How to Apply to Biology at Florida International University: Biological Sciences BA (Also Online), BS and Marine Biology BS in the Department of Biological Sciences, Plus the QBIC Program with Its Own Application, Applying to the University Rather Than the Department, for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants
At Florida International University (FIU), biology is taught in the Department of Biological Sciences in the College of Arts, Sciences & Education, with a BA in Biological Sciences (also fully online), a BS in Biological Sciences and a BS in Marine Biology, plus honors and the QBIC program, which has its own application. First-year applicants use the Common App with a $30 fee and must submit an SAT, ACT or CLT score; Early Action closes on 2 November 2026 and the final deadline is 2 March 2027; tuition is $205.57 per credit for Florida residents and $660.19 for out-of-state students. The required-course lists are not published on the pages read. This guide covers admission, scholarships, domestic, international and Chinese applicants, and transfer, based on FIU’s official information.
Florida International University (FIU, Miami, Florida) offers biology through the Department of Biological Sciences in the College of Arts, Sciences & Education, with programs based on the Modesto A. Maidique Campus in Miami and the Biscayne Bay Campus in North Miami. This guide relies on the department pages and the Admissions, Scholarships and Transfer pages, covering US domestic, international and Chinese applicants, with transfer students at the end. Medicine, nursing, pharmacy, public health and similar degrees are outside this guide, so please see the university website; chemistry is not covered here.
1. Degrees and tracks
- BA in Biological Sciences: the site says it is offered in person and fully online, with tracks in Allied Health Profession, Bioentrepreneur and Health Policy, Environmental Policy and Pre-Law; the undergraduate overview page also lists Biology Education and Science Communication as BA tracks, which the BA program page does not list separately (science communication, policy and ethics appears under “What you will study”) — the two pages are not fully consistent, so confirm with the advisors.
- BS in Biological Sciences: the site says it covers ecology, genetics, molecular and cell biology, evolution, organismal diversity and physiology/biochemistry, and suits students heading to graduate study or careers in botany, zoology, ecology, molecular and cellular biology, biomedical research, health care and natural resource management; it says completing the degree also satisfies the course requirements for admission to medical, dental, optometry and veterinary schools, though some professional schools may have additional requirements. Tracks: the overview page lists Biology Education, Forensic Biomolecular Biology and Pre-Health Curricula, while the BS program page lists Biology Education, Biotechnology and Forensic Biomolecular Biology — the two lists differ, so confirm with the advisors. Two programs for qualified students are also offered: Biological Sciences with Honors and QBIC (Quantifying Biology in the Classroom).
- BS in Marine Biology: the site says it covers structural and evolutionary developmental biology, physiology, organismal diversity, physical oceanography and ecology, located between Biscayne Bay, the Everglades and the Florida Keys, with fieldwork and laboratory research; students admitted to the FIU Honors College can follow a Marine Biology with Honors track with an original research project, thesis and a presentation at a departmental seminar.
- BS in Biochemistry: offered by the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, not Biological Sciences; the site says it prepares students for graduate study or careers as biochemists in industry, government or secondary school teaching. The BA in Chemistry also has a Biochemistry concentration (its curriculum includes all courses needed for medical or dental school). The university does not say whether these count as the biology major discussed here — confirm with the advisors.
- Minors: a minor in Biology and a minor in Marine Biology; contact an advisor to add one.
- Credits: the BA, BS and Marine Biology pages all say students must complete at least 120 credits, at least 45 of them upper division (3000/4000 level); yet each page’s “Program at a Glance” box gives the degree type as “Bachelor of Arts” and “60 credits of lower division and 60 credits of upper division” — including the BS and Marine Biology pages, which conflicts with their titles and with the 45-credit figure; the site contradicts itself, so rely on the catalog. The required-course lists are in the university catalog and are not published on the pages read.
- Capstones and placement years: not published on the pages read (the marine biology honors thesis is noted above).
2. How admission works
- You apply to the university, not the department: the “Apply” buttons on the department pages lead to the university application (the Common App for first-year students). Whether biology has its own admission cut-off or is admitted by major is not published on the pages read; the Admissions FAQ says that if a major is full you must update your application to another term, and another answer gives architecture and nursing as examples of limited-access programs (“including but not limited to”) — biology is not among the examples, but the university does not list every program, so confirm with Admissions.
- Declaring the major and transferring in: not published on the pages read — ask CASE Advising and Pre-Health Advising.
- QBIC has its own application: QBIC is a distinctive BS program, and beyond FIU admission it requires a separate application: a QBIC application form, two letters of recommendation from teachers or academic advisors, and a personal statement of at least 300 words; the deadline to be considered for a QBIC scholarship is 15 June (the page prints no year — check that it is for 2027 entry). The site says applicants should have excelled in math and science, with algebra and pre-calculus expected but not required; incoming freshmen attend the free six-week “QBIC Bound” summer session (four days a week, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.: mornings of general biology lecture, lab, peer-led team learning or journal club, afternoons reviewing pre-calculus and calculus) before deciding whether to commit to the program. The program has small integrated classes, QBIC scholarships, paid tutors and a QBIC-only study space.
