How to Apply to Chemistry at the University at Buffalo: Chemistry BA, ACS-Aligned Chemistry BS and Medicinal Chemistry BS in the Department of Chemistry, with Several Combined Degrees, Choose Chemistry on the Application, for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants
At the University at Buffalo (UB), chemistry sits in the Department of Chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences, with a Chemistry BA, a Chemistry BS that meets American Chemical Society criteria and can lead to ACS certification, a Medicinal Chemistry BS, and combined degrees including Medicinal Chemistry BS/MS, Chemistry BS/Materials Design and Innovation MS, Chemistry BA/Adolescence Education EdM and Chemistry BA/PharmD. Applicants choose an intended major on the UB application, and current students can change into chemistry with the College’s form. SAT/ACT scores are not required; international first-year applicants need IELTS 6.0 or TOEFL 70, and international transfer applicants are expected to have the equivalent of a 2.5 GPA. Estimated 2026-27 totals are $36,530 for New York residents, $58,530 for out-of-state students and $61,030 for F-1/J-1 international students. Based on UB’s official information, this guide covers degrees, entry, prerequisites, deadlines, domestic, international and Chinese applicants, and transfer.
Undergraduate chemistry at the University at Buffalo (UB) is taught by the Department of Chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences. This guide follows UB’s admissions pages and the department’s website, including its 2026-2027 undergraduate handbook, and covers domestic applicants, international applicants, applicants from China and transfer students. Where the official pages say nothing, we write “not published” or “not stated in the pages we read” and point you to where to check. UB’s medicine, pharmacy, nursing and public health degrees are outside the scope of this guide; see UB’s website.
1. Degrees and tracks
- Department degrees: UB’s program page lists Chemistry BA, Chemistry BS and Medicinal Chemistry BS; combined degrees are Chemistry BA/Chemistry Adolescence Education EdM, Chemistry BA/PharmD, Chemistry BS/Materials Design and Innovation MS and Medicinal Chemistry BS/MS; there are also minors in Chemistry and Medicinal Chemistry.
- Chemistry BA: described as a flexible course of study with a wider choice of electives among the arts and social sciences. The handbook says it suits students preparing for medicine, the biochemical and biophysical sciences, geochemistry, physics or computer science, and that electives in history, economics, English and political science can prepare students for law or business school.
- Chemistry BS: for students who choose chemistry as a professional goal; it meets the criteria suggested by the American Chemical Society (ACS), and the handbook says students who complete the full BS program are certified as ACS Chemistry majors. UB highlights advanced laboratory work in organic and inorganic synthesis and characterization, and access to the department’s Instrumentation Center.
- Medicinal Chemistry BS: gives a chemical understanding of life processes and biological control and the laboratory skills for medicinal chemistry research; the handbook says that, depending on electives, it can prepare students for BS-level medicinal chemist jobs in research institutes, industry or government, for graduate school, or for medical school.
- Medicinal Chemistry BS/MS (five years): the handbook describes it for students who have done particularly well in chemistry, are interested in synthetic organic chemistry and have clear career goals; the master’s thesis involves full-time laboratory work in the summer after the fourth year.
- Chemistry BS / Materials Design and Innovation MS: the master’s part is in the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences; both the department page and the handbook say both degrees can be completed in four and a half years.
- Chemistry BA / Adolescence Education EdM: run with the Department of Learning and Instruction in the Graduate School of Education; the handbook says both degrees take five years, and UB’s program page describes it as the UB Teach program for grades 5 to 12 with eligibility for New York State professional teaching certification and no separate graduate application.
- Chemistry BA/PharmD: run with the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences; the handbook says students apply through PharmCAS by 1 October of the junior year and that the BA and PharmD together take six and a half years. The pharmacy school’s own admission requirements are outside this guide; see its website.
- Credit structure (department handbook; 120 credits to graduate): the handbook’s “total credits required for major” are 59 to 62 for the BA (including a chemistry core of 29 to 31 credits and 17 to 18 credits of physics, calculus and similar courses outside chemistry), 78 to 85 for the BS and 84 to 86 for the Medicinal Chemistry BS. Minors: 35 to 38 credits for Chemistry and 35 to 36 for Medicinal Chemistry.
