How to Apply to Chemistry at Mississippi State University: A B.S. with American Chemical Society, Pre-Medical and Pre-Pharmacy Concentrations, Plus a B.A. in Chemistry with a Pre-Health Professional Concentration, for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants
Mississippi State University offers undergraduate chemistry as a Bachelor of Science with American Chemical Society, Pre-Medical and Pre-Pharmacy concentrations; the major-map page also links a B.A. in Chemistry with a Pre-Health Professional concentration. Admission is rolling and test-optional, with extra criteria for non-residents. For 2026–2027 the university lists in-state tuition and fees of $11,095 and out-of-state $30,086. Chemistry-specific prerequisites and AP/IB credit are not published in the pages read. This guide covers entry routes, the four-year plan, aid, international and transfer rules as printed on the university pages.
Mississippi State University (MSU) is a public university in Starkville, Mississippi. This guide covers the undergraduate Chemistry major only; the university’s major-map pages place Chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences. Medical, nursing, pharmacy, veterinary and other professional degrees are outside this guide; please check the website.
1. Degrees and directions in chemistry
- Bachelor of Science in Chemistry: the major-map page lists the concentrations Pre-Pharmacy and Pre-Medical and an “American Chemical Society” certificate/endorsement. The department links five degree-requirement PDFs: the B.S. in Chemistry, the ACS concentration, the Pre-Med concentration, the Pre-Pharmacy concentration, and a “B.A. in Chemistry with concentration in Pre-Health Professional”. These PDFs are not among the pages read, so differences in required courses between the directions should be checked on the website.
- Accreditation and history (as printed on the map page): the department was founded in 1878 and the page calls it the oldest ACS-accredited program in the state.
- Facilities: the page lists NMR (300, 500 and 600 MHz instruments), X-ray crystallography and mass spectrometry centers.
- Global program: the page says the department hosts a study abroad program on alternative energy in Iceland and Scandinavia.
- Student organization: MSU SMACS (Student Members of the American Chemical Society); the page’s year-by-year suggestions include SMACS, undergraduate research and National Chemistry Week.
- The pages read do not list a chemistry minor, a placement or industry year, or a thesis requirement; the map includes senior-level Undergraduate Research (CH 4800) and Senior Seminar (CH 4711).
2. Admission route: apply to the university; how the major is chosen is not published
- Application and major: first-year students apply through the university online application (apply.msstate.edu). The freshman page says the application asks for general, parent/guardian and academic information. The admissions pages read do not say whether applicants must choose Chemistry when applying, whether the major has its own admission line, or what it takes to move into it after enrolling. The major map pages say the maps are general planning guides and that the Academic Catalog for the student’s catalog year is the official source of degree requirements; the catalog is not among the pages read, so please check it on the website.
- General standard (freshman page): high school graduation with the College Preparatory Curriculum (CPC), 18 Carnegie units in all: English 4; mathematics 4 (Algebra I or equivalent and higher mathematics); science 3 (Biology I or equivalent plus two units of higher science); social studies 3; arts 1; advanced electives 2; technology 1. In addition one of: a minimum 2.0 GPA on the CPC, or meeting NCAA Division I standards for student-athletes. AP, IB, dual credit and AICE courses may be substituted for the CPC requirements, and one course cannot satisfy more than one requirement.
- Mississippi residents: admissible with the CPC and an overall GPA of 3.20, or NCAA standards, or one of the other standards listed by the state Institutions of Higher Learning. The FAQ on the same page instead says Mississippi residents who complete the CPC with a 2.0 GPA are admissible; the two statements differ, so please rely on the website and the admissions office.
- Non-residents: in addition to the Mississippi criteria, a minimum 2.50 GPA, or an ACT or SAT score of 20 or above if the GPA is not met (the page says “ACT or SAT score of 20 or above” without giving an SAT equivalent). The FAQ says non-resident applicants are reviewed holistically on course rigor and academic performance.
- Testing: test-optional for admission, but scores are encouraged for scholarships and placement. MSU superscores within one test type: the ACT superscore excludes the Science section, and ACT and SAT subscores cannot be combined. The ACT and SAT writing tests are not considered for admission or scholarships. College codes: ACT 2220, SAT 1480. Applicants without scores are reviewed on high school performance, placement testing, special interests and skills, and non-cognitive factors.
- Materials and timing: $50 application fee (the page is marked “updated 2027”), with waivers for eligible applicants (ACT/SAT or NACAC fee waiver form); an official high school transcript (grades 9–11 with the senior schedule) uploaded to the applicant portal. The online application can be submitted first and the fee, transcript and scores sent later, but all items are needed before admission and scholarship review. Admission is rolling: the application for summer/fall opens 1 August and for spring 5 August, each term’s application stays open until the 10th day of classes, and most applicants receive a decision within 2–3 weeks of completing the file (marked “updated 2027”). The page does not print an intake year, so please confirm the dates apply to fall 2027.
