How to apply to Wayne State University for a physics degree: the Department of Physics and Astronomy sits in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, with physics, astronomy and biomedical physics degrees, and admission routes and prerequisites for U.S., international (including Chinese) and transfer students
Wayne State’s Department of Physics and Astronomy is in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and offers a B.S. and B.A. in Physics, a B.S. and B.A. in Astronomy and a B.S. in Biomedical Physics, plus minors. You apply to the university; majors must declare by the start of the junior year with the department’s consent. SAT/ACT scores are optional (the test-optional route needs a short essay and an activities list). For fall 2027: a $25 application fee (waivable with a code); international fall deadline 1 August (confirm the year); TOEFL 4.5 on the new scale or IELTS 6.5; the department has its own undergraduate scholarships.
Wayne State University (WSU, in Detroit) teaches undergraduate physics through the Department of Physics and Astronomy in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS). This guide follows WSU’s published information for U.S. students, international students, applicants from China and transfer students, for fall 2027 entry. Mathematics, chemistry, engineering and computer science are not covered here.
1. Degrees and options
- B.S. in Physics: at least 120 credits covering university general education, CLAS group requirements and the physics program, with three options: General physics (a comprehensive overview); Advanced physics (for graduate study, with additional courses beyond general physics); and Engineering and applied physics (additional classes on top of the advanced option for interdisciplinary training toward engineering). Courses all physics majors take include University Physics Laboratory I and II, Introductory Modern Physics Laboratory, Thermal and Fluid Physics, Computational Methods, Classical Mechanics, Calculus I, II and III, Differential Equations and Matrix Algebra, and General Chemistry with lab.
- B.A. in Physics: graduates generally use physics as a background for graduate study in fields such as biotechnology, medicine, geophysics, aerospace, nanoscale technologies, patent law and finance. The page says it is meant for students who transferred after one or two years at a community college whose physics and math background does not fit the B.S. well enough to finish in reasonable time, students who want a general science education with physics as the concentration, and students who decide late to major in physics. B.A. graduates are also eligible for graduate work in physics.
- Astronomy: the B.S. is a rigorous program with strong math, physics and astronomy for graduate school or science careers; the B.A. offers more room for electives. For graduate study in astronomy or astrophysics the page suggests the B.A. in Astronomy with chemistry and physics electives, or the B.S. in Physics with an astronomy minor.
- B.S. in Biomedical Physics: an interdisciplinary degree offered with the School of Medicine, combining physics, biology, chemistry and medical sciences and heavy on research. Students choose a biophysics, medical physics or pre-medical concentration (the pre-medical one “incorporates premed requirements to minimize required credits”).
- Minors: physics, astronomy and biomedical physics; declare a minor by contacting an advisor.
- Accelerated graduate degree (AGRADE): undergraduates enroll in a graduate program at the same time and can apply up to 16 common credits, often finishing a bachelor’s and master’s in as little as five years. Apply in the semester you reach 90 credits (typically junior year) with a cumulative GPA of at least 3.5 and at least 3.6 in major courses. A cross-college physics and electrical engineering AGRADE lets up to 12 credits of physics graduate courses count toward an M.S. in electrical engineering.
- A Physics-Mathematics joint degree or a 3-2 engineering dual degree is not listed on the department’s pages; the links to engineering are the “engineering and applied physics” option and the AGRADE program above.
2. How admission works
- You apply to the university, through WSU’s application or the Common App. WSU reviews high school performance, curriculum rigor, English proficiency and test or test-optional materials; the physics pages do not mention a separate admission threshold or capacity limit for physics.
- Declaring the physics major: the department says students are formally required to declare by the beginning of the junior year, but declaring as early as possible is highly recommended so that the relevant math and physics courses are taken in time. Consult the undergraduate advisor well in advance, because acceptance of a declared major is subject to the advice and consent of the department. Once you declare, you may qualify for departmental scholarships. Any grade or GPA requirement for declaring is not stated on the pages we read; ask the advisor.
- Undecided first-years can use WSU’s exploratory tracks to complete general education while advised toward a direction.
- Through the Michigan Assured Admission Pact (MAAP), Michigan high school students with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher (4.0 scale) are assured admission by submitting the application and required materials.
3. Prerequisites, placement and credit
- High school courses: the department’s admissions page gives an overview of the field but no required high school physics or calculus; curriculum rigor is one of the university’s review factors.
- Math preparation for introductory physics (department Q&A): math preparation is very important for algebra-based physics (PHY 2130); students are advised to take the Mathematics Placement Exam including the level for placement in MAT 2010; those with weak physics backgrounds may benefit from PHY 1020 Conceptual Physics; students not at least qualified for calculus are discouraged from PHY 2130. The department generally lets general or applied physics majors who took algebra-based PHY 2130/2140 continue to higher-level courses, though calculus-based PHY 2170/2180 is strongly suggested. The lab (PHY 2131/2141) must be taken together with the lecture.
