Home / Admissions / US Applications / How to Apply to Chemistry at Georgetown University

How to Apply to Chemistry at Georgetown University: Apply Directly to the College of Arts & Sciences and Choose a Science Major at Application, with an ACS-Accredited B.S. in Chemistry and a B.S. in Biochemistry (Both with Honors Tracks), SAT or ACT Required, for Domestic, International (Including Chinese) and Transfer Applicants

2026-10-29 · Application guides

At Georgetown University, the Department of Chemistry in the College of Arts & Sciences offers a B.S. in Chemistry and a B.S. in Biochemistry, each with a regular and an Honors track; the website says the chemistry major is accredited by the American Chemical Society. Applicants apply directly to one of six undergraduate schools and must choose a science major at application. Early Action is due 1 November, Regular Decision 1 January, and SAT or ACT scores are required. Georgetown offers only need-based aid and no merit scholarships; 2026–27 tuition and fees are $74,732. Based on Georgetown’s official information, this guide covers degrees, entry, prerequisites, deadlines, domestic, international and Chinese applicants, and transfer.

Georgetown University is a private research university in Washington, D.C. Undergraduate chemistry is offered by the Department of Chemistry in the College of Arts & Sciences. You apply directly to one of six undergraduate schools, and chemistry sits in the College. Here is what you need to know, based on Georgetown’s website, organised for US domestic applicants, international applicants and applicants from China, followed by transfer students. Biology is a separate degree offered by the Department of Biology and is not covered here; degrees in the nursing and health schools are also outside this guide (see the website’s schools and majors page).

1. Degrees and tracks

  • Two B.S. degrees: the department’s undergraduate page says majors can pursue a B.S. in Chemistry or a B.S. in Biochemistry; the department also offers a minor in Chemistry.
  • Regular and Honors tracks: both majors offer a regular or an Honors track with identical coursework in the first two years and different last two years; Honors requires a more serious commitment to research and includes a written senior thesis and a presentation to the department. Juniors are generally invited at the beginning of October, others may apply in the fall of junior year, and Honors students must keep at least a B average in the major and overall.
  • Accreditation and pre-medical preparation: the website says the chemistry major is fully accredited by the American Chemical Society (ACS); with the addition of introductory biology the chemistry curriculum meets all medical school admission requirements, and the B.S. in Biochemistry also meets them and is particularly well suited to MD-Ph.D. aspirants.
  • Research: undergraduates are encouraged to get involved in research as early as possible through credit-bearing research courses, the Georgetown Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (GUROP) or on a volunteer basis; those making a multi-term commitment are encouraged to pursue the Honors programme.
  • Course requirements by degree: see the typical four-year sequences in section 3; the official Undergraduate Bulletin was not read.

2. How admission to the major works: choose a science major at application

  • Applying to a school: the website says applicants apply directly to one of the six undergraduate schools and are considered only for that programme; you cannot apply to more than one.
  • Science majors are chosen at application: the academic offerings page says students who wish to pursue a major in the sciences have specific course sequencing and advising that begins in the first year, so a major needs to be selected at the time of the admissions application (the sciences listed include biochemistry, biology and chemistry); students admitted to a science major are expected to remain committed to it for at least the first year and officially select their major in sophomore year. The College’s FAQ likewise says first-years in sciences and languages enter with those majors declared; they may explore alternatives through core and elective work but remain in the entering major until sophomore year, when they may change to Undeclared or to a new major.
  • Changing after entry: after the first year, changing or adding a major means emailing the major department’s Director of Undergraduate Studies for approval and an advisor, then submitting the Academic Program Changes Form to the College Dean’s Office. The chemistry page says students who decide late or off-sequence should talk to the Director of Undergraduate Studies to devise a workable plan.
  • Separate admission line: the pages read do not describe a separate admission line or cap for chemistry.