- Honors College: see section 5.
- Admission pathways: see section 4. The pathways page says students who choose a STEM, business or engineering major but are not calculus-ready and are admitted to the START pathway must meet required courses and milestones (the page does not list which majors count as STEM).
3. Prerequisites and credit
- High school biology, chemistry, math: neither the department pages nor the Admissions pages state specific high school prerequisites (QBIC’s expectations are above); Admissions says review looks at high school GPA, grades in academic core courses, course selection, college readiness in math, writing and reading, and test scores. Math placement: the first-year page says homeschooled and GED applicants who wish to major in a STEM program take the ALEKS math placement (one passage on the page says it is required at new student orientation, another says it is encouraged before advising and registration day); whether this applies to all new students is not stated on the pages read.
- AP/IB/A-Level credit (credit-by-exam table): AP Biology 3 earns BSC UCC1/UCC1L, 4 earns BSC 2010/2010L, and 5 earns BSC 2010/2010L plus BSC 2011/2011L; IB Biology Standard Level: 4 earns BSC UCC1/L and 5–7 earns BSC UCC1/UCC1L; Higher Level: 4 earns BSC UCC1/L plus BSC 2010/2010L and 5–7 earns BSC UCC1/UCC1L plus BSC 2010/2010L; Cambridge A-Level Biology (passing grades A–E) earns BSC 2010/2010L plus a 3-credit elective (ELE UCC1). The table also says a maximum of 45 credits is awarded for all exams combined, the exams do not affect GPA, and credits marked UCC meet the university core curriculum but may not meet major requirements — ask the department advisors whether they count toward the biology major.
- First-year common courses and labs: not published on the pages read.
- Competitions: the pages read do not say how science olympiads are viewed in admissions.
4. Timeline and materials (university level, for biology applicants)
- How to apply: first-year applicants use the Common App; those who applied through the Common App should not submit a separate FIU application. It opens 1 August, with a $30 application fee (or an SAT/ACT fee waiver).
- Rounds and deadlines (Admissions first-year page, Early Fall and Fall 2027): Early Action (non-binding) — complete application with documents by 2 November 2026, notification 10 December; all first-year applicants — 16 December 2026, notification 21 January 2027; final deadline 2 March 2027, last decisions 2 April; deposit 1 May 2027. The FAQ adds that Early Action is non-binding and the $200 enrollment deposit (or deposit waiver) is due by 1 May, non-refundable and applied to tuition.
- Testing: the FAQ says Florida Board of Governors regulations require an SAT, ACT or CLT score for first-time-in-college admission to the State University System — for in-state, out-of-state and international students alike. You can submit the application and transcript first and the university waits for the score before deciding; Florida high school graduates in the top 10% of their class are admitted regardless of score. The ACT Science section has not been required since the 2025–26 application, and the ACT composite counts only English, math and reading (superscored). SAT code 5206, ACT code 0776.
- Transcripts and other items: all high school and college transcripts must be sent directly to FIU; for international credentials, a certified copy from the previous institution’s registration office can be submitted, with a translation sent separately. AP, IB and other exam scores must be sent separately by the testing agency, with AP scores of 3 or higher, and scores arriving after the deadline are not considered. Every applicant submits residency documentation (used to set in-state or out-of-state tuition). The pages read do not mention recommendation letters, a personal statement or specific biology course grades.
- Admission pathways: FIU places first-year admits into pathways — Fall Direct (most selective), Early Fall Direct (summer start with required summer courses), the Golden Scholars summer bridge program, START, Spring Direct, Connect4Success and an Associate of Arts pathway for Florida public colleges. Placement is based on the academic profile, and pathway appeals are considered only with new and compelling information.
- Reference data: the pathways page prints the Fall 2026 admitted-student profile — Fall Direct: SAT 1250/1320/1380, ACT 27/30/32, GPA 4.10/4.4/4.70; Early Fall Direct: SAT 1110/1150/1200, ACT 22/24/25, GPA 3.90/4.2/4.40 (the table is headed “50% Lower / Middle / 50% Upper”; this guide reproduces the three printed numbers). The FAQ separately says the middle 50% of fall admits is SAT 1250–1380, ACT 26–31, GPA 4.1–4.7, and of summer admits SAT 1080–1180, ACT 21–24, GPA 3.9–4.4 (slightly different from the pathways page for Early Fall, so both are given); overall acceptance rate 50%, 33% for fall and 68% for summer.
