 tuition is $61,500, and admitted first-year students receive at least $35,000 a year in merit awards.

Ursinus College is in Collegeville, Pennsylvania, about 25 miles outside Philadelphia. The mathematics major is offered by the Department of Mathematics, Computer Science, and Statistics, and students apply to the College through the Office of Admission. This article follows the College’s website and is organized for US domestic applicants, international applicants and applicants from China, followed by transfer students. Computer science and cybersecurity are not covered here.

1. The mathematics major and how admission works

  • Department: the department page says it offers majors in mathematics, computer science, cybersecurity (B.S.) and statistics, and minors in computer science, mathematics, statistics, biostatistics and scientific computing. The College lists a 9:1 student-faculty ratio. the pages read show no separate math admission thresholds by school or division.
  • Tracks within the math major: the department’s Requirements page lists three tracks: Pure Mathematics (MATH-312, 336, 411 and 421, for students interested in graduate study in pure mathematics or other theoretical fields), Applied Mathematics (MATH-312, 413, 434 and 442, for graduate study in applied mathematics or jobs in industry or government) and secondary teaching certification (MATH-322, 341 and 442 in addition to the major, with the MATH-350 oral presentation on the history of mathematics; there are department and college minimum GPA requirements for student teaching). The page says the tracks are guidance for particular career interests and do not substitute for the major requirements. Statistics is a separate major with its own course list; the page also has an actuarial science section that encourages interested students to talk to faculty early about a student-initiated actuarial science major.
  • Major requirements (as listed): MATH-112, 211, 235, 236W, 311 and 335; CS-350 or MATH-350; at least four other 300- or 400-level mathematics courses, one of which must be a 400-level capstone (MATH-413, 421, 434, 442 or 492W); and CS-173. Internships (MATH-381, 382), one- and two-credit research/independent work courses and MATH-400 do not count toward the major. Degree type: the page states that cybersecurity is a B.S.; whether the math major leads to a B.A. or a B.S. is not stated in the pages read. The Registrar says a B.A. or B.S. requires 128 semester hours.
  • Naming a major on application, when to declare, and internal transfer into math: not stated in the pages read, so not published here; please ask the admission office or the department, and check the College’s course catalog.
  • Experiential learning: the website says an Experiential Learning Project (XLP) is required to graduate and can be research, an internship or a study experience overseas; many students do more than one.

2. Prerequisites and AP/IB credit

  • High school courses (admission requirements page, described as the minimum academic requirements under the faculty handbook): at least 16 academic units, of which 11 are core: English 4 years, mathematics 3 units (Algebra 1 and 2, and either Geometry or Pre-Calculus), lab science 1, social science 1 and foreign language 2 (one language); at least 2.5 more units come from calculus, advanced mathematics, statistics, computer science, solid geometry, trigonometry, sciences and others. The page says a competitive applicant will have completed significantly more college-prep work.
  • Entry course in the major: the required courses start at MATH-112; the page says “a student who is not prepared to take MATH-112 will need to take MATH-111”. How students are placed into them is not stated in the pages read.
  • AP: the Registrar says AP credit depends on the score, that individual departments set the accepted score and the course equivalent, and that the chart is in the First Year Student Academic Guide. That chart was not read, so how Calculus AB/BC or Statistics map to math courses is not published in the pages read; please check the guide or ask the Registrar (registrar@ursinus.edu).
  • IB: students with the IB may receive up to one year of college credit; the exact credits and equivalents are set by the Registrar and the departments. No credit is given for SL exams; scores of 5–7 on HL exams are considered.
  • College courses taken in high school: evaluated from an accredited institution’s transcript, with a grade of C or better; the Registrar decides the equivalent. High-school algebra and vocational courses do not count.
  • Honors: no honors math sequence is described in the pages read; the Zacharias Honors Scholarship is a scholarship (section 4).

