How to apply to Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology for physics: a B.S. in the Physics, Optical Engineering and NanoEngineering department, apply to the institute rather than a major, no SAT/ACT requirement, automatic Provost Scholarship review for physics applicants, with admission routes and prerequisites for U.S., international (including Chinese) and transfer students
Rose-Hulman offers a Bachelor of Science in Physics in its Physics, Optical Engineering, & NanoEngineering department; the department page lists 192 credits (88 required, 104 elective). You apply to the institute through the GoRose App or the Common App, pay a $65 fee and submit one recommendation; SAT/ACT scores are not required. Early Action is 1 November and Regular Decision is 1 February (the pages give no year). The school expects four years of math and English, three years of laboratory science (biology, chemistry and physics) and two of social science, and students who have not taken calculus must reach 78 on ALEKS by 15 July. Applicants for physics are automatically considered for the Provost Scholarship ($10,000 to $20,000 added to aid) if they apply by 1 November. International applicants need TOEFL 4.5 (88 on the old scale) or IELTS 6.5 and a bank statement; the 2026-27 estimated direct cost for a first-year is $81,106.
Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology (Terre Haute, Indiana) is an institute focused on engineering, science and mathematics. Physics sits in the Physics, Optical Engineering, & NanoEngineering department, and you apply to the institute. Here is what you need to know, based on official Rose-Hulman information, for U.S. students, international students and applicants from China, followed by transfer students. It applies to fall 2027 entry.
1. Physics degrees and how admission works
- Degree: the department page lists a Bachelor of Science in Physics. It does not list a B.A., or separate astrophysics, applied physics or biophysics degrees or tracks; it says only that the curriculum builds a foundation in classical and modern physics for graduate study and for design and development work in industrial laboratories. The department also offers B.S. degrees in optical engineering and NanoEngineering, which this article does not cover.
- Credits: the department page shows the physics degree at 88 required and 104 elective credits, 192 in total (for comparison, optical engineering and NanoEngineering are each 150 required and 44 elective, 194 in total). Course-by-course requirements are in the school’s online catalog, which we did not read; check it on the official site.
- Minors and certificates: the department lists a physics minor, an optical engineering minor, a solid state physics/materials science minor, an astronomy minor, an electrical and computer engineering minor for department majors, and certificates; the department home page also mentions a new Quantum Science, Computing, & Engineering certificate. The school has nearly 50 minors overall.
- College and admission route: The pages we read show majors listed by department with no separate colleges; you apply to the institute, and the application pages do not ask you to choose a major first. Whether the application asks for an intended major, when students declare or change majors, and whether moving into physics has grade or capacity limits are not stated on the pages we read; ask admissions (admissions@rhit.edu).
- Research and lab work: the department home page says the physics major requires students to take part in multiple one-on-one directed study opportunities, including use of the Oakley Observatory. The department pages describe undergraduate nanotechnology research in the MiNDS cleanroom and asteroid photometry research (students have discovered and named 33 asteroids). The scholarships page also describes a senior thesis for science majors, in which students design experiments, analyze data and present original research to faculty and the department. Credit and timing for the thesis are in the catalog, which we did not read.
- Accelerated Math Physics (AMP): a five-week summer program for admitted first-year students that, per the page, covers MA111, MA112, MA113, PH111 and PH112. Requirements are AP Calculus BC or the college equivalent, a year of high school physics, approval by the selection committee, and two letters (calculus teacher and physics teacher); selection is described as highly competitive. The dates and costs on the page are for 2026 (materials due April 22; estimated cost $6,300 to $6,700); 2027 arrangements are not yet posted, so verify. Eligible admitted students are invited by email; anyone who believes they qualify but has no invitation can contact the program director.
2. Prerequisites
- High school courses: the evaluation-criteria page says students are expected to complete at least four years of math, four years of English, three years of laboratory science (one year each of biology, chemistry and physics) and two years of social science before enrolling. These are school-wide; the department pages do not add a separate high school prerequisite for physics.