- AP / IB / CLEP: the university says it accepts AP, IB, CLEP and dual enrollment credits. Which exams map to which WSU physics or calculus courses is not stated on the pages we read; use the university’s course equivalency tool.
- Honors: the B.S. in Physics honors curriculum needs a GPA of at least 3.30 overall and 3.50 in physics courses and 24 honors credits including a seminar and thesis: the honors option in three listed courses (9 to 12 credits, at least one at the 5000 or 6000 level) plus PHY 5990 Independent Research and Thesis (two semesters of research with a faculty member, a written thesis and an oral presentation, with the plan approved in advance). Parts of the honors text on that page refer to the biomedical physics honors program, so confirm the details with the department and the Honors College.
- Labs and research: laboratory courses are part of the required list above. Research for credit is through PHY 5990, and the faculty member may be able to support you financially; other routes are CLAS Undergraduate Research (UGR) and the Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP). The department’s admissions page also says taking part in its research increases your chances of being hired as a paid research assistant.
4. How to apply and deadlines (fall 2027)
- System and fee: WSU’s application or the Common App. The first-year steps are: apply, submit a $25 fee, submit SAT or ACT scores (optional) or complete the test-optional requirements, and send your high school transcript. The Apply page says fall 2027 applicants can use the code WSU2027 to waive the fee (alongside the $25 on the process page; follow the application system).
- Testing: SAT (WSU code 1898) and ACT (code 2064) are optional. The test-optional route requires a short essay (one of two prompts) and a complete list of leadership, extracurricular, community and work activities; an academic recommendation form is optional. The page says this does not affect merit scholarship eligibility. How physics competitions such as USAPhO are viewed is not published.
- Recommendation: the academic recommendation is optional; a science teacher is not specifically required.
- Dates: applications for fall 2027 open on 1 August 2026. WSU says decisions typically come after 1 October, and within two to three weeks for later applications (the Apply page says four to six weeks). The U.S. first-year application deadline is not printed on the pages we read, so check with admissions.
- Scholarship deadline (two statements): the first-year application process page says applications completed by 1 December get priority for merit scholarships; the first-year scholarship page for fall 2027 says the priority deadline is 1 February 2027 (application, transcripts and scores) and the final deadline is 1 April 2027. Check the latest pages.
5. U.S. students: costs and scholarships
- Tuition chart (effective fall 2026; College of Liberal Arts and Sciences): the flat rate for 12 to 18 credits is $7,094.17 (in-state, lower division, 0 to 55 credits) or $8,419.08 (in-state, upper division, 56 or more); out-of-state $16,248.87 (lower) or $19,359.95 (upper). Up to 11 credits is charged per credit (in-state lower division $589.96). Additional fees include a registration fee of $300.12 per semester and a student service fee of $48.27 per credit hour; the chart also lists an Undergraduate Sciences Support Fee ($50 lower-division full-time, $100 upper-division full-time) under major, program or course specific fees, and whether it applies to physics is not stated. The page does not spell out whether the flat rate is per semester or per year; use the tuition calculator.
- First-year merit scholarships: based on high school GPA and optional ACT/SAT scores, considered without a separate application, and students who do not submit scores are still considered. Listed awards include the President’s Award for National Merit finalists, Warrior, Detroit Leadership, Green, Scholar and Wayne Med-Direct; one university merit award per student; available in fall and winter semesters only. Amounts are not stated on the page we read. U.S. citizens and eligible non-citizens file the FAFSA (WSU code 002329; the page refers to the 2027-28 FAFSA).
- Physics department scholarships: the WSU scholarship application runs from 1 October to 1 March. The department lists the Henry Bohm and Melbourne Stewart Endowed Undergraduate Scholarship (full- or part-time physics and/or astronomy majors), the Robert L. and Sandra E. Thomas Endowed Scholarship (an outstanding undergraduate or graduate student majoring in physics or Chinese studies), a scholarship for biomedical physics majors in good standing, a scholarship for physics and astronomy majors in good standing, and the Vaden W. Miles Undergraduate Award (outstanding physics undergraduates). Amounts are not given.
- In-state priority or guarantee: the Michigan Assured Admission Pact (GPA 3.0 or higher).
6. International students
- Application materials (international checklist): the undergraduate application and $25 fee; copies of all transcripts to Undergraduate Admissions; official transcripts translated into English by an accredited evaluation agency, with the original native-language official transcripts also sent; translations bearing the issuing institution’s seal; descriptions of the courses on your transcript; a signed statement of financial support and bank statement; proof of citizenship (passport or signed photograph); and a copy of your visa documents if you hold non-immigrant status. A $50 enrollment deposit secures your place and is nonrefundable after 1 May (first-year) or 1 June (transfer).
- Review factors: secondary school performance, curriculum rigor, English proficiency, and SAT/ACT or the test-optional documents (an essay, an activities list and an optional recommendation). A minimum GPA for international applicants is not published.
- Deadlines (the page shows no year; confirm they apply to fall 2027): fall 1 August; winter 1 December; spring/summer 1 April.
