How to Apply to Chemistry at the University of Arizona: In the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, a B.S. and a B.A., Reviewed by Major at Application and Declared with Department Advisors After Entry, for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants
At the University of Arizona in Tucson, undergraduate chemistry is offered by the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry in the College of Science, with a B.S. and a B.A. in Chemistry; the B.S. requires a senior capstone of at least two semesters of laboratory work. Admissions reviews applications across the majors an applicant is interested in and says no applicant is guaranteed a specific major; after entry, students declare through department advisors, who require a 2.0 cumulative GPA. SAT and ACT scores are not required; the Early Action deadline for fall 2027 is 1 November 2026. English requirements include IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79 (4 on the new scale) and Duolingo 110. This guide covers degrees, entry, prerequisites, domestic, international and Chinese applicants, and transfer, based on Arizona’s official information.
The University of Arizona (Tucson) offers undergraduate chemistry through the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry (CBC) in the College of Science. This guide follows the Office of Admissions and the department website, covering US domestic, international and Chinese applicants, with transfer students at the end. The same department also offers undergraduate degrees in biochemistry, which are not covered in depth here — see the department website; medicine, pharmacy, nursing, public health and chemical engineering degrees are outside this guide, so please see the university website.
1. Degrees and tracks
- Two degrees: the department’s chemistry page lists a Bachelor of Science (B.S.) and a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in chemistry, plus a chemistry minor. The department homepage says CBC offers 10 undergraduate and graduate degrees (BS, BA, MS, MA, PhD) in chemistry and biochemistry.
- Chemistry B.S.: the department says students gain a foundation in multiple key areas of chemistry, with the opportunity to pursue a more specific track of their choosing; it is designed for students heading to postgraduate education or industry in the chemical sciences. Tracks, required courses and credits are in the major checklists by starting year (including a fall 2026 start version) — the checklist contents were not read for this guide, so please check the website.
- Chemistry B.A.: students gain a similar chemical understanding with more flexibility, and are encouraged to pursue double majors or minors; it is designed for non-laboratory professions.
- Senior capstone: the department says the Senior Capstone in Chemistry and Biochemistry is required for the Bachelor of Science degree to give laboratory research experience; it requires a minimum of two semesters of laboratory work, including at least 6 units of CHEM/BIOC 498 (498H for honors), starting in the penultimate semester — usually focused research followed by a semester of writing a thesis approved by the research mentor — and spring and summer graduates present a poster at the department’s annual poster fair. Whether the B.A. has this requirement is not stated on the pages read.
- Accreditation and placement years: the pages read do not describe American Chemical Society (ACS) certified tracks or degrees with a placement year — check the website. The department lists an internship course, CHEM 493 (1–3 units); see section 8.
- Accelerated master’s: there is a five-year B.S./M.S. option; see section 8.
2. How admission works: by major at application, declared with department advisors after entry
- At application: Admissions says it reviews an application across all majors the applicant expresses interest in and admits the student to the major where they are best positioned for success; some students are admitted to The A Center (more advising and structured support, studying as undeclared students and later declaring a major through a college). The high school requirements page states that no applicant is guaranteed admission into a specific major or academic program. Whether chemistry has its own admission cut-off is not stated on the pages read — ask Admissions.
- Declaring chemistry: the department’s advising page says students interested in adding a Chemistry or Biochemistry major must meet with a CBC advisor (appointments can be booked online); for current students adding or changing to a CBC major the department requires a 2.0 cumulative GPA, and even students below that are supported with GPA recovery. Before enrollment, new students complete tasks including a mandatory orientation with the CBC advising team, and the page specifically asks them to complete math placement in the Next Steps Center so advisors can enroll them in the right classes. The department says priority registration is restricted to current majors and it does not declare new majors during that period.
- Other note: the department FAQ says the university has no pre-med degree; students aiming at medical school can see Pre-Health Advising, and CBC advisors can help fit prerequisite courses into the degree plan.
3. Prerequisites and course advice
- High school courses: university-wide requirements are in section 5 (4 years of math, 3 years of lab science and so on). The department pages read do not state a required high school chemistry or calculus background for the chemistry major, nor A-Level, AP or IB chemistry requirements — not published on the pages read; ask the department’s advisors.