- Essays and recommendations: the admissions pages read do not say that first-year applicants need an essay or recommendation letters; not published there, please check the website.
3. Prerequisites, course choices and the four-year plan
- High school preparation: the university’s freshman requirement is the CPC (above), which includes 4 mathematics units and 3 science units (Biology I plus two higher science units). The pages read do not state chemistry-specific requirements for high school chemistry, physics or calculus, nor A-Level, AP or IB credit toward required chemistry courses; please check the website and the catalog.
- Year 1 (major map): semester 1 Chemistry I Lecture (CH 1213), Investigations in Chemistry (CH 1211), Professional Chemistry Paths (CH 1141), Biology I (BIO 1134), Calculus I (MA 1713), English Composition I; semester 2 Chemistry II (CH 1223), Investigations in Chemistry II (CH 1221), Professional Chemistry Tools (CH 2141), Biology II (BIO 1144), Calculus II (MA 1723), English Composition II and Public Speaking.
- Year 2: Organic Chemistry I and II with laboratories (CH 4513/4511, 4523/4521), Cell Biology (BIO 2103), Physics (PH 1113/2113), Inorganic Chemistry (CH 3213), one biology elective (General Microbiology, Genetics I, Human Genetics or Human Anatomy), Physics II, plus general education in history, literature and psychology.
- Year 3: Analytical Chemistry I with laboratory (CH 3313/3311), Biochemistry I (BCH 4603), Quantitative Techniques in Biological Chemistry (CH 4601), Chemistry Literature (CH 3141), Physics III, a fine arts requirement; then Undergraduate Research (CH 4800) or a chemistry elective, Biochemistry II (BCH 4613), Professional Research Ethics (CH 4141) and sociology.
- Year 4: Biophysical Chemistry (CH 4403) or Thermodynamics and Kinetics (CH 4413) with the corresponding laboratory (CH 4411), a biology elective, Foreign Language I; then Analytical Chemistry II with laboratory (CH 4353/4351), Senior Seminar (CH 4711) and Foreign Language II. The Pre-Pharmacy concentration adds courses such as Human Physiology, and the map notes that Introduction to Statistics is for Pre-Dental only.
- Laboratories: the “Hands-On Learning” row lists laboratories each year: Investigations in Chemistry in year 1, organic chemistry laboratories in year 2, analytical chemistry laboratory, biological chemistry techniques and undergraduate research in year 3, and biophysical or physical chemistry and analytical II laboratories in year 4.
- Undergraduate research: the page suggests beginning research in year 2, applying for Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REUs), taking a more independent role in year 3, and mentoring new students in year 4. Places and funding are not published in the pages read.
- Competitions: the website does not say how chemistry olympiads are viewed in admission.
- This plan comes from the major map, which the page describes as a general planning guide; the catalog governs the exact requirements.
4. US domestic applicants: costs and aid
- 2026–2027 costs (admissions tuition page, subject to change): in-state tuition and fees $11,095 per year, out-of-state $30,086; plus housing (median) $9,990 and a Weekly 21 meal plan $5,210; the page’s totals are $26,295 in-state and $45,286 out-of-state. Tuition is a flat rate for 12–16 credit hours per semester, per-credit below 12, with overload tuition above 16. Books, transport and personal expenses are not included. The figures for 2027–2028 are not published in the pages read; please check the website.
- Automatic freshman academic scholarships (scholarship details page, stated for 2026–2027 and reviewed each year): Mississippi residents, a 9th–11th grade GPA of 3.0 or higher and an ACT score of 21 or higher (or equivalent SAT); non-residents, a 9th–11th grade GPA of 3.30 or higher. Renewable for up to four years (8 semesters) subject to the college GPA and continuous full-time enrolment (12 credit hours a semester). Amounts are not stated in the pages read; see the scholarship offer or the website.
- Competitive scholarships (private, departmental, leadership and service): require the General Scholarship Application (GSA), which opens 1 October, with a priority date of 1 December for entering freshmen and 1 March for entering transfers and current students; applicants must be admitted first. Scholarships with an ACT/SAT minimum use scores on file by 1 December.
- Non-resident awards and military waiver: the tuition page says there are automatic non-resident tuition scholarships (details on the scholarship pages) and that the non-resident portion of tuition is waived for veterans, active-duty service members and dependents, currently valued at $18,132.
5. International applicants
- Fee and materials (international page): the online application plus a $60 non-refundable fee (marked “updated 2027”); certified, translated copies of transcripts, mark sheets and diplomas sent officially by the school. MSU recommends that non-US credentials be evaluated course by course, with a GPA calculation, by a NACES member agency; the preferred services are TEC and MyIEE.