- Double majors and double degrees: the handbook says both majors in a double major must be the same degree type (BA/BA or BS/BS), with biochemistry, biology, mathematics, geology, physics or computer science as common second majors; a double degree needs 30 credits beyond the 120.
2. How admission works: choose chemistry on the UB application, or transfer in later by form
- You apply to UB, not to a college: the department’s admissions page says first-year and transfer applicants interested in chemistry must first apply and be accepted to UB, indicate the intended major on the application, and look to UB Undergraduate Admissions for criteria, deadlines and test requirements. The handbook likewise says prospective majors apply with their university application.
- Thresholds inside the major: the pages we read do not give a GPA cutoff or seat limit for entering the Chemistry BA or BS. The handbook lists a minimum overall GPA of 2.000 for the BA and BS and says transfer students must complete at least 8 credits of UB chemistry courses; some courses are “controlled enrollment” with priority for first-time takers (CHE 101/113, 102/114, 107, 108, 203 and 204), and students who repeat them are expected to do so in summer.
- Changing into chemistry after enrolling: the department page and handbook say current UB students submit the College of Arts and Sciences Major/Minor Change Request form, meet the Director of Undergraduate Studies to evaluate their record and plan courses, and inform their academic advisor.
- Combined programs with their own steps: Medicinal Chemistry BS/MS—admission no sooner than the end of the sophomore year and no later than the end of the junior year, with a GPA of at least 3.0 and three supportive faculty letters, plus a written and orally defended thesis; Chemistry BS/Materials Design and Innovation MS—apply to the Graduate School after the fourth semester and no later than the start of the sixth, with two reference letters and a 3.0 GPA maintained to graduate; Chemistry BA/Adolescence Education EdM—to progress to graduate courses students keep a 3.000 GPA, a C or better in major courses and a B- or better in education courses, and complete an interview with the Office of Educator Preparation by March of the third year, with no formal graduate application; Chemistry BA/PharmD—see above.
3. Prerequisites, first-year courses and AP/IB credit
- High school courses: UB’s first-year page says the following are not required but suggested as preparation: four years of English, four of social studies, three of college-preparatory science, three of a second language and at least three of college-preparatory mathematics. The Chemistry department’s own high school chemistry, physics or calculus requirements are not stated in the pages we read; check with the department.
- General chemistry: the handbook offers three routes—CHE 105–106 (“Chemistry: Principles and Applications,” 5 credits each, marked recommended); CHE 101 and 102 with labs 113 and 114 (4 plus 1 credits each); or CHE 107–108 (General Chemistry for Engineers, 3.5 credits each with 0.5-credit labs). Organic chemistry is CHE 203 and 204 with labs 205 and 206, or CHE 251–252 (5 credits each).
- Mathematics and physics: the BS requires MTH 141–142 (calculus) and PHY 107–108 with the PHY 158 lab; the BA allows MTH 121–122 (survey of calculus) or MTH 141–142, and PHY 101–102 with labs (algebra-based) or PHY 107–108 with 158. The handbook stresses that a student switching from the BA to the BS must have completed MTH 141–142 and PHY 107–108–158.
- Labs and upper-level courses: the BA requires at least 4 credits of intermediate chemistry laboratory (organic, inorganic or physical chemistry labs) and at least 9 credits of technical electives; the BS requires analytical chemistry with lab, physical chemistry (CHE 319 and 320), inorganic chemistry I and II, physical chemistry lab, chemical literature (CHE 376) and instrumental analysis with lab (CHE 413, 414), plus one 400-level lecture course, one 300-level lab and 9 to 13 credits of technical electives. The pages we read do not state a thesis requirement for these degrees; the handbook notes that course requirements may change, so rely on your advisor and degree audit.