- Math placement (ALEKS PPL): students who have not completed a calculus course before arriving are expected to earn at least 78 by July 15 (the page heading reads “Class of 2029”, so verify the current requirement); if you have not reached 78 after the third attempt, contact aleksadmin@rose-hulman.edu. Students who have completed calculus but want a precalculus review are also advised to take it. Transfer students with approved credit for MA111 or higher do not need to take it. The page says ALEKS has up to 25 questions and generally takes 60 to 90 minutes.
- AP credit: Rose-Hulman accepts AP credit and dual-credit/dual-enrollment courses, and the AP page suggests AP Calculus for engineering and AP Biology and Chemistry for the sciences. The list of accepted AP subjects and scores is on the Registrar’s credit-by-examination page, which redirected to the online catalog when we requested it, so we did not read it. Which physics courses AP Physics (1, 2, C: Mechanics, C: E&M) or AP Calculus can replace is therefore not published in what we read; check the Registrar and the catalog. The AP page also says AP, IB and other credits can be applied toward the Rose Squared (R2) bachelor’s-plus-master’s program. IB-specific credit rules are not stated on the pages we read.
3. Timeline, fees, essays and testing
- How to apply: the GoRose App or the Common App; the school says no preference is given to either for admission or scholarships, the required materials are the same, and you should use only one.
- Materials: the submitted application, high school transcript, one letter of recommendation from a teacher, counselor or principal (homeschooled students need someone other than a parent), and a $65 non-refundable application fee or a qualified waiver. The pages do not say whether the recommender must be a science teacher, and they do not describe essay requirements inside the application, so check the application platform.
- Optional: domestic students at U.S. high schools may submit a 60-90 second Glimpse video; international students and domestic students at high schools abroad may submit an InitialView interview. The school says applicants without one are at no disadvantage.
- Dates (the pages give no year; verify they are for fall 2027 entry): the application opens August 1; Early Action (non-binding) is November 1; Regular Decision is February 1; the enrollment deposit is due May 1. Early Action applications missing materials move to Regular Decision. The international page says Early Action decisions come on or before December 15.
- Testing: the school does not require SAT or ACT scores. You may self-report scores or send them from the College Board or ACT (ACT code 1232, SAT code 1668); scores are reviewed together with course rigor, subject mastery, intellectual competency and personal character. How physics competitions such as USAPhO are viewed is not published.
4. U.S. students
- Cost: the tuition page lists one set of rates with no in-state/out-of-state split (and does not say whether Indiana residents get any reduction). For 2026-27 the first-year estimated direct cost is tuition and fees $59,772, housing and food $18,534 and a one-time laptop fee $2,800, for a printed total of $81,106; for a first-year living with parents the total is $70,783. Estimated indirect costs total $5,238 (miscellaneous, transportation and additional food $4,038; books and supplies $1,200). Tuition is $1,705 per credit hour.
- Scholarships and aid: all admitted students are automatically considered for the Rose-Hulman Merit Scholarship, based on academic measures (high school curriculum, class rank and size, test scores) and non-academic measures (activities, leadership, community service); athletics is not considered. Need-based grants are determined by the FAFSA filed each year starting in October (school FAFSA code 001830). There are also limited named scholarships and the invitation-only four-year Noblitt Scholars Program (scholarships up to full tuition).
- Physics-related scholarship: the scholarships page says students applying to study biology, chemistry, biochemistry, biomath, math or physics are automatically considered for the selective Provost Scholarship, which adds $10,000 to $20,000 of grant assistance to financial aid awards; to be considered you must apply by the November 1 non-binding Early Action date. The page does not say how the major is determined or how many awards there are; ask admissions.
- Other scholarships described: Competition Teams and Visual & Performing Arts scholarships (new for 2026-27; $1,000-$2,500 a year for four years; deadline April 1); FIRST Robotics (two awards of $10,000 a year, renewable to $40,000 over four years; February 1; admitted students only); VEX Robotics (one award, same terms). Scholarships specific to the physics department are not published.
- Preference or guaranteed admission for in-state residents: not published.
5. International students
- Materials: the international application, a letter of recommendation, an official copy of the secondary school record, TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo scores, and a bank statement. Requirements for credential evaluation or notarization are not published.
