Home / Admissions / US Applications / How to Apply to Chemistry at Florida International University

How to Apply to Chemistry at Florida International University: In the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry of the College of Arts, Sciences & Education, with an ACS-certified BS and a BA with three concentrations, Applying to the University Rather Than the Department, for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants

2026-10-29 · Application guides

At Florida International University (FIU), chemistry is taught in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry in the College of Arts, Sciences & Education. The BS in Chemistry is certified by the American Chemical Society; there is also a BA in Chemistry (Biochemistry, Environmental Chemistry and Forensic Chemistry concentrations) and combined BS/MS pathways. First-year applicants use the Common App with a $30 fee and must submit an SAT, ACT or CLT score; Early Action closes on 2 November 2026 and the final deadline is 2 March 2027; tuition is $205.57 per credit for Florida residents and $660.19 for out-of-state students. The department’s prerequisites and required-course lists are not published on the pages read. This guide covers admission, scholarships, domestic, international and Chinese applicants, and transfer, based on FIU’s official information.

Florida International University (FIU, Miami, Florida) offers chemistry through the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry in the College of Arts, Sciences & Education, based on the Modesto A. Maidique Campus in Miami. This guide relies on the department pages and the Admissions, Scholarships and Transfer pages, covering US domestic, international and Chinese applicants, with transfer students at the end. Medicine, pharmacy, nursing, public health and similar degrees are outside this guide, so please see the university website; biology is not covered here (the BS in Biochemistry gets one line in section 1).

1. Degrees and tracks

  • BS in Chemistry: the department page says it is certified by the American Chemical Society (ACS) and prepares students for graduate study or careers as chemists in industry, government or secondary school teaching; students may work in faculty research labs, and some present at national conferences and publish in chemistry journals. The site also mentions an honors track and two combined programs: a combined BS/MS in Chemistry (eligible students take up to 12 graduate credits while finishing the undergraduate degree, shortening the time to the MS in Chemistry) and a combined BS in Chemistry/MS in Forensic Science. Requirements for the honors track are not published on the pages read.
  • BA in Chemistry: the department page says it prepares students for careers in pharmacy, medicine, forensic science, dentistry, environmental studies, veterinary medicine, secondary science education or patent law, with three concentrations — Biochemistry (its curriculum includes all the courses needed for entry into medical or dental school), Environmental Chemistry and Forensic Chemistry. The undergraduate overview page also lists “Chemical Education” as a BA concentration, while the BA program page lists only the three above — the site is not fully consistent, so confirm with the advisors.
  • BS in Biochemistry: housed in the same department; the site says it prepares students for graduate study or careers as biochemists in industry, government or secondary school teaching. The university does not say whether it counts as the “chemistry” major discussed here, so confirm with the advisors which degree to choose.
  • Minor: the department page lists a minor in Chemistry; contact an advisor to add it.
  • Total credits and required courses: total credits, required courses, labs and research requirements are in the university catalog and are not published on the pages read — check the department site and the catalog.
  • Placement years and capstones: not published on the pages read (the department only says students can take part in faculty research).

2. How admission works

  • You apply to the university, not the department: the “Apply” buttons on the department pages lead to the university application (the Common App for first-year students). Whether chemistry has its own admission cut-off or is admitted by major is not published on the pages read; the Admissions FAQ says that if a major is full you must update your application to another term, and another answer gives architecture and nursing as examples of limited-access programs (“including but not limited to”) — chemistry is not among the examples, but the university does not list every program, so confirm with Admissions.
  • Declaring the major and transferring in: not published on the pages read — ask CASE Advising. The department page says advisors are available online and on both campuses.
  • Admission pathways: see section 4. The pathways page says students who choose a STEM, business or engineering major but are not calculus-ready and are admitted to the START pathway must meet required courses and milestones (the page does not list which majors count as STEM), and describes workshops and specialized advising for it.