- Test scores: an ACT of 20 or higher or an SAT of 1030, required only if the GPA from MSU’s evaluation is below 3.0 or if you are applying for scholarships.
- English proficiency: TOEFL 71 (some departments require more); IELTS 6.0 (some departments require more); ACT English 19; SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 510; Duolingo English Test 105. The admissions site also links a PDF of departmental English requirements, which is not among the pages read, so whether the Chemistry department sets a higher score should be checked on the website.
- Exemptions: only citizens of the listed English-speaking countries and territories (including the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Ireland; see the page for the full list) are automatically exempt; degree-seeking freshmen with at least two years at an accredited US high school and at least a C in English are also exempt but must meet the domestic standards; intensive English training does not replace TOEFL or IELTS. Applicants without scores can apply to the English Language Institute (ELI), which is a separate process.
- After admission: the I-20 portal link is sent to the student email; further requirements are on the International Institute website.
- Proof of funds and international costs: the admissions page points to the International Institute’s cost page, which is not among the pages read; not published in the pages read, please check the website.
- International scholarships: the scholarship page says international students may be eligible for academic scholarships, but students with active agent contracts are ineligible.
6. Applicants from China
- Whether the Gaokao is considered and how: the pages read do not mention the Gaokao; not published there, please contact the admissions office or check the international page.
- What the page does state (for all international applicants): certified, translated credentials sent by the school; a course-by-course evaluation through a NACES member agency is recommended; English can be shown with TOEFL 71, IELTS 6.0, Duolingo 105 and other listed options. Whether Chinese transcripts or school-leaving examination materials have specific requirements is not stated.
- The page also warns that students with active agent contracts are ineligible for scholarships.
7. Transfer students
- Admission (transfer page): from a regionally accredited community, junior or senior college, with a 2.0 cumulative GPA on all college courses attempted as computed by MSU, and in good standing at the last school attended. With fewer than 15 transferable hours, a high school transcript and ACT or SAT scores are also required. All colleges attended must be listed on the application.
- Credit: the page says MSU accepts up to 63 transferable credit hours from community colleges; the “Do your classes transfer?” page and the Mississippi Articulation and Transfer Tool (MATT) show course equivalencies, and courses from most out-of-state institutions can be sent to the Registrar for review. The pages read do not state what Chemistry requires of transferred courses; please ask the department and admissions office.
- Dates and fees: as for freshmen, applications for summer/fall open 1 August and for spring 5 August, with rolling review; $50 application fee, $60 for international students (both marked “updated 2027”).
- Transfer Admission Guarantee (TAG): students admitted as high school seniors who start at a community college can hold their admitted status for up to 3 years if they keep a 2.0 GPA and transfer within 3 years. The university also has academic pathway programs with several Mississippi community colleges.
- Transfer scholarships: automatic academic scholarships need an overall transferable GPA of 3.25 or higher and are renewable for up to 5 semesters; the GSA priority date for transfers is 1 March (all stated for 2026–2027).
- International transfer students (international page) qualify by one of three options: A, one year of successful study at a foreign university plus English proficiency; B, meet the freshman requirements with a 2.0 or higher GPA on all college courses attempted, plus English proficiency; C, 30 transferable hours from a regionally accredited US college with a 2.0 GPA or higher.
8. Career outcomes
- The map page says average entry-level chemistry salaries are about $58,000–$68,000 and that most chemistry graduates find employment or continue to graduate or professional school within 6–12 months. The page does not give the source or year of these figures, so please rely on the website.
- Sample jobs listed include analytical, quality-control, R&D, environmental and formulation chemist; leading industries are chemicals and pharmaceuticals, research and development, biotechnology, environment and energy, and consumer goods and manufacturing.
Checklist
US domestic applicants:
- Online application (opens 1 August; rolling), $50 fee; 18 CPC units; ACT/SAT optional; General Scholarship Application priority 1 December
International applicants (including China):
- $60 fee; certified translated transcripts, NACES evaluation recommended; English score (TOEFL 71, IELTS 6.0, Duolingo 105, etc.); whether the Gaokao is considered is not published
Transfer students:
- 2.0 cumulative GPA; high school transcript and test scores if under 15 transferable hours; up to 63 community-college credit hours
Sources: Mississippi State University, Major map: Chemistry; B.S. Chemistry requirements (PDF linked from the map; contents not among the pages read); ACS concentration requirements (PDF; contents not among the pages read); Pre-Med requirements (PDF; contents not among the pages read); Pre-Pharmacy requirements (PDF; contents not among the pages read); B.A. Chemistry requirements (PDF; contents not among the pages read); Freshman admissions; International admissions; Transfer admissions; Scholarship details; Tuition and costs. Anything not stated on these pages should be checked with the Office of Undergraduate Admissions; where a date carries no year, please confirm it applies to fall 2027 entry.