How to Apply to Economics at Western Sydney University: Economics Is One of Ten Majors in the Bachelor of Business and You Start Your Major in First Year, with Entry and Prerequisite Requirements for Australian, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Students
Western Sydney University (Western) has no stand-alone economics degree. Economics is one of ten majors in the three-year Bachelor of Business in the School of Business, and students start their major in first year. The course page lists a lowest selection rank of 60 and assumed knowledge of mathematics and two units of English for Australian applicants; the 2027 international fee schedule lists AUD 37,661 a year, and scholarships are assessed automatically. This guide covers Australian, international and Chinese applicants and transfer students, based on Western’s official information.
Western Sydney University (Western) does not have a stand-alone economics degree. Economics sits in the School of Business as one of ten majors, Economics, inside the Bachelor of Business. Below are the 2027 entry points from Western’s official information for Australian applicants, international applicants, applicants from China and transfer students. Accounting, finance, business analytics and the other business majors are mentioned only in passing.
1. Degree and majors
- Bachelor of Business: three years full time (part time for domestic students), program code 2786, CRICOS code 089205G, starting 1 March or 19 July 2027. The course page lists Parramatta City (UAC 721007), Sydney City (721008), Online (729200), Bankstown City (721005) and Campbelltown (721006). It notes that Sydney City semesters start in March, July and October, that some majors are available online, and that online program start times are February, June and September.
- Majors: the course page says “ten majors”: Accounting, Applied Finance and FinTech, Business Analytics, Economics, Human Resource Management, International Business, Management, Marketing and MarTech, Property, and Sport Management. The 2027 international fee schedule lists eleven specialisations, adding Applied AI in Business and naming one Marketing. The two lists differ; the handbook at the time of offer is the reference.
- Economics major: the description says it gives theoretical tools and applied skills for economic analysis of business decisions and public policy, addressing business and policy problems through quantitative and qualitative analysis while balancing economic performance, sustainability and social welfare. Key areas are microeconomic analysis and industry regulation, macroeconomic theory and policy, and economic modelling for predictive analysis, with engagement with industry and professional associations embedded. Graduates are said to pursue careers in public policy, banking and finance, consulting and business development. A second description says the economics offering takes a pluralist view with a range of competing economic theories, and lists careers such as cost-benefit analyst, economic advisor, economic forecaster, economic policy or planning analyst, economist, policy advisor to government and private enterprise, and labour market analyst.
- Majors start in first year: the business degrees overview page says that, unlike traditional degrees, students begin their major in first year and can also choose majors outside business. Which subjects make up the Economics major, and whether mathematics-type subjects are required, are in the handbook and not given on the pages used for this guide.
- Accreditation: the School of Business is accredited by AACSB. The accounting, applied finance and property majors have professional body accreditation; the page does not state any separate professional accreditation for the Economics major.
- Work experience: the pages say students can obtain internships during their studies and that the degree offers internships, industry projects and placement subjects with partner organisations; the Sport Management major is specifically described as including work-integrated learning. Whether the Economics major has a compulsory placement is not stated; check the website.
- Postgraduate link: Western says graduates of its Bachelor of Business get guaranteed entry to the MBA with 40 credit points of credit.
- Related degrees: Western also lists Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Business (four years), Bachelor of Business/Bachelor of Laws (five years), Bachelor of Business Analytics and AI Management (three years) and the one-year Diploma in Business; “Economy and markets” appears among the Bachelor of Arts specialisations in the fee schedule. Entry conditions for these are not given on the pages used; check the website. No separate economics honours degree is described.
2. How admission works: direct into a major or a general first year?
- You apply to the Bachelor of Business and a campus, and the major is chosen within the degree. Western says you begin your major in first year, but the pages used do not say whether a major must be named on application, whether there are conditions for changing major, or whether places in Economics are limited; ask the School of Business (business.courses@westernsydney.edu.au is given on the School page).
3. Prerequisites
- Australian applicants: the course page gives minimum entry as Year 12 HSC (or equivalent), a completed Diploma of Business at Western Sydney University The College, or a relevant vocational (VET) award. Assumed knowledge is “Mathematics and any two units of English”, and students who cannot show sufficient achievement in mathematics must use one elective to build mathematical aptitude, which does not lengthen the period of study. The page says “Mathematics” without naming a level.