- Math placement: the advising page says new students complete math placement in the Next Steps Center; the FAQ says all students get one free retake of the math placement test.
- AP/IB and other exam credit: the FAQ says that if official scores were sent to the university, you can check processing under Transfer Credit in the UAccess Student Center, and it links AP, IB and CLEP credit tables; those tables were not read for this guide, so ask a CBC advisor which chemistry courses your credit replaces.
- First-year courses and labs: the FAQ notes that because of lab capacity limits, advisors can rarely enroll students in full classes, and suggests adding the section you need to your shopping cart and having a Plan B; the Think Tank provides tutoring for General and Organic Chemistry. The pages read do not list first-year course names — see the major checklist.
- Unit cap: the FAQ says enrollment is limited to 19 units and increases go through your advisor; students with a GPA below 3.00 may not increase their maximum.
4. Timeline and materials
- Rounds and deadlines (fall 2027 entry, admissions deadlines page): the application opens 1 August 2026; the Early Action deadline is 1 November 2026 and Early Action decisions begin 15 January 2027. Applications received after 1 November move to a Regular Decision timeline, considered on a space-available basis, with decisions released in batches in the spring. The enrollment fee is due by 1 May. Early Action applicants receive priority consideration for admission, merit aid and the W.A. Franke Honors College.
- How to apply and the fee: apply through the Common App (the page says to allow about an hour). The application fee is $50 for Arizona residents and $80 for non-Arizona residents or residents of other states; it is non-transferable and non-refundable. The pages read do not give a separate fee for international applicants.
- Essay and recommendations: the site “strongly encourages” the 500-word application essay (why Arizona is the right fit and how your chosen area of study aligns with your interests, goals and values, plus anything else you want to share). The admissions pages read do not require recommendation letters or a science-teacher recommendation; honors applicants may submit extra materials such as a letter of recommendation or a research project.
- Testing: SAT/ACT scores are not required for general admission, institutional merit scholarships or the Honors College; optional official scores can be used for class placement or to help meet core competency requirements.
- How applications are reviewed: each application is read by up to two reviewers, who consider class rank, strength of curriculum, performance, GPA in the required core courses, optional SAT/ACT, résumé and personal statement, and leadership, service, work experience and activities. Applicants may be asked for additional test scores or seventh-semester transcripts. Outcomes include admitted, admitted to The A Center, deferred, waitlisted or denied.
- Competitions: the pages read do not say how science olympiads or similar competitions are viewed in admissions.
5. US domestic applicants
- High school courses (Admissions, per Arizona Board of Regents requirements): 4 years of English; 4 years of mathematics (Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II and an advanced course for which Algebra II is a prerequisite); 3 years of laboratory science (3 distinct units from biology, chemistry, physics, earth science, integrated lab science); 2 years of social science (including 1 of American history); 2 years of the same second language; 1 year of fine arts or career and technical education. Some areas can be offset by SAT/ACT sub-scores or college coursework — for example math with an SAT math score of 570 or above (March 2016 or later) or ACT math 24 or above; lab science with SAT Subject Tests (chemistry 600, biology 590, physics 620) or ACT natural science 20 (which can show competency in one science only).
- Admission criteria: the same page says students must have a 3.0 unweighted GPA (4.0 = A) in the 16 core academic courses, at least 2.0 in each subject area, no more than two deficiencies, and not deficiencies in both math and lab science or twice in the same subject area. Applicants who do not meet these may still be considered through comprehensive review.
- Costs (Admissions estimate; the page says it is based on “2026-2026 figures”, as printed): Arizona residents — estimated tuition and fees $13,900, housing and food $17,770, books and course materials $600, travel and miscellaneous $5,000, with an estimated annual cost of $37,270 as printed; non-Arizona residents — tuition and fees $44,400, with a printed total of $67,770. The page says tuition and mandatory fees are frozen for all undergraduates, nonresidents included, for 2027–28. First-year students are expected to live on campus (with exemptions) and a meal plan may be required.
