How to apply to Louisiana State University for chemistry: in the College of Science, with a BS (eight concentrations including biological chemistry, chemical physics and polymer chemistry) and a BA, with admission and prerequisite guidance for U.S., international (including Chinese) and transfer applicants
Louisiana State University (LSU) teaches undergraduate chemistry in the Department of Chemistry in the College of Science, with a Bachelor of Science and a Bachelor of Arts. The BS has eight concentrations (chemistry, biological chemistry, chemical physics, forensic chemistry, polymer chemistry, environmental chemistry, second discipline and secondary education), and the department page says they meet the course requirements for American Chemical Society (ACS) certification; the BA has pre-health, pre-pharmacy, business and other concentrations. First-year applicants use only the Common App, with a December 1 scholarship priority deadline and a February 1 regular deadline; applicants with a weighted GPA below 3.5 must submit SAT or ACT scores. Chemistry is in the second tier of differential tuition, $14,825.75 for non-residents at 15 hours in fall 2026.
Louisiana State University (LSU) is in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Undergraduate chemistry is offered by the Department of Chemistry in the College of Science; the undergraduate studies office is in 109 Choppin Hall, phone 225-578-3361, email chemistry@lsu.edu. This guide follows the university’s website and covers U.S. students, international students and applicants from China, then transfer students, for 2027 entry. Biology, physics, mathematics, engineering and the health professions are not covered here.
What was and was not available: the chemistry department home page, undergraduate studies page, degrees and concentrations page (with the credit-hour table and the first- and second-year course lists), undergraduate research page and ALEKS Chem Prep page were read, along with the university’s admissions and cost pages. The university catalog and the eight-semester PDF flowcharts were not used, so details of upper-level required and elective courses are given only as far as the pages show and are otherwise “not published on the pages read here”.
1. Degrees and options
- Degrees (degrees and concentrations page): chemistry majors can choose a Bachelor of Science or a Bachelor of Arts, and there is a chemistry minor. The page says the paths prepare students for work in chemistry or for other professions including the health fields of medicine, pharmacy and dentistry; students interested in teaching also earn a secondary teaching certificate through LSU’s GeauxTeach program.
- Eight BS concentrations: Chemistry, Biological Chemistry, Chemical Physics, Forensic Chemistry, Polymer Chemistry, Environmental Chemistry, Second Discipline (a major or minor in a second field, approved by the end of semester 4) and Secondary Education. The page’s overview says “most concentrations” satisfy the certification requirements of the American Chemical Society (ACS), while the notes under each concentration say it fulfills the course requirement for ACS certification; the page describes the BS as ideal for the chemical industry or graduate and professional school.
- BA concentrations (the flowcharts the page lists): Pre-Health, Pre-Pharmacy, Business, Forensic Science, Interdisciplinary (a major or minor in a second field is required) and Secondary Education. The page says the BA with the pre-health concentration fulfills the prerequisites for medical, dental, pharmacy and physician-assistant schools, and that the pre-pharmacy curriculum meets the admission requirement of the University of Louisiana at Monroe (ULM) College of Pharmacy. Professional degrees in pharmacy, medicine and the like are outside this article; see the website.
- Credit structure (the comparison table on the degrees page; each totals 120 credit hours): BS Chemistry concentration: 51 hours of chemistry, 12 of math (calculus), 8 of physics (calculus-based), 6 of biology, 25 of general education and 18 of free electives; BA Chemistry: 43 chemistry, 9 math (calculus or biomathematics), 8 physics (algebra-based), 6 biology, 25 general education and 29 free electives; BA Pre-Health concentration: 40 chemistry, 9 math, 8 physics (algebra-based), 20 biology, 25 general education and 18 free electives. The page says both the BS and BA leave room for a minor or a second major.
- Chemistry minor: at least 23 semester hours of chemistry: CHEM 1201, 1202 and 1212 (or the honors versions 1421, 1422 and 1431) plus at least 15 hours at the 2000 level or above, which must include a two- to three-semester laboratory course and at least six hours at the 3000 level or above; CHEM 2900, 3900, 4003 and 4005 do not count.
- Curriculum change for 2026–2027: the page notes that students enrolled in the College of Science before the curriculum changes may continue with the old curriculum or switch to the new one; contact the undergraduate studies office with questions.
