How to Apply to Chemistry at Denison University: B.S. and B.A. in Chemistry and B.S. in Biochemistry in One Department, No Application Fee, No Supplemental Essay, Test-Optional, for U.S., International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants
Denison University (Ohio) offers a B.S. and a B.A. in Chemistry and a B.S. in Biochemistry through the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, plus a chemistry minor; the department is ACS-approved. The application pages we read do not ask applicants to choose a major. There is no application fee or supplemental essay and testing is optional; ED deadlines are 15 November and 15 January, Regular Decision 15 January. 2026-27 tuition is $74,000.
At Denison University (Granville, Ohio), chemistry is taught in the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry. The pages we read describe admission to the university as a whole and do not mention a separate college or admission cut-off for chemistry. Below is what Denison publishes for fall 2027 entry, in sections for U.S. applicants, international applicants and applicants from China, then transfer students. Anything the site does not say is marked "not published". Medicine, dentistry, veterinary and other professional degrees are outside this guide; see the pre-medicine, pre-health page.
1. Degrees
- B.S. in Chemistry: described as a rigorous course of study preparing for professional careers, graduate work in chemistry or related fields, or professional schools. 16 courses.
- B.S. in Biochemistry: in the same department, 16 courses, with some biology (BIOL 210, BIOL 220 and 300-level biology).
- B.A. in Chemistry: described for students intending dentistry, medicine, secondary-school teaching or other fields needing a strong chemistry background; the page says a B.A. does not preclude a professional scientific career, although an extra year of undergraduate study may be required for some graduate programs. 11 courses.
- Chemistry minor: six courses. The Biology major (B.A./B.S.) is taught by the Biology department and is not covered here.
- Separate undergraduate tracks such as materials, environmental or medicinal chemistry, and any industrial-placement or co-op year: not listed on the pages we read.
2. Admission route, prerequisites and course plan
- Choosing a major: the application pages we read do not ask applicants to choose a major or list a separate quota. When students declare chemistry or biochemistry and any GPA condition: not stated; ask admission or the department.
- Department expectations: courses run from introductory (100) to intermediate (200 and 300) and advanced (400). Majors are expected to complete at least two of the required 300-level courses by the end of junior year; the department strongly recommends a C or better in CHEM 131, 132, 251 and 258 before 300-level courses; 400-level courses count toward the major only after their prerequisites, and waivers must be requested before taking the course.
- First year: students seeking the B.S. in Chemistry or Biochemistry are strongly encouraged to start CHEM 131 (Atoms and Molecules: Structure and Dynamics) in the first semester.
- Eight common courses for all three majors: CHEM 131, CHEM 132 (Organic Structure and Reactivity), CHEM 251 (Intermediate Organic), CHEM 258 (Intermediate Biochemistry), CHEM 343 (Intermediate Physical Chemistry), BIOL 210 (Molecular Biology and Unicellular Life), MATH 135 (Single Variable Calculus 1) and PHYS 121 (General Physics I), plus two zero-credit assessment courses, CHEM 300 and CHEM 400.
- B.S. in Chemistry (16 courses): the eight common courses plus CHEM 317 (Inorganic), CHEM 331 (Analytical), one more 300- or 400-level CHEM course, three 400-level CHEM courses, PHYS 122, and one more calculus-based MATH course (MATH 145, 213 or higher) or CS 105/145.
- B.S. in Biochemistry (16 courses): the eight common courses plus CHEM 331, one 300- or 400-level CHEM course, one advanced biochemistry course (CHEM 44X), BIOL 220, one 300-level BIOL course, another 300-level BIOL or 400-level CHEM course, PHYS 122, and one MATH course (MATH 120, 145 or higher) or CS 105/145. The page notes that some 300-level biology courses require BIOL 230, which this major does not, so students take BIOL 230 or get the instructor's permission.
- B.A. in Chemistry (11 courses): the eight common courses plus one 300-level CHEM course, one 300- or 400-level CHEM course and one 400-level CHEM course (CHEM 451 and 452 do not count).
- High-school prerequisites: the application pages do not list required high-school chemistry, mathematics or physics; not published. AP/IB: the chemistry pages do not describe AP or IB credit for chemistry or physics; not published. They say only that students who get a zero-credit waiver for MATH 135 based on high-school coursework and placement scores must take MATH 145 (or equivalent); how placement works is not stated.
- Laboratory: the degree-requirements page does not describe the lab schedule separately; not published, so check the course pages or the department.
- Courses elsewhere: one 300-level-or-higher course in the major or minor may be taken at another institution with the chair's prior approval; other intermediate and advanced chemistry courses must be taken at Denison. The department invites transfer students, students who declare after the first year and students going off campus to contact it to plan together.
Accreditation, research and outcomes
- ACS: the department is accredited by the American Chemical Society Committee on Professional Training and can offer an ACS Certificate of Professional Training. The site states the conditions differently: the About page says B.S. Chemistry students who take two semesters of Senior Research to satisfy a 400-level elective earn the certificate; the degree-requirements page says a B.S. Chemistry major who takes CHEM 325 (Polymer Chemistry) earns an ACS-certified degree, and a B.S. Biochemistry major needs CHEM 317 and CHEM 325. Confirm the current conditions with the department.
- Research: the department says the majority of majors do meaningful research before graduating. Routes are directed/independent study (1-4 credits in term), summer on-campus research (funded by the Anderson Endowment or faculty grants; funding typically covers research costs, a stipend and housing), summer off-campus research, and Senior Research (most students take 4 credits each semester of senior year, counted as one 400-level elective). The department page also says the Summer Scholars programme supports 120 to 140 students a year for up to 10 weeks.