- Summer requirement: the FAQ says students entering with fewer than 60 credits must enroll in at least 9 credit hours in the summer (spread over their time at FIU).
5. US domestic applicants
- Tuition (Admissions cost page): undergraduate cost per credit is $205.57 for Florida residents and $660.19 for out-of-state students; athletic, health, parking, online and other fees may be added by program and enrollment. The page says about 89% of full-time undergraduates receive some aid, the FAFSA opens 1 October with an early-award priority date of 1 December, and the “Golden Promise” covers 100% of tuition and fees for first-time-in-college Florida students with a zero expected family contribution (FAFSA required).
- Scholarships (Scholarships page): admitted first-year students are considered automatically with no separate application — a complete application by 2 November 2026 for Florida high schools, or 16 December 2026 for out-of-state and overseas high schools, with scores sent by the testing agency by then. Gold and Blue scholarships are spread over four years: $1,000–12,000 for Florida residents and $4,000–24,000 for non-residents, not stackable with other FIU merit aid; non-residents may also get an out-of-state tuition waiver (apply by 16 December; not combinable with the Grandparent Waiver); the benefits the page lists under the out-of-state waiver include guaranteed Honors College admission and priority registration. RaiseMe micro-scholarships go up to $2,500 per year (Florida or DC residents, US citizens or permanent residents, GPA 3.2+). The page text says “Early Fall/Fall 2026” while the dates are in November and December 2026 — check which entry year they apply to.
- Honors College: the FAQ says applicants not placed in the Honors College at admission may apply with a weighted GPA of at least 3.7 (as recalculated by FIU) and an SAT of 1230 (ACT 26, CLT 86), with a personal statement and résumé.
- Scholarships specific to biology: not published on the pages read; the department pages point to FIU’s scholarship search (scholarships.fiu.edu) — ask the department advisors.
6. International applicants
- Applying: international freshmen also apply through the Common App with the $30 fee, and submit SAT, ACT or CLT scores and a high school transcript (with an official translation if not in English). The International Admissions freshman page says international first-year students applying for direct admission are not required to submit TOEFL or IELTS; instead they must meet the Florida Board of Governors college-readiness requirement, largely determined by SAT or ACT reading/verbal and English sub-scores. Admission is decided on GPA together with test scores. Students who want extra academic and language support can apply to the Global First Year (G1Y) pathway program (services listed include dedicated advisors, tutoring and priority housing).
- Tuition: the Admissions cost page gives $660.19 per credit for out-of-state students; the international cost page gives $618.87 per credit out-of-state, $18,566.10 for 30 credits, plus athletic $20, health $187.38, parking $181.40 and Panther ID $10, with a printed fall-and-spring out-of-state total of $18,964.75. That page still carries 2024 scholarship deadlines, so it is older, and the two pages disagree — check FIU’s website for the latest.
- Aid and scholarships: the Scholarships page says US citizens, permanent residents and international students on an F-1 (or another eligible visa) are considered automatically for first-year merit awards; the international cost page says international students can search more awards on the Academic Works website. Whether international students can use the FAFSA or other federal or state aid is not stated on the pages read — ask Admissions.
- Proof of funds, I-20, insurance: the international FAQ says students on F-1 or J-1 visas must have qualifying medical insurance before registering (university-approved insurance can be bought). The amount and documents for proof of funds are not stated on the pages read — check the International Admissions website.
- English requirements for international transfer students: see section 8.
7. Chinese applicants
- Gaokao and Chinese high school records: the pages read do not say whether the gaokao is considered or how it would be used, and give no China-specific guidance on the Chinese school system or the huikao — not published; ask FIU’s international admissions office.
- General requirements that apply: Chinese applicants follow the international freshman route — Common App, $30 fee, one of SAT/ACT/CLT, a high school transcript (with an official translation if not in English; a certified copy from the registration office is accepted for international credentials) and residency documentation; TOEFL or IELTS is not required for direct admission.
- AP/IB/A-Level credit: see the credit-by-exam table in section 3, which requires scores to be sent directly by the testing agency and an AP score of 3 or higher; the pages read give no separate guidance for Chinese curricula.
8. Transfer students
- Who counts as a transfer: students who have started college coursework after high school apply as transfers; the program pages’ admissions links say the transfer criteria apply to students with 60 or more transferable credits (the first-year criteria apply to first-year students and transfers with fewer than 60 credits). The FAQ adds that a transfer needs a 2.0 GPA and good academic standing at the last institution.
- Materials: official transcripts from every college attended; applicants with 12–29 transferable credits also need SAT/ACT/CLT scores and a high school transcript; those with 30 or more transferable credits and a C or higher in both ENC1101 (or equivalent) and a college-level math course do not need test scores or a high school transcript. The fee is $30, and AP, CLEP and similar scores must be sent separately. To see how credits transfer, use the Transfer Equivalency Database, the transfer guides and the transfer credit policy.