2. How admission works: you apply to the university; chemistry is in the College of Science and has no separate admission
- Apply to the university, not to a college: first-year applicants use only the Common Application, which is also the scholarship application. The senior-colleges page lists Chemistry under the College of Science (with Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Geology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Physics and others); LSU divides its majors into 12 senior colleges. The pages read here give no separate admission line for chemistry and do not say whether chemistry has limited places.
- Admittance to the College of Science: every chemistry concentration’s flowchart lists “Admittance to College of Science” as a critical step in semester 3, and the transfer page gives the College of Science entry conditions (section 9). How and when new first-year students meet this step is not detailed on the pages read here. The College of Science freshman advising page says declared College of Science majors take SCI 1001 (Becoming a Scientist), a 1-hour course, in their first fall.
- Choosing a major at application, changing later: the freshman page says the review looks at “performance in courses related to your intended major” but does not say whether a major must be named on the application or when it can be changed; not published on the pages read here, so ask admissions or the College of Science (science@lsu.edu, 225-578-4200). Students still in University College (which includes “undecided”) later enter their senior college.
- Basic scholastic expectations (degrees page, repeated for every concentration): keep a semester, cumulative and LSU GPA of at least 2.0; earn a C- or better in all required science and mathematics courses and in ENGL 1001 and ENGL 2000; a D or F in a course that requires a C- must be retaken in the next semester in residence when it is offered, not dropped.
- Biology, physics, mathematics, engineering and the health professions (medicine, dentistry, pharmacy) are outside this article; see the website.
3. Prerequisites and course advice
- High school chemistry and math: the freshman page gives no list of required high school courses, and the chemistry undergraduate and degrees pages do not state high school prerequisites; not published on the pages read here.
- Math placement (ALEKS): the College of Science freshman advising page says schedules are built from the declared major, college credit already earned (AP, IB, dual enrollment), ACT/SAT scores, the ALEKS math assessment and course availability. The appropriate ALEKS math score is the only prerequisite for MATH 1530, 1550 and 1551, and prior coursework and high ACT scores are not sufficient; the first-year BS path includes MATH 1550 (5 hours).
- ALEKS Chem Prep: the chemistry department page says this is a required component of CHEM 1201 (not a prerequisite), completed online, covering the basic math and high school chemistry that CHEM 1201 assumes; 90% mastery is needed, it counts for 3% of the CHEM 1201 grade, and below 90% scores 0 for that part; the average student needs about 14 hours and some up to 50; it costs $39 for six weeks of access, paid to ALEKS. The page describes fall 2026 (due by midnight on September 9, 2026); the fall 2027 deadline is not published on the pages read here.
- First year (the BS Chemistry concentration path): semester 1: CHEM 1201 (or honors 1421), MATH 1550, BIOL 1201, ENGL 1001 and a 1-hour free elective (SCI 1001 recommended), 15 hours; semester 2: CHEM 1202 (or 1422), the CHEM 1212 (or 1431) lab, MATH 1552, a general-education arts course and a free elective, 15 hours. Second year: organic chemistry CHEM 2261/2262 (honors 2461/2462), the organic lab CHEM 2364 (or 2463), analytical chemistry CHEM 2001, physics PHYS 2110 and 2113 with labs 2108 and 2109, and ENGL 2000. Third and fourth years: physical chemistry CHEM 3491 and 3492, inorganic chemistry CHEM 3570 with lab 3571, the physical chemistry lab CHEM 3493, CHEM 3800 Becoming a Chemist, BIOL 2083 Elements of Biochemistry, CHEM 3900 research (2 hours), instrumental analysis CHEM 4552 with lab 4553, the synthesis lab CHEM 4564, chemistry electives and general education. The page also marks critical courses by semester (for example ENGL 1001 and CHEM 1201 in semester 1 and MATH 1550 in semester 2).
- How the other concentrations and the BA paths differ: the biological chemistry concentration adds BIOL 4093 in the fourth year; chemical physics adds PHYS 2112 and electives such as quantum chemistry, statistical thermodynamics or physics-department quantum mechanics, plus one math elective (differential equations or linear algebra); forensic chemistry has forensic electives (anthropology, sociology); environmental chemistry needs two ENVS electives; the BA paths use MATH 1510 or 1550 and algebra-based physics PHYS 2001/2002, and the pre-health path has more biology (20 hours in the degrees table). The eight-semester flowcharts on the website have the full plans.