- Outcomes: the department says majors are "qualified for immediate employment in industry" and that many go on to graduate school in chemistry, biochemistry or related areas, or to schools of medicine, dentistry or engineering. No placement statistics are published on the pages we read.
3. Rounds and application materials
- Early Decision 1 (binding): 15 November. Early Decision 2 (binding): 15 January. Regular Decision: 15 January. All decisions become final on 1 April. The pages print no year, so confirm the dates apply to fall 2027 entry.
- Decision timing: the two pages differ. The domestic page says ED applicants typically hear about one month after the deadline and RD applicants by mid-March; the international page says ED within a few weeks and RD by late March.
- Platform: Common App or Coalition App; Denison says there is no difference in how they are evaluated. No application fee and no supplemental essay (the personal essay inside the Common/Coalition App is still required).
- Materials: counselor recommendation and school report; official high-school transcript; an evaluation from at least one teacher of a core course; the Early Decision agreement for ED applicants; an optional arts supplement; an interview is recommended, not required.
- Testing: SAT/ACT not required since 2008; scores that are sent are superscored.
- Whether chemistry applicants need a science-teacher recommendation or any lab or research portfolio: not stated on the pages we read; check with admission.
4. U.S. applicants
- Cost: the cost page lists one tuition figure with no in-state/out-of-state split. 2026-27: tuition $74,000, housing and food $18,400, comprehensive fee $92,400. 2027-28: tuition $77,000, housing and food $19,400, comprehensive fee $96,400. A work-study allowance of $4,500 is listed for personal expenses and books. The site also has family-income-based pricing and a cost estimator. Any chemistry-specific fees: not stated on the pages we read.
- Aid and scholarships: Denison says it meets 100% of demonstrated need, determined for U.S. students from the FAFSA and CSS Profile. Every applicant is automatically considered for merit scholarships ranging from $5,000 per year to full tuition, awarded at admission. No in-state preference is mentioned on the pages we read.
- The cost page also says Denison provides stipends for unpaid internships (more than $1 million a year) and that aid travels with the student to study-abroad programs, with out-of-pocket tuition, housing and meals the same.
5. International applicants
- How to apply: anyone who is not a U.S. citizen or permanent resident uses the Common App or Coalition App with the same rounds; the page says international students are 17% of the student body.
- English: required. Considerations include, but are not limited to, English as the main language of school instruction, English as the first language, TOEFL iBT, IELTS, Duolingo English Test, SAT Reading, ACT English and an interview. No minimum scores are published; waivers are considered case by case.
- Finances: every international applicant must submit the Denison Certification of Finances whether or not they want aid. It is free, opens on 1 October and is uploaded to the applicant portal; Denison does not accept the CSS Profile. Need-based aid can only be requested during the admission process (tick the box on the application). Denison says international students get the same need-based aid and merit scholarships as U.S. students, that it meets 100% of demonstrated need, and that it is need-aware in admission. Aid deadlines equal the admission deadlines.
- After admission: the I-20 for the F-1 visa is issued once you are admitted and choose to attend; International Student Services offers a pre-orientation and immigration advising, and there is a host-family program.
6. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: Denison's pages do not explain how the Gaokao is used. Not published; contact international admission (internationaladmission@denison.edu).
- Transcripts and translation: your counselor sends the official transcript directly; if your school has no counselor, a teacher or other school official may send the documents. Translation and certification requirements for non-English documents are not stated on the page we read; ask admission.
- Other: English proof, financial certification and the no-fee application are as in section 5. Denison has no separate page for applicants from China.
7. Transfer
- Deadlines: spring (January start) 15 November; fall (August start) 15 April; rolling decisions, with spring applicants usually notified in November/December and fall applicants starting in April; reply within two weeks of the decision. The page contradicts itself: it also says "if a deadline has already passed (15 November for spring, 15 May for fall)", so confirm with the transfer admission coordinator.
- Application: Common App for Transfer; no fee, no additional essay, no test scores; official transcripts from every college attended, the final high-school transcript and a student conduct report from every college attended; the interview is optional.
- GPA: Denison does not publish a single minimum GPA; applications are reviewed holistically and many successful applicants are earning As and Bs.
- Credit: up to 62 hours of transfer credit (including study-abroad credit); a Denison degree requires 64 credit hours completed at Denison. Admitted students get a transfer credit evaluation; credit may count toward general education, electives or the major or minor, and the academic department makes the final decision on major and minor credit.
- Aid: U.S. transfer applicants seeking need-based aid submit the FAFSA and CSS Profile; international transfers submit the Certification of Finances; merit aid needs no extra application.
- Specific prerequisite courses or grades for transferring into chemistry: not stated on the transfer page we read.
Checklist
U.S. applicants:
- ED 1 by 15 November, ED 2 or RD by 15 January; no fee, no supplemental essay, testing optional
- For the B.S. degrees, start CHEM 131 in the first semester; ask about MATH 135 placement
International applicants (including China):
- Show English proficiency; submit the free Certification of Finances (not the CSS Profile); tick the aid box on the application
- Ask international admission how the Gaokao is used and what translation is required
Transfer students:
- Spring 15 November, fall 15 April (the page also says 15 May; confirm); up to 62 hours of credit; the department decides what counts toward the major
Sources: Denison University, Chemistry & Biochemistry; Degree requirements; About the department; Research; Pre-Medicine, Pre-Health; Apply for admission; International applicants; International applicant financial aid; Transfer; Affordability and cost. Dates and costs are as listed on those pages; confirm that undated dates apply to fall 2027 entry. Check Denison for the latest.