How to Apply to Business at Tulane’s Freeman School: Apply Through Tulane Undergraduate Admission and Declare the BS in Management, and What Chinese and Canadian High School Students and Transfer Students Should Know
Tulane University’s A. B. Freeman School of Business awards the Bachelor of Science in Management (BSM), with majors in Accounting, Finance, Legal Studies in Business, Management and Marketing and 124 credits to graduate. All undergraduates apply through Tulane’s Office of Undergraduate Admission; under the University Catalog, current Tulane students with a cumulative GPA of at least 2.000 may declare into Freeman. Transfer students can bring in at most five business courses, and only from AACSB-accredited schools. The 2025-26 cost estimate for a first-year resident student is about US$94,708; international students are eligible for merit scholarships and up to $30,000 a year in need-based aid. Based on Tulane’s official information, this guide covers entry, majors, costs, transfer and a checklist.
Tulane University is in New Orleans, and its undergraduate business degree is the Bachelor of Science in Management (BSM) from the A. B. Freeman School of Business. This guide uses information from the Freeman School, the University Catalog and the Office of Financial Aid, for students at high schools in China (including A-level, IB and AP students), students at Canadian high schools (including BC and Vancouver students), and transfer students.
Note: Tulane’s admission website (admission.tulane.edu) returned a block page to automated access, so it was not used. Check that site directly for deadlines, testing policy, English requirements, and Gaokao and Canadian curriculum requirements.
1. How to get into Freeman
- One application: Freeman states that all prospective undergraduates apply through Tulane’s Office of Undergraduate Admission; five-year program applicants also submit a graduate application.
- Declaring after entry: the University Catalog says current Tulane students with a cumulative GPA of at least 2.000 may be eligible to enroll in Freeman by submitting a declaration request with their advisor.
- Staying in: a student with a cumulative GPA of 1.999 or lower for two consecutive semesters, after at least five BSM-required courses, may be dismissed and permanently barred from business courses, the BSM and business minors.
2. Degree and majors
- Five majors: Accounting, Finance, Legal Studies in Business, Management and Marketing.
- Graduation: 124 credits with a 2.0 overall GPA and a 2.0 GPA in business and major/minor/certificate courses. The Freeman GPA also includes micro- and macroeconomics, calculus (MATH 1150 and 1160, or MATH 1210), statistics (MGSC 3005 or MATH 1230) and introductory psychology.
- Certificates: Business Analytics and AI, Energy, Hospitality Management and Entrepreneurship, Real Estate Finance and Investment, and Sport Management.
- Combined degrees: 4+1 programs (Master of Finance, Master of Management in Energy, Master of Business Analytics and AI) and the five-year BSM/MACCT, with 122 undergraduate credits plus 30 graduate credits.
- Outcomes: Freeman reports a 90% employment rate and a $78,000 average base salary for the 2025 BSM class.
3. Students at high schools in China
- Apply through Tulane undergraduate admission, then declare Freeman after entry under the conditions above.
- Gaokao, A-level, IB, AP and English requirements: not stated on the pages reviewed; see the international applicant pages on admission.tulane.edu.
- Exam and prior credit: incoming first-years follow Newcomb-Tulane College rules; business courses taken elsewhere are evaluated under the same rules as for current BSM students.
4. Students at Canadian high schools (including BC and Vancouver)
- Apply through Tulane undergraduate admission; Canadian curriculum requirements are not stated on the pages reviewed.
5. Costs and aid
- Cost: no 2026-27 figures were found. The 2025-26 first-year resident estimate is tuition and fees $71,998, books $1,200, housing $11,128, meals $8,598, miscellaneous $1,726 and loan fees $58, a total of about $94,708 (plus transportation; health insurance not included).
- Merit scholarships: the BSM page says all admitted students are considered for merit scholarships in a need-blind review, and Financial Aid says international students are generally eligible.
- Need-based aid: from 2025-26, Newcomb-Tulane international undergraduates may receive up to $30,000 a year in need-based aid if they have not already received at least that much in merit aid; submit the CSS Profile by the deadline. International students cannot receive US federal aid.
6. Transfer students
- Applying: transfers also apply through Tulane undergraduate admission; its deadlines and requirements could not be read for this guide.
- Business credit: courses must first meet Newcomb-Tulane College transfer rules, and in addition:
- they must be taken at an AACSB-accredited university and match Freeman course content;
- at most five business courses transfer, and writing-intensive core courses, major requirements and the capstone are ineligible;
- core business courses taken elsewhere in the summer before entering Freeman do not earn credit, and grades do not transfer.
- Residency: transfer students must earn at least 60 credits at Tulane, including at least 30 at Freeman.
Checklist
Students at high schools in China:
- Check deadlines, testing and English on admission.tulane.edu and apply through Tulane undergraduate admission
- After entry, keep a cumulative GPA of 2.0 or higher and declare the BSM
- File the CSS Profile on time if seeking need-based aid
Students at Canadian high schools (including BC and Vancouver):
- As above; confirm Canadian curriculum requirements with admissions
Transfer students:
- Only AACSB-accredited business courses may transfer, up to five; take at least 60 credits at Tulane
Sources: Tulane University, Freeman BS in Management; Freeman how to apply; Five-year BSM/MACCT; 4+1 programs; University Catalog: Business; International student aid; 2025-26 undergraduate cost of attendance (PDF); Office of Undergraduate Admission. Deadlines, testing and English requirements are set by Tulane’s Office of Undergraduate Admission.