- AP / IB credit: the College of Science advising page says AP, IB and dual-enrollment credit is used in scheduling, and the international page says applicants with advanced-level exams or IB Higher Level should send certificates, transcripts and syllabi for possible advanced-placement credit. The score-to-course tables for AP Chemistry, AP Calculus, IB Chemistry and similar exams are not published on the pages read here, so ask admissions.
- Labs: the degree paths include general chemistry lab (CHEM 1212), organic, analytical, physical chemistry and inorganic labs, instrumental analysis and synthesis labs, differing by concentration; the flowcharts on the website govern how labs map to requirements.
- ACS certification and the research report: the undergraduate research page says a student using research to meet ACS certification requirements must prepare a well-written, comprehensive and well-documented research report, including safety considerations; CHEM 3900 requires that original research report and has a mid-semester oral presentation.
- Chemistry competitions: the pages read here do not say how competitions are viewed in admission, so nothing is claimed.
3 (continued). Undergraduate research and honors
- Getting started (chemistry undergraduate and research pages): students may take part in faculty research projects as early as the first year; the page suggests reading faculty web pages, emailing a first-choice advisor about your interest and stage, asking for a meeting, and trying other professors if needed.
- Research for credit: CHEM 2900, available any time after the first year, pass/fail, 1–2 hours; CHEM 3900, available after passing CHEM 3491 (Physical Chemistry I), repeatable up to 6 credit hours in total, 1, 2 or 3 hours a semester with at least 3 hours of work a week per credit hour; CHEM 2900 and 3900 together are limited to 8 hours. Registration needs a form signed by the research professor and is added by the Undergraduate Chemistry Office (109 Choppin Hall), not through the myLSU scheduler.
- Required research credits: the Chemistry, Biological Chemistry, Environmental Chemistry, Polymers/Materials and Chemistry, and Second Discipline concentrations require 2 hours of CHEM 3900; Chemical Physics requires 3 hours; the pre-professional and Secondary Education concentrations do not require it but are encouraged to do research.
- Honors thesis: you must be a member of the Honors College, take three semesters of CHEM 3900, and write and defend a thesis.
- LSU Discover: an undergraduate research program that supports faculty-mentored research, with research stipends and conference travel awards available.
4. Deadlines and materials
- First-year deadlines (freshman page, which says the Common App for all 2027 entry terms is open): December 1 is the priority deadline for scholarships and February 1 the regular decision deadline.
- Platform and fee: first-year applicants use only the Common Application, which is also the application for LSU scholarships and for the Ogden Honors College; the fee is $50, with fee waivers for eligible students.
- Academic record: required from every high school attended: self-report grades through STARS (Self-reported Transcript and Academic Record System) in the LSU admissions portal after applying, exactly as they appear on the transcript; the counselor can also send the transcript through Parchment, the Common App, Slate.org, email or mail. The page says other materials need not be in before you submit the application.
- What is reviewed: the page lists overall high school performance, rigor of coursework, grade trend, performance in courses related to the intended major, and test scores if submitted.
- Essays and recommendations: the first-year page does not say whether they are required, or whether a science teacher’s letter is needed; not published on the pages read here, so ask admissions (the Ogden Honors College adds a writing sample, below).
- Tests: see section 5.
5. U.S. students
- Testing (freshman page): applicants whose cumulative weighted high school GPA is below 3.5 must submit an ACT or SAT score for admission and merit scholarships. Those with 3.5 or higher may choose on the Common App whether scores are considered; if not, the admission and scholarship decision ignores scores and you are not viewed negatively. There is no minimum score, and when scores are considered the highest score is used with superscoring. Codes: ACT 1590, SAT 6373. Admitted-class profile (excluding test-optional students): GPA middle 50% 3.6 to 4.1, average 3.9; ACT 24 to 29, average 27; SAT 1170 to 1350, average 1250.
