How to Apply to Biology at the University of Arizona: Molecular and Cellular Biology in the College of Science, with a BS in MCB, a BA and a New BS in Genetics and Genomics, Reviewed by Major at Application and Declared with Department Advisors After Entry, for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants
At the University of Arizona in Tucson, the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology in the College of Science offers a BS in MCB (with three sub-plans), a BA in MCB and a BS in Genetics and Genomics that is new for 2026/27; the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry separately offers biochemistry degrees. Admissions reviews applications across the majors an applicant is interested in and says no applicant is guaranteed a specific major; after entry, students declare by meeting department advisors. SAT and ACT scores are not required; the Early Action deadline for fall 2027 is 1 November 2026. English requirements include IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79 (4 on the new scale) and Duolingo 110. This guide covers degrees, entry, prerequisites, domestic, international and Chinese applicants, and transfer, based on Arizona’s official information.
At the University of Arizona (Tucson), the undergraduate degrees most directly about biology in the College of Science are offered by the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology (MCB), while the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry (CBC) offers the biochemistry degrees. The college list also includes Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Neuroscience and other departments whose undergraduate pages were not read for this guide — check the website. This guide follows the Office of Admissions and the two departments’ websites, covering US domestic, international and Chinese applicants, with transfer students at the end. Medicine (MD), nursing, pharmacy, public health and biomedical engineering degrees are outside this guide, so please see the university website; chemistry is not covered here.
1. Degrees and tracks
- Molecular and Cellular Biology (MCB): the department lists a BS in Molecular and Cellular Biology (called its flagship degree), a BA in Molecular and Cellular Biology (for careers outside the lab) and a BS in Genetics and Genomics (marked “new in 2026/27, enrolling now”); there are also minors in MCB and in Genetics and Genomics, and a Certificate for Health Careers for non-MCB majors and non-degree-seeking students.
- MCB BS: the department says the degree covers fundamental questions about gene and cell structure and function; core courses include Introductory Biology, Molecular Basis of Life, Molecular Genetics, Cell & Developmental Biology and Metabolic Biochemistry. Students choose one of three sub-plans — Molecular & Cellular Biology, Genetics & Human Health or Systems & Big Data Biology — each with sample plans. All students are encouraged to do independent laboratory research. The page also mentions an Accelerated Master’s Program (AMP) for a BS and an MS in MCB in a total of five years.
- MCB BA: the department says it is for students who plan to use biology outside the laboratory and for those “looking for a fully online degree”; coursework includes biology, genetics, chemistry, bioethics and writing, and students can add a minor or double major; careers named include science policy, communication, informatics, business, education, public health and law.
- Genetics and Genomics BS: the department says the curriculum integrates molecular genetics, human genetics, evolutionary genetics, genomics, bioinformatics and genetic epidemiology, combining laboratory experience with computational and data-analysis skills.
- Biochemistry (CBC): the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry offers a B.S. and a B.A. in Biochemistry. The department says the B.S. requires at least one year in a lab, culminating in a Senior Capstone project, and is for students heading into biochemical or life-science research or related graduate study; the B.A. is more flexible, encourages double majors or minors, and suits non-laboratory professions. The capstone requires at least two semesters of lab work including at least 6 units of CHEM/BIOC 498; biochemistry students who do not complete the capstone must switch to the B.A. Biochemistry majors are assigned a faculty advisor after completing BIOC 296b.
- Accreditation and placement years: the pages read do not describe Royal Society of Biology (RSB) or similar accreditation, or degrees with a placement year — check the website.
2. How admission works: by major at application, declared with department advisors after entry
- At application: Admissions says it reviews an application across all majors the applicant expresses interest in and admits the student to the major where they are best positioned; some students are admitted to The A Center (studying as undeclared students and later declaring a major through a college). The high school requirements page states that no applicant is guaranteed admission into a specific major or academic program. Whether the biology-related majors have their own admission cut-off is not stated on the pages read — ask Admissions.
- Declaring an MCB major: the MCB advising page says that to add or change to an MCB major you meet with an MCB advisor, who goes over degree requirements and helps plan; incoming transfer and readmitted students contact the advisors by email. A GPA or prerequisite threshold for declaring is not stated on the MCB pages read — ask an advisor.