3. Prerequisites and courses

  • High school preparation (University expectation): the how-to-prepare page says all applicants are expected to have completed four years of English and a minimum of two years each of social studies, language study and mathematics, and one year of natural science; students planning a mathematics or science major should take four years of mathematics and at least three years of science.
  • First year (both majors): Majors General Chemistry I with lab (CHEM 1300 & 1305) in the fall and Majors General Chemistry II with lab (CHEM 1400 & 1405) in the spring, with CHEM 1100 & 1105 and 1200 & 1205 allowed as substitutes; Calculus I and II (MATH 1350, 1360); general education and electives; and an optional First-Year Seminar (CHEM 1500) offered in some years. Biochemistry majors also take Foundations in Biology I and II with labs (BIOL 1203 & 1204, labs 1213 and 1214). The website notes that all main campus courses have been renumbered with 4-digit numbers since fall 2023.
  • Chemistry major, years two to four (typical): year two has Majors Organic Chemistry I and II with labs (CHEM 2300 & 2105, 2400 & 2205) and Principles of Physics I and II with labs (PHYS 2051 & 2056, 2052 & 2057); year three has Physical Chemistry I and II (CHEM 3300, 3400), Analytical Methods with Lab (CHEM 3100 & 3105), Inorganic Chemistry (CHEM 3600) and Synthetic Methods (CHEM 3605); year four has Physical Chemical Measurements (CHEM 4305), Biochemistry I (CHEM 4100) and one advanced chemistry elective (which may be one semester of research, CHEM 3709 or 3809). The Honors track replaces some of these with Honors Research I and II (CHEM 4809, 4909) and an Honors Thesis (CHEM 4999).
  • Biochemistry major, years two to four (typical): year two has the same organic chemistry and physics courses plus Multivariable Calculus (MATH 2370) or Introduction to Mathematical Statistics (MATH 2140); year three has Biochemistry I and II (CHEM 4100 & 5200), Physical Chemistry for Biochemistry (CHEM 3350), Analytical Methods with Lab, and Experimental Methods in Biochemistry (CHEM 3805); year four has Experimental Methods in Biophysical Chemistry (CHEM 4505), two advanced science electives and one advanced biochemistry elective.
  • AP / IB credit: the how-to-prepare page says AP credit varies by exam and undergraduate school, with the breakdown in the Undergraduate Bulletin, which was not read, so please check it on the website; IB credit is granted only for a 6 or 7 on a Higher Level exam; applicants are highly encouraged to submit AP scores.
  • Chemistry competitions: how they are viewed in admission is not stated in the pages read.

4. Deadlines and application materials (first-year)

  • Plans and deadlines: Early Action (non-binding) is due 1 November with decisions by 15 December; Regular Decision is due 1 January with decisions by 1 April; the financial aid application is due 1 February; the reply date is 1 May. Early Action applicants may not apply to binding Early Decision programmes but may apply to other non-binding early programmes. The timeline page shows no year, so check that it applies to fall 2027 entry.
  • How to apply: the Georgetown Application or the Common Application; you apply to only one of the six undergraduate schools and are considered only for that programme. The application fee amount is not printed in the pages read; the website offers fee waivers.
  • School-submitted materials: high school transcript, school profile and counselor letter of recommendation; a Midyear Report is due by 10 February.
  • Recommendations: one counselor letter and one teacher letter (a second teacher letter is optional); applicants to science, health or mathematics programmes should have at least one recommendation from a science or math teacher.
  • Essays: the Georgetown Writing Supplement has two short essays (250 words each) and two long essays (a 650-word personal or creative essay and a 500-word school-specific essay). For the College of Arts & Sciences the school-specific essay asks about your interest in studying in the College, and applicants interested in the sciences, mathematics or languages are encouraged to refer to their choice of major. The Common App personal statement is not required.
  • Testing: SAT or ACT scores are required (at least one full test; superscores are not accepted); only the SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing and Math sections are considered, and the ACT writing section is not; ACT takers are highly encouraged to take the Science section; AP scores are highly recommended. SAT code 5244, ACT code 0668.
  • Alumni interview: a key part of the process; the website says Georgetown aims to offer one to every applicant, interviews assigned must be completed, and some applicants outside the US may not be assigned one, with no negative effect.
  • Review: the website describes a holistic review centred on academic performance.

5. US domestic applicants

  • Cost (2026–27, first-year, living on or off campus): the financial aid office lists full-time tuition and fees of $74,732, average housing $13,944, food $8,236, books and supplies $1,000, transportation $780, personal expenses $2,132 and loan fees $40, a total of $100,864; the total for those living with parents is $87,740. One tuition figure is listed with no in-state or out-of-state difference. The rates for fall 2027 entry are not stated in the pages read.
  • Aid: the website says Georgetown offers only need-based aid and no academic or merit scholarships; it meets 100% of demonstrated need for US citizens and permanent residents through grants, scholarships, employment and federal loans. The FAFSA and CSS Profile are due by 1 February, and applying for aid does not hurt admission chances. The aid page also states a minimum student contribution of $2,200 for first-year students, and says more than half of undergraduates receive some form of financial aid.
  • In-state priority or guaranteed admission: not stated in the pages read.