3. Prerequisites and credit

  • High school chemistry, math, physics: neither the department pages nor the Admissions pages state specific high school prerequisites; Admissions says review looks at high school GPA, grades in academic core courses, course selection, college readiness in math, writing and reading, and test scores. Math placement: the first-year page says homeschooled and GED applicants who wish to major in a STEM program take the ALEKS math placement (one passage on the page says it is required at new student orientation, another says it is encouraged before advising and registration day); whether this applies to all new students is not stated on the pages read.
  • AP/IB/A-Level credit (credit-by-exam table): AP Chemistry 3 earns CHM 1020/1020L, 4 earns CHM 1045/1045L, and 5 earns CHM 1045/1045L plus CHM 1046/1046L; IB Chemistry 4 earns CHM 1020/1020L and 5–7 earns CHM 1020/1020L plus CHM 1045/1045L (the table does not separate SL and HL); Cambridge A-Level Chemistry (passing grades A–E) earns CHM 1020/1020L plus CHM 1045/1045L. The table also says a maximum of 45 credits is awarded for all exams combined, the exams do not affect GPA, and credits marked UCC meet the university core curriculum but may not meet major requirements — ask the department advisors whether they count toward the chemistry major.
  • First-year common courses and labs: not published on the pages read.
  • Competitions: the pages read do not say how science olympiads are viewed in admissions.

4. Timeline and materials (university level, for chemistry applicants)

  • How to apply: first-year applicants use the Common App; those who applied through the Common App should not submit a separate FIU application. It opens 1 August, with a $30 application fee (or an SAT/ACT fee waiver).
  • Rounds and deadlines (Admissions first-year page, Early Fall and Fall 2027): Early Action (non-binding) — complete application with documents by 2 November 2026, notification 10 December; all first-year applicants — 16 December 2026, notification 21 January 2027; final deadline 2 March 2027, last decisions 2 April; deposit 1 May 2027. The FAQ adds that Early Action is non-binding and the $200 enrollment deposit (or deposit waiver) is due by 1 May, non-refundable and applied to tuition.
  • Testing: the FAQ says Florida Board of Governors regulations require an SAT, ACT or CLT score for first-time-in-college admission to the State University System — for in-state, out-of-state and international students alike. You can submit the application and transcript first and the university waits for the score before deciding; Florida high school graduates in the top 10% of their class are admitted regardless of score. The ACT Science section has not been required since the 2025–26 application, and the ACT composite counts only English, math and reading (superscored). SAT code 5206, ACT code 0776.
  • Transcripts and other items: all high school and college transcripts must be sent directly to FIU; for international credentials, a certified copy from the previous institution’s registration office can be submitted, with a translation sent separately. AP, IB and other exam scores must be sent separately by the testing agency, with AP scores of 3 or higher, and scores arriving after the deadline are not considered. Every applicant submits residency documentation (used to set in-state or out-of-state tuition). The pages read do not mention recommendation letters, a personal statement or specific chemistry course grades.
  • Admission pathways: FIU places first-year admits into pathways — Fall Direct (most selective), Early Fall Direct (summer start with required summer courses), the Golden Scholars summer bridge program, START, Spring Direct, Connect4Success and an Associate of Arts pathway for Florida public colleges. Placement is based on the academic profile, and pathway appeals are considered only with new and compelling information.
  • Reference data: the pathways page prints the Fall 2026 admitted-student profile — Fall Direct: SAT 1250/1320/1380, ACT 27/30/32, GPA 4.10/4.4/4.70; Early Fall Direct: SAT 1110/1150/1200, ACT 22/24/25, GPA 3.90/4.2/4.40 (the table is headed “50% Lower / Middle / 50% Upper”; this guide reproduces the three printed numbers). The FAQ separately says the middle 50% of fall admits is SAT 1250–1380, ACT 26–31, GPA 4.1–4.7, and of summer admits SAT 1080–1180, ACT 21–24, GPA 3.9–4.4 (slightly different from the pathways page for Early Fall, so both are given); overall acceptance rate 50%, 33% for fall and 68% for summer.
  • Summer requirement: the FAQ says students entering with fewer than 60 credits must enroll in at least 9 credit hours in the summer (spread over their time at FIU).