- Declaring a biochemistry major: the CBC advising page says students interested in adding a Biochemistry major must meet with a CBC advisor; current students adding or changing to a CBC major need a 2.0 cumulative GPA, and students below that are supported with GPA recovery. New students complete tasks including a mandatory orientation with the CBC advising team, and the page specifically asks them to complete math placement in the Next Steps Center.
- Pre-health: both the MCB and CBC pages say the university has no pre-med major; the MCB page says the MCB degree completes almost all the prerequisite courses needed for pre-health schools. The MCB site also prints that 39% of its students are in the Honors College, the average GPA is 3.3 and more than 40% of undergraduates do lab research (figures as printed, with no year).
3. Prerequisites and course advice
- High school courses: university-wide requirements are in section 5 (4 years of math and 3 years of lab science from biology, chemistry, physics, earth science, and so on). The MCB and CBC pages read do not state a required high school biology, chemistry or calculus background for these majors, nor A-Level, AP or IB biology or chemistry requirements — not published on the pages read; ask the department advisors.
- Math placement: CBC says new students complete math placement in the Next Steps Center, with one free retake for all students. The MCB pages read do not state a math placement requirement.
- AP/IB and other exam credit: the MCB advising page says CLEP, AP, IB and other exam credit can be checked in the Transfer Credit Report in the UAccess Student Center, and to ask an MCB advisor how it will be used. Which biology courses it replaces is not published on the pages read.
- First-year courses and labs: the MCB BS core courses are in section 1; the degree checksheets and four-year plans are documents that were not read for this guide, so check the website for credits and first-year courses.
4. Timeline and materials
- Rounds and deadlines (fall 2027 entry, admissions deadlines page): the application opens 1 August 2026; the Early Action deadline is 1 November 2026 and Early Action decisions begin 15 January 2027. Applications received after 1 November move to a Regular Decision timeline, considered on a space-available basis, with decisions released in batches in the spring. The enrollment fee is due by 1 May. Early Action applicants receive priority consideration for admission, merit aid and the W.A. Franke Honors College.
- How to apply and the fee: apply through the Common App (the page says to allow about an hour). The application fee is $50 for Arizona residents and $80 for non-Arizona residents or residents of other states; it is non-transferable and non-refundable. The pages read do not give a separate fee for international applicants.
- Essay and recommendations: the site “strongly encourages” the 500-word application essay (why Arizona is the right fit and how your chosen area of study aligns with your interests, goals and values, plus anything else you want to share). The admissions pages read do not require recommendation letters or a science-teacher recommendation; honors applicants may submit extra materials such as a letter of recommendation or a research project.
- Testing: SAT/ACT scores are not required for general admission, institutional merit scholarships or the Honors College; optional official scores can be used for class placement or to help meet core competency requirements.
- How applications are reviewed: each application is read by up to two reviewers, who consider class rank, strength of curriculum, performance, GPA in the required core courses, optional SAT/ACT, résumé and personal statement, and leadership, service, work experience and activities. Applicants may be asked for additional test scores or seventh-semester transcripts. Outcomes include admitted, admitted to The A Center, deferred, waitlisted or denied.
- Competitions: the pages read do not say how science olympiads or similar competitions are viewed in admissions.
5. US domestic applicants
- High school courses (Admissions, per Arizona Board of Regents requirements): 4 years of English; 4 years of mathematics (Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II and an advanced course for which Algebra II is a prerequisite); 3 years of laboratory science (3 distinct units from biology, chemistry, physics, earth science, integrated lab science); 2 years of social science (including 1 of American history); 2 years of the same second language; 1 year of fine arts or career and technical education. Some areas can be offset by SAT/ACT sub-scores or college coursework — for example math with an SAT math score of 570 or above (March 2016 or later) or ACT math 24 or above; lab science with SAT Subject Tests (chemistry 600, biology 590, physics 620) or ACT natural science 20 (which can show competency in one science only).
- Admission criteria: the same page says students must have a 3.0 unweighted GPA (4.0 = A) in the 16 core academic courses, at least 2.0 in each subject area, no more than two deficiencies, and not deficiencies in both math and lab science or twice in the same subject area. Applicants who do not meet these may still be considered through comprehensive review.