- AP (registrar’s 2026–2027 table): AP Chemistry 4 or 5 maps to CHE 101, 113, 102 and 114 (the table lists 9 credit hours) and a 3 earns general elective credit; the handbook also says a 4 or 5 exempts students from CHE 101–102 and 113–114, while a 3 counts as elective credit only. AP Calculus AB 4 or 5 maps to MTH 141 and BC 4 or 5 to MTH 142, with a 3 as elective credit and a maximum of 8 credits for AP Calculus; AP Physics C: Mechanics 4 or 5 maps to PHY 107 and Electricity and Magnetism 4 or 5 to PHY 108 (the extra 1-credit PHY 158 lab requires a 4 or 5 on both); AP Physics 1 and 2 with 3 to 5 map to PHY 101 with 151 and PHY 102 with 152.
- IB and A-Level: the credit page says an IB diploma with a score of 30 earns up to 30 credits, and students with 29 or below, or without the diploma, are guaranteed credit for higher-level exams with a 5 or higher. The registrar’s table: IB Chemistry HL with a minimum score of 5 earns 10 credits (CHE 101, 113, 102, 114); A-Level Chemistry grades A to C earn 10 credits (the same four courses) and D or E earn general credit; AS Chemistry grades A to C earn 5 credits (CHE 101 and 113). The table does not spell out how these map to the department’s required courses; confirm with the department.
- Chemistry competitions: the pages we read do not say how competitions such as the Chemistry Olympiad are viewed in admissions.
4. Timeline and materials
- Domestic first-year applicants (fall entry): the application opens on 1 August; Early Action (non-binding) is 1 November; Honors College priority consideration is 15 December; the regular-decision application completion deadline is 1 February, and the page says applications can still be submitted until capacity is reached; the enrollment deposit is due 1 May or 10 days after acceptance, whichever is later. For spring entry UB recommends applying by 1 October. The pages show no year, so check that these dates apply to fall 2027 entry.
- Application and fee: ApplySUNY, the Common Application or Coalition for College (submit only one); the $50 fee is non-refundable, and fee waivers are available to eligible applicants.
- Transcripts and recommendations: a high school transcript, or the self-reported STARS record completed after applying (a final official transcript is still required). The first-year page says UB strongly recommends at least one letter of recommendation from a counselor, teacher, community member or employer, up to three; the international first-year “other requirements” page lists one letter as optional. UB does not say the letter must come from a chemistry teacher.
- Standardized tests: optional. UB does not require SAT or ACT scores for admission or scholarship consideration; the international page says most admitted applicants who submit scores have an SAT total of 1170 or above or an ACT composite of 25 or above, and that not submitting is no disadvantage. SAT code 2925, ACT code 2978.
- Choosing a major: applicants indicate an intended major on the application; Common App applicants are encouraged to pick a second-choice major; in general the review process is the same for most majors, including exploratory students. The “special requirements for certain majors” page lists extra review, portfolio or audition requirements for some programs; chemistry does not appear in the text we read.
- Honors College: Common App and Coalition applicants apply in the Academics section of the application; ApplySUNY applicants complete a supplemental application after submitting.
5. Domestic applicants
- In-state and out-of-state costs (2026–27 estimates): the tuition page lists, for New York State residents, tuition $7,070, fees $3,966, on-campus housing and dining $18,606 (double room with the Flex 19 meal plan) and estimated related expenses $6,888, with a listed total of $36,530; for out-of-state students tuition is $29,070 with the other lines the same and a listed total of $58,530. To qualify for in-state tuition a student must prove a permanent and principal home in New York State for at least 12 months before the semester; living in New York only to attend college does not count. Figures for fall 2027 entry are not published in the pages we read; check the tuition page.
- First-year scholarships: high-achieving out-of-state first-year students are automatically considered for the Provost Scholarship (renewable for up to four years); high-achieving New York students are considered for the Pride of New York Scholarship (non-tuition costs only, renewable for two or four years); no extra application is needed for either. Academically exceptional students may apply for the four-year Presidential Scholarship through the Honors College (separate application), and eligible students are invited to the Empire State Diversity Honors/Daniel Acker Scholarship by email. The scholarships page adds that all admitted applicants, including those who chose not to have test scores considered, are reviewed for merit scholarships.
- Department scholarships and awards: the department’s scholarship page says donor-supported scholarships and awards exist, with the entry point on the Chemistry page of UB’s scholarship portal; UB merit scholarships and other aid resources are also listed. Amounts are not given in the pages we read.