- Tuition (2026-27 undergraduate tuition PDF, which says totals include required fees and that the Board of Supervisors may change them at any time): the differential tuition FAQ lists Chemistry and Biochemistry in the differential-tuition second tier (Tier 2). Tier 2 for fall 2026 at 15 hours is $6,483.75 for residents and $14,825.75 for non-residents; at 12 hours $6,353.35 and $14,695.35; spring 2027 (preliminary) at 15 hours $6,481.75 and $14,816.75. The differential tuition FAQ says students still in University College are charged Tier 1 plus an $8-per-credit-hour advising fee and move to their major’s tier once admitted to their senior college; differential tuition applies in fall, winter intersession and spring but not summer; students with two majors pay one rate, based on the primary program. The undergraduate “Total Required Fees” line is $1,692, which the tuition table says is already included in its totals. Fall 2027 tuition and housing and meal costs are not published on the pages read here.
- Scholarships: the freshman page says the Common App is also the LSU scholarship application and December 1 is the priority date. The College of Science says freshman scholarships are decided by a committee from the information in the LSU application, with students who meet the university priority deadline considered; continuing-student scholarships and outstanding-student awards are applied for in LSU’s Blackbaud award system. Amounts are not stated on the pages read here.
- Ogden Honors College (honors admissions page): highly competitive, based on high school GPA, ACT or SAT and a writing sample; the recommended criteria listed are a 3.5 high school GPA, a 30 ACT composite with 30 in English or a 1360 SAT with 670 in reading and writing, and the writing sample is due by December 1 for full consideration.
- Scholarships of the Department of Chemistry: the chemistry pages read here list no department scholarships for incoming students; see the College of Science scholarships above and ask the undergraduate studies office (chemistry@lsu.edu, 225-578-3361). The LSU Discover undergraduate research program offers research stipends and conference travel awards (undergraduate research page).
- In-state residents: in-state and out-of-state tuition differ (above); priority or guaranteed admission for residents is not stated on the pages read here.
6. International students
- Who counts: anyone who is not a U.S. citizen or permanent resident; anyone with international secondary or post-secondary credentials follows the international requirements regardless of citizenship, immigration or visa status.
- Applying: online application with a $50 non-refundable fee. The international page lists deadlines of April 15, 2025 for fall 2025, October 1, 2024 for spring 2025 and March 15, 2025 for summer 2025, which are out of date; they sit alongside the first-year page’s 2027 Common App with December 1 and February 1 dates, so ask admissions which deadline applies to you. The page says all documents should be sent at least 120 days before the start of a semester.
- Transcripts and credentials: after applying, send official transcripts from every secondary school, college and university attended (in the original language with an English translation, in the school’s sealed envelope) to admissions; the Office of Enrollment Management alone evaluates international credentials and grading scales. First-year applicants need the equivalent of a U.S. high school diploma with an average equivalent to a B (3.0 on the 4-point scale), computed from academic courses only; the page strongly encourages ACT or SAT scores. Applicants with advanced-level exams, IB Higher Level exams or schooling beyond the 12th year should send official certificates, transcripts and course syllabi for possible advanced-placement credit.
- English: applicants whose native language is not English, or who were educated in a country or province where English is not the only official language, need TOEFL or IELTS; scores for automatic admission are TOEFL paper 550, TOEFL web 79, IELTS 6.5 and Duolingo 100. Exemptions: a U.S. high school diploma after four years in the U.S.; a bachelor’s degree from an accredited U.S. institution; an SAT EBRW of 500 or ACT English of 18; qualifying U.S. transfer work; or secondary or tertiary education in a country where English is the primary official language. Admitted international students (except transfer students with qualifying English credit from an accredited U.S. institution) take an English placement test before registration.
- Proof of funds: not stated on the pages read here; ask admissions.
- International scholarships and aid: the pages read here have no international-specific scholarship section; the freshman page says the Common App is also the LSU scholarship application, and whether it applies to international students is not stated, so ask admissions.
7. Applicants from China
- The admissions pages have no China-specific page or gaokao note. Whether the gaokao is considered and how, and the exact requirements for Chinese high school transcripts and huikao materials, are not published on the pages read here; under the general international rules you submit sealed official transcripts in the original language with an English translation, and LSU’s Office of Enrollment Management evaluates the credentials itself.
- English requirements are in section 6; email admissions@lsu.edu to confirm the materials for Chinese applicants.