- Costs (Admissions estimate; the page says it is based on “2026-2026 figures”, as printed): Arizona residents — estimated tuition and fees $13,900, housing and food $17,770, books and course materials $600, travel and miscellaneous $5,000, with an estimated annual cost of $37,270 as printed; non-Arizona residents — tuition and fees $44,400, with a printed total of $67,770. The page says tuition and mandatory fees are frozen for all undergraduates, nonresidents included, for 2027–28. First-year students are expected to live on campus (with exemptions) and a meal plan may be required.
- Aid and scholarships: applicants are automatically considered for merit scholarships, with priority for complete applications by 1 November; the university encourages the FAFSA (school code 001083, opens 1 October); the aid offer comes with the admission decision. The first-year scholarships page lists the Wildcat Tuition Award (Arizona resident high school graduates) and the Arizona Tuition Award (non-Arizona high school graduates), both highly competitive tuition awards, plus the President’s Saguaro Scholars Award (about 100 Arizona first-year students), the Baird Award, the Flinn Semi-Finalist Tuition Award and others; admitted students can use the Scholarship Universe matching tool. Students admitted for spring are not eligible for these first-year merit awards.
- In-state priority or guaranteed admission: the pages read do not state guaranteed admission; Admissions says Arizona residents who are not admitted can consider transferring after community college.
- Prop 308: the site says qualifying non-citizen Arizona high school graduates (physically present in Arizona for at least two years of high school and graduating from an Arizona high school or earning an Arizona high school equivalency) may receive in-state tuition.
6. International applicants
- Process: international students follow the same application process as US students, choosing the application type (first-year or transfer) that matches their background; first-year applicants see the 1 November 2026 Early Action deadline in section 4. All documents must be in English, and the site recommends a certified translation service; final official transcripts after admission must also be translated.
- English proficiency: applicants whose primary language is not English, or who attended school in a non-English-speaking country, regardless of citizenship, must show proficiency. Coursework routes: Cambridge IGCSE/O Level or higher English with a C; IB English A Higher Level 5; 4 years of regular English at an accredited American or IB high school with a C (ESL-type courses do not count); 3 years at a high school with English as the medium of instruction with a C; or college composition (WRIT 101, 102, or 107 and 108) with a C. Test routes: IELTS (Academic, Online, Indicator or One Skill Retake) 6.5; TOEFL iBT (including MyBest, before January 2026) 79, or 4 on the new scale after January 2026; Duolingo 110; PTE Academic 60; ACT English 21; SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 580; Cambridge English 180 or C1; others including CEPT, EF SET, iTEP, Kaplan and Language Cert are listed on the site. Official scores must be sent by the testing agency and dated within 2 years of applying. The site also says applicants with three years of regular English with a C or better at an accredited American high school (in the US or abroad) need not show proficiency.
- Costs: the cost page gives estimates for Arizona residents and non-residents (see section 5) and does not list a separate international figure; proof-of-funds amounts and I-20 estimates are not printed on the pages read — check the website.
- Scholarships: applicants are automatically considered for merit scholarships; the Arizona Tuition Award is for “non-Arizona high school graduates” and the page does not say whether international students are eligible; scholarships specifically for international students are not published on the pages read.
- International pathway: Admissions says some international students may be admitted to Global Start, deferring entry to take college courses in London, England with Verto Education before moving to the Tucson campus.
7. Applicants from China
- Gaokao and Chinese high school records: the admissions pages read do not say whether or how the gaokao is used, and give no specific guidance on the Chinese school system — not published. Contact the Office of Admissions.
- General requirements: applicants from China follow the international requirements in section 6: proof of English proficiency (a score or an exemption), English-translated transcripts and so on; for high school courses see section 5.
- International curricula: for IB and Cambridge students, the high school requirements page says Arizona calculates GPA using minimum average grades (IB Diploma Programme 5 out of 7; Cambridge IGCSE/O-Level five passing subjects averaging 70%, or B or 6 out of 9; International AS/A-Level three passing subjects averaging 70% or C), and that predicted A-level grades are not used in the GPA calculation; IB and Cambridge credit is credit by examination, with credit tables on the site.
8. Costs, research, scholarships and outcomes
- Costs: see section 5.