- English (if English is not your native language): TOEFL iBT 88 with at least 20 in each section if taken before January 21, 2026, or 4.5 with at least 4 in each section if taken on or after that date; IELTS 6.5 with at least 6.0 in each area; Duolingo 110; PTE Academic 59. Exemption: SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 500 or higher, or ACT English 21 or higher. The site gives no list of exempt countries.
- Financial proof: a bank statement dated within the last six months, showing the account holder’s name, the amount and the currency, in English or with a certified translation; after admission you upload an affidavit of support in your portal. The funds must be readily available and cannot come from jobs or internships after you enter the country; earlier submission gets priority I-20 processing.
- Grades and credentials: the page asks for an official copy of the secondary school record but gives no minimum grade level or credential-evaluator requirement.
- Scholarships and cost: international applicants are also reviewed for merit scholarships; the school says international students are on average responsible for about $45,000 a year, that it cannot meet full need, and that full-tuition and full-ride awards are extremely limited. A net price calculator is offered. Student health insurance is $1,091 for the academic year and international students cannot waive it.
- Other: the Class of 2030 includes students from China and many other countries. The Associate Director of Admissions (Matt Lance) works with international applicants.
6. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: whether and how it is used is not published, and Gaokao English is not among the listed English proof.
- Transcripts, exam records, country pages, credential evaluators: no China-specific page. The optional InitialView interview is open to international applicants but not required. Contact admissions (800-248-7448, admissions@rhit.edu) to confirm how Chinese courses and grades are handled.
- Prerequisites: see section 2; how Chinese high school physics and math courses map to them is not published.
7. Outcomes
The department page says a degree in physics, optical engineering or NanoEngineering gives a foundation for a career with companies on the leading edge of technological advances, or for graduate study, and gives laser engineer, semiconductor process engineer and research physicist as examples. The international page prints school-wide figures for the Class of 2025: a 95% placement rate, $82,005 average salary and $205,000 highest offer, and lists employers and graduate schools. These are school-wide and not broken out for physics; physics-specific outcome data is not published.
8. Transfer students
- Who: students who have completed college classes since high school. If you are a first-year at another institution, begin applying after your first-semester grades have posted.
- Materials: the transfer application form and college transcripts (courses in biology, chemistry, physics and calculus are required); with fewer than 24 transferable hours, also send your high school transcript. There is no application fee for transfers.
- Dates (no year given; verify they apply to fall 2027 entry): FAFSA March 1, application deadline April 1, enrollment deposit May 15.
- Credit: generally 100-level or above with a C or better; coursework is evaluated after admission, and faculty, not the admissions office, make the final decision.
- GPA: no minimum GPA is stated on the transfer page. It lists department head contacts; for Physics and Optical Engineering it is Dr. Galen Duree. Calculus and physics sequence requirements for moving into physics are not stated there either; contact the department.
Checklist
U.S. students:
- To be considered for the physics Provost Scholarship, apply by 1 November (Early Action); otherwise by 1 February (Regular Decision), through GoRose or the Common App with transcript, one recommendation and the $65 fee
- Four years of math and English, three years of laboratory science (biology, chemistry, physics) and two of social science; SAT/ACT not required
- If you have not taken calculus, reach 78 on ALEKS by 15 July
International students (including applicants from China):
- TOEFL 4.5 (88 on the old scale), IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 110 or PTE 59; or an SAT 500 EBRW / ACT English 21 exemption
- A bank statement within six months, and an affidavit of support after admission; confirm with admissions how the Gaokao and Chinese courses are treated
Transfer students:
- Apply by 1 April; transcripts need biology, chemistry, physics and calculus; no application fee
Sources: Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, Physics, Optical Engineering, & NanoEngineering department; Department majors and minors; Department student opportunities; Accelerated Math Physics; First-year application and deadlines; How to apply; Application evaluation criteria; International students; Transfer application and deadlines; AP credits; ALEKS placement; 2026-2027 tuition and fees; Rose-Hulman scholarships. The detailed physics course requirements are in the school’s online catalog, which we did not read; check the catalog on the official site. The deadline pages do not state a year; costs are for 2026-2027 and 2027-28 costs are not yet published. Check Rose-Hulman’s website for the latest.