- Priority or guaranteed admission for state residents: not stated in the pages we read.
6. International applicants
- Academic expectations: the international first-year page says UB uses holistic review of academic marks, test scores, essay and recommendations; UB uses a 4.0 scale and expects the equivalent of a 3.0 (a B, or 83 on a 100-point scale); admissions counselors convert other grading systems themselves. Required academic documents are listed by country in a drop-down menu; the page as we read it does not show an individual country entry, so select your country on that page to check. Documents not in English need an English translation.
- Minimum English scores (any one): TOEFL iBT 70 (including MyBest, or 4 on the new scale); IELTS Academic 6.0; Duolingo 105; PTE Academic 50; ACT English and reading 18; SAT evidence-based reading and writing 500; IB English A Language & Literature grade 5; AP English Language 4 or a class grade of B; (I)GCSE English First Language C; A-Level English C. Scores must be less than two years old at admission; self-reported scores can be used for initial review, and official scores must come from the testing agency (TOEFL code 2925).
- English exemption: all three must apply: citizen of Australia, the Bahamas, Canada, Guam, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria, Singapore or the United Kingdom; native speaker of English; educated entirely in English. Transfer applicants who completed U.S. college English composition with the grades the page describes may also be exempt.
- International scholarships: the Flagship Scholarship is for incoming international first-year students with no college credits, varies in amount, is renewable for up to four years, and all admitted international students are considered automatically; the Presidential Scholarship also applies.
- Costs (2026–27 estimate, F-1/J-1): tuition $29,070, fees $6,466 (including the international student fee and SUNY health insurance), on-campus housing and dining $18,606 and related expenses $6,888, with a listed total of $61,030. Proof-of-funds details are not given in the pages we read; see UB’s international admissions pages.
- Work limits: the scholarships page says F-1/J-1 students may work on campus up to 20 hours a week during classes and up to 40 hours during breaks, and may not work off campus without special government permission.
7. Applicants from China
- Gaokao: the pages we read do not say whether the gaokao is considered or what Chinese school-exam documents are needed; this is not published there. Ask UB undergraduate admissions (ub-admissions@buffalo.edu).
- Transcripts: the international first-year page says required academic documents are listed by country in a drop-down; choose “China” on that page to check. Non-English documents need an English translation.
- English and tests: see the English score table above; SAT/ACT are optional.
- International curricula: for AP, IB or A-Level credit relevant to chemistry, see the prerequisites section.
8. Undergraduate research, experiential learning and outcomes
- Undergraduate research: the handbook encourages all chemistry and medicinal chemistry majors to take part; browse faculty research areas on the department website, then make appointments with three or four faculty, since labs are often full and individual policies vary widely. After a faculty member agrees, the department force-registers the student into CHE 290 (1 credit, sophomores) or CHE 498 (1 to 3 credits) or MCH 498 (1 to 6 credits) for juniors and seniors; the handbook says most majors do research in one or both semesters of the senior year. UB’s Office for Undergraduate Research also lists projects across disciplines and awards a digital badge.
- Instrumentation: the BS page says students can use advanced equipment at the department’s Chemistry Instrumentation Center.
- Experiential learning: the department page mentions more than 400 SUNY study abroad programs (advising at 201 Talbert Hall), internships through the College’s Career Design Studio, and service learning such as alternative breaks.
- Outcomes: the handbook says that at UB about an equal number of chemistry graduates begin graduate study and seek employment immediately, and approximately half of those going to graduate school pursue medicine, law, education or management. It gives no program-specific employment figures. Common fields listed on the degree pages: BA—education, the chemical and food industry, environmental nonprofits and policy groups, hospitals and health systems; BS—graduate or professional school in chemistry, national labs such as the EPA, NIH and NASA, and energy, pharma and advanced-technology companies; Medicinal Chemistry BS—medicinal chemistry roles in industry, government or research institutes, graduate study and professional programs in medicine or pharmacy.
- Department awards: the handbook and awards page list graduating-senior Academic Excellence awards (GPA 3.20 to 3.499 Distinction, 3.50 to 3.749 High Distinction, 3.75 to 4.000 Highest Distinction), the Albert Padwa Award (a stipend for an undergraduate summer research intern chosen by the department’s Undergraduate Affairs Committee) and others; applications for department and UB philanthropic scholarships go through the Chemistry page of UB’s scholarship portal.