3. Rounds, materials and testing

  • First-year rounds (Apply page; no year is printed, so check that they apply to fall 2027):
    • Early Action (non-binding): 1 November, decision in mid-December, reply by 1 May
    • Early Decision 1 (binding): 1 December, rolling decisions; the aid deadline is within two weeks of the ED application, with a package about two weeks after admission; the merit pre-read request is listed as due “Friday, November 20”
    • Early Decision 2 (binding): 1 February; merit pre-read request listed as due “Friday, January 22”
    • Regular Decision: 1 February, decision by mid-March; highly qualified applicants may be released on a rolling basis; applications may be accepted after the deadline as space allows
    • Spring enrollment: apply by 1 December and choose a January start
  • Fee: applying is free for first-year students. You can apply with the Common Application, the Coalition Application or the Ursinus application.
  • Materials (checklist page): official high school transcripts, the Secondary School Report and a recommendation from a guidance counselor, and a personal essay. A math teacher recommendation is not specified. Homeschooled students, and students whose schools give narrative comments instead of grades, must provide detailed information about the depth of their curriculum, including reading lists.
  • Testing: SAT or ACT scores are optional. An interview with an admission counselor is highly encouraged but not required.
  • Math competitions: the pages read do not say how they are viewed.

4. US domestic applicants

  • Costs: the website shows one rate, with no in-state/out-of-state distinction. For 2026-27, resident students pay direct costs of tuition $61,500, comprehensive fee $750, housing $10,404 and food $7,524, a total of $80,178; first-time first-year students are also charged a $210 orientation fee. Estimated indirect costs are $3,322 (books $1,000, personal $1,500, travel $750, loan fees $72). Commuter direct costs are $62,250 (tuition and comprehensive fee), with estimated indirect costs of $10,038. The College says residential students on average pay less than $29,000 a year.
  • Aid figures: about 99 percent of students receive some form of aid; the tuition page says that in 2025-26 the College administered over $80 million in aid, nearly $65 million of it institutional scholarships and grants that need not be repaid.
  • Merit scholarships: first-year applicants are considered automatically with no separate application. The website says “all admitted first year students will receive at least $35,000 per year”; the merit page lists the Zacharias Honors Scholarship ($45,000 a year; the average recipient typically has a high school GPA above 4.0), the Gateway Scholarship ($43,000; typically above 3.7) and the Ursinus Scholarship ($41,000; typically above 3.3). The GPA bands are a guideline, and the committee reviews applicants holistically. The website also says top scholarships cover “full tuition”, while the highest level listed on the merit page is $45,000, so the two statements differ; rely on your offer letter. Merit scholarships apply to tuition and fees, and renewal needs a cumulative GPA of 2.0.
  • Need-based aid: apply at the time of application and complete the FAFSA. The checklist page still says the 2026-27 FAFSA “is expected to open October 2025”, which is out of date; check the financial aid office for current dates.
  • State residents: priority or guaranteed admission for Pennsylvania residents is not mentioned in the pages read. A news headline on the scholarships page mentions an America250 Tuition Promise for Montgomery County students; the details were not read.
  • Math-specific scholarships: the pages read do not mention a department scholarship for math.

5. International applicants

  • Numbers and timing: the College says international students are about 5% of the student body, from 32 countries. Most apply between September and March for fall entry; a limited number are accepted for spring. The Apply page says international and transfer applicants have separate application procedures, and the international page gives no separate deadline, so please confirm with the admission office whether the rounds above apply.
  • Materials: the Common Application or the Ursinus application; official secondary school transcripts (a translated course-by-course evaluation from a NACES member showing the US equivalent and US GPA may be required; electronic transcripts from WES are encouraged); a personal essay; the school profile; an interview that is highly recommended and may be required.
  • English: if English is not your native language or the language of high school instruction, at least one official score may be required: TOEFL minimum 80, IELTS minimum 6.5, Duolingo “minimum score to be considered” 105. The Office of Admission may ask for additional proof. No waiver rule is stated in the pages read.
  • Funding proof: proof of funding is required before depositing, and all incoming international students submit the Ursinus College International Financial Statement; supporting financial documents are required by US law for an I-20.
  • Costs and scholarships: the international costs page gives tuition, housing and food of $79,562 for 2025-26 (an earlier year; see section 4 for 2026-27). Admitted, qualified international students are eligible for merit awards and most specialty scholarships, and need the International Student Financial Statement to be considered for institutional need-based aid. The website differs slightly here: the merit page says “all domestic applicants” are considered, while the international page says international students are eligible; rely on your admission materials.