6. International applicants

  • Admission: the international FAQ says all applicants are reviewed within the context of the high school and educational system in which they study, with no quotas based on where students attend high school; citizenship does not affect admission but does play a role in financial aid.
  • Testing: international applicants must also submit SAT or ACT scores.
  • English proficiency: for students whose school does not teach in English, Georgetown recommends but does not require a test, and accepts the Duolingo English Test, IELTS and TOEFL (PBT, iBT and IPT Plus); no minimum scores are printed.
  • Interview: InitialView interviews are accepted but not required and do not factor into the alumni interview process.
  • Aid for international students: admitted students who requested aid and are not US citizens or permanent residents are considered for a “limited number” of need-based scholarships; they must indicate their intent to apply on the application and submit the CSS Profile. The financial aid office says aid for international students is “extremely limited” and that students not offered a scholarship in the first year will not be offered one in later years.
  • Transcripts, credential evaluation and proof of funds: not stated in the pages read; check the international applicants page.

7. Applicants from China

  • Gaokao: whether it is considered and how is not published on the pages read; please contact the admissions office.
  • Transcripts and school-leaving materials: no China-specific requirements are published in the pages read; the general requirements are in sections 4 and 6 (SAT or ACT required, English test recommended).
  • International curricula: AP scores are recommended and AP credit is decided by each undergraduate school; IB credit is possible only for a 6 or 7 on a Higher Level exam. The detailed tables are in the Undergraduate Bulletin, which was not read.

8. Costs, scholarships and outcomes

  • Costs: see section 5.
  • Department scholarships: the pages read do not mention chemistry-specific scholarships; the department lists an “Awards and Honors” page, which was not read.
  • Outcomes: the undergraduate programs page says students who complete the chemistry major are well prepared for graduate study in chemistry or related scientific fields, and the biochemistry degree provides rigorous training suitable for graduate study in biochemistry or related fields; the pages read print no employment or graduate-school percentages. The career planning page describes the University Career Education Center’s services and lists websites such as the ACS career pages.

9. Transfer students

  • Deadlines: the fall 2027 transfer deadline is 1 March 2027, with decisions by 1 June and a reply date of 15 June; there is also a separate spring round for January 2027 entry, due 1 November 2026, open to current first- and second-year students, with no alumni interviews in that round.
  • How to apply: transfer applicants apply only through the Georgetown Application, apply directly to one of the six undergraduate schools, and must select a major when applying.
  • Materials: the Georgetown Transfer Application and Supplement; a secondary school report (only an official high school transcript is required); official transcripts from all colleges attended; a Dean’s Report; a Professor’s Report (ideally from the proposed area of study); SAT or ACT scores if you graduated from high school within the past five years; the aid application is due 1 March for fall.
  • International transfer applicants: the website says international citizens applying for transfer admission are not eligible for need-based financial aid.
  • Chemistry transfer requirements and credit transfer: GPA or prerequisite-course requirements for entering Chemistry and the credit transfer rules are not stated in the pages read (the website adds that spring admission is generally reserved for rising sophomores because Georgetown requires four semesters on campus); please contact the chemistry department’s Director of Undergraduate Studies or the admissions office.
  • Internal transfer into the College: students already in another Georgetown undergraduate school (business, foreign service, nursing or health) must complete a year in their admitted school first; the College page says the fall 2026 round is closed and the spring 2027 application opens on 9 November 2026.

Checklist

US domestic applicants:

  • EA 1 November or RD 1 January; apply to the College of Arts & Sciences and choose chemistry or biochemistry; SAT or ACT required; one counselor and one teacher recommendation (science or math teacher); writing supplement; alumni interview
  • FAFSA and CSS Profile by 1 February (need-based aid only)

International applicants (including China):

  • As above; English test recommended (Duolingo, IELTS or TOEFL); to be considered for aid, indicate intent on the application and submit the CSS Profile

After entry:

  • First-year general chemistry and calculus (biochemistry adds foundational biology); officially select the major in sophomore year; consider the Honors track and GUROP research

Transfer students:

  • Fall 1 March; choose a major when applying; college transcripts, Dean’s Report and Professor’s Report; confirm chemistry entry conditions with the department

Sources: Georgetown University, Chemistry undergraduate programs; Prospective undergraduates; Chemistry major; Biochemistry major; Undergraduate research; Pre-med; Schools and majors; First-year applicants; Application requirements; How to prepare; International applicants FAQ; Financial aid policies; 2026–27 cost of attendance; International student aid; Transfer applicants; Transfer requirements; Declaring a major in the College; Internal transfer to the College. The first-year timeline page shows no year; see Georgetown’s website for the latest and check that the dates apply to fall 2027 entry.

Related articles