5. US domestic applicants

  • Tuition (Admissions cost page): undergraduate cost per credit is $205.57 for Florida residents and $660.19 for out-of-state students; athletic, health, parking, online and other fees may be added by program and enrollment. The page says about 89% of full-time undergraduates receive some aid, the FAFSA opens 1 October with an early-award priority date of 1 December, and the “Golden Promise” covers 100% of tuition and fees for first-time-in-college Florida students with a zero expected family contribution (FAFSA required).
  • Scholarships (Scholarships page): admitted first-year students are considered automatically with no separate application — a complete application by 2 November 2026 for Florida high schools, or 16 December 2026 for out-of-state and overseas high schools, with scores sent by the testing agency by then. Gold and Blue scholarships are spread over four years: $1,000–12,000 for Florida residents and $4,000–24,000 for non-residents, not stackable with other FIU merit aid; non-residents may also get an out-of-state tuition waiver (apply by 16 December; not combinable with the Grandparent Waiver); the benefits the page lists under the out-of-state waiver include guaranteed Honors College admission and priority registration. RaiseMe micro-scholarships go up to $2,500 per year (Florida or DC residents, US citizens or permanent residents, GPA 3.2+). The page text says “Early Fall/Fall 2026” while the dates are in November and December 2026 — check which entry year they apply to.
  • Honors College: the FAQ says applicants not placed in the Honors College at admission may apply with a weighted GPA of at least 3.7 (as recalculated by FIU) and an SAT of 1230 (ACT 26, CLT 86), with a personal statement and résumé.
  • Scholarships specific to chemistry: not published on the pages read; the department pages point to FIU’s scholarship search (scholarships.fiu.edu) — ask the department advisors.

6. International applicants

  • Applying: international freshmen also apply through the Common App with the $30 fee, and submit SAT, ACT or CLT scores and a high school transcript (with an official translation if not in English). The International Admissions freshman page says international first-year students applying for direct admission are not required to submit TOEFL or IELTS; instead they must meet the Florida Board of Governors college-readiness requirement, largely determined by SAT or ACT reading/verbal and English sub-scores. Admission is decided on GPA together with test scores. Students who want extra academic and language support can apply to the Global First Year (G1Y) pathway program (services listed include dedicated advisors, tutoring and priority housing).
  • Tuition: the Admissions cost page gives $660.19 per credit for out-of-state students; the international cost page gives $618.87 per credit out-of-state, $18,566.10 for 30 credits, plus athletic $20, health $187.38, parking $181.40 and Panther ID $10, with a printed fall-and-spring out-of-state total of $18,964.75. That page still carries 2024 scholarship deadlines, so it is older, and the two pages disagree — check FIU’s website for the latest.
  • Aid and scholarships: the Scholarships page says US citizens, permanent residents and international students on an F-1 (or another eligible visa) are considered automatically for first-year merit awards; the international cost page says international students can search more awards on the Academic Works website. Whether international students can use the FAFSA or other federal or state aid is not stated on the pages read — ask Admissions.
  • Proof of funds, I-20, insurance: the international FAQ says students on F-1 or J-1 visas must have qualifying medical insurance before registering (university-approved insurance can be bought). The amount and documents for proof of funds are not stated on the pages read — check the International Admissions website.
  • English requirements for international transfer students: see section 8.

7. Chinese applicants

  • Gaokao and Chinese high school records: the pages read do not say whether the gaokao is considered or how it would be used, and give no China-specific guidance on the Chinese school system or the huikao — not published; ask FIU’s international admissions office.
  • General requirements that apply: Chinese applicants follow the international freshman route — Common App, $30 fee, one of SAT/ACT/CLT, a high school transcript (with an official translation if not in English; a certified copy from the registration office is accepted for international credentials) and residency documentation; TOEFL or IELTS is not required for direct admission.
  • AP/IB/A-Level credit: see the credit-by-exam table in section 3, which requires scores to be sent directly by the testing agency and an AP score of 3 or higher; the pages read give no separate guidance for Chinese curricula.