- Aid and scholarships: applicants are automatically considered for merit scholarships, with priority for complete applications by 1 November; the university encourages the FAFSA (school code 001083, opens 1 October); the aid offer comes with the admission decision. The first-year scholarships page lists the Wildcat Tuition Award (Arizona resident high school graduates) and the Arizona Tuition Award (non-Arizona high school graduates), both highly competitive tuition awards, plus the President’s Saguaro Scholars Award (about 100 Arizona first-year students), the Baird Award, the Flinn Semi-Finalist Tuition Award and others; admitted students can use the Scholarship Universe matching tool. Students admitted for spring are not eligible for these first-year merit awards.
- In-state priority or guaranteed admission: the pages read do not state guaranteed admission; Admissions says Arizona residents who are not admitted can consider transferring after community college.
- Prop 308: the site says qualifying non-citizen Arizona high school graduates (physically present in Arizona for at least two years of high school and graduating from an Arizona high school or earning an Arizona high school equivalency) may receive in-state tuition.
6. International applicants
- Process: international students follow the same application process as US students, choosing the application type (first-year or transfer) that matches their background; first-year applicants see the 1 November 2026 Early Action deadline in section 4. All documents must be in English, and the site recommends a certified translation service; final official transcripts after admission must also be translated.
- English proficiency: applicants whose primary language is not English, or who attended school in a non-English-speaking country, regardless of citizenship, must show proficiency. Coursework routes: Cambridge IGCSE/O Level or higher English with a C; IB English A Higher Level 5; 4 years of regular English at an accredited American or IB high school with a C (ESL-type courses do not count); 3 years at a high school with English as the medium of instruction with a C; or college composition (WRIT 101, 102, or 107 and 108) with a C. Test routes: IELTS (Academic, Online, Indicator or One Skill Retake) 6.5; TOEFL iBT (including MyBest, before January 2026) 79, or 4 on the new scale after January 2026; Duolingo 110; PTE Academic 60; ACT English 21; SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 580; Cambridge English 180 or C1; others including CEPT, EF SET, iTEP, Kaplan and Language Cert are listed on the site. Official scores must be sent by the testing agency and dated within 2 years of applying. The site also says applicants with three years of regular English with a C or better at an accredited American high school (in the US or abroad) need not show proficiency.
- Costs: the cost page gives estimates for Arizona residents and non-residents (see section 5) and does not list a separate international figure; proof-of-funds amounts and I-20 estimates are not printed on the pages read — check the website.
- Scholarships: applicants are automatically considered for merit scholarships; the Arizona Tuition Award is for “non-Arizona high school graduates” and the page does not say whether international students are eligible; scholarships specifically for international students are not published on the pages read.
- International pathway: Admissions says some international students may be admitted to Global Start, deferring entry to take college courses in London, England with Verto Education before moving to the Tucson campus.
7. Applicants from China
- Gaokao and Chinese high school records: the admissions pages read do not say whether or how the gaokao is used, and give no specific guidance on the Chinese school system — not published. Contact the Office of Admissions.
- General requirements: applicants from China follow the international requirements in section 6: proof of English proficiency (a score or an exemption), English-translated transcripts and so on; for high school courses see section 5.
- International curricula: for IB and Cambridge students, the high school requirements page says Arizona calculates GPA using minimum average grades (IB Diploma Programme 5 out of 7; Cambridge IGCSE/O-Level five passing subjects averaging 70%, or B or 6 out of 9; International AS/A-Level three passing subjects averaging 70% or C), and that predicted A-level grades are not used in the GPA calculation; IB and Cambridge credit is credit by examination, with credit tables on the site.
8. Costs, research, scholarships and outcomes
- Costs: see section 5.
- Undergraduate research: the department encourages all students to take part, through credit courses or paid positions. For credit you arrange your own project with a professor and submit a research proposal form: independent study (199/299/399/499) or directed research (392/492, up to 12 units); each unit needs at least 45 hours of work, and research directors must be general faculty. Before lab work, students complete lab safety training and the Responsible Conduct in Research workshop. The department also lists funded programs such as the Undergraduate Biology Research Program (UBRP), summer REUs and Arizona/NASA Space Grant, and the MARC program for underrepresented students (the last two years of enrollment). A public undergraduate poster fair is held each spring.
- Internships: the department says internships can happen at any point in your studies; if an employer agrees to hire you for credit you can enroll in CHEM 493 (1–3 units, repeatable).