- International applicants: the international entry requirements page and qualifications table give general minimums by country and say some courses may have higher requirements, to be checked in the handbook. Whether the mathematics assumed knowledge applies to international applicants is not given on the pages used, so ask Western’s international admissions.
- Whether an economics subject is required, and any admission test or interview, are not mentioned on the pages used.
4. Australian applicants
- How to apply: Australian and New Zealand citizens, permanent residents and permanent humanitarian visa holders apply through Western’s own application system, free of charge; Year 12 students can also apply through UAC (the UAC codes are listed above). The “Closing Date” field on the course page is blank; this is not given on the page, so check the website.
- Adjustment factors (formerly bonus points): Western says up to 10 adjustment factors can be added when you apply through UAC, including living in the Western Sydney region (5 added automatically), strong results in relevant HSC or IB subjects (up to 10; Band 5 or 6 for most programs, Band 4 for a small number), the elite athlete and performer scheme (5), the Educational Access Scheme for serious disadvantage, the Schools Recommendation Scheme (an early offer based on Year 11 performance) and the Australian Defence Force scheme (5). It also says “some Western programs are not available for adjustment factors”. Which subject factors apply to this program is on a separate page not used for this guide, so check the website.
- Fees: the course page gives an indicative Commonwealth supported annual student contribution “from AUD 11,885”; HECS-HELP may be available; it excludes the Student Services and Amenities Fee and depends on the band of the subjects you choose.
- Lowest selection rank (LSR): the course page lists 60 at all five campuses (including Online). This is the lowest selection rank shown on the page; actual cut-offs depend on the year’s UAC results and are not inferred here.
5. International applicants
- Results and qualification recognition: Western says admission is “highly competitive” and based on academic merit, and international students must meet the same standards as Australian residents. The qualifications table lists only minimum eligibility, not a guarantee, and some courses may require more (see the handbook). The course page says overseas qualifications must be assessed as equivalent to Australian qualifications by the Australian Education International – National Office of Overseas Skills Recognition (AEI-NOOSR). In the table (version v07, no year shown), the undergraduate minimum for the International Baccalaureate is an IB Diploma score of 24.
- English: for most undergraduate and postgraduate programs (there is a list of exceptions; see the note for this program below): IELTS Academic 6.5 with no band below 6.0; TOEFL iBT 82 (Writing 21, Speaking 18, Reading 13, Listening 13); or PTE Academic 58 with no communication skill below 50. Tests must be no more than two years old at commencement; online and home-edition versions of IELTS, PTE and TOEFL, and OET@Home, are not assessed. You may be treated as meeting the requirement if English is your first language or you can show English was the medium of instruction in secondary or tertiary study completed within two years of starting; no list of countries is given.
- How to apply: apply through Western’s international application system, free of charge, or through an agent. International students completing an Australian Year 12 (in or outside Australia), the IB in Australia or NCEA Level 3 must apply through UAC International. If you meet all criteria you get a provisional offer; if not, a packaged pathway offer or a conditional offer, and applications that do not meet entry requirements are automatically assessed for a pathway program at The College. Student visa holders must study full time, and the course page notes the part-time option is not available to them.
- Adjustment factors: Western says only two schemes apply to international students: living in the Western Sydney region (5) and strong results in relevant HSC or IB subjects (up to 10). The others are not available to international students.
- Funds: you must be able to cover tuition, living expenses, Overseas Student Health Cover, the student services and amenities fee, school costs for accompanying school-age dependants and travel. The fees page says student visa holders need approximately AUD 29,710 per person per year for living expenses as advised by the Australian Government (partner AUD 10,394, child AUD 4,449, plus annual school costs of AUD 13,502); it is a rough guide.
- 2027 tuition: the 2027 undergraduate international fee schedule (footer: last updated September 2026) lists the Bachelor of Business, which includes the Economics major, at AUD 37,661 a year (based on 80 credit points). No extra charge for the Economics major is mentioned on the pages used. Fees are reviewed each year; the Student Services and Amenities Fee and health cover are extra.