6. Applicants from China

  • Gaokao: the pages read do not say whether the Gaokao is considered or how it would be used. Not published in the pages read; please contact the admission office (admission@ursinus.edu, (610) 409-3200).
  • Transcripts and school-leaving materials: official secondary school transcripts are required, and a course-by-course evaluation from a NACES member such as WES may be required. There is no China-specific guidance in the pages read; section 5 applies.
  • International curricula: students with the IB are evaluated as in section 2.

7. Research, internships and outcomes

  • Internships and research: the department page lists places where students have recently interned, including Brenntag North America, Comcast Cable, Merck & Co., Milliman Inc., Spectra Associates, Vanguard and Voya Financial; it also says faculty involve undergraduates in their research and features a student who completed a summer research experience at the Institute for Computational and Experimental Research in Mathematics (ICERM).
  • Outcomes, as the website puts it: “Most of our graduates join the work force soon after graduation in a range of different industries. These industries include but are not limited to AI technology, machine learning, finance, actuarial science, engineering, biostatistics and robotics.” “While a majority of students do not attend graduate school immediately after graduation, most students will pursue a higher degree while working.” No employment rate or salary data is printed.
  • 4+1: the department describes a 4+1 graduate partnership with St. Joseph’s University that suits majors in mathematics, computer science and statistics; it leads to a Master of Science in Computer Science and is not covered here.

8. Transfer students

  • Deadlines: fall 15 August and spring 12 January, with rolling decisions; no year is printed, so check. Apply free with the Ursinus Transfer Application or the Common App. Most successful transfer candidates have a GPA of 3.0 or higher and are in good standing at their previous institution.
  • Materials: a personal essay; the final high school transcript if you have fewer than 24 college credits; official final college transcripts from every school attended, with grades; and the Student Conduct Verification Form. A recommendation from a college instructor and an on-campus interview are optional. A transfer credit calculator and an individual transfer credit evaluation are provided.
  • Credit: a grade of C or better; the Registrar determines the equivalent, and courses with no equivalent transfer as free credits. A degree needs 128 semester hours, usually at least 64 of them at Ursinus (so up to 64 can transfer; students may petition to transfer up to 96 and complete a minimum of 32 at Ursinus). Students who have fully completed a two-year associate degree typically begin with junior standing and must complete at least 64 more credits at Ursinus and satisfy all core and major requirements. Coursework abroad needs a WES course-by-course evaluation; for currently enrolled students, at most 20 credit hours of online or otherwise mediated courses are accepted. Math-specific entry conditions (GPA or the calculus/linear algebra sequence) are not stated in the pages read.
  • Transfer scholarships: Montgomery County Community College graduates with a 3.0 cumulative GPA in their associate degree receive a $40,000-a-year merit scholarship; Camden County College graduates are reviewed for merit scholarships of up to $40,000 a year; transfer students with an associate degree or 64 equivalent credits are guaranteed a scholarship covering at least 60% of Ursinus tuition.

Checklist

US domestic applicants:

  • EA 1 November, ED I 1 December, ED II and Regular 1 February; first-year applications are free; transcript, counselor recommendation and personal essay; SAT/ACT optional
  • At least 3 units of high school math (Algebra 1 and 2, plus Geometry or Pre-Calculus); the major’s required courses start at MATH-112, with MATH-111 first if you are not ready

International applicants (including China):

  • TOEFL 80, IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 105; a course-by-course evaluation may be required; the International Financial Statement; how the Gaokao is used is not published

After entry:

  • Confirm AP/IB credit with the Registrar; plan 300/400-level courses by track (pure, applied or teaching certification); complete one XLP before graduating

Transfer students:

  • Fall 15 August, spring 12 January; grade C or better; up to 64 credits transfer (96 by petition in some cases)

Sources: Ursinus College, Mathematics, Computer Science and Statistics; Department: requirements; Department: careers and outcomes; Department: experiential learning; Department: graduate partnership 4+1; Admission: apply and deadlines; Admission: application checklist; Admission: admission requirements; Admission: international applicants; Admission: international costs and aid; Admission: transfer students; Admission: transfer checklist; Scholarships and aid; Merit scholarships; Tuition and cost; Registrar: transfer credit policy. The dates on the admission pages show no year, so check that they apply to fall 2027 entry and see the College’s website for the latest.

Related articles