- Accelerated master’s (five-year B.S./M.S.): the department says continuing UA students can apply; the application deadline is 30 April with decisions on 15 May after review and an interview; applicants need at least 75 undergraduate credit hours at application and 90 at entry; a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.3 for chemistry (3.5 for biochemistry); at least one semester of research experience and a thesis advisor who is a primary CBC faculty member. In the fourth year students may take up to 12 graduate units charged at the undergraduate rate. (The page prints no year — check which cycle applies.)
- Department scholarships and awards: the department lists many, such as the ACS undergraduate awards in analytical, inorganic, organic and physical chemistry, the Anne Shotton & Patrick M. Hefferan Scholarship, the Charles Y.F. Hoyt Undergraduate Scholarship, the CBC Outstanding Undergraduate Awards (freshman to junior), the Galileo Circle Scholarship, the Excellence in Undergraduate Research Award and the Royal Society of Chemistry Certificate of Excellence for Chemistry Majors; the page notes most are due in spring and university scholarships go through Scholarship Universe. Amounts and eligibility are not listed item by item on the pages read — check the website.
- Outcomes: the department’s prospective-students page prints: “Our graduates become successful chemists and biochemists in fields such as medicine, drug development, materials development, bioengineering, fuel technology, astrochemistry, forensic science, education, law, and more!” The chemistry page also says chemistry students are well positioned for careers in medicine, sustainability, toxicology, engineering, fuel science, food science and more. The pages read do not print employment data.
9. Transfer students
- Who counts: applicants who have graduated from high school and earned 12 or more transferable post-high-school credits from a community college or university, in Arizona or elsewhere.
- Requirements: if you are under 22 at the start of the term, you must meet the Core Competency Requirements and have a cumulative college GPA of at least 2.0; if you are 22 or older, a cumulative college GPA of at least 2.0.
- Deadlines (2027): spring entry opens 1 August 2026 and closes 1 December 2026; fall entry opens 1 January 2027 and closes 1 June 2027; applications are reviewed on a rolling basis. Official transcripts from every institution attended are required, plus the high school transcript for applicants under 22.
- Credit transfer: the site offers credit preview tools for Arizona and out-of-state institutions, and the Office of the Registrar can help with transfer credit evaluations.
- Scholarships: transfer applicants are reviewed for merit-based transfer scholarships on application, including the Phi Theta Kappa Tuition Award and the Transfer Tuition Scholarship; admitted students can use Scholarship Universe.
Checklist
US domestic applicants:
- Common App; Early Action 1 November 2026; fee $50 (Arizona residents) or $80; no SAT/ACT required; 500-word essay strongly encouraged
- High school: 4 English, 4 math, 3 lab science, 2 social science, 2 second language, 1 fine arts or CTE; 3.0 unweighted GPA in the 16 core courses
International applicants (including China):
- IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 79 (4 on the new scale) or Duolingo 110, or a coursework route; English translations of documents
- How the gaokao is used is not published; ask Admissions
After entry:
- Book a CBC advisor to declare the chemistry B.S. or B.A. (2.0 cumulative GPA); the B.S. requires the senior capstone (at least two semesters of lab work, at least 6 units of CHEM/BIOC 498); complete math placement
Transfer students:
- 12+ transferable credits, GPA 2.0; fall 1 June 2027, spring 1 December 2026; use the university’s credit tools and ask a CBC advisor
Sources: University of Arizona, Chemistry & Biochemistry: Chemistry majors; Chemistry & Biochemistry: prospective students; Chemistry & Biochemistry: advising; Chemistry & Biochemistry: FAQ; Chemistry & Biochemistry: undergraduate research; Chemistry & Biochemistry: senior capstone/thesis; Chemistry & Biochemistry: internships and careers; Chemistry & Biochemistry: scholarships and awards; Chemistry & Biochemistry: accelerated master’s; Colleges and schools; Admissions: first-year; Admissions: high school course requirements; Admissions: application review; Admissions: deadlines; Admissions: international students; Admissions: transfer students; Admissions: cost and aid; Admissions: first-year merit scholarships; Admissions: transfer merit scholarships. Information is for the fall 2027 entry cycle (the cost page shows 2026 estimates); where a page prints no year, check that the date is for fall 2027 entry. Check Arizona’s website for the latest.