- For IB or advanced-level coursework, the page only says to send certificates, transcripts and syllabi for evaluation and gives no score table.
8. Outcomes
- The chemistry undergraduate page says each concentration prepares students for jobs in industry, government, teaching and post-graduate study, including professional programs in law and medicine; the alumni page says alumni do cutting-edge research at chemical companies, universities and colleges, with some leading companies or departments, and features alumni profiles. The pages read here print no placement rate or salary for LSU chemistry graduates.
- The degrees page describes the BS as suited to the chemical industry or graduate and professional school, and the BA as suited to careers such as patent law, science policy, teaching, business and medicine.
9. Transfer students
- LSU transfer requirements (transfer page): 30 or more transferable (academic, non-remedial) credit hours from a regionally accredited institution; a 2.5 academic GPA on all transferable work attempted; and a C or better in a college-level general-education English course and in a college-level general-education math course. Or completion of the LSU Pathway Program (through LSUE), or an Associate of Science or Associate of Arts degree. Only students with fewer than 30 transferable hours by the start of the term need to send a final high school transcript; ACT/SAT are not required but may be reported. LSU recalculates the transfer GPA itself, which may differ from the transcript. Students who change majors on transferring still have all coursework checked against the transfer requirements.
- College of Science entry conditions (the College of Science entry in the transfer page’s senior-college requirements): 24 hours in 1000-level courses or higher; a 2.0 LSU and cumulative GPA (2.5 for transfer students); a C or better in ENGL 1001; a C or better in all math and science courses; a C or better in any one of MATH 1022, 1023, 1550 or 1551; the page lists no separate condition for chemistry (Biology, Biochemistry and Microbiology majors need a C or better in BIOL 1201, BIOL 1202, CHEM 1201 and MATH 1550); a 2.5 LSU and cumulative GPA for the secondary-education concentrations in biological sciences, chemistry, mathematics and physics. Contact science@lsu.edu, 225-578-4200.
- How to apply: Common App (transfer version) only, $50 fee; ask each institution attended to send official transcripts; the transfer page prints no deadline, so check the website.
- International transfer students: for international institutions, all transferable credit needs the equivalent of a 3.0, and applicants with under 30 hours must also meet the first-year requirements; for regionally accredited U.S. institutions a GPA of at least 2.5 and 30 hours including English and mathematics; with both, a 3.0 for the international part and 2.5 for the U.S. part, or a combined GPA of 2.5 or higher with C-equivalent grades in the international courses. ESL, native-language and vocational or technical courses earn no transfer credit.
- Credit transfer: the transfer page has “How credits transfer” and the Tiger Transfer Tables, which were not read here; ask admissions and the Department of Chemistry how chemistry courses transfer.
Checklist
U.S. students:
- Apply by December 1 (scholarship priority) or February 1 (regular) through the Common App; $50 fee; self-reported grades (STARS) and counselor transcript; SAT/ACT required if the weighted GPA is below 3.5
- After admission: take the ALEKS math assessment, schedule with the College of Science guidance, take SCI 1001; ask the chemistry undergraduate office about research (CHEM 2900, 3900)
International students (including applicants from China):
- Common App or the international online application (check the deadline with admissions); $50 fee; sealed transcripts in the original language with an English translation; TOEFL web 79, IELTS 6.5 or Duolingo 100 (unless exempt)
- Applicants from China: gaokao use and transcript requirements are not published, so confirm with admissions; take the English placement test before registration
Transfer students:
- 30 or more transferable hours, a 2.5 GPA, and C or better in general-education English and math (or the LSUE Pathway Program / an associate degree); chemistry-specific transfer conditions and deadlines are not published on the pages read here
Sources: Louisiana State University, Department of Chemistry; Chemistry undergraduate studies; Chemistry degrees and concentrations; Chemistry undergraduate research; Chemistry ALEKS Chem Prep; Chemistry alumni; College of Science: incoming freshman advising; College of Science: scholarships; Majors by senior college; Freshman admissions; International admissions; Transfer admissions; Ogden Honors College admissions; 2026-27 undergraduate tuition; Required fees; Differential tuition FAQ. Costs are for 2026-2027 and application dates are for 2027 entry. Check the LSU website for the latest.