9. Transfer students
- Who counts as a transfer student: someone who has completed at least 12 credit hours of college-level work after high school graduation.
- Application and deadlines (domestic transfers): ApplySUNY, Common App or Coalition (one only), $50 fee. Fall entry: opens 1 August, scholarship priority 15 March, completion deadline 1 May; spring entry: scholarship priority 1 November, recommended submission by 1 December. The pages show no year, so check them. International transfers share the international first-year table (fall: Early Action 1 November, regular 1 February; spring: recommended 1 October), but the international transfer page’s sub-headings read “Fall 2026” and “Spring 2027”, so confirm the dates for fall 2027 with admissions.
- What is reviewed: the transfer page says applicants should be in good academic standing, that requirements vary by program, and that some departments have supplemental criteria, higher GPAs, departmental deadlines and limited capacity. With more than 24 college credits UB reviews the college record; with fewer than 24 it also reviews the high school transcript. The international transfer page says UB expects the equivalent of a 2.5 GPA, no transcript evaluation is needed (official transcripts with English translation suffice), and Arts and Sciences majors may admit students with 60 or more transfer credits and the minimum grades in prerequisite courses (arts programs need a portfolio or audition). The page adds that admission to engineering, and to architecture, biomedical sciences, management, nursing, pharmacy, public health and health professions programs, is competitive and selective.
- Credit transfer: UB accepts all college-level credits from regionally accredited two- and four-year institutions, viewable in the TAURUS course equivalency guide; the transfer entry GPA is calculated from all coursework using UB’s grading table. International transfers are advised to bring course descriptions and syllabi to help the department judge credit. Alternative credits (AP, IB and so on) are not considered at admission and are evaluated after enrollment from official score reports.
- Department advice for transfers (handbook): every degree prepares students for graduate programs or the chemical industry and the department recommends none in particular; the handbook says the BA’s flexibility makes it easier to mesh courses taken at two institutions and it is often recommended to transfers. Applicants are advised to complete general chemistry and Calculus I and II in the first year, and organic chemistry, analytical chemistry and the calculus-based physics sequence by the end of the second; when in doubt choose courses designed for science and engineering majors and avoid chemistry, physics and calculus courses designed for social-science or pre-med majors. AP Chemistry transfers as elective credit with a 3; scores of 4 or 5 exempt students from CHE 101–102 and 113–114.
- Credit decisions: the handbook says the department does not evaluate transfer credit hours, which is the Office of Admissions’ job, but the Director of Undergraduate Studies judges whether a departmental requirement has been met, mainly from exposure to the subject, prerequisites and weekly lecture and lab sessions rather than credit count or course title, with a petition process if there is disagreement. Transfer students should state on the application that chemistry is their intended major so they can enroll in upper-level courses restricted to majors, and must complete at least 8 credits of UB chemistry courses. The handbook adds that difficulties seldom delay graduation beyond the fourth year.
- Contact: the handbook says transfer students should contact the undergraduate office or the Director of Undergraduate Studies, Andrew Murkin, to schedule initial advising.
Sources: University at Buffalo, Chemistry (UB program page); Chemistry: undergraduate overview; Chemistry: undergraduate admissions; Chemistry BA; Chemistry BS; Medicinal Chemistry BS; Medicinal Chemistry BS/MS; Chemistry BS / Materials Design and Innovation MS; Chemistry: experiential learning; Chemistry: scholarships and awards; Chemistry: undergraduate handbook 2026-2027 (PDF); Undergraduate admissions; First-year application; International first-year; English proficiency; International standardized tests; International other requirements; Transfer application; International transfer; Dates and deadlines; Special requirements for certain majors; Alternative exam and transfer credits; Registrar: AP/IB credit tables; Tuition and estimated costs; Scholarships. Apart from the international transfer page, which labels its dates “Fall 2026” and “Spring 2027”, the admissions dates show no year, so check that they apply to fall 2027 entry. Costs are the 2026-27 estimates shown; check the University at Buffalo for the latest details.