8. Transfer students

  • Who counts as a transfer: students who have started college coursework after high school apply as transfers; the program pages’ admissions links say the transfer criteria apply to students with 60 or more transferable credits (the first-year criteria apply to first-year students and transfers with fewer than 60 credits). The FAQ adds that a transfer needs a 2.0 GPA and good academic standing at the last institution.
  • Materials: official transcripts from every college attended; applicants with 12–29 transferable credits also need SAT/ACT/CLT scores and a high school transcript; those with 30 or more transferable credits and a C or higher in both ENC1101 (or equivalent) and a college-level math course do not need test scores or a high school transcript. The fee is $30, and AP, CLEP and similar scores must be sent separately. To see how credits transfer, use the Transfer Equivalency Database, the transfer guides and the transfer credit policy.
  • Deadlines (Admissions transfer page, 2027): domestic transfers — Spring 2027 1 December (College of Business 17 November), Summer A/C 8 March (Business 2 March), Summer B 26 April (Business 2 March), Fall 2027 8 July (Business 23 June), deposit 27 July (Business 6 July); transfers educated at a non-US institution — Fall 2027 application 16 May, documents 24 May, deposit 6 June (with a separate DCF documents deadline of 3 July), Spring 2027 1 October. The international transfer page’s own table still shows 2026 terms (for example Fall 2026 on 2 June) and disagrees with the transfer page — rely on the transfer page and check FIU’s website.
  • Non-US coursework: a course-by-course evaluation with GPA from a NACES member service is required; at most 90 credits transfer (60 lower-division and 30 upper-division, at the department’s discretion); how they apply to the chemistry degree is decided only after admission.
  • English requirements for international transfers: the international transfer page says applicants with 60+ credits can show proficiency with one of: TOEFL iBT 4.5 (stated as effective 21 January 2026; before that, 80 on the iBT or equivalent), IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 110, ENC1101 with a C or better at an accredited US institution, or successful completion of FIU’s English Language Institute Level Six, among others; those with fewer than 60 credits must meet the Florida Board of Governors language requirement (ENC1101 or equivalent, or an SAT/ACT).
  • Florida public college pathway: the international transfer page says Associate of Arts graduates of Florida public community colleges are guaranteed admission (specialized-admission programs excepted) after completing basic math and English with at least a 2.0 GPA; Connect4Success lets students finish an AA at a partner college and then transfer.
  • Transfer scholarships: the Scholarships page says transfer Gold and Blue awards are $1,000–2,000 for Florida residents and $2,000–4,000 for non-residents.

9. Accreditation, research and outcomes

  • Accreditation: the BS in Chemistry is ACS-certified (department page); whether the BA is certified is not published on the pages read.
  • Research: the department page says more than 50 professors and researchers work in areas including biochemistry, pharmaceutical innovations, forensic science, nuclear chemistry, environmental solutions, radiochemistry, advanced materials and chemistry education, and that students can join faculty research labs; it also lists events such as an annual research symposium. How undergraduate research is applied for and credited is not published on the pages read.
  • Outcomes: the “College to Career” boxes on the BS and BA pages list soil and plant scientist, materials scientist, food science technician, chemical technician, environmental science and protection technician, and chemical plant and system operator; the BS in Biochemistry page lists bio-analytical chemist, biophysicist, biological technician, epidemiologist, forensic scientist and toxicologist. These are sample occupations, not employment statistics; the Admissions cost page separately says 71% of FIU graduates are employed or enrolled in master’s programs one year after graduation (a university-wide figure, not a chemistry figure).

Checklist

US domestic applicants:

  • Common App; Early Action 2 November 2026, all first-year applicants 16 December 2026, final deadline 2 March 2027; $30 fee; one of SAT/ACT/CLT; high school transcript; residency documentation
  • Scholarships: automatic after admission, with a complete file by 2 November (Florida high schools) or 16 December (out-of-state)

International applicants (including China):

  • Common App and $30 fee; SAT/ACT/CLT (required); transcript (translated if not in English); TOEFL/IELTS not required for direct first-year admission
  • How the gaokao is used is not published; ask international admissions

After entry:

  • Conditions for declaring chemistry, required courses, labs and research requirements are not published on the pages read — ask CASE Advising and the department

Transfer students:

  • Transfer criteria for 60+ credits; 2.0 GPA; Fall 2027 deadline 8 July (US coursework) or 16 May (non-US coursework); use the Transfer Equivalency Database for credits

Sources: Florida International University, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry; Undergraduate degrees in chemistry; BS in Chemistry; BA in Chemistry; BS in Biochemistry; First-year application and deadlines; First-year pathways; Admissions FAQs; Transfer applicants; Cost and aid; Scholarships; International freshmen; International cost and aid; International transfer; International FAQ; Credit-by-exam tables. This is for the 2027 entry cycle. The international cost page (scholarship deadlines still from 2024, and a tuition figure that differs from the cost page) and the international transfer deadline table (still showing 2026 terms) are older content and are flagged in the text; where a page prints no year, check that a date is for 2027 entry. Check FIU’s website for the latest.

Related articles