- Undergraduate research (MCB): the department strongly encourages laboratory research; lab areas include cancer, neurobiology, heart development and disease, plant development, evolutionary biology, cell signaling, gene expression, RNA biology, genetic networks and systems biology, genome stability, and origin of life/astrobiology. Directed research, independent study, honors thesis and senior capstone work earn credit; the department does not place students in labs but offers guidance. The Undergraduate Biology Research Program (UBRP) offers paid, full-time summer research and a conference.
- Accelerated master’s: MCB has an Accelerated Master’s Program (AMP) for a BS and an MS in five years; eligibility is on a graduate-section page that was not read. CBC’s biochemistry accelerated option requires a 3.5 cumulative GPA with an application deadline of 30 April (the page prints no year — check).
- Department scholarships: the MCB department says undergraduates can apply for the Danny Brower Memorial Scholarship ($1,000; MCB undergraduates with current or past research, a cumulative GPA of at least 2.5 and need-based aid), the College of Science Galileo Circle Scholarship (full-time MCB majors, GPA at least 3.2, one semester of research) and the Dottie Sams Memorial Scholarship (fall); seniors can be nominated for the Outstanding Senior Award and the Excellence in Research Award. CBC lists biochemistry-related awards such as the Biochemistry Outstanding Thesis Award and Excellence Awards in Biochemistry.
- Outcomes (MCB BS page): the page says typically half of graduates go to graduate or professional programs and the rest work in business and industry; the most common graduate programs are PhD (34%), MD (28%), MS (19%) and PharmD (13%), with DDS, JD, nursing, MD/PhD and MBA (6%) also named. It also lists sample job titles (research associate, medical scribe, data scientist and others) and employers. Figures are as printed, with no year.
9. Transfer students
- Who counts: applicants who have graduated from high school and earned 12 or more transferable post-high-school credits from a community college or university, in Arizona or elsewhere.
- Requirements: if you are under 22 at the start of the term, you must meet the Core Competency Requirements and have a cumulative college GPA of at least 2.0; if you are 22 or older, a cumulative college GPA of at least 2.0.
- Deadlines (2027): spring entry opens 1 August 2026 and closes 1 December 2026; fall entry opens 1 January 2027 and closes 1 June 2027; applications are reviewed on a rolling basis. Official transcripts from every institution attended are required, plus the high school transcript for applicants under 22.
- Credit transfer: the site offers credit preview tools for Arizona and out-of-state institutions, and the Office of the Registrar can help with transfer credit evaluations.
- Scholarships: transfer applicants are reviewed for merit-based transfer scholarships on application, including the Phi Theta Kappa Tuition Award and the Transfer Tuition Scholarship; admitted students can use Scholarship Universe.
Checklist
US domestic applicants:
- Common App; Early Action 1 November 2026; fee $50 (Arizona residents) or $80; no SAT/ACT required; 500-word essay strongly encouraged
- High school: 4 English, 4 math, 3 lab science, 2 social science, 2 second language, 1 fine arts or CTE; 3.0 unweighted GPA in the 16 core courses
International applicants (including China):
- IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 79 (4 on the new scale) or Duolingo 110, or a coursework route; English translations of documents
- How the gaokao is used is not published; ask Admissions
After entry:
- Book an MCB advisor to declare the MCB BS/BA or the Genetics and Genomics BS; for biochemistry book a CBC advisor (2.0 cumulative GPA to change in); the biochemistry B.S. requires the senior capstone
Transfer students:
- 12+ transferable credits, GPA 2.0; fall 1 June 2027, spring 1 December 2026; use the university’s credit tools and ask the department advisors
Sources: University of Arizona, Molecular & Cellular Biology: undergraduate degrees; MCB: BS in Molecular and Cellular Biology; MCB: BA in Molecular and Cellular Biology; MCB: BS in Genetics and Genomics; MCB: advising; MCB: undergraduate research; MCB: scholarships and awards; Chemistry & Biochemistry: Biochemistry majors; Chemistry & Biochemistry: senior capstone/thesis; Chemistry & Biochemistry: accelerated master’s; Colleges and schools; Admissions: first-year; Admissions: high school course requirements; Admissions: application review; Admissions: deadlines; Admissions: international students; Admissions: transfer students; Admissions: cost and aid; Admissions: first-year merit scholarships; Admissions: transfer merit scholarships. Information is for the fall 2027 entry cycle (the cost page shows 2026 estimates); where a page prints no year, check that the date is for fall 2027 entry. Check Arizona’s website for the latest.