- Deadlines (Admissions transfer page, 2027): domestic transfers — Spring 2027 1 December (College of Business 17 November), Summer A/C 8 March (Business 2 March), Summer B 26 April (Business 2 March), Fall 2027 8 July (Business 23 June), deposit 27 July (Business 6 July); transfers educated at a non-US institution — Fall 2027 application 16 May, documents 24 May, deposit 6 June (with a separate DCF documents deadline of 3 July), Spring 2027 1 October. The international transfer page’s own table still shows 2026 terms (for example Fall 2026 on 2 June) and disagrees with the transfer page — rely on the transfer page and check FIU’s website.
- Non-US coursework: a course-by-course evaluation with GPA from a NACES member service is required; at most 90 credits transfer (60 lower-division and 30 upper-division, at the department’s discretion); how they apply to the biology degree is decided only after admission.
- English requirements for international transfers: the international transfer page says applicants with 60+ credits can show proficiency with one of: TOEFL iBT 4.5 (stated as effective 21 January 2026; before that, 80 on the iBT or equivalent), IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 110, ENC1101 with a C or better at an accredited US institution, or successful completion of FIU’s English Language Institute Level Six, among others; those with fewer than 60 credits must meet the Florida Board of Governors language requirement (ENC1101 or equivalent, or an SAT/ACT).
- Florida public college pathway: the international transfer page says Associate of Arts graduates of Florida public community colleges are guaranteed admission (specialized-admission programs excepted) after completing basic math and English with at least a 2.0 GPA; Connect4Success lets students finish an AA at a partner college and then transfer.
- Transfer scholarships: the Scholarships page says transfer Gold and Blue awards are $1,000–2,000 for Florida residents and $2,000–4,000 for non-residents.
9. Pre-health, research and outcomes
- Pre-health advising: the department page says students who hope to become doctors, physician assistants, veterinarians, pharmacists, dentists or other health professionals can use FIU’s Pre-Health Advising team; the BS page says completing the BS satisfies the course requirements for medical, dental, optometry and veterinary schools, though some professional schools may have more. Professional degrees such as medicine are outside this guide.
- Research and activities: the department page says more than 100 professors and researchers work across zoology, botany, microbiology, molecular biology, ecology, neuroscience, education and marine sciences; activities include guest lectures by researchers and conservationists, a Biology Research Forum and Summer Research Poster Showcase, the Sprouting Program (literature-review training for early undergraduates), a Research Expo, and student groups such as the Undergraduate Research Society and the QBiC Club. How undergraduate research is applied for and credited is not published on the pages read.
- Outcomes: the QBIC page’s “College to Career” box lists physician, surgeon, pharmacist, clinical specialist and medical laboratory technician (noting that most need graduate study such as a master’s, PhD or MD); the BS in Biochemistry page lists bio-analytical chemist, biophysicist, biological technician, epidemiologist, forensic scientist and toxicologist. These are sample occupations, not employment statistics; the Admissions cost page separately says 71% of FIU graduates are employed or enrolled in master’s programs one year after graduation (a university-wide figure, not a biology figure).
Checklist
US domestic applicants:
- Common App; Early Action 2 November 2026, all first-year applicants 16 December 2026, final deadline 2 March 2027; $30 fee; one of SAT/ACT/CLT; high school transcript; residency documentation
- QBIC: separate application form, two recommendations and a 300-word-plus statement; scholarship deadline 15 June
International applicants (including China):
- Common App and $30 fee; SAT/ACT/CLT (required); transcript (translated if not in English); TOEFL/IELTS not required for direct first-year admission
- How the gaokao is used is not published; ask international admissions
After entry:
- Conditions for declaring biology, required courses and research requirements are not published on the pages read — ask CASE Advising and the department
Transfer students:
- Transfer criteria for 60+ credits; 2.0 GPA; Fall 2027 deadline 8 July (US coursework) or 16 May (non-US coursework); use the Transfer Equivalency Database for credits
Sources: Florida International University, Department of Biological Sciences; Undergraduate degrees in biological sciences; BA in Biological Sciences; BS in Biological Sciences; BS in Marine Biology; QBIC program; Apply to QBIC; BS in Biochemistry (Chemistry department); First-year application and deadlines; First-year pathways; Admissions FAQs; Transfer applicants; Cost and aid; Scholarships; International freshmen; International cost and aid; International transfer; International FAQ; Credit-by-exam tables. This is for the 2027 entry cycle. The international cost page (scholarship deadlines still from 2024, and a tuition figure that differs from the cost page) and the international transfer deadline table (still showing 2026 terms) are older content and are flagged in the text; where a page prints no year, check that a date is for 2027 entry. Check FIU’s website for the latest.