- English: TOEFL iBT minimum 79 for exams before 21 January 2026 and 4.5 on or after that date (no TOEFL superscore); IELTS 6.5 or higher; Michigan English Test (four-skill) 64; Duolingo 110. Scores must be sent by the testing agency, be no more than two years old, and use institution code 1898. Exemptions: English as a native language, or all secondary or post-secondary education completed in the U.S., Canada or another English-speaking country (high school students need at least two years at a U.S. high school); listed exempt countries include Australia, Canada (except Nunavut and Quebec), the UK, New Zealand, South Africa, Ghana, Kenya and Nigeria, and China is not on the list. An associate of arts or science degree from a U.S. institution, or transfer credits equivalent to WSU’s basic and intermediate composition with a GPA of 2.0 or higher, also meets the requirement, as does the highest level of WSU’s English Language Institute.
- Proof of funds, I-20: a signed statement of financial support (not older than six months) and a bank statement showing the amount equal to the financial requirements for undergraduate international students. The PDF form the page links shows older figures (its housing rate table is labeled 2015-16), so do not rely on its amounts; confirm the current amount with Undergraduate Admissions (OneStop@wayne.edu).
- Costs: the tuition chart is split into in-state and out-of-state; which one international students pay is not stated on the pages we read. See the out-of-state figures above.
- Scholarships: the scholarship page says U.S. citizenship is not required for admission and all incoming students are considered for merit scholarships; only U.S. citizens and eligible non-citizens must file the FAFSA. Amounts for international students are not stated on the page we read.
7. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: neither the international checklist nor the English requirements page mentions the Gaokao; whether and how it is used is not published, so ask Undergraduate Admissions (OneStop@wayne.edu).
- Transcripts and diplomas: the general rules above apply (English translations from an accredited evaluation agency plus native-language originals, with course descriptions). Whether Chinese academic proficiency exams, a credential evaluation or an interview are required is not stated.
- English: China is not on the exempt-country list, so use one of the tests or routes above.
- Prerequisites: see section 3; physics-specific high school prerequisites are not published.
8. Where graduates go
- The department says its graduates are found in academia, industry, government labs, medical schools and teaching, and pursue further study in engineering and physics; its career page lists research, education, applied technology development, financial data modelling and big-data analysis as paths. The pages also show a table of “median salary” figures for some careers (for example physicist $111,000 and astronomer $123,000), but without a source or year and with a statement that there is no implied promise of employment, so we do not present them as graduate salaries.
9. Transfer students
- University requirements (Apply page): at least 24 transferable credits of college work and a cumulative GPA of at least 2.50; or an associate degree and a combined cumulative GPA of at least 2.0; applicants with fewer than 24 credits get a holistic review that may include the high school record. The international checklist says transfer applicants need a cumulative GPA of at least 2.5, plus the high school transcript if they have under one year of college work. Decisions come about three weeks after the file is complete.
- Credit: all college-level classes from regionally accredited institutions with a grade of 2.0 (C) or above transfer, with no limit on the number; credit is classified as equivalent, department or elective credit; transfer grades do not count in the WSU GPA; Michigan community college associate degrees or an MTA-stamped transcript satisfy most lower-division general education. Use the course equivalency tool and the TESS self-service audit.
- Physics-specific requirements: the B.A. page says the B.A. is designed in part for students who transfer after one or two years at a community college; a physics transfer GPA or calculus/physics sequence requirement is not stated on the pages we read, so contact the undergraduate advisor.
- Deadlines: the U.S. transfer fall deadline is not printed on the pages we read; international transfers follow the international deadlines above.
Checklist
U.S. students:
- WSU application or Common App, $25 fee (waivable with code WSU2027); high school transcript; SAT/ACT optional, otherwise a short essay and an activities list
- Scholarship priority deadline 1 December (process page) or 1 February 2027 (scholarship page), so confirm; declare the physics major no later than the start of the junior year
International students (including applicants from China):
- $25 fee, evaluation-agency English transcripts plus native-language originals, statement of financial support and bank statement, passport; TOEFL 4.5 (new scale) or IELTS 6.5 etc.; fall 1 August (confirm the year)
- How the Gaokao is used is not published; confirm the current proof-of-funds amount
Transfer students:
- 24 transferable credits and a 2.50 GPA (or an associate degree and 2.0); talk to the physics advisor about course equivalencies
Sources: Wayne State University website, B.S. in Physics; B.A. in Physics; B.S. in Astronomy; B.A. in Astronomy; B.S. in Biomedical Physics; Minor in Physics; Physics undergraduate admissions; Physics advising; Staying on track; Physics scholarships; Career outlook; Apply; First-year application process; International checklist and deadlines; English proficiency; First-year scholarships; Tuition and fee charts; Transfer credit. The Apply and first-year scholarship pages are labeled for fall 2027; the international deadlines page shows no year and the tuition chart is effective fall 2026, so confirm the versions that apply to fall 2027 entry.