- English exceptions: the exceptions list on the entry requirements page covers nursing, physiotherapy, medicine, education, social work, psychology and similar programs; the Bachelor of Business is not on it, so the general requirement above applies.
- Online and Sydney City study: the course page says online students need adequate internet access and reasonable computer proficiency, and student visa holders must study full time. Whether the online mode is open to international students is not stated on the pages used, so ask international admissions.
6. Applicants from China
- In Western’s international qualifications table (version v07, no year shown), the undergraduate minimum for China is one of:
- completion of Gao San with an 80% average over three years;
- a Gaokao score at the Science Stream second-tier university admission threshold for your province;
- completion of the first year of a bachelor’s degree at a recognised university.
- So Western treats the Gaokao as one accepted basis and names the provincial second-tier line rather than a specific score. The table also lists starting points for university foundation studies and diplomas (for example a Gao Er average of 60% or 65% in the foundation columns and a Gao San average of 60% or 65% in the diploma columns); see the PDF. It adds that these are minimums and some courses may require more. Whether the Bachelor of Business requires more is not stated on the pages used; ask the admissions office.
- Format and certification requirements for Chinese high school certificates, transcripts and exam records are not given on the how-to-apply page, the entry requirements page or the qualifications table, and no China-specific page was found among the pages used for this guide. Contact international admissions at internationalstudy@westernsydney.edu.au or your agent.
7. International scholarships
- Automatic scholarship assessment: no separate application is needed; awards appear in your offer letter, and the scholarships page says awards are valued up to 50% of tuition.
- Western Sydney International Scholarship (Undergraduate): the scholarships page says AUD 10,000 or 5,000 a year in 2027 for the full duration of your degree, and AUD 6,000 or 3,000 for up to three years in 2026. The how-to-apply page says AUD 6,000 or 3,000 for up to three years and 50% off tuition. Both statements are on Western’s website; your offer letter is final.
- International UAC Scholarship: a AUD 10,000 multi-year scholarship awarded on academic merit.
- Vice-Chancellor’s Academic Excellence Undergraduate Scholarship: 50% of tuition for three years, no application needed.
- International Alumni Scholarship: AUD 10,000 a year for up to three years (undergraduate) for new international students commencing in 2026 and 2027, on academic merit, first-come, first-served. The page says it covers most undergraduate and postgraduate programs with some exclusions and does not say whether this program is excluded.
- Applicants from North Asia and South East Asia are eligible for a AUD 5,000 or 10,000 Regional Achievement Award; the page says it is available for all 2026 intakes and does not list countries.
- Scholarships specific to this school are not described on the pages used for this guide; check the website.
8. Transfer students and credit
- The qualifications table says completing the first year of a bachelor’s degree at a recognised university meets the undergraduate minimum.
- The course page says domestic applicants can also enter with the one-year Diploma of Business at The College; it does not describe conditions for international students to enter the Bachelor of Business through that diploma. Check the website.
- Detailed advanced standing rules (GPA, required prior subjects, how many credit points can be recognised) are in the course handbook and are not given on the pages used for this guide; ask Western. Deadlines are not published on those pages either.
Checklist
Australian applicants:
- Check the LSR of 60 and whether adjustment factors apply
- Assumed knowledge: mathematics and two units of English; a weak mathematics background can be covered by one elective without lengthening the degree
- Choose a campus: start months differ (Sydney City March, July, October; Online February, June, September)
International applicants:
- Prepare IELTS 6.5 (6.0 in each band) or equivalent, no more than two years old
- Apply directly for free; Australian HSC, IB or NCEA students go through UAC International
- Ask admissions whether the mathematics assumed knowledge applies, and whether online study is open to international students
Applicants from China:
- A three-year Gao San average of 80%, the Science Stream second-tier Gaokao threshold for your province, or the first year of a Chinese bachelor’s degree
- Ask the international admissions email how transcripts and certificates should be certified
Transfer students:
- One year of bachelor’s study meets the minimum; confirm credit with Western
Sources: Western Sydney University, School of Business; Business degrees; Bachelor of Business; Adjustment factors; International entry requirements; International qualifications table (PDF); International fees and living costs; 2027 undergraduate international fees (PDF); International scholarships; How to apply. Information is for 2027 entry; where a page shows no year, check the website for 2027 entry.